DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-11 of the remarks, in regards to claims 1, 19 and 20, the applicant submits that the Ravishankar fails to teach or suggest the limitation of “in response to the TN cell being outside the coverage of the first NTN cell, allocating a radio resource to the TN cell based on a radio resource of the first NTN cell”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Ravishankar discloses at least in paragraphs [0040]-[0046] and Figs. 5-6, at 630, resources within the frequency spectrum are allocated towards the one or more base stations of the terrestrial network based on the location (terrestrial base station 555b is outside of coverage of 512a of the satellite. The examiner further sates that in response to the terrestrial base station 555b being outside the location of coverage area of 512a, resources are allocated. Therefore, Ravishankar discloses the above limitation.
On page 12 of the remarks, in regards to dependent claims, the applicant submits that dependent claims are allowable, due to the previously alleged deficiencies of the references as applied to independent claims 1, 19 and 20, as described above.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner kindly directs the applicant to the reasoning detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ravishankar, Channasandra (US 20190239082, Ravishankar hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Ravishankar discloses a method of radio resource allocation for a terrestrial network (TN) cell, the method comprising:
determining that the TN cell is outside a coverage of a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell (see at least paragraphs [0040]-[0046] and Figs. 5-6, identifying the terrestrial base stations 555b (interpreted as TN cell is outside of coverage of 512a of the satellite) as operating within the geographical coverage area 512b prior to allocating the resources.); and
in response to the TN cell being outside the coverage of the first NTN cell, allocating a radio resource to the TN cell based on a radio resource of the first NTN cell (see at least paragraphs [0040]-[0046] and Figs. 5-6, at 630, resources within the frequency spectrum are allocated towards the one or more base stations of the terrestrial network based on the location (terrestrial base station 555b is outside of coverage of 512a of the satellite).).
As to claim 2: Ravishankar discloses the method of claim 1. Ravishankar further discloses wherein a frequency range of the radio resource allocated to the TN cell overlaps with a frequency range of the radio resource of the first NTN cell (see at least paragraph [0041], an interference may be caused by the location of wireless terminal 532b in an overlap region of geographical coverage areas 512b and 556b. Thus, the allocation of resources may be based or adjusted on the interference.).
As to claim 3: Ravishankar discloses the method of claim 1. Ravishankar further discloses wherein a time duration of the radio resource allocated to the TN cell overlaps with a time duration of the radio resource of the first NTN cell (see at least paragraph [0041], an interference may be caused by the location of wireless terminal 532b in an overlap region of geographical coverage areas 512b and 556b. Thus, the allocation of resources may be based or adjusted on the interference.).
As to claim 4: Ravishankar discloses the method of claim 1. Ravishankar further discloses wherein a polarization of the radio resource allocated to the TN cell is the same as a polarization of the radio resource of the first NTN cell (see at least paragraph [0041], the amount of the resources can be allocated towards terrestrial base stations 555a, 555b based on an interference caused therefrom and reported within geographical coverage areas 512a, 512b, 556a, 556b, and overlap regions thereof.).
As to claim 16: Ravishankar discloses the method of claim 1. Ravishankar further discloses further comprising: transmitting reference signal configuration information to at least one of a satellite associated with the second NTN cell or a base station of the TN cell (see at least paragraph [0040], a transceiver 522 which transmits/receives information to/from the satellite 510).
As to claim 17: Ravishankar discloses the method of claim 1. Ravishankar further discloses further comprising: transmitting a cell configuration message from a base station of the TN cell to a user equipment to inform the user equipment to access the TN cell (see at least paragraph [0040], the system 500 further includes terrestrial base stations 555a and 555b, which are associated with a terrestrial network and which respectively facilitate communication between terminal 532a and 532b).
As to claim 18: Ravishankar discloses the method of claim 1. Ravishankar further discloses further comprising: transmitting a cell de-configuration message from a base station of the TN cell to a user equipment to inform the user equipment to leave the TN cell (see at least paragraph [0040], the system 500 further includes terrestrial base stations 555a and 555b, which are associated with a terrestrial network and which respectively facilitate communication between terminal 532a and 532b).
As to claim 19: Ravishankar discloses an apparatus, comprising: processing circuitry configured to determine that a terrestrial network (TN) cell is outside a coverage of a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell (see at least paragraphs [0040]-[0046] and Figs. 5-6, identifying the terrestrial base stations 555b (interpreted as TN cell is outside of coverage of 512a of the satellite) as operating within the geographical coverage area 512b prior to allocating the resources.), and
in response to the TN cell being outside the coverage of the first NTN cell, allocate a radio resource to the TN cell based on a radio resource of the first NTN cell (see at least paragraphs [0040]-[0046] and Figs. 5-6, at 630, resources within the frequency spectrum are allocated towards the one or more base stations of the terrestrial network based on the location (terrestrial base station 555b is outside of coverage of 512a of the satellite).).
As to claim 20: Ravishankar discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method comprising: determining that a terrestrial network (TN) cell is outside a coverage of a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell (see at least paragraphs [0040]-[0046] and Figs. 5-6, identifying the terrestrial base stations 555b (interpreted as TN cell is outside of coverage of 512a of the satellite) as operating within the geographical coverage area 512b prior to allocating the resources.); and
in response to the TN cell being outside the coverage of the first NTN cell, allocating a radio resource to the TN cell based on a radio resource of the first NTN cell (see at least paragraphs [0040]-[0046] and Figs. 5-6, at 630, resources within the frequency spectrum are allocated towards the one or more base stations of the terrestrial network based on the location (terrestrial base station 555b is outside of coverage of 512a of the satellite).).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464