DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “an outer sheath…having a form of a double layer of hot-melt PET with an inner adhesive side facing inward and an outer adhesive side facing outward” as claimed in claim 1; and “an inner surface of the shielding layer facing the insulation core wire is provided with hot melt adhesive” as claimed in claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 13, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, as originally filed, does not provide support for the claimed subject matter of “the round ring structures are integrally formed” as claimed in claim 1. Claims 13, 14, and 16-19 are included in this rejection because of dependency.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21, line 2, “the insulation core wire” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 22 is included in this rejection because of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (6740808) in view of Brandes et al. (6927342).
Chang discloses a cable (Fig. 3) comprising a pair of insulation core wires extending longitudinally parallel to each other (col. 3 lines 48-49), each of the insulation core wires having a central conductor and a core wire insulation layer wrapped around the central conductor, each of the core wire insulation layers having a round ring structure circumferentially surrounding the respective central conductor, the round ring structures being integrally formed and connected together; an insulation tape layer (22, col. 4 line 53) wound outside the core wire insulation layers in a longitudinal direction (col. 3, lines 58-59, the two conductors are coil up or enclosed with the strip insulator); a shielding layer (23, col. 4 lines 53-55) wrapped outside of the insulation tape layer; and outer sheath (41) formed of PET (col. 3 line 40) circumferentially wrapped around the outer peripheral surface of the shielding layer; and an air accommodating cavity (10) formed between the core wire insulation layers of the pair of insulation core wires and the insulation tape layer and accommodating air.
Chang does not disclose the shield layer having a first and second end bonded together forming a closed loop and the outer sheath having a form of a double layer of hot-melt PET with an inner adhesive side facing inward and an outer adhesive side facing outward (re-claim 1).
Although not disclosed in Chang, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the shield of Chang to have a first and second end bonded together forming a closed loop to improve the shielding effect in the cable since a shield having such configuration is well-known in the art.
Brandes et al. discloses a sheath (an insulating tape) which has a form of a double layer of hot-melt PET with an inner adhesive side facing inward and an outer adhesive side facing outward (col. 4 lines 21-24, the insulating tape…coated on one or both sides with adhesive, preferably a hot-melt adhesive).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide hot-melt adhesive on both sides of the PET outer sheath (41) of Chang to improve adhesion between the sheath and adjacent components as taught by Brandes et al.
Claims 1, 13, 14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant et al. (11569008) in view of Kobayashi (2018/0075948) and Brandes et al.
Grant et al. discloses a cable comprising a pair of insulation core wires extending longitudinally parallel to each other (Fig. 1), each of the insulation core wires having a central conductor (11, 12) and a core wire insulation layer (21, 22) wrapped around the central conductor, each of the core wire insulation layers having a round ring structure circumferentially surrounding the respective central conductor, the round ring structures being connected together; an insulation tape layer (3) wound outside the core wire insulation layers in a longitudinal direction; a shielding layer (4) wrapped outside of the insulation tape layer; an outer sheath (5) formed of PET (col. 5, line 15) and circunferentially wrapped around the peripheral surface of the shielding layer; and an air accommodating cavity (re-claim 1).
Grant et al. does not disclose the shielding layer having a first and a second end bonded together forming a closed loop in a circumferential direction and the outer sheath having a form of a double layer of hot-melt PET with an inner adhesive side facing inward and an outer adhesive side facing outward (re-claim 1).
Kobayashi discloses a cable comprising a shielding layer (4) having a first end and a second end bonded together ([0045]) forming a closed loop in a circumferential direction. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the shielding layer of Grant et al. by longitudinally wrapping the shielding layer around the pair of wires; and bonding the first end and the second end of the shielding layer together forming a closed loop in a circumferential direction, to form a seal around the wires as taught by Kobayashi.
Brandes et al. discloses a sheath (an insulating tape) which has a form of a double layer of hot-melt PET with an inner adhesive side facing inward and an outer adhesive side facing outward (col. 4 lines 21-24, the insulating tape…coated on one or both sides with adhesive, preferably a hot-melt adhesive). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide hot-melt adhesive on both sides of the PET outer sheath (41) of Chang to improve adhesion between the sheath and adjacent components as taught by Brandes et al.
Re-claim 13, Grant et al. discloses the insulation tape layer deforming the core wire insulation layers of the pair of insulation core wires in a radial direction parallel to a line extending through the centers of the two central conductors of the pair of insulation core wires (Fig. 2, col.6 lines 37-50).
Re-claim 14, although not disclosed in Grant et al., it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use PTFE for the tape layer of Grant et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable since PTFE is well-known for being used as a tape layer in cables because of its low dielectric constant.
Re-claim 16, Grant et al. discloses the cable further comprising a first ground wire (61) arranged between the outer sheath and the shielding layer and pressed against an outer peripheral surface of the shielding layer.
Re-claim 17, Grant et al. discloses the cable further comprising a second ground wire (62), wherein the two ground wires are located on respective radially opposite sides of the pair of insulation core wires.
Re-claim 18, Grant et al. discloses the first ground wire being located on a side of the core wire insulation layer of one insulation core wire of the pair of insulation core wires away from the other insulation core wire of the pair of insulation wires in a radial direction.
Claims 20, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Brandes et al. and Sugiyama et al. (2016/0036112).
Kobayashi discloses a cable comprising a pair of insulation core wires extending longitudinally parallel to each other, each of the insulation core wires having a central conductor (21) and a core wire insulation layer (22) wrapped around the central conductor; an insulation tape layer (3) wound outside the core wire insulation layers in a longitudinal direction; a shielding layer (4) wrapped outside of the insulation tape layer and having a first and a second end bonded together ([0045], the overlapping portions are fixed to each other with the adhesive) forming a closed loop in a circumferential direction; an outer sheath (6a) wrapped outside the shielding layer, the outer sheath formed on PET ([0048]); and an air accommodating cavity formed between the core wire insulation layers of the pair of insulation core wires and the insulation tape layer, and accommodating air (re-claim 20).
Kobayashi does not disclose the PET outer sheath having a hot-melt inner adhesive side facing inward and a hot-melt outer adhesive side facing outward, and at least two of said cables forming a combined cable which comprises a total shielding layer wrapped outside said cables and a total outer sheath enclosing said cables and the total shielding layer (re-claim 20).
Brandes et al. discloses a sheath (an insulating tape) which has a form of a double layer of hot-melt PET with an inner adhesive side facing inward and an outer adhesive side facing outward (col. 4 lines 21-24, the insulating tape…coated on one or both sides with adhesive, preferably a hot-melt adhesive). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide hot-melt adhesive on both sides of the PET outer sheath (6a) of Kobayashi to improve adhesion between the sheath and adjacent components as taught by Brandes et al.
Sugiyama et al. discloses a combined cable (71) comprising at least two cables (61), a total shielding layer (72) wrapped outside the cables and enclosing both cables, and a total outer sheath (73) enclosing the cables and the total shielding layer (re-claim 20). Sugiyama et al. also discloses the combined cable having a substantially round structure (re-claim 23) and the cables being radially and symmetrically distributed with respect to the center of the combined cable (re-claim 24). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to group at least two of the modified cables of Kobayashi and enclose them with a total shielding layer and a total outer sheath with the cables being radially and symmetrically distributed with respect to the center of the combined cable as taught by Sugiyama et al. to form a combined cable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841