DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 1/12/2026 in which claims 21-40 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Obtaining based on terminal information of a terminal in a packet sent by a terminal, a first service function combination corresponding to the terminal
Pestana [0105] As illustrated by arrow 602 in FIG. 14a, in some embodiments, the AMF node 30 may send to the SMF node 10 a PDU session establishment request. The PDU session establishment request may comprise an identifier of a user (“User-ID”). The PFCP session and PDU session establishment that leads to the methods of the prior art to be performed are based on a user ID inside the packet sent by the AMF.
Fig. 1 shows the UE directly connected to the AMF via the N1 interface; therefore, it is implied that the UE ID comes from the UE in a packet to the AMF via the N1 interface to perform the methods of the prior art.
The claimed invention recites; “obtaining, based on;” which is taught by the prior art therefore the rejection to the claims is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24, 28, and 31-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puente Pestana et al. (US20220247688A1).
As to claims 21, 32, and 34, Pestana teaches a network device, applied to a control plane device, wherein the network device comprises: (abstract There is provided a method performed by a session management function (SMF) node of a network for establishing a PFCP session)
one or more memories configured to store instructions; and ([0049] FIG. 7 is a block diagram illustrating a session management function node according to an embodiment 14)
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to execute the instructions to cause the network device to perform operations including: ([0049] FIG. 7 is a block diagram illustrating a session management function node according to an embodiment; 12)
obtaining a first service function combination corresponding to the terminal, wherein the first service function combination comprises at least one service function; ([0105] As illustrated by arrow 604 in FIG. 14a, the SMF node 10 may send to the PCF node 50 a request to get the policy and charging control (PCC) rules for the identified user. [0108] Once the SMF node 10 has all of the information (e.g. the information received from the PCF node 50, the registered SFs and the load of the SFs), the process moves to block 618 in FIG. 14b)
configuring a first policy on a user plane device based on the first service function combination, wherein the user plane device is accessed by the terminal, the first policy indicates a first service chain, and the first service chain corresponds to the first service function combination; and ([0105] As illustrated by arrow 604 in FIG. 14a, the SMF node 10 may send to the PCF node 50 a request to get the policy and charging control (PCC) rules for the identified user. [0108] the SMF node 10 may select one or more UPF nodes 20 for the PFCP session and the SMF node 10 may select the SFs to be chained per selected UPF. Also, for each UPF node that supports one or more of the selected plurality of SFs, the SMF node 10 initiates transmission of a request to the UPF node 20 to establish the PFCP session with the UPF node 20. In this way, the SMF node 10 establishes the PFCP session with each selected UPF. [0110] The method illustrated in FIG. 10 is thus performed in that the UPF node 20 receives, from the SMF node 10, the request to establish the PFCP session with the UPF node 20, i.e. the PFCP session establishment request. The UPF node 20 can then establish the PFCP session using the one or more selected SFs indicated by the request.)
sending first user entry information to the user plane device, wherein the first user entry information comprises a policy identifier of the first policy and a terminal identifier of the terminal, and the first user entry information indicates the user plane device to send traffic from the terminal to the first service chain based on the first policy. ([0109] In more detail, as illustrated by arrow 620 in FIG. 14b, the SMF node 10 sends to each selected UPF node 20 a PFCP session establishment request. The PFCP session establishment request may, for example, comprise a packet detection rule (PDR) e.g. with the App-ID, a forwarding action rule (FAR) e.g. including an ordered list of the selected SF-IDs for that UPF, and/or usage reporting rules (URRs) for activating SF load reporting e.g. including the target SF-IDs and reporting triggers (which may, for example, be triggered periodically, upon reaching a threshold, etc.). At block 622 in FIG. 14b, the UPF node 20 generates (or sets) an identifier (“Chain-ID”) that identifies one or more of the selected plurality of SFs that the UPF node 20 supports. For example, the UPF node 20 may generate a Chain-ID for an ordered set of SFs.)
But does not specifically teach:
obtaining, based on terminal information of a terminal in a packet sent by a terminal, a first service function combination corresponding to the terminal, wherein the first service function combination comprises at least one service function, and the terminal information comprises one or more of a terminal identifier of the terminal or account information corresponding to the terminal;
However Pestana teaches [0105] As illustrated by arrow 602 in FIG. 14a, in some embodiments, the AMF node 30 may send to the SMF node 10 a PDU session establishment request. The PDU session establishment request may comprise an identifier of a user (“User-ID”). As illustrated by arrow 604 in FIG. 14a, the SMF node 10 may send to the PCF node 50 a request to get the policy and charging control (PCC) rules for the identified user. [0104] In more detail, FIG. 14a-b depicts an SF configuration process at protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment. The PDU session that is established is between a user equipment (UE) of the network and a data network (not illustrated). For each protocol data unit (PDU) session that is established, there is a packet forwarding control protocol (PFCP) session between the SMF node 10 and each UPF node 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that the PFCP session and PDU session establishment that leads to the methods of the prior art to be performed are based on a user ID inside the packet sent by the UE in order to determine which SF the UE needs in the network for communication.
As to claims 22 and 35, Pestana teaches the network device according to the network device according to wherein the first policy comprises a first segment list, and the first segment list comprises a segment identifier of the first service function combination, or wherein the first policy comprises information about a tunnel between the user plane device and a first service function forwarder (SFF), and the first SFF is associated with the first service chain. ([0108] Once the SMF node 10 has all of the information (e.g. the information received from the PCF node 50, the registered SFs and the load of the SFs), the process moves to block 618 in FIG. 14b. At block 618 in FIG. 14b, the method illustrated in FIG. 8 is performed. That is, the SMF node 10 selects a plurality of SFs to connect in an SF chain for handling a PFCP session based on a load (e.g. in terms of the capacity) of each of the plurality of SFs. For example, the SMF node 10 may select one or more UPF nodes 20 for the PFCP session and the SMF node 10 may select the SFs to be chained per selected UPF. Also, for each UPF node that supports one or more of the selected plurality of SFs, the SMF node 10 initiates transmission of a request to the UPF node 20 to establish the PFCP session with the UPF node 20. In this way, the SMF node 10 establishes the PFCP session with each selected UPF. [0109] In more detail, as illustrated by arrow 620 in FIG. 14b, the SMF node 10 sends to each selected UPF node 20 a PFCP session establishment request. The PFCP session establishment request may, for example, comprise a packet detection rule (PDR) e.g. with the App-ID, a forwarding action rule (FAR) e.g. including an ordered list of the selected SF-IDs for that UPF, and/or usage reporting rules (URRs) for activating SF load reporting e.g. including the target SF-IDs and reporting triggers (which may, for example, be triggered periodically, upon reaching a threshold, etc.).)
As to claims 23 and 36, Pestana teaches the network device according to claim 22, the operations further comprising: generating the first policy based on the first service function combination; and ([0108] Once the SMF node 10 has all of the information (e.g. the information received from the PCF node 50, the registered SFs and the load of the SFs), the process moves to block 618 in FIG. 14b. At block 618 in FIG. 14b, the method illustrated in FIG. 8 is performed. That is, the SMF node 10 selects a plurality of SFs to connect in an SF chain for handling a PFCP session based on a load (e.g. in terms of the capacity) of each of the plurality of SFs. For example, the SMF node 10 may select one or more UPF nodes 20 for the PFCP session and the SMF node 10 may select the SFs to be chained per selected UPF. Also, for each UPF node that supports one or more of the selected plurality of SFs, the SMF node 10 initiates transmission of a request to the UPF node 20 to establish the PFCP session with the UPF node 20. In this way, the SMF node 10 establishes the PFCP session with each selected UPF.)
sending the first policy to the user plane device. ([0109] In more detail, as illustrated by arrow 620 in FIG. 14b, the SMF node 10 sends to each selected UPF node 20 a PFCP session establishment request. The PFCP session establishment request may, for example, comprise a packet detection rule (PDR) e.g. with the App-ID, a forwarding action rule (FAR) e.g. including an ordered list of the selected SF-IDs for that UPF, and/or usage reporting rules (URRs) for activating SF load reporting e.g. including the target SF-IDs and reporting triggers (which may, for example, be triggered periodically, upon reaching a threshold, etc.))
As to clams 24 and 37, Pestana teaches the network device according to claim 22, wherein the first policy comprises the information about the tunnel between the user plane device and the first SFF, the operations further comprising: ([0109] In more detail, as illustrated by arrow 620 in FIG. 14b, the SMF node 10 sends to each selected UPF node 20 a PFCP session establishment request. The PFCP session establishment request may, for example, comprise a packet detection rule (PDR) e.g. with the App-ID, a forwarding action rule (FAR) e.g. including an ordered list of the selected SF-IDs for that UPF, and/or usage reporting rules (URRs) for activating SF load reporting e.g. including the target SF-IDs and reporting triggers (which may, for example, be triggered periodically, upon reaching a threshold, etc.))
sending routing information to the first SFF, wherein the routing information comprises the terminal identifier of the terminal, and the routing information indicates the first SFF to send the traffic from the terminal to the first service chain. ([0111] For example, in more detail, as illustrated by arrow 624 in FIG. 14b, the UPF node 20 may send to the SFF node 40 a set service chain (SC) message including the Chain-ID and, if applicable, the ordered set of SFs. In some embodiments, once the PDU session is established, the UPF node 20 may forward UP traffic to the SFF node 40, as illustrated by arrow 630 in FIG. 14b. The UP traffic may, for example, include the Chain-ID. Then, the SFF node 40 can send the traffic to the proper SFs.)
As to claim 28, Pestana teaches the network device according to claim 21, the operations further comprising: obtaining application information of a first application, wherein the first application is on the terminal, and the first policy comprises the application information of the first application. ([0105] As illustrated by arrow 602 in FIG. 14a, in some embodiments, the AMF node 30 may send to the SMF node 10 a PDU session establishment request. The PDU session establishment request may comprise an identifier of a user (“User-ID”). As illustrated by arrow 604 in FIG. 14a, the SMF node 10 may send to the PCF node 50 a request to get the policy and charging control (PCC) rules for the identified user. [0106] As illustrated by arrow 606 in FIG. 14a, in response to a request to get the PCC rules, the PCF node 50 may send to the SMF node 10 the PCC rules for the identified user. These PCC rules may, for example, include an identifier of an application (“App-ID”), an indication (e.g. a list) of one or more features to activate in the UPF node 20 (such as any of those mentioned earlier), and/or traffic steering information. The one or more features may be one or more user plane (UP) features.)
As to claims 31 and 33, Pestana teaches the network device according to claim 21, the operations further comprising:
receiving an update message, wherein the update message comprises a second service function combination corresponding to the terminal, the second service function combination comprises second at least one service function, and the first service function combination is different from the second service function combination; ([0118] FIG. 17 depicts a service chain (SC) update triggered by the SMF node 10. [0119] In some embodiments, the SMF node 10 may trigger an SF reselection (e.g. if an SF is becoming overloaded in a UPF node 20, or as a consequence of a dynamic PCC rule updating the features that an SF is capable of activating).)
configuring a second policy on the user plane device based on the second service function combination, wherein the second policy indicates a second service chain, and the second service chain corresponds to the second service function combination; and ([0120] For example, as illustrated by arrow 902 of FIG. 17, the SMF node 10 may send to the target UPF node 20 a SF chain update message, e.g. including the User-ID, Chain-ID and the updated ordered list of SF-IDs. As illustrated by arrow 904 in FIG. 17, the UPF node 20 may send to the SFF node 40 the ordered list of SF-IDs linked to the Chain-ID. As illustrated by arrow 906 in FIG. 17, the UPF node 20 may respond to the SMF node 10 acknowledging the chain update.)
sending second user entry information to the user plane device, wherein the second user entry information comprises a second policy identifier of the second policy and the terminal identifier of the terminal, and the second user entry information indicates the user plane device to send the traffic from the terminal to the second service chain based on the second policy. ([0120] For example, as illustrated by arrow 902 of FIG. 17, the SMF node 10 may send to the target UPF node 20 a SF chain update message, e.g. including the User-ID, Chain-ID and the updated ordered list of SF-IDs. As illustrated by arrow 904 in FIG. 17, the UPF node 20 may send to the SFF node 40 the ordered list of SF-IDs linked to the Chain-ID. As illustrated by arrow 906 in FIG. 17, the UPF node 20 may respond to the SMF node 10 acknowledging the chain update.)
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pestana in view of Dao et al. (US20190254118A1).
As to claim 30, Pestana teaches the network device according to claim 21,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the packet sent by the terminal comprises a data packet or an address resolution protocol (ARP) packet, the terminal obtains a static address, the data packet comprises the terminal identifier of the terminal, and the ARP packet comprises the terminal identifier of the terminal, the obtaining the first service function combination comprising: obtaining the first service function combination based on the terminal identifier of the terminal.
However Dao teaches wherein the packet sent by the terminal comprises a data packet or an address resolution protocol (ARP) packet, the terminal obtains a static address, the data packet comprises the terminal identifier of the terminal, and the ARP packet comprises the terminal identifier of the terminal, the obtaining the first service function combination comprising: obtaining the first service function combination based on the terminal identifier of the terminal. (abstract A method in a session management function (SMF) of a network. The method comprises: receiving a session request message from a user equipment (UE), the session request message comprising: an identifier of the UE; a UE-specific application identifier that uniquely identifies a particular application among a set of one or more applications implemented on the UE; and an application-specific packet filter set identifier that uniquely identifies a particular packet filter set among a group of one or more packet filter sets supported by the particular application. A protocol data unit (PDU) session is established based at least in part on the identifier of the UE, the UE-specific application identifier, and the application-specific packet filter set identifier. [0209] FIGS. 5A-5B illustrate a representative process for UE-requested PDU Session Establishment for non-roaming and roaming with local breakout. This procedure assumes that the UE has already registered on the AMF thus unless the UE is Emergency registered the AMF has already retrieved the user subscription data from the UDM [0245] Static IP address/prefix may be included in the subscription data if the UE has subscribed to it.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PDU session method of Pestana with the method from Dao in order to establish a communication session with a network to provide services to the UE.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-27, 29, and 38-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465