DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Status Claims 1-16 are pending: Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/28/2023, 10/13/2023, 07/25/2025, 09/03/2025, 11/24/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner. IDS dated 10/13/2023 FOR BG not considered due to only the English Abstract being provided, and not WO 2017/073907 itself NPL BU not considered due to not being provided. The office notes that NPL BW by the same author was provided twice. The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered. In particular: Para120, NPL of Itoh Para147, NPL of Flamm Para164 NPL of Flamm NPL of Dickey Para182, NPL of Chremmos Para218, NPL of Efremidis NPL of Papazoglou Applicant is strongly encouraged to confirm that there are no other references listed in the specification that failed to be listed in an IDS. Double Patenting The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refe r to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. Claim 1, 3, 4, 5, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 12, 14, 15, 16 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 14, 13, 15, 16, 17, respectively of copending Application No. 18/363,015 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Please see the comparison table b elow. Underlining is used to indicate language that is different between claim sets. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. Instant Application 18/360,848 Copending Application 18/363,015 Claim 1 Claim 1 An apparatus for laser machining a workpiece with a material transparent to the laser machining, comprising: a first beam shaping device with a beam splitting element for splitting a first input beam input coupled into the first beam shaping device into a plurality of component beams, and a focusing optical unit assigned to the first beam shaping device and configured to image the plurality of component beams output coupled from the first beam shaping device into at least one focal zone, wherein the first input beam is split by the beam splitting element by phase imposition on the first input beam, wherein the component beams are focused into different partial regions of the at least one focal zone for forming the at least one focal zone, wherein the at least one focal zone is introduced by the focusing optical unit into the material at at least one work angle with respect to an outer side of the workpiece for laser machining the workpiece, and wherein material modifications associated with a crack formation in the material are produced in the material by exposing the material to the at least one focal zone. An apparatus for laser machining a workpiece comprising a material transparent to the laser machining, the apparatus comprising: a first beam shaping device comprising a beam splitting element for splitting a first input beam input coupled into the first beam shaping device into a plurality of component beams, and a focusing optical unit assigned to the first beam shaping device and configured to image the plurality of component beams output coupled from the first beam shaping device into at least one focal zone, wherein the first input beam is split by the beam splitting element by phase imposition on the first input beam, wherein the component beams are focused into different partial regions of the at least one focal zone for forming the at least one focal zone, wherein the at least one focal zone is introduced by the focusing optical unit into the material at at least one work angle with respect to an outer side of the workpiece for the laser machining of the workpiece, and wherein material modifications associated with a change of a refractive index of the material are produced in the material by exposing the material to the at least one focal zone. Claim 3 Claim 3 The apparatus as claimed in claim 1 , further comprising a second beam shaping device for beam shaping the first input beam input coupled into the first beam shaping device, wherein a focal distribution with a defined geometric shape and/or with a defined intensity profile is assigned to the first input beam by the second beam shaping device by phase imposition on a second input beam incident on the second beam shaping device, so that the focusing of the component beams output coupled from the first beam shaping device into different partial regions of the focal zone by the focusing optical unit forms the focal distributions based on the defined geometric shape and/or based on the defined intensity profile. The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a second beam shaping device for beam shaping the first input beam input coupled into the first beam shaping device, wherein a focal distribution with a defined geometric shape and/or with a defined intensity profile is assigned to the first input beam by the second beam shaping device by phase imposition on a second input beam incident on the second beam shaping device, so that the focusing of the component beams output coupled from the first beam shaping device into the different partial regions of the focal zone by the focusing optical unit forms the focal distributions based on the defined geometric shape and/or based on the defined intensity profile. Claim 4 Claim 4 The apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the phase imposition on the second input beam is such that the defined shape of the focal distribution is elongated in relation to an assigned main direction of extent and/or wherein the phase imposition on the second input beam is such that the defined intensity profile of the focal distribution is a quasi-nondiffractive and/or Bessel-like intensity profile. The apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the phase imposition on the second input beam is such that the defined geometric shape of the focal distribution is elongated in relation to an assigned main direction of extent, and/or wherein the phase imposition on the second input beam is such that the defined intensity profile of the focal distribution is a quasi-nondiffractive and/or Bessel-like intensity profile. Claim 5 Claim 5 The apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the phase imposition on the second input beam is such that the defined intensity profile of the focal distribution that, in relation to an assigned main direction of extent and proceeding from a maximum intensity at an intensity maximum of the defined intensity profile, falls to 1/e ^ 2-times the maximum intensity faster than in a Gaussian intensity profile by approximately a factor of 3, and/or wherein the phase imposition on the second input beam is such that the defined shape and/or the defined intensity profile of the focal distribution is that of an abruptly autofocusing beam. The apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the phase imposition on the second input beam is such that the defined intensity profile of the focal distribution in relation to an assigned main direction of extent which, proceeding from a maximum intensity at an intensity maximum of the defined intensity profile, falls to 1/e ^ 2-times the maximum intensity faster than a Gaussian intensity profile by approximately a factor of 3. Claim 5 Claim 6 The apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the phase imposition on the second input beam is such that the defined intensity profile of the focal distribution that, in relation to an assigned main direction of extent and proceeding from a maximum intensity at an intensity maximum of the defined intensity profile, falls to 1/e^2-times the maximum intensity faster than in a Gaussian intensity profile by approximately a factor of 3, and/or wherein the phase imposition on the second input beam is such that the defined shape and/or the defined intensity profile of the focal distribution is that of an abruptly autofocusing beam. The apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the phase imposition on the second input beam is such that the defined geometric shape and/or the defined intensity profile of the focal distributions that of an abruptly autofocusing beam. Claim 6 Claim 7 The apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein an intermediate image of the focal distribution is formed by the second beam shaping device, and the intermediate image of the focal distribution is arranged upstream of the first beam shaping device in relation to a main propagation direction of the second input beam. The apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein an intermediate image of the focal distribution is formed by the second beam shaping device, and wherein the intermediate image of the focal distribution is arranged upstream of the first beam shaping device in relation to a main propagation direction of the second input beam. Claim 7 Claim 8 The apparatus as claimed in claim 3, further comprising a far field optical unit assigned to the second beam shaping device, wherein the far field optical unit is configured for far field focusing of an output beam output coupled from the second beam shaping device into a focal plane of the far field optical unit, and wherein the first beam shaping device is arranged in a region of the focal plane. The apparatus as claimed in claim 3, further comprising a far field optical unit assigned to the second beam shaping device, wherein the far field optical unit is configured for far field focusing of an output beam output coupled from the second beam shaping device into a focal plane of the far field optical unit, and wherein the first beam shaping device is arranged in a region of the focal plane. Claim 9 Claim 10 The apparatus as claimed in claim 7, wherein the far field optical unit and the focusing optical unit form a telescope device, and/or wherein the far field optical unit and the focusing optical unit have a common focal plane, and wherein the first beam shaping device is arranged in a region of the common focal plane. The apparatus as claimed in claim 8, wherein the far field optical unit and the focusing optical unit form a telescope device, and/or wherein the far field optical unit and the focusing optical unit have a common focal plane, wherein the first beam shaping device is arranged in a region of the common focal plane. Claim 10 Claim 11 The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first input beam is assigned to a focal distribution with a defined geometric shape and/or with a defined intensity profile, wherein the component beams output coupled from the first beam shaping device are assigned the defined geometric shape and/or the defined intensity profile, and/or wherein using the focusing optical unit to focus the component beams output coupled from the first beam shaping device into the different partial regions of the focal zone leads to formation of the focal distributions based on the defined geometric shape and/or based on the defined intensity profile. The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first input beam is assigned to a focal distribution with a defined geometric shape and/or with a defined intensity profile, wherein the component beams output coupled from the first beam shaping device are assigned the defined geometric shape and/or the defined intensity profile, and/or wherein using the focusing optical unit to focus the component beams output coupled from the first beam shaping device into the different partial regions of the focal zone leads to formation of the focal distributions based on the defined geometric shape and/or the defined intensity profile. Claim 11 Claim 12 The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first beam shaping device comprises a beam shaping element for modifying a focal distribution assigned to the first input beam, wherein the beam shaping element is configured to bring about a modification and/or alignment of a geometric shape and/or an intensity profile of the focal distribution, imaged into the at least one focal zone, in a cross-sectional plane oriented perpendicular to an advancement direction, in which the at least one focal zone is moved relative to the workpiece for the laser machining of the workpiece. The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first beam shaping device comprises a beam shaping element for modifying a focal distribution assigned to the first input beam, wherein the beam shaping element is configured to bring about a modification and/or an alignment of a geometric shape and/or an intensity profile of the focal distribution, imaged into the at least one focal zone, in a cross-sectional plane oriented perpendicular to an advancement direction, in which the at least one focal zone is moved relative to the workpiece for the laser machining of the workpiece. Claim 13 Claim 14 The apparatus as claimed in claim 11, wherein an alignment of a main direction of extent of the geometric shape and/or the intensity profile of the focal distribution is adjustable in the cross-sectional plane oriented perpendicular to the advancement direction by the beam shaping element, so that the main direction of extent is oriented parallel or approximately parallel to a corresponding local direction of extent of the focal zone. The apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein an alignment of a main direction of extent of the geometric shape and/or the intensity profile of the focal distribution is adjustable in a cross-sectional plane oriented perpendicular to the advancement direction by the beam shaping element, and wherein the alignment is adjusted so that the main direction of extent is oriented parallel or approximately parallel to a corresponding local direction of extent of the focal zone. Claim 12 Claim 13 The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first beam shaping device comprises a beam shaping element for modifying a focal distribution assigned to the first input beam, wherein the beam shaping element is configured to bring about a modification and/or an alignment of a geometric shape and/or an intensity profile of the focal distribution, imaged into the at least one focal zone, in a cross-sectional plane oriented parallel to an advancement direction, in which the at least one focal zone is moved relative to the workpiece for the laser machining of the workpiece. The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first beam shaping device comprises a beam shaping element for modifying a focal distribution assigned to the first input beam, wherein the beam shaping element is configured to bring about a modification and/or an alignment of a geometric shape and/or an intensity profile of the focal distribution, imaged into the at least one focal zone, in a cross-sectional plane oriented parallel to an advancement direction, in which the at least one focal zone is moved relative to the workpiece for the laser machining of the workpiece. Claim 14 Claim 15 The apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the beam shaping element brings about the modification of the intensity profile of the focal distribution in the cross-sectional plane oriented parallel to the advancement direction so that the intensity profile has at least one preferred direction, wherein the at least one preferred direction is oriented parallel or at an angle or perpendicular to the advancement direction. The apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein the beam shaping element brings about the modification of the intensity profile of the focal distribution in the cross-sectional plane oriented parallel to the advancement direction such that the intensity profile has at least one preferred direction, wherein the at least one preferred direction is oriented parallel or at an angle or perpendicular to the advancement direction. Claim 15 Claim 16 The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first beam shaping device comprises a polarization beam splitting element configured so that each component beam of the plurality of component beams output coupled from the first beam shaping device has one of at least two different polarization states, wherein the component beams with the different polarization states are focused into adjacent partial regions of the at least one focal zone by the focusing optical unit. The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first beam shaping device comprises a polarization beam splitting element configured so that each of the component beams output coupled from the first beam shaping device has one of at least two different polarization states, wherein component beams with the different polarization states are focused into adjacent partial regions of the at least one focal zone by the focusing optical unit. Claim 16 Claim 17 A method for laser machining a workpiece with a material transparent to the laser machining, the method comprising: splitting, using a beam splitting element of a first beam shaping device, a first input beam input coupled into the first beam shaping device into a plurality of component beams, wherein the first input beam is split by the beam splitting element by phase imposition on the first input beam, focusing, using a focusing optical unit assigned to the first beam shaping device, the component beams output coupled from the first beam shaping device into at least one focal zone, wherein the component beams are focused into different partial regions of the at least one focal zone for forming the at least one focal zone, wherein the at least one focal zone is introduced by the focusing optical unit into the material at at least one work angle with respect to an outer side of the workpiece for laser machining the workpiece, and exposing the material to the at least one focal zone so as to produce material modifications associated with a crack formation in the material. A method for laser machining a workpiece with a material transparent to the laser machining, the method comprising: splitting, using a beam splitting element of a first beam shaping device, a first input beam input coupled into the first beam shaping device into a plurality of component beams, wherein the first input beam is split by the beam splitting element by phase imposition on the first input beam, focusing, using a focusing optical unit assigned to the first beam shaping device, the component beams output coupled from the first beam shaping device into at least one focal zone, wherein the component beams are focused into different partial regions of the at least one focal zone for forming the at least one focal zone, wherein the at least one focal zone is introduced by the focusing optical unit into the material at at least one work angle with respect to an outer side of the workpiece for the laser machining of the workpiece, and exposing the material to the at least one focal zone to produce material modifications associated with a change of a refractive index of the material. Further discussion regarding: Independent Claim 1 vs 1 and Independent Claim 16 vs 17 In the context of “a material transparent to the laser machining” of both claim sets, the claim limitation of “crack formation” and “change of a refractive index” are mutually anticipatory. Instant Claim 5 vs copending Claim 5/6 Instant application underlined sections are listed as an alternative “or” limitation, and correspond to both co-pending Claims 5/6. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Claim 5 “ wherein the phase imposition on the second input beam is such that the defined intensity profile of the focal distribution that, in relation to an assigned main direction of extent and proceeding from a maximum intensity at an intensity maximum of the defined intensity profile, falls to 1/e 2 -times the maximum intensity faster than in a Gaussian intensity profile by approximately a factor of 3, and/or … ” Fig9a/b do not show the claimed comparison. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Interpretation - Language L anguage and/or terms in the claims are interpreted as follows: “and/or” will be read as “or” unless explicitly indicated otherwise “Type III modifications” will be read as a void, cavity, or crack, as informed by Para120-124 “ autofocusing beam” will be read as a beam with an intensity that has an abrupt drop from its peak, as informed by Para213 and Fig9a/b “approximately” modifying numeric values will be read as +/- 10%, as informed by Para129 Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f) The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application inclu des one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ first beam shaping device” first recited in claim 1/16 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “far field beam shaping element(s)” of Para37, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function Or equivalents “ beam splitting element” first recited in claim 1 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “diffractive beam splitting element and/or as a 3-D beam splitting element” of Para 31 , however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function Or equivalents “ focusing optical unit” first recited in claim 1/16 Corresponding structure Lens, as informed by Para137 Or equivalents “ second beam shaping device” first recited in claim 3 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “diffractive optical element and/or an axicon element” of Para52, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function Or equivalents “ far field optical unit” first recited in claim 8 Corresponding structure None disclosed Or equivalents “ beam shaping element” first recited in claim 11/16 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “diffractive optical element and/or an axicon element” of Para52, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function Or equivalents “ polarization beam splitting element” first recited in claim 15 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “birefringent lens element and/or a birefringent wedge element” of Para160, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function Or equivalents Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. Claim 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1-16 The following claim limitations invoke interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) as discussed in the corresponding section above. For each of the following cited limitations, the subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the corresponding structure that performs the required function for each cited limitation below. The closest support, if any, is also indicated below. However, it each case the specification fails to provide actual structure beyond an “element” that performs the discussed function. Instant claim limitations that were not described: “ first beam shaping device” first recited in claim 1/16 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “far field beam shaping element(s)” of Para37, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function “ beam splitting element” first recited in claim 1 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “diffractive beam splitting element and/or as a 3-D beam splitting element” of Para31 /147 , however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function “ second beam shaping device” first recited in claim 3 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “diffractive optical element and/or an axicon element” of Para52, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function “ far field optical unit” first recited in claim 8 Corresponding structure None disclosed “ beam shaping element” first recited in claim 11/16 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “diffractive optical element and/or an axicon element” of Para52, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function “ polarization beam splitting element” first recited in claim 15 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “birefringent lens element and/or a birefringent wedge element” of Para160, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function Dependent claims are rejected based on dependency The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. The following c laim limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. “ first beam shaping device” first recited in claim 1/16 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “far field beam shaping element(s)” of Para37, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function “ beam splitting element” first recited in claim 1 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “diffractive beam splitting element and/or as a 3-D beam splitting element” of Para31, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function “ second beam shaping device” first recited in claim 3 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “diffractive optical element and/or an axicon element” of Para52, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function “ far field optical unit” first recited in claim 8 Corresponding structure None disclosed “ beam shaping element” first recited in claim 11/16 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “diffractive optical element and/or an axicon element” of Para52, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function “ polarization beam splitting element” first recited in claim 15 Corresponding structure None disclosed The closest was: “birefringent lens element and/or a birefringent wedge element” of Para160, however this does not disclose a structure that performs the function Therefore, the claim 1-16 is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Dependent claims are rejected based on dependency Applicant may: (a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; (b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)). If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 10 2 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 10,843,956) Claim 1 Liu discloses: “An apparatus (best seen Fig1, optical arrangement 100) for laser machining a workpiece with a material transparent (best seen Fig3A/B, transparent article 300, lasered cracks/flaws 330/335/340/354) to the laser machining (Title , C1L13- 14,C 4L45-49 ) , comprising: a first beam shaping device with a beam splitting element (Fig1, first polarizing beam splitter 121) for splitting a first input beam input ( Fig1, beam 11 upstream of splitter 121 ) coupled into the first beam shaping device into a plurality of component beams (Fig1, first laser beam 21, second laser beam 22 downstream of splitter 121) , and a focusing optical unit (Fig1, focusing lens 150) assigned to the first beam shaping device (Fig1, lens 150 downstream of splitter 121) and configured to image the plurality of component beams (beams 21/22) output coupled from the first beam shaping device (lens 150 downstream of beams 21/22) into at least one focal zone (C9L35-38, Fig1, first focus point 151, second focus point 152) , wherein the first input beam (beam 11) is split by the beam splitting element (splitter 121) by phase imposition on the first input beam (Fig1, polarizing beam splitter 121; C8L40-49, beams 21/22 have different polarization phase) , wherein the component beams (beams 21/22) are focused into different partial regions (foci 151/152) of the at least one focal zone for forming the at least one focal zone (foci 151/152) , wherein the at least one focal zone (foci 151/152) is introduced by the focusing optical unit (lens 150) into the material at at least one work angle with respect to an outer side of the workpiece for laser machining the workpiece (best seen Fig3A/B, foci 151/152 form cracks/flaws 330/335/340/354 in transparent article 300 at different vertical displacements d1/d2) , and wherein material modifications associated with a crack formation in the material are produced in the material by exposing the material to the at least one focal zone (Fig3A/B; C14L22-54, flaws/cracks 330/335/340/354 are formed due to laser foci 151/152 crack/cut the inside of transparent article 300) .” Claim 2 Liu discloses: “The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the material modifications produced in the material by the at least one focal zone (Fig3A/B; C14L22-54, flaws/cracks 330/335/340/354 are formed due to laser foci 151/152 crack/cut the inside of transparent article 300) are Type III modifications (cracks and voids are a Type III modification per the claim interpretation section above) .” Claim 3 Liu discloses: “The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a second beam shaping device ( lenses 110 including wave-plate 112 ) for beam shaping the first input beam input (beam 11) coupled into the first beam shaping device (beam splitter 121) , wherein a focal distribution with a defined geometric shape and/or with a defined intensity profile is assigned to the first input beam by the second beam shaping device by phase imposition on a second input beam incident on the second beam shaping device (C10L26-33, lenses 110 including wave-plate 112 is used to adjust power of beam 11) , so that the focusing of the component beams output (beams 21/22) coupled from the first beam shaping device (splitter 121) into different partial regions of the focal zone (foci 151/152) by the focusing optical unit (lens 150) forms the focal distributions based on the defined geometric shape and/or based on the defined intensity profile (Fig1, lenses 110 including wave-plate 112 is upstream of splitter 121) .” Claim 6 Liu discloses: “The apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein an intermediate image of the focal distribution (Fig1, beam 11 image output from lenses 110 including wave-plate 112 ) is formed by the second beam shaping device ( lenses 110 including wave-plate 112 ) , and the intermediate image of the focal distribution is arranged upstream of the first beam shaping device in relation to a main propagation direction of the second input beam (Fig, beam 11 image output from lenses 110 including wave-plate 112 is upstream of splitter 121) .” Claim 10 Liu discloses: “The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first input beam (beam 11) is assigned to a focal distribution with a defined geometric shape and/or with a defined intensity profile (C10L26-33, lenses 110 including wave-plate 112 is used to adjust power of beam 11) , wherein the component beams output (beams 21/22) coupled from the first beam shaping device (splitter 121) are assigned the defined geometric shape and/or the defined intensity profile (beams 21/22 are downstream of lenses 110 including wave-plate 112 ) , and/or wherein using the focusing optical unit (lens 150) to focus the component beams output (beams 21/22) coupled from the first beam shaping device (splitter 121) into the different partial regions (foci 151/152) of the focal zone (foci 151/152) leads to formation of the focal distributions based on the defined geometric shape and/or based on the defined intensity profile (foci 151/152 of beams 21/22 is downstream of lenses 110 including wave-plate 112 ) .” Claim 11 Liu discloses: “The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first beam shaping device comprises a beam shaping element (Fig1, lenses 140/141) for modifying a focal distribution assigned to the first input beam (C8L65-C9L22, C10L21- 30 ; Fig1, lens 140/14 1 modify foci 151/152 alignment and may include additional wave-plates to modify beam intensity ) , wherein the beam shaping element is configured to bring about a modification and/or alignment of a geometric shape and/or an intensity profile of the focal distribution (C8L65-C9L22, C10L21-30; Fig1, lens 140/141 modify foci 151/152 alignment and may include additional wave-plates to modify beam intensity) , imaged into the at least one focal zone (lenses 140/141 modify foci 151/152) , in a cross-sectional plane oriented perpendicular to an advancement direction (cross-section plane best seen Fig3A/B, advancement direction y, perpendicular plane x-z ; C14L25-30 ) , in which the at least one focal zone is moved relative to the workpiece for the laser machining of the workpiece (Fig3A/B, foci 151/152 form cracks/flaws 330/335/340/354 in transparent article 300 at different vertical z displacements d1/d2 along advancement direction y in article 300) .” Claim 13 Liu discloses: “The apparatus as claimed in claim 11, wherein an alignment of a main direction of extent of the geometric shape and/or the intensity profile of the focal distribution (best seen Fig3A/3B/9A/9B, main direction of formed cracks/flaws [ ie 330/335/340/345/930/950/955/960/965//985] extend in the vertical z direction of article 300/900 by laser beams 21/22) is adjustable in the cross-sectional plane oriented perpendicular to the advancement direction (Fig3A//9A/9B show the x-z plane of article 300/900 which is perpendicular to beam advancement direction y through the article 300/900, as seen in Fig3B) by the beam shaping element (lenses 140/141; C8L65- C9L22, C10L21-30; Fig1, lens 140/141 modify foci 151/152 alignment and may include additional wave-plates to modify beam intensity) , so that the main direction of extent (Fig3A/9A/9B, vertical direction z of formed cracks/flaws) is oriented parallel or approximately parallel to a corresponding local direction of extent of the focal zone (C14L25-28/ best seen Fig3B, foci 151/152 have a local focal region of the z-direction which is parallel to the z-direction of article 300/900) .” Claim 12 Liu discloses: “The apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first beam shaping device comprises a beam shaping element (Fig1, lenses 140/141) for modifying a focal distribution assigned to the first input beam (C8L65-C9L22, C10L21-30; Fig1, lens 140/141 modify foci 151/152 alignment and may include additional wave-plates to modify beam intensity) , wherein the beam shaping element is configured to bring about a modification and/or alignment of a geometric shape and/or an intensity profile of the focal distribution (C8L65-C9L22, C10L21-30; Fig1, lens 140/141 modify foci 151/152 alignment and may include additional wave-plates to modify beam intensity) , imaged into the at least one focal zone (lenses 140/141 modify foci 151/152) , in a cross-sectional plane oriented parallel to an advancement direction (cross-section plane best seen Fig3A/B, advancement direction y, parallel planes y-x and y-z ; C14L25-30 ) , in which the at least one focal zone is moved relative to the workpiece for the laser machining of the workpiece (Fig3A/B, foci 151/152 form cracks/flaws 330/335/340/354 in transparent article 300 at different vertical z displacements d1/d2 along advancement direction y in article 300) .” Claim 14 Liu discloses: “The apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the beam shaping element (lenses 140/141) brings about the modification of the intensity profile of the focal distribution (C8L65-C9L22, C10L21-30; Fig1, lens 140/141 include additional wave-plates to modify beam intensity) in the cross-sectional plane (best seen Fig3B, plane y-z) oriented parallel to the advancement direction (best seen Fig3B, plane y-z parallel to advancement direction y; C14L25-30) so that the intensity profile has at least one preferred direction (best seen Fig3A/3B/9A/9B, main direction of formed cracks/flaws [ ie 330/335/340/345/930/950/955/960/965//985] extend in the vertical z direction of article 300/900 by laser beams 21/22) , wherein the at least one preferred direction is oriented parallel or at an angle or perpendicular to the advancement direction (