DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I, claims 1-9 and 19-20 in the reply filed on 08 June 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “(vii) in response to determining that the portion of the first component is not contacting the opening in the portion of the second component, repeatedly performing steps (i)-(iv) until it is determined that the portion of the first component is contacting the opening in the portion of the second component.” renders claim indefinite because performing the steps (i)-(iv) is confusing. See, lines 8-9 recite “holding the portion of the first component in a holding position with a stream of air output from a nozzle of an assembly system” (emphasis added) and step (i) recites “(i) outputting the stream of air from the nozzle”. If the portion of the first component is held in a holding position with a stream of air output from a nozzle as recited in lines 8-9, it is confusing the recited “repeatedly performing steps (i)”. Would it be repeatedly performing steps (ii)-(iv)?
In claim 20, same issue is there for the limitation “(vii) in response to determining that the portion of the first component is not contacting the opening in the portion of the second component, repeatedly performing steps (i)-(iv) until it is determined that the portion of the first component is contacting the opening in the portion of the second component.”
Claims 2-9 depend on claim 1. Therefore, claims 1-9 and 20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR 20180124309) in view of Son (KR 20220069171).
[AltContent: textbox (second component)][AltContent: textbox (first component)][AltContent: textbox (opening)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (second component (20))][AltContent: textbox (first component (10))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ]
Annotated Figs.1 to 4, Jung.
Regarding claim 19, Jung teaches, a method for assembling an electronic device (assembling an actuator of a camera module, para. [0001]), the method comprising:
arranging a first component of the electronic device (cover assembly 10, see annotated Figs. 1, 2 and 3) in a first position on a first plane (see the cover jig 130, Fig. 2, cover receiving portion (131) has a shape corresponding to the outer surface of the cover assembly (10) so that the cover assembly (10) is joined without gaps, Fig. 3, para. [0029]);
arranging a second component of the electronic device (carrier assembly 20, Figs. 1, 2 and 4) in a second position on a second plane (see the carrier jig 140, Fig. 2, carrier receiving portion (141) has a shape corresponding to the outer surface of the carrier assembly (20) so that the carrier assembly (20) is joined without gaps, see Figs. 2 and 4, para. [0035]), wherein the second plane is parallel to the first plane (see Fig. 2) and separated from the first plane by a predetermined distance, wherein a position of a portion of the first component on the first plane and a position of a portion of the second component overlap along an axis perpendicular to the first plane and the second plane (see Figs. 1 and 2);
holding the portion of the first component in a holding position (tray (121) is transported along the transfer rail (120) in the Y-axis direction, and the cover jig (130) and carrier jig (140) are placed at positions corresponding to the pickup machine (160), para. [0022]); and
aligning the portion of the first component with an opening (see the carrier assembly 20, annotated Fig. 1) in the portion of the second component while the portion of the first component is held in the holding position (plurality of trays (121) may be positioned on the transfer rail (120), and a cover jig (130) and a carrier jig (140) are supplied on each tray (121), para. [0020]; combining the cover jig (130) and the carrier jig (140), the cover assembly (10) and the carrier assembly (20) are assembled, para. [0048]; when both the cover jig (130) and the carrier jig (140) located on the tray (121) on one transfer rail (120) are combined, the pickup machine (160) moves to another transfer rail (120) and can repeat the assembly process while combining the cover jig (130) and the carrier jig (140) located on the tray (121) on the other transfer rail (120), para. [0052]).
Jung does not teach, holding with a stream of air output from a nozzle of an assembly system. However, Son teaches, a method of assembling an electronic device (camera module, para. [0004], Figs. 1 to 8), in which, a holding the portion of the first component in a holding position with a stream of air output from a nozzle of an assembly system (air-injection type jig device capable of accurately moving an inspection means to a target position using air while simultaneously controlling it with a fast response speed, para. [0010]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Son, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify for assembling an electronic device of Jung and replace the cover jig 130 of Jung with an air injection type jig device as Son taught in para. [0010] so that it enables avoiding the back and forth movement of a target support and thereby improving the assembly speed as Son disclosed in para. [0013]. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in holding the first component with a stream of air output from the nozzle of an assembly system. A simple substitution of a conventional jig with an air injection type jig, or an air chuck would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. Claims 2-9 would be allowable by virtue of its dependency.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claims 1 and 20 would be allowable for disclosing a method for assembling an electronic device, comprising: (iii) capturing, with at least one camera of the assembly system, a plurality of images, wherein each image of the plurality of images depicts the first component and the second component; (iv) determining whether the portion of the first component is contacting the opening in the portion of the second component; (vi) in response to determining that the portion of the first component is contacting the opening in the portion of the second component, securing the first component to the second component.
Though, prior art of record Jung teaches, a method for assembling an electronic device, including moving, using one or more actuators of the assembly system, Jung fails to teach, (iii) capturing, with at least one camera of the assembly system, a plurality of images, wherein each image of the plurality of images depicts the first component and the second component; (iv) determining whether the portion of the first component is contacting the opening in the portion of the second component; (vi) in response to determining that the portion of the first component is contacting the opening in the portion of the second component, securing the first component to the second component.
Prior art Son does not teach, (iii) capturing, with at least one camera of the assembly system, a plurality of images, wherein each image of the plurality of images depicts the first component and the second component; (iv) determining whether the portion of the first component is contacting the opening in the portion of the second component; (vi) in response to determining that the portion of the first component is contacting the opening in the portion of the second component, securing the first component to the second component.
Though, prior art Choi (KR 20180126106) teaches, a method for assembling an electronic device, including, arranging a first component of the electronic device in a first position; arranging a second component of the electronic device in a second position; and capturing, a plurality of images with a camera of the assembly system; and determining whether the portion of the first component is contacting the second component, Choi fails to teach, holding the portion of the first component in a holding position with a stream of air output from a nozzle of an assembly system; or outputting the stream or air from the nozzle; or aligning the portion of the first component with an opening in the portion of the second component while the portion of the first component is held in the holding position; or (iv) determining whether the portion of the first component is contacting the opening in the portion of the second component.
Therefore, claims 1 and 20 would be allowable. Claims 2-9 would be allowable by virtue of its dependency.
Conclusion
Prior art Yoon (KR 101714463) teaches, a method for assembling an electronic device, comprising: arranging a first component of the electronic device in a first position; arranging a second component of the electronic device in a second position; holding the portion of the first component in a holding position with a stream of air output from a nozzle of an assembly system; and aligning the portion of the first component with the second component while the portion of the first component is held in the holding position.
Prior art Suhara (US 20020184755) teaches a method for assembling an electronic device, including, arranging a first component of the electronic device in a first position; arranging a second component of the electronic device in a second position; and capturing, a plurality of images with a camera of the assembly system; and determining whether the portion of the first component is contacting the second component.
Prior art Choi (KR 20180124309) teaches, a method for assembling an electronic device, comprising: arranging a first component of the electronic device in a first position; arranging a second component of the electronic device in a second position; and capturing, a plurality of images with a camera of the assembly system; and determining whether the portion of the first component is contacting the second component.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729