Detailed Office Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Prior Art Rejection
4. Claims 1 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al. (US 2015/0306731 A1) in view of Barton et al. (US 2022/0226959 A1, as evidenced by Hobbs et al. (US 2013/0071571 A1), and further in view of Weis et al. (US 2018/0071888 A1) and Gajewski (US 5,223,599).
Qian et al. disclose a chemical mechanical polishing pad produced from an isocyanate terminated prepolymer, having an isocyanate content of 8.5 to 9.5 weight percent, and a curative blend comprising a polyol, corresponding to applicant’s high molecular weight polyol (b) (instant claim 1), and a difunctional compound, wherein 3,5-dimethylthio-2,4-toluenediamine and its isomers are disclosed (instant claim 1). See abstract and paragraphs [0011]-[0018], [0036], and [0037] within Qian et al. The disclosed curative components are used in amounts that overlap the claimed weight ratios of instant claim 1. See paragraphs [0014], [0026], and [0035] within Qian et al. Regarding instant claim 7, within paragraph [0040], the claimed active hydrogen group to isocyanate group ratio is disclosed. Regarding instant claim 8, the claimed density range is disclosed within paragraph [0042]. Regarding instant claim 9, microelements, corresponding to applicant’s claimed expanded polymeric microspheres, are disclosed within paragraph [0041]. Regarding instant claim 10, groove patterns, corresponding to those claimed, are disclosed within paragraphs [0028] and [0029].
5. Regarding the claimed prepolymer isocyanate content of 8.3 to 9.8 weight percent (instant claim 6), though the primary reference encompasses the majority of this range, it does not teach the claimed endpoints. Still, the claimed range was known to be useful for the production of isocyanate prepolymer to be used in the production of chemical mechanical polishing pads. This position is supported by the teaching within the abstract and paragraph [0006] of Weis et al. Accordingly, given this teaching and the closeness of the respectively disclosed ranges within the references, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to use the broader isocyanate content range to produce the composition of the primary reference, so as to arrive at the instant invention. Regarding applicant’s claimed curative component (a) of instant claim 1, though the primary reference discloses 3,5-dimethylthio-2,4-toluenediamine and its isomers, the primary reference fails to disclose curative (a), as claimed. Still, the instantly claimed diamine curative was a known curing agent component for curing a prepolymer used to produce chemical mechanical polishing pads. This position is supported by the teachings within paragraph [0072] and Examples 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, and 11 of Barton et al., wherein Ethacure 300 is used as a curing agent for polyisocyanate prepolymer compositions used to produce chemical mechanical polishing pads. Furthermore, as evidenced by paragraph [0793] of Hobbs et al., Ethacure 300 comprises 95-97% dimethylthiotoluene diamine and 2-3% monomethylthiotoluene diamine, which corresponds to instantly claimed curative (a). Since it has been held that it is prima facie obvious to use a known compound for its known function, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to use this disclosed diamine as the diamine curative component of the primary reference, so to arrive at the instant invention. Furthermore, given the disclosed preferred use of 3,5-dimethylthio-2,4-toluenediamine within the primary reference, one would have reasonably expected Ethacure 300, containing almost completely this preferred diamine, to function equivalently as a curative for the prepolymer of Qian et al.
6. Regarding the teachings within the primary reference with respect to the diamine curative, it is noted that 3,5-dimethylthio-2,4-toluenediamine and its isomers are taught as being more preferred, while MBOCA is taught as being most preferred. However, at the time of invention, MBOCA was suspected of being a carcinogen, and its use within polyurethanes as a curing agent was not desirable relative to other non-carcinogenic curatives. This position is supported by the teaching within column 1, lines 35-45 of Gajewski. Accordingly, in view of this disclosure, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use another curative, as opposed to MBOCA.
7. Applicant has argued (1) that applicant has demonstrated unexpected results, relative to the closest available prior art, and has therefore rebutted the prima facie case of obvious and (2) that there is a lack of motivation to combine the teachings of Qian et al. and Barton et al. However, these arguments are not found persuasive for the following reasons. Regarding argument (1), firstly, applicant’s disclosure of the prepolymer used within his examples lacks adequate disclosure/definition to establish that the comparative examples are representative of the primary reference, considered to constitute the closed prior art. Secondly, the relied upon examples, Examples 1, 3 and 4 (Example 2 being outside the scope of the claims), of the instant invention are not commensurate in scope with the claims in terms of component species or amounts to establish that the argued unexpected results hold for the full scope of the claims. Note: In re Greenfield, 571 F.2d 1185, 1189, 197 USPQ 227, 230 (CCPA1978). Thirdly, regarding applicant’s argument concerning the use of MBOCA within Qian et al., applicant’s attention is directed to the aforementioned teaching within Gajewski explaining why one would have been motivated to use other than MBOCA as the curing agent of Qian et al. Regarding argument (2), applicant’s argument that there is insufficient motivation to combine the teachings of Qian et al. and Barton et al. is not well taken. The primary reference discloses the preferred use of the main diamine component of Ethacure 300 as a curative for the prepolymer of Qian et al. and given the extreme similarity of the respective diamine curing agents, one would have expected them to function equivalently to cure the prepolymer of Qian et al. The disclosure within Qian et al. regarding the use of a diamine curative that corresponds so closely to that claimed and that of Barton et al. successfully rebuts applicant’s statement that one would have had no motivation or reasonable expectation of success in isolating Ethacure 300 from Barton et al. and employing it within Qian et al. Given these relied upon teachings, there is insufficient reasoning/disclosure of record to support applicant’s position. It is noted that Barton et al. has been relied upon solely to establish that the instantly claimed diamine curing agent was known at the time of invention. It is further noted that the instant claims in no way exclude the argued low molecular weight diols of Barton et al.; therefore, this argument is not commensurate with the instant claims. Applicant’s arguments having been addressed, the prior art rejection as modified has been maintained.
Conclusion
/RABON A SERGENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765