DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 16-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (2003/0070512) in view of Hsieh (6,216,563) and Thompson et al. (9,709,141 “Thompson”).
Hu discloses known prior art ratcheting wrenches including a conventional wrench Figs. 16 ,17 that meets all of the limitations of claim 1, i.e., a ratcheting wrench comprising:
a body 21’ extending along a longitudinal axis, the body comprising a first outer side surface annotated here and a second outer side surface opposite the first outer side surface;
a head 20’ coupled to the body;
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (OUTER SIDE
SURFACE)]a workpiece engagement structure driving post 30’, 33’ coupled to the head;
a ratchet mechanism 40’-43’ supported by the head, the ratchet mechanism comprising:
a gear 30’ coupled to the workpiece engagement structure driving post, the gear including a plurality of gear teeth 33’;
a first pawl 40’ comprising:
a plurality of pawl teeth 41’ configured to engage the gear teeth of the gear;
a first post RT positioned at a first end;
a second end opposing the first end RT side, Fig. 16; and
[[]]
a second pawl 40’ comprising:
a plurality of pawl teeth 41’ configured to engage the gear teeth of the gear;
a second post 42’ positioned at a first end;
a second end opposing the first end @40’, Fig. 16; and
[[]]
and
a first biasing component 43’ extending between and engaging the first pawl and the second pawl Fig. 16; and
a switching assembly positioned within the body, the switching assembly comprising:
an elongate switch 50’ comprising a first end @50’ and a second end @51’ opposite the first end;
a second biasing component 61’; and
a ball 62’ positioned between the elongate switch 50’ @top and the second biasing component 61’ @bottom and engaging the elongate switch and the second biasing component Fig. 17, [0006];
wherein the elongate switch is translationally movable between a first driving position @ one of recesses 53’ in which the first pawl is engaged with the gear and the second pawl is disengaged from the gear by the elongate switch paragraph [0006] and a second driving position in which the second pawl is engaged with the gear and the first pawl is disengaged from the gear by the elongate switch [0006], Fig. 16, 17, except for wherein, when the elongate switch is in the first driving position, the first end is recessed relative to the first outer side surface of the body and the second end extends beyond the second outer side surface of the body; and channels for the pawls.
Hsieh teaches a ratcheting wrench with a sliding switch 40 having terminal ends wherein, when the elongate switch is in the first driving position, a first end RT, Fig. 5 is recessed relative to the first outer side surface of the body and the second end extends beyond the second outer side surface of the body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Hu with a recessed sliding switch as suggested by Hsieh for a visual indication of the
driving direction.
Thompson teaches a ratchet wrench and a pawl mechanism comprising a first pawl 104 including a plurality of pawl teeth 120 configured to engage the gear teeth of the gear Fig. 1, a first post 110 having an outer surface, a first inward facing surface defined by valley 116 facing the first post 110, Fig. 3; and a first channel 116 defined between the first inward facing surface and the first post Fig. 3; a second pawl 106 comprising a plurality of pawl teeth 122 configured to engage the gear teeth of the gear Fig. 1; a second post 112 having an outer surface Fig. 3, a second inward facing surface facing the second post defined by valley 118; and a second channel 118 defined between the second inward facing surface and the second post Fig. 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Hu and Hsieh with a pawl mechanism as taught by Thompson (which includes posts and valleys or channels) to prevent or reduce the possibility of a pawl spring being over-compressed 03:44-55 and to provide a guide for the hooks guiding the movement of the pawl.
Regarding claim 2, PA (prior art, Hu modified by Hsieh and Thompson) meets the limitations, i.e., the ratcheting wrench of claim 1, wherein the first biasing component has a first spring constant, and the second biasing component has a second spring constant.
Regarding claim 7, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the ratcheting wrench of claim 1, wherein, when the elongate switch 50’ disengages the first pawl 40’ and the second pawl 40’ from the gear, the first pawl 40’ and the second pawl move in a nonpivoting manner sliding pawls Fig. 16, paragraph [0006].
Regarding claim 8, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the ratcheting wrench of claim 1, wherein the elongate switch 50’ is a linear switch extending through the body @least partially at top in a transverse direction to the longitudinal axis Fig. 16.
CLAIM 16
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (OUTER SIDE
SURFACE)]Hu in Figs. 16 ,17 discloses a conventional wrench meeting all of the limitations of claim 16, i.e., a reversible driving tool comprising:
a body 21’ extending along a longitudinal axis defined by the handle, the body comprising a first outer side and a s seconds outer side opposite the first outer side surface annotated above
a head 20’ coupled to the body;
a workpiece engagement structure driving post 30’, 33’ coupled to the head;
a ratchet mechanism 40’-43’ supported by the head and coupled to the workpiece engagement structure Fig. 17, the ratchet mechanism comprising:
a gear 30’ including a plurality of gear teeth 33’;
a first pawl 40’ RT comprising:
a plurality of pawl teeth 41’ configured to engage the gear teeth of the gear;
a first post 42’ RT positioned at a first end;
a second end opposing the first end Fig. 16; and
[[]]
a second pawl 40’ LF comprising:
a first post 42’ LF positioned at a first end;
a second end opposing the first end Fig. 16; and
[[]]
a plurality of pawl teeth 41’ LF configured to engage the gear teeth of the gear; and
a first biasing component 43’ extending between and engaging the first pawl and the second pawl Fig. 16; and
a switching assembly positioned within the body, the switching assembly comprising:
an switch 50’ configured to engage with the first pawl 40’ and the second pawl 40’ to selectively move the first pawl and the second pawl into and out of engagement with the gear 30’, the switch 50’ including a first end @50’ and a second end @51’ opposite the first end a downward facing structure defined by the bottom surface 50’, Fig. 17 including a first recess 53’ (LF of center natural recess) and a second recess 53’ (RT of center recess);
a second biasing component 61’; and
a ball 62’ positioned between the switch 50’ and the second biasing component 61’ such that the ball engages the downward facing surface of switch and the second biasing component Fig. 17, [0006];
wherein the switch is translationally movable within a passageway 24’ extending through the body in a direction transverse to the longitudinal axis Fig. 16, and wherein the switch 50’ is moveable between a first driving position e.g., at forward recess 53’ in which the first pawl is engaged with the gear 30’ and a second driving position e.g., at rearward recess 53’ in which the second pawl is engaged with the gear [0006], Fig. 16, 17, except for wherein, when the elongate switch is in the first driving position, the first end is recessed relative to the first outer side surface of the body and the second end extends beyond the second outer side surface of the body; and pawl channels.
Hsieh teaches a ratcheting wrench with a sliding switch 40 having terminal ends wherein, when the elongate switch is in the first driving position, a first end RT, Fig. 5 is recessed relative to the first outer side surface of the body and the second end extends beyond the second outer side surface of the body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Hu with a recessed sliding switch as suggested by Hsieh for a visual sign of the driving direction.
Thompson teaches a ratchet wrench and a pawl mechanism comprising a first pawl 104 including a plurality of pawl teeth 120 configured to engage the gear teeth of the gear Fig. 1, a first post 110 having an outer surface, a first inward facing surface defined by valley 116 facing the first post 110, Fig. 3; and a first channel 116 defined between the first inward facing surface and the first post Fig. 3; a second pawl 106 comprising a plurality of pawl teeth 122 configured to engage the gear teeth of the gear Fig. 1; a second post 112 having an outer surface Fig. 3, a second inward facing surface facing the second post defined by valley 118; and a second channel 118 defined between the second inward facing surface and the second post Fig. 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Hu and Hsieh with a pawl mechanism as taught by Thompson (which includes posts and valleys or channels) to prevent or reduce the possibility of a pawl spring being over-compressed 03:44-55 and to provide a guide for the hooks guiding the movement of the pawl.
Regarding claims 17-19, PA (prior art, Hu modified by Hsieh and Thompson) meets the limitations, i.e., functional/narrative language of the reversible driving tool of claim 16, wherein, when the switch 50’ is in the first driving position ball 62’ engaged with one of the two recesses 53’, the second biasing component 61’ applies a locking force on the ball such that the ball engages the first recess of the switch Fig. 17, the ball
resists movement of the switch such that the switch is secured relative to the body of the reversible driving tool Fig. 17, [0006]; the reversible driving tool of claim 16, wherein, when the switch is in the second driving position ball 62’ engaged with the other one of the two recesses 53’, the second biasing component applies a locking force on the ball such that the ball engages the second recess of the switch, the ball resists movement of the switch such that the switch is secured relative to the body of the reversible driving tool Fig. 17, [0006]; the reversible driving tool of claim 17, wherein, when a force greater than the locking force is applied to the switch, the second biasing component is compressed within the body such that the switch is translatable within the passageway selecting between positions.
Regarding claim 22, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the ratcheting tool of claim 16, further comprising: a first opening @ channel 24’ Hu defined in a first outer side surface of the body; a second opening @24’ Hu defined in a second outer side surface of the body; except for a through bore connecting the first opening and the second opening instead of a channel. Hsieh teaches similar ratchetting tool, wherein the switch 3 is housed in a bore 12 instead of a channel Fig. 4 partially shown here. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention PA with the bore as taught by to securely support and protect the switch form dirt and debris.
Claims 3, 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA as applied to claims 2 and 16 above, further in view of Thompson et al. (2010/0024607 “Thompson”) and Hopper et al. (2008/0229889 “Hopper).
PA (prior art, Hu modified by Hsieh) as applied to claims 2 and 16 above, meets all of the limitations of claims, 3, 4 and 20, except for the first spring constant to be less than the second spring constant.
Thompson teaches a spring 66 placed between pawls 64 with a relatively low spring constant or a “light” spring 05:45, Fig. 2 partially shown here and Hopper teaches that ball detent 156/112 utilized for securing the switch in a selected position needs to be strong enough to locate the ball yet not too strong to wear the ball or the detent Fig. 2 partially shown here.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of PA with a weaker pawl spring to provide a smooth ratcheting function as suggested by Thompson, and a relatively stronger positioning spring as taught by Hopper to provide a clear tactile indication while securely position and hold the switch in a selected position.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Hu (7,975,574 “Hu`574”).
PA (prior art, Hu modified by Hsieh) as applied to claim 1 above, meets all of the limitations of claims, 5 and 6, except for explicitly disclosing for a length of the first biasing component to be greater than that of the second biasing component.
Hu`574 teaches a switching assembly for a ratchet wrench having a pawl spring 33 between first and second pawls 31, 32 and a switch 41 linearly translatable between first and second driving positions selected by a biasing component 42 with a positioning spring 421 engaged in a selected corresponding first and second recesses 131, 133, wherein the first spring 33 is longer than the second spring 421, Fig. 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Hu and Hsieh with a pawl spring longer than the positioning spring as taught by Hu`574 to prevent jamming by providing an adequate distance between pawls and to prevent weaking the passageway 24’ with a relatively shorter bore 25’.
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (2003/0070512) in view of Thompson et al. (9,709,141 “Thompson”) and Hsieh.
Hu in Figs. 16 ,17 discloses a conventional wrench meeting all of the limitations of claim 9, i.e., a ratcheting tool comprising:
a body 21’ extending along a longitudinal axis defined by the handle;
a head 20’ coupled to the body;
a workpiece engagement structure driving post 30’, 33’ coupled to the head;
a ratchet mechanism 40’-43’ supported by the head and coupled to the workpiece engagement structure Fig. 17, the ratchet mechanism comprising:
a gear 30’ including a plurality of gear teeth 33’;
a first pawl 40’ comprising:
a plurality of pawl teeth 41’ configured to engage the gear teeth of the gear Figs. 16, 17, [0006];
a first post 42’ having an outer surface;
a second pawl 41’, Fig. 16 comprising:
a plurality of pawl teeth 41’ configured to engage the gear teeth of the gear;
a second post 42’ having an outer surface Fig. 16;
a pawl biasing component 43’ extending between and engaging the first pawl and the second pawl Fig. 16; and
a switching assembly positioned within the body, the switching assembly comprising:
a switch 50’ comprising:
a first end @50’;
a second end opposite the first end @51’;
a pair of arms 52’ extending toward the gear Fig. 17, and positioned between the first end and the second end, the pair of arms configured to engage with the first pawl and the second pawl to selectably move the first pawl and the second pawl into and out of engagement with the gear Figs. 16, 17, [0006];
a switch biasing component 61’; and
a ball 62’ positioned between the switch 50’ and the switch biasing component 61’ and engaging the switch 50’ and the switch biasing component Fig. 17, [0006];
wherein the switching assembly is configured to move the ratchet mechanism between a first drive position and a second drive position [0006], Fig. 16, 17 except for a first and second inward facing surfaces facing the corresponding first and second post; a first channel defined between the first inward facing surface and the first post and a second channel defined between the second inward facing surface and the second post, wherein, when the ratchet mechanism is in the second drive position, the first end of the switch extends past an exterior surface of the body.
Hsieh teaches a ratcheting wrench with a sliding switch 3 having terminal ends wherein, when the elongate switch is in the second driving position, the first end LF, Fig. 5 extends out relative to the first outer side surface of the body and the second end is recessed relative to the second outer side surface of the body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Hu with a recessed sliding switch as suggested by Hsieh for a visual indication of the driving direction.
Thompson teaches a ratchet wrench and a pawl mechanism comprising a first pawl 104 including a plurality of pawl teeth 120 configured to engage the gear teeth of the gear Fig. 1, a first post 110 having an outer surface, a first inward facing surface defined by valley 116 facing the first post 110, Fig. 3; and a first channel 116 defined between the first inward facing surface and the first post Fig. 3; a second pawl 106 comprising a plurality of pawl teeth 122 configured to engage the gear teeth of the gear Fig. 1; a second post 112 having an outer surface Fig. 3, a second inward facing surface facing the second post defined by valley 118; and a second channel 118 defined between the second inward facing surface and the second post Fig. 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Hu and Hsieh with a pawl mechanism as taught by Thompson (which includes posts and valleys or channels) to prevent or reduce the possibility of a pawl spring being over-compressed 03:44-55 and to provide a guide for the hooks guiding the movement of the pawl.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, PA (prior art, Hu modified by Thompson) meets the limitations, i.e., meeting the functional/narrative language of the ratcheting tool of claim 9, wherein, when, the ratchet mechanism is in the first drive position selected 53’, Hu, one corresponding of the pair of arms is positioned in the first channel and spaced from the first post as the first pawl is engaged with the gear [0006] Hu, Fig. 1 Thompson; the ratcheting tool of claim 9, wherein, when, the ratchet mechanism is in the first drive position, the one of the pair of arms is positioned in the second channel and engaged with the second post to move the second pawl into a position disengaged from the gear Fig. 1 Thompson.
Regarding claim 12, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the ratcheting tool of claim 9, the switch 53’ Hu further comprising a bottom surface Fig. 17 including a first recess and a second recess Fig. 16.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the ratcheting tool of claim 12, wherein, when the switch is in the first drive position, the switch biasing component presses the ball into the first recess of the switch such that the switch resists translating motion Fig. 17 Hu, Fig. 1 Thompson; the ratcheting tool of claim 12, wherein, when the switch is in the second drive position, the switch biasing component presses the ball into the second recess of the switch such that the switch resists translating motion Fig. 17 Hu, Fig. 1 Thompson.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Thompson et al. (2010/0024607 “Thompson`607”) and Hopper et al. (2008/0229889 “Hopper).
PA (prior art, Hu modified by Hsieh and Thompson) as applied to claim 9 above, meets all of the limitations of claim, 15, except for the first spring constant to be less than the second spring constant.
Thompson`607 teaches a spring 66 placed between pawls 64 with a relatively low spring constant or a “light” spring 05:45, Fig. 2 partially shown here and Hopper teaches that ball detent 156/112 utilized for securing the switch in a selected position needs to be strong enough to locate the ball yet not too strong to wear the ball or the detent Fig. 2 partially shown here.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of PA with a weaker pawl spring to provide a smooth ratcheting function as suggested by Thompson, and a relatively stronger positioning spring as taught by Hopper to provide a clear tactile indication while securely position and hold the switch in a selected position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: while providing a bore for a channel is considered obvious for a switch as disclosed by Wu, Examienr sees no reason for such modification for a switch having arms, e.g., 66, as recited in claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 and 16 have been considered but are not found persuasive.
With regards to claims 1 and 16, Applicant argues art applied does not meet the new limitations as now recited. This argument is moot, since the features applicant relies upon, i.e., channel and post, are old and known as evident by the new grounds of rejections.
With regards to claim 9, Applicant argues that Examienr has failed to establish a prima facie case of obviousness because a proper rational and motivation for the combination has not been shown. Examienr, respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Thompson in the background of the invention describes one problem with conventional ratchet mechanism that at low torque transfer the pawl can disengage with the drive gear and strike the second pawl or vice versa and that movement of a first pawl toward the second pawl can make the pawl spring “go solid” or over-compress to the point where the coils of the pawl spring tooth and additional compressive forces do not further compress the pawl spring. Thompson, further discloses that over-compression can damage the pawl spring, reducing the durability of the wrench and limiting performance of the ratchet wrench. Thompson provides the motivation for the disclosed pawl mechanism, which includes a pawl having a post, a valley and a cavity to receive the center spring, see Thompson’s description of the background of the invention.
These type of pawls are old and known, as evident by cited references. Proving such pawls for a switch that has hooks configured to engage the post while sliding in the channel, to guide the pawl and provide a smooth transition of the pawl, is considered to be well within the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art.
/Hadi Shakeri/
June 27, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723