DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species X, FIG. 9, and claims 1-6, 11, 12 and 15 in the reply filed on 06/18/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 7-10, 13, 14 and 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/28/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the splicing part is provided with a single air gap; or, the splicing part is provided with a plurality of air gaps distributed at intervals” as recited in claim 4 and the “the plurality of air gaps is distributed at equal intervals” as claimed in claim 5 and must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 12 and 15, the limitations are unclear because there are multiple “and/or” limitations in each claim 12 and 15. While a single “and/or” may not raise the limitations unclear, a plurality of “and/or” limitations can cause 112(b) issues, and in the case, the plurality of “and/or” limitations indeed make the scope of the claims unclear.
Regarding claim 15, it’s also clear what’s intended by “the primary winding thus formed and/or the secondary winding thus formed are insulated from the corresponding limb, and there is a gap between the primary planar winding forming the primary winding and/or the secondary planar winding forming the secondary winding and the corresponding limb” as claimed. Specifically, claim 1 requires “all air gaps” be filled with potting adhesive, so how can there be “a gap between the primary planar winding forming the primary winding and/or the secondary planar winding forming the secondary winding and the corresponding limb” in claim 15? This limitation in question appears to contradict “potting adhesive, filled in all air gaps” as required by claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uryu (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0235657 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Uryu teaches a planar magnetic element 1 (FIGs. 12-14), comprising:
a housing 3a, with an internal space (“small compartment” para. [0081]);
a core 4 and 5 (see FIG. 3 for exploded view), accommodated in the internal space of the housing, and the core comprising at least one limb 5a and or 5b;
at least one planar winding 6 corresponding to the limb; and
potting adhesive 8, filled in all air gaps in the internal space, and blocking the clearance and creepage path between the planar winding and the core and/or between the two planar windings (paras. [0080] and [0081]).
With respect to claim 2, Uryu teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein,
the core is of a spliced core structure formed by splicing multiple core parts 4 and 5 (para. [0081]).
With respect to claim 3, Uryu teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 2, wherein the spliced core structure comprises an upper core 4 and a lower core 5, and the upper core and the lower core are spliced to form a splicing part (para. [0081]).
With respect to claim 6, Hiratsuka teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 3, wherein,
the upper core and the lower core of the spliced core structure are directly spliced to form the splicing part and have the same potential (para. [0081]); or,
the splicing part includes an insulating material for electrical isolation, and the upper core and the lower core respectively on either sides of the insulating material have different potentials.
With respect to claim 11, Uryu teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 1, the planar magnetic element is a planar transformer, wherein at least two planar windings respectively form a primary winding and a secondary winding (para. [0041]).
With respect to claim 12, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Uryu teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 11, wherein,
the primary winding thus formed includes only one primary planar winding; and/or, the secondary winding thus formed includes only one secondary planar winding (para. [0041]); or,
the primary winding thus formed includes multiple primary planar windings, and the multiple primary planar windings are electrically connected in series or in parallel; and/or, the secondary winding thus formed includes multiple secondary planar windings, and the multiple secondary planar windings are electrically connected in series, or in parallel, or in a series-parallel hybrid structure.
With respect to claim 15, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Uryu teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 11, wherein, the primary winding thus formed and/or the secondary winding thus formed are insulated from the corresponding limb, and there is a gap between the primary planar winding forming the primary winding and/or the secondary planar winding forming the secondary winding and the corresponding limb; or,
the primary winding thus formed or the secondary winding thus formed is equipotential to the core, wherein the primary planar winding forming the primary winding and/or the secondary planar winding forming the secondary winding is/are bonded with the corresponding limb (para. [0081]).
Claims 1-3, 6, 11, 12 and 15 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiratsuka et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0066906 A1, hereinafter Hiratsuka).
With respect to claim 1, Hiratsuka teaches a planar magnetic element 300 (FIG. 3), comprising:
a housing 31, with an internal space 35 and or 36;
a core 27 and or 28 (see FIG. 2A for exploded view), accommodated in the internal space of the housing, and the core comprising at least one limb (any limb 24a-27c or 28a-28c);
at least one planar winding 21 corresponding to the limb; and
potting adhesive 55, filled in all air gaps in the internal space, and blocking the clearance and creepage path between the planar winding and the core and/or between the two planar windings (paras. [0041], [0046] and [0057]).
With respect to claim 2, Hiratsuka teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein,
the core is of a spliced core structure formed by splicing multiple core parts 27 and 28 (para. [0041]).
With respect to claim 3, Hiratsuka teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 2, wherein the spliced core structure comprises an upper core 28 and a lower core 27, and the upper core and the lower core are spliced to form a splicing part (para. [0041]).
With respect to claim 6, Hiratsuka teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 3, wherein,
the upper core and the lower core of the spliced core structure are directly spliced to form the splicing part and have the same potential (para. [0041]); or,
the splicing part includes an insulating material for electrical isolation, and the upper core and the lower core respectively on either sides of the insulating material have different potentials.
With respect to claim 11, Hiratsuka teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 1, the planar magnetic element is a planar transformer, wherein at least two planar windings respectively form a primary winding and a secondary winding (para. [0037]).
With respect to claim 12, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Hiratsuka teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 11, wherein,
the primary winding thus formed includes only one primary planar winding; and/or, the secondary winding thus formed includes only one secondary planar winding (para. [0037]); or,
the primary winding thus formed includes multiple primary planar windings, and the multiple primary planar windings are electrically connected in series or in parallel; and/or, the secondary winding thus formed includes multiple secondary planar windings, and the multiple secondary planar windings are electrically connected in series, or in parallel, or in a series-parallel hybrid structure.
With respect to claim 15, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Hiratsuka teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 11, wherein, the primary winding thus formed and/or the secondary winding thus formed are insulated from the corresponding limb, and there is a gap between the primary planar winding forming the primary winding and/or the secondary planar winding forming the secondary winding and the corresponding limb; or,
the primary winding thus formed or the secondary winding thus formed is equipotential to the core, wherein the primary planar winding forming the primary winding and/or the secondary planar winding forming the secondary winding is/are bonded with the corresponding limb (para. [0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiratsuka, as applied to claim 3 above, in view of Mao et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2010/0103585 A1, hereinafter “Mao”).
With respect to claim 4, Hiratsuka teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 3. Hiratsuka does not expressly teach
the splicing part is provided with a single air gap; or,
the splicing part is provided with a plurality of air gaps distributed at intervals.
Mao teaches a planar magnetic element (FIG. 1), wherein
the splicing part is provided with a single air gap 30 (para. [0026]); or,
the splicing part is provided with a plurality of air gaps distributed at intervals. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the air gap as taught by Mao to the planar magnetic element of Hiratsuka to provide the required magnetic saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 5, Hiratsuka in view of Mao teaches the planar magnetic element according to claim 4, wherein the plurality of air gaps is distributed at equal intervals (Mao, para. [0026]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837