DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on (7/28/23) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant numbered consecutive claims as 4. Appropriate correction is required.
2. Renumbered Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant should make sure it depends from the renumbered claim 5 which introduces welding in the forthcoming amendment. Appropriate correction is required.
3. Renumbered Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: It recite “the bracket” but should recite one of “the first sub-bracket” or “the second sub-bracket”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Numbering
The numbering of the claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.75(f) which requires that if there are several claims, they shall be numbered consecutively in Arabic numerals. The claims as filed include two claims both numbered as claim “4”. Misnumbered claims “4” (the second claim 4) through 19 have been renumbered as claims 5-20. The applicant's next response must reflect the claims as renumbered, with the claim dependencies changed accordingly.
Double Patenting
Renumbered Claims 1, 9, 11, 18 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15, 18, 16, 16 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,745,574. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the claims of the present application are included in the claims of the reference application.
Renumbered Claims 16, 17 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15, 15 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,745,574.
Regarding renumbered claim 16, the only limitation not disclosed in claim 15 of the ‘574 patent is that there is an electric-vehicle battery supported by the battery tray. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the electric-vehicle battery tray of claim 15 of the ‘574 patent to support an electric-vehicle battery.
Regarding renumbered claim 17, the only limitation not disclosed in claim 15 of the ‘574 patent is a wheel supported by the subframe vehicle-forward of the bracket (see the above claim objection to claim 17). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the electric-vehicle battery of claim 15 of the ‘574 patent to include a wheel supported by the subframe vehicle-forward of the bracket.
Regarding renumbered claim 20, see the above nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting rejections of renumbered claims 16 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Renumbered Claims 1-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bryer (US 9,937,781).
[CLAIM 1] Regarding claim 1, Bryer discloses a vehicle, comprising:
an electric-vehicle battery tray (Bryer, annotated FIG 1); a rocker rail (Bryer, annotated FIG 1) elongated along a vehicle-longitudinal axis; a subframe (Bryer, annotated FIG 1); and a first sub-bracket (Bryer, annotated FIG 1) and a second sub-bracket (Bryer, annotated FIG 1) fixed to the first sub-bracket (Bryer, annotated FIG 1), the first sub-bracket and the second sub-bracket both being fixed to the battery tray, the rocker rail, and the subframe (Bryer, annotated FIG 1, each enumerated component in the claim is ultimately connected at assembly).
[CLAIM 2] Regarding claim 2, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the second sub-bracket is stacked on the first sub-bracket above the first sub-bracket (Bryer, annotated FIG 1).
[CLAIM 3] Regarding claim 3, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 2, wherein the second sub-bracket is between the subframe and the first sub-bracket (Bryer, annotated FIG 2).
[CLAIM 4] Regarding claim 4, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 3, wherein the first sub-bracket is fixed to the second sub-bracket about an outer surface of the first sub-bracket and the second sub-bracket (Bryer, annotated FIG 1, each enumerated component in the claim is ultimately connected at assembly).
[CLAIM 5] Regarding claim 5, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 4, further comprising a weld between the first sub-bracket and the second sub-bracket (Bryer, see Column 7, lines 15-20 disclose welding and can be selected from the known group of mechanical fastening techniques).
[CLAIM 6] Regarding claim 6, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 5, wherein the weld extends along the vehicle-longitudinal axis and a vehicle-lateral axis (Bryer, see Column 7, lines 15-20 disclose welding and can be selected from the known group of mechanical fastening techniques and have any desired weld length).
[CLAIM 7] Regarding claim 7, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 1, further comprising a weld between the first sub-bracket and the second sub-bracket (Bryer, see Column 7, lines 15-20 disclose welding and can be selected from the known group of mechanical fastening techniques).
[CLAIM 8] Regarding claim 8, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the second sub-bracket is between the subframe and the first sub-bracket (Bryer, annotated FIG 2).
[CLAIM 9] Regarding claim 9, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the first sub-bracket is fixed to the second sub-bracket about an outer surface of the first sub-bracket and the second sub-bracket (Bryer, annotated FIG 1, each enumerated component in the claim is ultimately connected at assembly).
[CLAIM 10] Regarding claim 10, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the first sub-bracket and the second sub-bracket are both fixed to the subframe with a fastener that extends through both the first sub-bracket and the second sub-bracket (Bryer, annotated FIG 1 below).
[CLAIM 11] Regarding claim 11, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the first sub-bracket includes a flange extending downward away from the battery tray (Bryer, annotated FIG 2 below which can extend the downward portion of the first sub bracket to any desired depth to protect the battery).
[CLAIM 12] Regarding claim 12, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 11, wherein the flange extends downward away from the battery tray to a distal edge, the distal edge being lower than the battery tray (Bryer, annotated FIG 2 above which can extend the downward portion of the first sub bracket to any desired depth to protect the battery).
[CLAIM 13] Regarding claim 13, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 12, wherein the flange is elongated along a vehicle-lateral axis (Bryer, annotated FIG 2 above which can extend the downward portion of the first sub bracket to any desired depth to protect the battery).
[CLAIM 16] Regarding claim 16, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 1, further comprising an electric-vehicle battery supported by the battery tray (Bryer, vehicle 10 includes battery modules 24 in FIG 2).
[CLAIM 17] Regarding claim 17, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 1, further comprising a wheel supported by the subframe vehicle-forward of the bracket (See claim objection above regarding “the bracket”. The front wheels of Bryer are forward of the first and second sub-brackets).
[CLAIM 18] Regarding claim 18, Bryer discloses a vehicle, comprising: an electric-vehicle battery tray (Bryer, annotated FIG 1); a rocker rail (Bryer, annotated FIG 1) elongated along a vehicle-longitudinal axis (Bryer, annotated FIG 1); a subframe (Bryer, annotated FIG 1); and a bracket (First and Second sub brackets in annotated FIG 1) fixed to the battery tray, the rocker rail, and the subframe (Bryer, annotated FIG 1); the bracket including a flange extending downward to a distal end lower than the battery tray (Bryer, annotated FIG 2 above which can extend the downward portion of the first sub bracket to any desired depth to protect the battery).
[CLAIM 19] Regarding claim 19, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 18, wherein the bracket includes a first sub-bracket and a second sub-bracket stacked on and fixed to the first sub-bracket (Bryer, annotated FIG 1), the first sub-bracket including flange (Bryer, annotated FIG 2 above which can extend the downward portion of the first sub bracket to any desired depth to protect the battery).
[CLAIM 20] Regarding claim 20, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 18, further comprising: an electric-vehicle battery supported by the battery tray (Bryer, vehicle 10 includes battery modules 24 in FIG 2); and a wheel supported by the subframe vehicle-forward of the bracket (Bryer, the front wheel wells (which house the wheels) are forward of the first and second sub-brackets which are near the vehicle bulkhead/cabin).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Renumbered Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryer (US 9,937,781) in view of Desourdy et al. (US 11,673,443).
[CLAIM 14] Regarding claim 14, Bryer discloses the vehicle of claim 11.
-However, it fails to illustrate the control arm and a control arm bracket supported by the subframe, the control arm bracket having a second flange extending downward away from the battery tray.
-Nevertheless, Desourdy discloses a suspension structure in annotated FIG 3 including subframe, control arm and flanged bracketry.
-Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Bryer to have a front suspension structure including control arms and attachment means as taught by Desourdy with a reasonable expectation of success in order to integrate the suspension with the traction battery.
[CLAIM 15] Regarding claim 15, Bryer/Desourdy disclose the vehicle of claim 14, wherein the flange and the second flange are elongated along a vehicle-lateral axis (Each flange of Bryer and Desourdy extend down and laterally).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES J TRIGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 3614B
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614