DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 21-22, and 26, in the reply filed on April 6, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawai et al (JP 2013/112694 A, using the machine translation for the citations below), as evidenced by Hong et al ("On-demand and fast recyclable bio-epoxy", Journal of Industrial and Engineering I Chemistry 117 (2023) 490-499).
Regarding Claims 1-2: Kawai teaches an epoxy compound obtained by reacting a phenol compound with an epihalohydrin (para. 0021), wherein the phenol compound is a product of an aldol condensation reaction (para. 0047) of vanillin (para. 0046) and 4-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-2-butanone (para. 0030). Hong teaches that the aldol condensation and subsequent epoxidation of vanillin and 4-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-2-butanone/raspberry ketone results in a degradable epoxy compound reading on instant formula 3 and formula 7.
Regarding Claims 21-22: Kawai teaches a composition comprising the epoxy compound and a curing agent (para. 0021), wherein the curing agent is selected from isophorone diamine, diaminodiphenyl sulfone or dicyandiamide (para. 0069)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai et al (JP 2013/112694 A, using the machine translation for the citations below), as evidenced by Hong et al ("On-demand and fast recyclable bio-epoxy", Journal of Industrial and Engineering I Chemistry 117 (2023) 490-499), in view of Crouch et al (The Aldol Addition and Condensation: The Effect of Conditions of Reaction Pathway, March 2007, Journal of Chemical Education, Vol. 84 No. 3, p.475-476).
Kawai and Hong teach the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. However, Kawai and Hong are silent to the structure of instant formula 8.
Crouch teaches that performing aldol reactions at room temperature favors the aldol addition product, which is a β-hydroxy ketone, rather than the condensation product (p.475, Scheme I), and that the reaction product is also pH-dependent (p.476, col. 1, para. 4, role of base strength). Crouch further teaches that the addition product is an isolatable intermediate in the condensation reaction (p.476, col. 1, para. 5). Crouch and Kawai are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely aldol reactions.
Kawai teaches performing the aldol reaction at temperatures as low as 10°C (para. 0051), and that the catalyst may be acidic or basic, and that examples of the basic catalyst include NaOH and Na2CO3 (para. 0048-49). One of ordinary skill in the art could envision setting the reaction conditions to room temperature and choosing a slightly weaker basic catalyst such as Na2CO3, which would result in the compound represented by instant formula 8.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai et al (JP 2013/112694 A, using the machine translation for the citations below), as evidenced by Hong et al ("On-demand and fast recyclable bio-epoxy", Journal of Industrial and Engineering I Chemistry 117 (2023) 490-499), in view of Singh et al (US 2021/0363288 A1).
Kawai and Hong teach the compound of claim 1, as set forth above. However, Kawai is silent to a wind blade comprising the compound.
Singh teaches a fiber-reinforced epoxy composition that is used in wind turbine blades (para. 0363). Singh and Kawai are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely epoxy compositions.
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie case of obviousness. Selecting the epoxy compound of Kawai, especially when reinforced with fibers (para. 0078), for use in a wind turbine blade would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because of its art-recognized suitability for that purpose. MPEP 2144.07.
Additional Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamamoto (JP 2015/059186 A) teaches an epoxy compound reading on instant claim 1.
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767