DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 15, 2026.
It is noted that appropriate claim status identifiers such as (withdrawn) should be utilized in future filed claim sets.
Claim Comments
It is noted that if the all of the cumulative claim limitations indicated as allowable are added to the independent claims, if claim 20 is amendment to include the allowable features, the examiner will consider it for rejoinder. However, please note that claim 20 currently recites a controller, but it does not appear to recite what the controller is configured to do, i.e. what operation of the cell does it control? The controller could just be when the device is turned on and the cell is activated. It is recommended that claim 20 also be amended to better recite what the controller is configured to do when a cell rapidly decreases in comparison to a set reference so that it is not considered indefinite.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 and claims 1-20 of copending Application Nos. 18362967 and 18360819. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications teach a battery comprising a fuse connected to a terminal and configured to block current which is connected to the electrode.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng (US 20130176655).
Regarding claims 1-4, 14 and 19, Tseng teaches a battery having a resistive device (PTC fuse) includes a first electrode foil, a second electrode foil and a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) material layer laminated between the electrode foils (claim 3). One of the first and second electrode foils is configured to electrically connect to a protective circuit module (PCM), and the other one is configured to electrically connect to an electrode terminal of a battery to be protected (abstract). The conductive connecting member is insulated from the second electrode foil ([0012], claim 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Seymour (US 20170317333) in view of Rho (US 20230083775).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 19, Seymour teaches a battery comprising an electrode assembly having tabs #108/109 having a PTC fuse #123/124 coupled to the electrode lead. How the PTC works is its intended use and a PTC fuse would logically include a PTC material, i.e. polymer (see fig. 1, claim 1, [0020-30]).
Seymour does not specifically teach the use of “foils”.
However, Rho teaches a battery that comprises “foils”, i.e. the cathode lead 120a and the anode lead 120b may be formed of a thin plate-shaped metal, i.e. reads on applicant’s definition of a foil [0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to have utilized a connection means such as foils in the device of Seymour as taught by Rho in order to provide electrical connection between the PTC fuse and electrode.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Seymour (US 20170317333) and Rho (US 20230083775), as applied to claim 2 above, in further view of either Sakaguchi (US 20180166817) or Ahearne (US 20210384683).
Regarding claim 3, Seymour and Rho are silent as to the composition of the PTC fuse.
However, Sakaguchi teaches PTC fuses are known to comprise a conductive inner polymer layer surrounded by metal outside layers [0046].
Additionally, Ahearne also teaches a PTC fuse and that they comprise a conductive inner polymer layer surrounded by metal outside layers [0019].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to have used a PTC fuse comprising a conductive inner polymer layer surrounded by metal external layers in the device of Seymour as taught by either Sakaguchi or Ahearne as these are known construction of PTC fuses.
Claims 1-3, 14, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rho (US 20230083775) in view of Sakaguchi (US 20180166817).
Regarding claims 1-3, 14 and 19, Rho teaches a battery that comprises “foils”, i.e. the cathode lead 120a and the anode lead 120b may be formed of a thin plate-shaped metal, i.e. reads on applicant’s definition of a foil [0048]. Rho does not teach the use of a PTC fuse.
However, Sakaguchi also teaches a battery and that a PTC #10 (conductive polymer) element surrounded by a top and bottom plate both formed of a nickel or aluminum plate (conductive) (reads on claim 3’s second and third portions) wherein the PTC element is configured to be attached to the flat plate-shaped electrode terminal #111 in the cylindrical battery #110 [0046-47] (reads on claim 2 wherein the PTC fuse is electrically connected) and one end mounted to a circuit board via lead wire #50 (see fig. 1, [0005-9] in order to protect the external device and battery from overheating.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to have incorporated a PTC/polyfuse device into Rho as taught by Sakaguchi as the PTC fuse will protect the battery and connected device.
Regarding claim 15, Rho teaches a two part case #110a/b (see abstract, [0038]) wherein the electrode terminals #120 may protrude from an inside of the case to the outside (See fig. 1).
Claims 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rho (US 20230083775), Sakaguchi (US 20180166817), in further view of Jang (US20160260956) and Tang (US20220123418).
Regarding claims 5-13, Rho in view of Sakaguchi do not specifically teach the limitations in claims 5-13. First, note that a one piece construction is merely a matter of obvious engineering choice, MPEP 2144.04, V., B. Additionally, with regards to claim 8, it should also be known that limitations relating to size and dimensions are held not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984); MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Jang also teaches a battery cell comprising a case (15) accommodating an electrode assembly (10) and a cap plate (20) covering the case, wherein an electrode terminal (e.g., 211c) is disposed on the cap plate (claims 6-10). Jang suggest the thermal fuse (21d) is integrally coupled to the electrode terminal (211c), i.e., 211c and 21d are shown as a single piece construction (claim 5). Jang suggests the electrode terminal (21) includes a first terminal body having at least a portion disposed externally of the case (15), see e.g., 21a in Fig. 1, and a second terminal body (21b) having at least a portion disposed in the case (15), see e.g., Fig. 2, and electrically connecting the electrode foil (e.g., 11) to the first terminal body (21a, via 51)(claims 7 and 13).
Jang does not suggest the thermal fuse (21d) is integrally coupled to the electrode terminal (21) or the use of welding or screw threads.
However, Tang describes a fuse (522) incorporated into the terminal (511) of a battery such that the fuse is integrally coupled (via weld) to the electrode terminal. Specifically, terminal sections 511 and 512 are integral, and fuse sections 521, 522, and 523 are integral [0100]; further, fuse 522 is either directed connected to 512 of terminal 511 by welding (claim 11 - product-by-process claim), or fuse 522 is connected to 512 of terminal 511 via 523 through welding [0097-0099]).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to have utilized the terminal connection means taught by Jang and the integral connection/weld taught by Tang in the device of Rho as doing so is taught by prior art and within the design choice of the practitioner in the art and allows the fuse to function to cut off current. by known methods (e.g., welding or screw thread) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida V. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson's-Black Rock, Inc. V. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atl. & P. Tea Co. V. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950). As stated in KSR International V. Teleflex Inc. (550 USPQ2d 1385), combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rho (US 20230083775) in view of Sakaguchi (US 20180166817), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Jang (US20160260956).
Regarding claim 18, Rho does not specifically teach wherein the electrode terminal and the electrode foil are connected to each other by a current collector.
However, Jang also teaches a battery cell that comprises a thermal fuse (]0044]), electrode foils, etc. wherein the foils (#11/12) are connected to each other by a current collector (#51/52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to have utilized a well-known current collect to connect the foils in Rho as taught by Jang in order to connect the cells.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tseng (US 20130176655), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Jang (US20160260956).
Regarding claim 18, Tseng does not specifically teach wherein the electrode terminal and the electrode foil are connected to each other by a current collector.
However, Jang also teaches a battery cell that comprises a thermal fuse (]0044]), electrode foils, etc. wherein the foils (#11/12) are connected to each other by a current collector (#51/52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to have utilized a well-known current collect to connect the foils in Tseng as taught by Jang in order to connect the cells.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 16 and 17 recite structural limitations as to how the fuse is connected within the device (i.e. portion inside and portion outside and connection). These cumulative claim limitations are not taught or rendered obvious by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20240380086 teaches a PTC fuse between electrodes in a button battery.
CN100373659 teaches the use of a PTC fuse in a battery cell.
Mohiuddin (PTC Fuses provide compact, resettable protection for electronic devices, Publication No. 11054 BU-MC20031, March 2020).
US 20160314108 teaches that in the case of low voltage applications, such as battery power, USB, or transformer voltage reduction, in the unlikely occurrence of a short (caused by a break in the insulation of the other wire), there is no shock or fire hazard. Furthermore, a device (such as PTC or fuse) or thin foil trace that is, or acts like, a fuse can be in inserted in the circuit as further protection [0009].
US20100008167 – teaches a method to make a PTC element and attach to a battery.
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776