DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because "In the start of the art, transitory signals are commonplace as a medium for transmitting computer instruction and thus, in the absence of any evidence to the contrary and give the broadest reasonable interpretation, the scope of a “computer readable medium' covers a signal per se." In order to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, the "computer readable storage media" should be changed to "non-transitory computer readable storage media".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garibaldi et al (US 2012/0281970) and further in view of Stokman et al (US 2015/0242104).
For claim 1, Garibaldi et al teach a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by one or more computer processors (e.g. paragraph 16: The processor 52 can include video editing software), a video (e.g. paragraph 16: In accordance with the principles of this disclosure, the user can select from and arrange at least one of (a) A procedure video…video files and images, among other relevant audio/video sources…The user can arrange this visual data on the transmit display and can select or combine the various audio sources);
extracting, by one or more computer processors (e.g. paragraph 16: The processor 52 can include video editing software), text from a first frame of the video (e.g. paragraph 23: OCR text recognition of the procedure video or audiovisual signal can be used to identify the regions to block);
determining, by one or more computer processors (e.g. paragraph 16: The processor 52 can include video editing software), a personal information object is detected in the extracted text (e.g. paragraph 23: text recognized can be compared to a list of personal information about the patient, and matching text can be obscured to prevent disclosure of private patient information.);
obscuring, by one or more computer processors (e.g. paragraph 16: The processor 52 can include video editing software), the personal information object in the first frame (e.g. paragraph 23: text recognized can be compared to a list of personal information about the patient, and matching text can be obscured to prevent disclosure of private patient information.).
Garibaldi et al do not further specify: performing the previous steps on each frame in the video. Stokman et al teach performing the previous steps on each frame in the video (e.g. paragraph 131: After the video has been processed, every frame containing the selected areas on the transcript (that shows the student's name and student's university account number) will have those selected areas obscured or replaced with another image). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching Stokman et al into the teaching of Garibaldi et al to obscure privacy information (e.g. Stokman et al, paragraph 130-131) to improve privacy protection.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above.
For claim 2, Garibaldi et al do not specify receiving, by one or more computer processors, a type of the personal information object for obscuring; and receiving, by one or more computer processors, a method of obscuring the personal information object. Stockman et al teach receiving, by one or more computer processors, a type of the personal information object for obscuring; and receiving, by one or more computer processors, a method of obscuring the personal information object (e.g. paragraph 131: After the video has been processed, every frame containing the selected areas on the transcript (that shows the student's name and student's university account number) will have those selected areas obscured or replaced with another image). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching Stokman et al into the teaching of Garibaldi et al to obscure privacy information (e.g. Stokman et al, paragraph 130-131) to improve privacy protection.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 2 above.
For claim 3, Garibaldi et al do not specify the type of the personal information object includes at least one of: a name, contact information, an address, an email address, a phone number, a social security number, a driver’s license number, a passport number, a credit card number, an account number, a license plate number, and medical information. Stockman et al teach the type of the personal information object includes at least one of: a name, contact information, an address, an email address, a phone number, a social security number, a driver’s license number, a passport number, a credit card number, an account number, a license plate number, and medical information. (e.g. paragraph 131: After the video has been processed, every frame containing the selected areas on the transcript (that shows the student's name and student's university account number) will have those selected areas obscured or replaced with another image). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching Stokman et al into the teaching of Garibaldi et al to obscure privacy information (e.g. Stokman et al, paragraph 130-131) to improve privacy protection.
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 3 above.
For claim 17, Garibaldi et al teach obscuring the personal information object includes at least one of: masking the personal information, blurring the personal information, and redacting the personal information. Stokman et al teach obscuring the personal information object includes at least one of: masking the personal information, blurring the personal information, and redacting the personal information (e.g. paragraph 153: blurred image). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching Stokman et al into the teaching of Garibaldi et al to obscure privacy information (e.g. Stokman et al, paragraph 130-131) to improve privacy protection.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 17 above.
For claim 7, Garibaldi et al do not further specify obscuring, by one or more computer processors, a second position of the personal information object in a frame of the video prior to the first frame; and obscuring, by one or more computer processors, a third position of the personal information object in a next frame of the video following a previously obscured frame. Stokman et al teach obscuring, by one or more computer processors, a second position of the personal information object in a frame of the video prior to the first frame; and obscuring, by one or more computer processors, a third position of the personal information object in a next frame of the video following a previously obscured frame. (e.g. paragraph 131: After the video has been processed, every frame containing the selected areas on the transcript (that shows the student's name and student's university account number) will have those selected areas obscured or replaced with another image). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching Stokman et al into the teaching of Garibaldi et al to obscure privacy information (e.g. Stokman et al, paragraph 130-131) to improve privacy protection.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 7 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 12-13 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schuler et al (US 2022/0335154) teach, see abstract, a redaction operation specified by a redaction policy is executed on the electronic data collection to generate a modified electronic data collection.
Email: daquan.zhao1@uspto.gov.
Phone: (571)270-1119
/DAQUAN ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484