DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2003/0047207 to Aylaian.
Regarding claims 1, 3-5, and 7, Aylaian teaches a solar panel (Figs. 4) comprising
A substrate 112 (¶0056, 0057) having a first side (facing top of page) and a second side opposite to the first side
A first solar cell (a surface of exemplary first cell 102b is denoted by a dotted line in Marked-up Fig. 4B below) having a first orientation (facing down) disposed on the first side of the substrate
A second solar cell (surface of exemplary second cell 102a denoted by solid line in Marked-up Fig. 4B) having a second orientation (facing up) disposed on the first side of the substrate, wherein the second orientation is different from the first orientation
An electrical conductor connecting the first solar cell and the second solar cell (¶0053, 0056)
Wherein a gap is provided between the first solar cell and the second solar cell to allow light to travel through the gap between the first and second solar cells.
Per claim 3, Aylaian teaches the limitations of claim 1. An electrical lead is electrically connected to the first solar cell in an embodiment (Figs. 6, 8, ¶0044, 0060, 0062).
Per claim 4, Aylaian teaches the limitations of claim 1. The first solar cell is connected in series with the second solar cell in an embodiment (¶0016).
Per claim 5, Aylaian teaches the limitations of claim 1. The first solar cell is connected in parallel with the second solar cell in an embodiment (¶0016).
Per claim 7, Aylaian teaches the limitations of claim 1. The second orientation is rotated 180o from the first orientation.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claim 1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2008/0283115 to Fukawa.
Regarding claim 2, Aylaian teaches the limitations of claim 1. That reference also teaches that an electronic element is electrically connected to the first solar cell (Fig. 10, ¶0063), but does not specifically teach that the electronic element is a diode. Fukawa teaches that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to connect the first solar cell to a diode in order to prevent backflow of electric current between cells (¶0099, 0102).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claim 1 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Aylaian teaches the limitations of claim 1. The term “inverse reflection” is not specifically expounded upon in the instant disclosure. The identified first and second solar cells are rotated 180o to face other as in a mirror reflection. Whether this arrangement results in an inverse reflection depends on the degree of symmetry of the cells themselves. The illustration of an individual cell (Fig. 8) shows a symmetric cell. Regardless, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to configure the first and second orientation so in order to align electrical leads for electrical connection and to assure an optimal distribution of light (¶0005, 0022, 0023, 0025, 0057, 0060). As such, the claimed relationship between the first and second orientations is an obvious result of optimization.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant notes that the examiner did not include analysis of claims 9-18, 21, and 22 in the previous office action. These claims belong to non-elected groups I and II (see Restriction Requirement mailed 1/28/2025). Therefore, since these groups were not elected, they were necessarily not examined. While some of them were generic to the identified species, they were not examined because they were not part of group I.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Ryan S. Cannon
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726