Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WU (US 20120120364 A1; Figs. 6 and 4) in view of YU (US 20130082942 A1) and further in view of PAOLINI (US 20160062206 A1).
Regarding claim 1, WU (e.g., Fig. 6 and Fig. 4) discloses a touch display device comprising:
a driving substrate (driving substrate 101; [0018]);
a display medium layer (electrophoretic display layer 105; [0019]) disposed on the driving substrate (driving substrate 101);
a touch panel (touch panel 119; [0026]) having a bonding area;
a flexible circuit board (flexible circuit board 109; [0019]) bonded to the bonding area of the touch panel (touch panel 119);
a water-blocking adhesive layer (sealant layer 113b, water and moisture resist material; [0021]-[0022] and [0028]-[0029]) directly connected between a bottom surface of the flexible circuit board (flexible circuit board 109) outside the touch panel (touch panel 119) and a top surface of the driving substrate (driving substrate 101); and
a sealant layer (sealant layer 113a; [0021]-[0022] and [0028]-[0029]) disposed on the driving substrate (driving substrate 101) and sealing an edge of the display medium layer (electrophoretic display layer 105), and an edge of the touch panel (touch panel 109), wherein in a cross-sectional view, the sealant layer (sealant layer 113a) is located between the water-blocking adhesive layer (sealant layer 113b) and the edge of the display medium layer (display medium layer 105);
in the cross-sectional view at the bonding area of the touch panel (touch panel 119), wherein the sealant layer (sealant layer 113a) extends to cover the edge of the display medium layer (display layer 105) and the edge of the touch panel (touch panel 119).
WU does not expressly disclose an electrode substrate disposed on the display medium layer. However, WU (Figs. 4 and 6) discloses an electrophoretic display device. It is well known that the electrophoretic display comprising an electrode substrate disposed on the display medium layer. In addition, WU does not disclose the flexible circuit board extending to outside of the touch panel. However, YU (e.g., Fig. 11-13 and 3-8) discloses a touch electrophoretic display device similar to that similar to that disclosed by WU, comprising:
a driving substrate (driving substrate 212; [0029]-[0032]);
a display medium layer (display medium layer 222; [0029]-[0032]) disposed on the driving substrate;
an electrode substrate (electrode layer 224; [0029]-[0032]) disposed on the display medium layer;
a touch panel (touch panel 228; [0029]-[0032]) disposed on the electrode substrate and having a bonding area;
a flexible circuit board (flexible circuit board 312; [0044]) bonded to the bonding area of the touch panel and extending to outside of the touch panel (e.g., Fig. 11-13); and
a sealant layer (sealant layer comprising sealant layer 240; [0031]) disposed on the driving substrate (driving substrate 212) and sealing an edge of the display medium layer (display medium layer 222), an edge of the electrode substrate (electrode layer 224), and an edge of the touch panel (touch panel 228).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from YU to the electrophoretic display device of WU. The combination/motivation would be to provide a water-resist sealing structure to package a touch display.
YU (e.g., Fig. 11-13 and 3-8) also discloses wherein the edge of the display medium layer (display medium layer 222) is indented by a distance relative to the edge of the electrode substrate (electrode substrate 224) to form a space (space S), and a sealant layer fills the space (space S).
The examiner further cites PAOLINI as a reference, PAOLINI (Fig. 17) discloses a touch electrophoretic display device similar to that similar to that disclosed by WU, comprising: a driving substrate (driving substrate 1214; [0212]); a display medium layer (electrophoretic display medium layer 1216; [0212]) disposed on the driving substrate; an electrode substrate (electrode layer 1222; [0212]) disposed on the display medium layer; a touch panel (touch panel; [0170]) disposed on the electrode substrate; a flexible circuit board (flexible circuit board 1224; [0212]); and a sealant layer (sealant layer 1230; [0213]) disposed on the driving substrate (driving substrate 1214) and sealing an edge of the display medium layer (display medium layer 1216) and an edge of the electrode substrate (electrode layer 1222), in the cross-sectional view, wherein the edge of the display medium layer (display medium layer 1216) is indented by a distance (Fig. 17) relative to the edge of the electrode substrate (electrode layer 1222) to form a space (Fig. 17), and the sealant layer (sealant layer 1230) fills the space (Fig. 17) and extends to cover the edge of the electrode substrate (electrode layer 1222). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from PAOLINI to the electrophoretic display device of WU in view of YU. The combination/motivation would be to provide a water-resist sealing structure to package a touch display device.
Regarding claim 6, WU in view of YU and further in view of PAOLINI discloses the touch display device according to claim 1, YU (e.g., Figs. 9-13) discloses further comprising: an external circuit connecting the driving substrate (external circuit 310/320; [0042]). In addition, PAOLINI (e.g., Fig. 17) discloses the same features as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, WU (e.g., Fig. 6 and Fig. 4) discloses a manufacturing method of a touch display device comprising:
forming a display medium layer ((electrophoretic display layer 105; [0019]) on a driving substrate (driving substrate 101; [0018]) in sequence;
bonding a flexible circuit board (flexible circuit board 109; [0019]) to a bonding area of a touch panel (touch panel 119; [0026]);
attaching a water-blocking adhesive layer (sealant layer 113b, water and moisture resist material; [0021]-[0022] and [0028]-[0029]) on the flexible circuit board (flexible circuit board 109) outside the touch panel (touch panel 119), wherein the water-blocking adhesive layer (sealant layer 113b) is directly connected to a bottom surface of the flexible circuit board (flexible circuit board 109);
bonding the touch panel (touch panel 119) to the display medium layer ((electrophoretic display layer 105) such that the water-blocking adhesive layer (sealant layer 113b) is directly laminated to a top surface of the driving substrate (driving substrate 101); and
filling a sealant layer (sealant layer 113a; [0021]-[0022] and [0028]-[0029]) on the driving substrate (driving substrate 101) to seal an edge of the display medium layer (display medium layer 105), and an edge of the touch panel (touch panel 119);
wherein in a cross- sectional view, the sealant layer (sealant layer 113a) is located between the water-blocking adhesive layer (sealant layer 113b) and the edge of the display medium layer (display medium layer 105);
wherein there is no the sealant layer (sealant layer 113a) on the bottom surface of the flexible circuit board (flexible circuit board 109) outside the touch panel (touch panel 109).
WU does not expressly disclose an electrode substrate disposed on the display medium layer. In addition, WU does not disclose wherein the flexible circuit board extends outside the touch panel. However, WU (Figs. 4 and 6) discloses an electrophoretic display device. It is well known that the electrophoretic display comprising an electrode substrate disposed on the display medium layer. As a reference, YU (e.g., Fig. 11-13 and 3-8) discloses a touch electrophoretic display device and a manufacturing method of a touch display device comprising similar to that similar to that disclosed by WU, comprising:
forming a display medium layer (display medium layer 222; [0029]-[0032]) and an electrode substrate (electrode layer 224; [0029]-[0032]) on a driving substrate (driving substrate 212; [0029]-[0032]) in sequence;
bonding a flexible circuit board (flexible circuit board 312; [0044]) to a bonding area of a touch panel (touch panel 228; [0029]-[0032]), wherein the flexible circuit board (flexible circuit board 312) extends outside the touch panel (touch panel 228);
bonding the touch panel (touch panel 228) to the electrode substrate (electrode layer 224); and
filling a sealant layer (sealant layer comprising sealant layer 240; [0031]) on the driving substrate (driving substrate 212) to seal an edge of the display medium layer (display medium layer 222), an edge of the electrode substrate (electrode layer 224), and an edge of the touch panel (touch panel 228); and
a sealant layer (sealant layer comprising sealant layer 240; [0031]) disposed on the driving substrate (driving substrate 212) and sealing an edge of the display medium layer (display medium layer 222), an edge of the electrode substrate (electrode layer 224), and an edge of the touch panel (touch panel 228).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from YU to the electrophoretic display device of WU. The combination/motivation would be to provide a water-resist sealing structure to package a touch display.
YU (e.g., Fig. 11-13 and 3-8) also discloses wherein the edge of the display medium layer (display medium layer 222) is indented by a distance relative to the edge of the electrode substrate (electrode substrate 224) to form a space (space S), and a sealant layer fills the space (space S).
The examiner further cites PAOLINI as a reference, PAOLINI (Fig. 17) discloses a touch electrophoretic display device similar to that similar to that disclosed by WU, comprising: a driving substrate (driving substrate 1214; [0212]); a display medium layer (electrophoretic display medium layer 1216; [0212]) disposed on the driving substrate; an electrode substrate (electrode layer 1222; [0212]) disposed on the display medium layer; a touch panel (touch panel; [0170]) disposed on the electrode substrate; a flexible circuit board (flexible circuit board 1224; [0212]); and a sealant layer (sealant layer 1230; [0213]) disposed on the driving substrate (driving substrate 1214) and sealing an edge of the display medium layer (display medium layer 1216) and an edge of the electrode substrate (electrode layer 1222), in the cross-sectional view, wherein the edge of the display medium layer (display medium layer 1216) is indented by a distance (Fig. 17) relative to the edge of the electrode substrate (electrode layer 1222) to form a space (Fig. 17), and the sealant layer (sealant layer 1230) fills the space (Fig. 17) and extends to cover the edge of the electrode substrate (electrode layer 1222). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from PAOLINI to the electrophoretic display device of WU in view of YU. The combination/motivation would be to provide a water-resist sealing structure to package a touch display device.
5. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WU (US 20120120364 A1) in view of YU (US 20130082942 A1) and PAOLINI (US 20160062206 A1) and further in view of SHIN (US 20110090162 A1).
Regarding claim 3, WU in view of YU further in view of PAOLINI discloses the touch display device according to claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising: an adhesive layer disposed between the touch panel and the electrode substrate. However, Shin (e.g., Figs. 4-7) discloses a touch display similar to that disclosed by YU and WU, comprising: a touch panel 200 and an electrophoretic display 100, and an adhesive layer (adhesive layer 240) disposed between the touch panel (touch panel 200) and the electrode substrate (electrode layer 114). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SHIN to the touch display device of WU in view of YU and PAOLINI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a package structure to attach a touch panel to a display device.
6. Claims 3-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WU (US 20120120364 A1) in view of YU (US 20130082942 A1) and PAOLINI (US 20160062206 A1) and further in view of KANG (US 20140192272 A1).
Regarding claim 3, WU in view of YU and further in view of PAOLINI discloses the touch display device according to claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising: an adhesive layer disposed between the touch panel and the electrode substrate. However, However, KANG (e.g., Fig. 1) discloses a touch display similar to that disclosed by YU and WU, comprising: a touch panel 4 and an electrophoretic display 5, and an adhesive layer (adhesive layer 8) disposed between the touch panel (touch panel 4) and the electrode substrate (electrode layer of electrophoretic display 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KANG to the touch display device of WU in view of YU and PAOLINI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a package structure to attach a touch panel to a display device.
Regarding claim 4, WU in view of YU and further in view of PAOLINI discloses the touch display device according to claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising: a light guide plate disposed on the touch panel; and a cover plate disposed on the light guide plate. However, KANG (e.g., Fig. 1) discloses a touch display similar to that disclosed by YU and WU, comprising: a touch panel 4 and an electrophoretic display 5, and a light guide plate (light guide 3) disposed on the touch panel (touch panel 4); and a cover plate (cover plate 2) disposed on the light guide plate (light guide 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KANG to the touch display device of WU in view of YU and PAOLINI. The combination/motivation would be to provide an electrophoretic display device integrated with a touch panel.
Regarding claim 5, WU in view of YU and PAOLINI and further in view of KANG discloses the touch display device according to claim 4, KANG (e.g., Fig. 1) discloses further comprising: a first adhesive layer (first adhesive layer 8) disposed between the light guide plate (light guide 3) and the touch panel (touch panel 4); and a second adhesive layer first adhesive layer (second adhesive layer 8) disposed between the cover plate (cover guide 2) and the light guide plate (light guide 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KANG to the touch display device of WU in view of YU and PAOLINI. The combination/motivation would be to provide an electrophoretic display device integrated with a touch panel.
Regarding claim 8, WU in view of YU and further in view of PAOLINI discloses the manufacturing method of the touch display device according to claim 7, but does not disclose further comprising: providing a light guide plate on the touch panel; and providing a cover plate on the light guide plate. However, KANG (e.g., Fig. 1) discloses a touch display similar to that disclosed by YU and WU, comprising: a touch panel 4 and an electrophoretic display 5, the manufacturing method further comprising: providing a light guide plate (light guide 3) on the touch panel (touch panel 4); and providing a cover plate (cover plate 2) on the light guide plate (light guide 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KANG to the touch display device of WU in view of YU and PAOLINI. The combination/motivation would be to provide an electrophoretic display device integrated with a touch panel.
Regarding claim 9, WU in view of YU and PAOLINI and further in view of KANG discloses the manufacturing method of the touch display device according to claim 8, KANG (e.g., Fig. 1) discloses further comprising: forming a first adhesive layer (first adhesive layer 8) between the light guide plate (light guide 3) and the touch panel (touch panel 4); and forming a second adhesive layer (second adhesive layer 8) between the cover plate (cover guide 2) and the light guide plate (light guide 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KANG to the touch display device of WU in view of YU and PAOLINI. The combination/motivation would be to provide an electrophoretic display device integrated with a touch panel.
Response to Arguments
7. Regarding claims 1 and 7, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the references of WU (US 20120120364 A1), YU (US 20130082942 A1), and PAOLINI (US 20160062206 A1) have been used for new ground rejection.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623