Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 5, filed 11 May 2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. The rejections of claims 1 – 9 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 5, filed 11 May 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 – 9 under 35 USC 103 in view of Kayyem in view of Eberhart and further in view of Ball have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al and further in view of Ball et al. The prior art of Taylor et al was made of record in the office action dated 20 February 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al (US 20160175835 A1) in view of Eberhart et al (US 20150024436 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Taylor et al teaches,
“A microfluidic device for extracting DNA” has been read on the taught ([0018], “…a fluidic cartridge for processing a liquid sample…”; [0106], “…the cartridge comprises reagents for nucleic acid amplification.”);
“A feeder layer,” and wherein “the feeder layer is provided with […] blister openings” has been read on the taught ([0146], “The cartridge 100 comprises […] a blister sub-assembly 112…”; [0163], “Three apertures 132a-c, corresponding to the three blisters 130a-c, pass through the substrate 132.”);
“A buffer layer” has been read on the taught ([0146], “The cartridge 100 comprises [...] a fluid layer 115…”);
“A pneumatic layer” has been read on the taught ([0146], “The cartridge 100 comprises […] a pneumatic layer 114…”);
“The buffer layer is provided with segmented buffer channels, each segmented buffer channel is provided with a plurality of subchannels,” “each segmented buffer channel is communicated with the main channel,” and wherein the buffer solutions “are supplied to the main channels through the subchannels” have been read on the taught ([0119], “Two branch channels 26, 28 join the main channel 16… The purpose of the branch channels is to introduce liquid buffers necessary for performing the desired test. For example, with the test conducted by the exemplary cartridge, it is necessary to introduce an elution buffer and a wash buffer into the main channel once the sample has passed through.”; Figure 1 shows sub-channels separated by valves.);
“Each segmented buffer channel corresponds to one pop-up blister,” “an inlet of each segmented buffer channel is connected to a corresponding pop-up blister,” “pop-up blisters are […] are communicated with inlets of the segment buffer channels respectively after passing through respective blister openings” has been read on the taught ([0119], “At the appropriate point in the test, the wash and elution buffer blisters 30, 32 are collapsed so as to expel the wash and elution buffers into the branch channels 26, 28 and thence into the main channel 16 through the wash and elution buffer valves 34, 36.”);
“The pop-up blisters are filled with different buffer solutions” has been read on the taught ([0162], “These contain, respectively, the lysis buffer which comprises reagents capable of performing cell lysis, the wash buffer and the elution buffer.”);
“Each segmented buffer channel is provided with a plurality of convergence nodes, a pop-up valve is arranged at each convergence node and is pneumatically controlled by the pneumatic layer” has been read on the taught ([0171], “That is, each valve is operable to open and close a fluidic channel in which the valve is located, and this valve is actuated by applying a particular pressure to a pneumatic control line coupled to the valve.”; [0170], “…the wash buffer inlet valve 146; the wash buffer air inlet valve 146a; the elution buffer inlet valve 147; the elution buffer air inlet valve 147a…”);
Taylor et al additionally teaches a lysis sample which moves through the device, as read on the taught ([0093], “The fluidic portion of the cartridge includes reagents and/or physical components for cell lysis and nucleic acid separation. These may be any reagents or physical components that are capable of lysing cells and separating nucleic acids from cell debris and other cellular components.”).
Taylor et al additionally teaches that bellows may be used to pump liquid samples within the device, as read on the taught ([0117], “The bellows 20, together with its upstream and downstream valves 22a-b, is capable of pumping the liquid sample from the upstream end of the fluid pathway (i.e. from the sample mixing chamber 10) to the downstream end.”).
Taylor et al teaches a main channel, as read on the taught ([0119], “Two branch channels 26, 28 join the main channel 16…” ; Main channel 16 reads on a main channel).
While Taylor et al does not explicitly teach a plurality of main channels, this is held to be mere duplication of parts. According to MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.”—see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfluidic chip as taught by Taylor et al to have multiple main channels, for the predictable benefit of allowing parallel processing to occur on the chip.
The microfluidic chip of Taylor et al teaches a feeder layer with blister openings; however, in the preferred embodiment, the main channel is located on a fluidics layer (analogous to the buffer layer). The examiner believes that the location of the main channel is a case of mere rearrangement of parts; please see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C), In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7. In the case of the instant invention, the location of the main channel does not modify operation of the device, and, given Taylor et al’s teaching of a multilayered, multichannel device, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the layer design to allow the fluid from the blisters to descend a layer, be sorted by subchannels, and then ascend to the main channel, for the predictable benefit of minimizing the lateral space required to accommodate the flow channels of the device.
However, Taylor et al does not explicitly disclose an electromagnetic plate arranged between the buffer layer and the pneumatic layer; or a syringe pump is connected to an inlet of each main channel and the syringe pump is configured to inject a sample into each main channel.
In the analogous art of microfluidic devices, Eberhart et al teaches;
The claimed “a syringe pump” has been read on the taught ([0246], “…a fluidics system incorporating a syringe pump for accurately metering volumes…”);
The claimed “an electromagnetic plate” has been read on the taught ([0192], “…the cassette further comprises a magnetic field application member adjacent to the thermocycling chamber. The magnetic field application member may be configured to apply a magnetic field using […] an electromagnet.”; An electromagnet adjacent to the thermocycling chamber reads on an electromagnetic plate);
Regarding the limitation “wherein an electromagnetic plate is arranged between the buffer layer and the pneumatic layer,” according to MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C), rearrangement of parts may be prima facie obvious when shifting the position of the components does not modify the operation of the device. Eberhart et al specifies that the magnet should be adjacent to the chamber containing the magnetic beads (see [0192]). Further arrangements of the electromagnet plate are held to be mere rearrangement of parts obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microfluidic device of Taylor et al with the electromagnetic plate and syringe pump as taught by Eberhart et al, for the predictable benefit of creating an improved system which can introduce accurate volumes of fluid using a syringe pump and which does not require an actuator to physically move a magnet ([0246], “…a fluidics system incorporating a syringe pump for accurately metering volumes…”; [0273], “…the presence of an actuator that applies and retracts a rare-earth magnet to control the movement of magnetically responsive (e.g., magnetic or paramagnetic) particles can be eliminated by using an electromagnet…”).
With regards to claim 2, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
The limitation of “wherein the feeder layer, the buffer layer, and the pneumatic layer each have a length of 10 cm and a thickness of 1 mm” relates exclusively to the dimensions and proportions of the device. According to MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A), if a device with the claimed dimensions would not perform differently from the prior art device, then the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device; please see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). As the instant specification does not disclose any unexpected results from the recited dimensions, the device of claim 2 is obvious over the prior art of Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
With regards to claim 3, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
Taylor et al further teaches;
The claimed “wherein a collection device is arranged at an outlet of each main channel, and the collection device is configured to collect a DNA sample” has been read on the taught ([0015], “Fluids that are directed toward the junction B110 converge in the junction B110 and flow into the outlet channel B111, through the analysis region B116…”; [0084], “The target nucleic acid(s) to be amplified and detected in the cartridge will usually be DNA, but it is also possible to amplify and detect RNA.”).
With regards to claim 4, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
The limitation of “wherein a pop-up blister containing the magnetic binding buffer solution, a pop-up blister containing the washing buffer solution, and a pop-up blister containing the elution buffer solution are arranged in sequence in a direction from the inlet of the main channel to the outlet of the main channel” relates exclusively to the arrangement of the blisters on the cartridges.
According to MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C), rearrangement of parts may be prima facie obvious when shifting the position of the components does not modify the operation of the device. As the instant specification does not disclose any unexpected results from the recited blister locations, this limitation does not distinguish the current invention over the prior art of Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
The limitation of “the pop-up blister containing the magnetic binding buffer solution, the pop-up blister containing the washing buffer solution and the pop-up blister containing the elution buffer solution are released in sequence in the direction from the inlet of the main channel to the outlet of the main channel to release the magnetic binding buffer solution, the washing buffer solution, and the elution buffer solution in sequence” describes the intended use of the device. No structural limitations are provided which would perform the recited “release in sequence.” Per MPEP 2114(II), “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.”; See Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). As such, this limitation does not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art of Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
With regards to claim 5, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
The limitation of “wherein eight main channels are provided in the feeder layer, and each segmented buffer channel includes eight subchannels in the buffer layer” relates exclusively to the number of components in the device. According to MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced; please see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). As the instant specification does not disclose any unexpected results from the recited number of channels and subchannels, this limitation does not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art of Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
With regards to claim 6, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
The limitation of “wherein each segmented buffer channel is provided with an eight-valve channel separator with three pop-up valves” relates exclusively to the number of components in the device. According to MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B), duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced; please see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). As the instant specification does not disclose any unexpected results from the recited number of channels, subchannels, and valves, this limitation does not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art of Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
With regards to claim 9, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
The limitation of “wherein the microfluidic device is reusable after washing with a bleaching agent with a concentration of 1% to 2%, and rinsing with double distilled water followed by air-drying” is functional language and has been given the appropriate patentable weight. Please see MPEP 2114(II), and Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). As no structural limitations are given in the limitations of claim 9, this additional limitation does not define the instant application over the prior art of Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
Claim 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al (US 20160175835 A1) in view of Eberhart et al (US 20150024436 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ball et al (US 20200038864 A1).
With regards to claim 7, the device of claim 6 is obvious over Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al.
However, this combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the pop-up valve is a check valve for limiting fluid entering one subchannel or eight subchannels simultaneously.
In the analogous art of microfluidic systems, Ball et al teaches;
The claimed “wherein the pop-up valve is a check valve for limiting fluid entering one subchannel or eight subchannels simultaneously” has been read on the taught ([0028], “[0028] Fluid flow can be controlled by these check valves.”; [0030], “Any useful network of valves may be employed to produce the desired fluidic network.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the microfluidic devices including pneumatic valves as taught by Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al with the specific check valve as taught by Ball et al. According to MPEP 2143(I)(C), use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way may be prima facie obvious. In the case of the instant invention, the prior art of Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al teaches a “base” device upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement. The prior art of Ball et al teaches a comparable microfluidic device that has been improved with a check valve in the same way as the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known “improvement” technique in the same way to the “base” device, for the predictable result of limiting fluid flow according to a desired pattern.
With regards to claim 8, the device of claim 7 is obvious over Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al in view of Ball et al.
Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the three pop-up valves is a T-shaped free-moving polydimethylsiloxane structure.
Ball et al further teaches;
The claimed “wherein the pop-up valve is a T-shaped free-moving polydimethylsiloxane structure” has been read on the taught ([0058], “The present check valves and cartridges can be formed from any useful material. Exemplary materials include […] poly(dimethylsiloxane) (PDMS)…”); Figure 2B and 2C show the free-moving elastomeric pad 220 having an indent to accommodate a ridge. This reads on the pop-up valve being T-shaped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the microfluidic devices including pneumatic valves as taught by Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al with the specific check valve as taught by Ball et al. According to MPEP 2143(I)(C), use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way may be prima facie obvious. In the case of the instant invention, the prior art of Taylor et al in view of Eberhart et al teaches a “base” device upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement. The prior art of Ball et al teaches a comparable microfluidic device that has been improved with a T-shaped pop-up check valve in the same way as the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known “improvement” technique in the same way to the “base” device, for the predictable result of limiting fluid flow according to a desired pattern.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALISON CLAIRE GERHARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1797 /LYLE ALEXANDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1797