Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended independent claim 1, applicant asserts that:
“Applicant respectfully submits the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Pei fails to disclose the above-italicized recitation of amended claim 1. In particular, Pei fails to disclose that the liquid inlet 21 and the liquid outlet 22 are circumferentially spaced less than 90 degrees around a longitudinal axis as required by claim 1. For at least that reason, Applicant respectfully submits the cited art fails to arrive at the claimed invention.”
The examiner, however, disagrees.
Papadimitriou discloses wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the main housing (Fig. 1) and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing (Fig. 1) such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1), and wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 90 degrees around the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1).
In regards to dependent claims 2-5 and 9, they are rejected for similar reasons to that of independent claim 1.
Regarding amended independent claim 11, applicant asserts that:
“At the outset, Applicant does not acquiesce to any assertion made by the Office Action in support of the rejection of claim 11 as allegedly being obvious over the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, and Vu. Nevertheless, solely to expedite prosecution, Applicant has amended claim 11 to recite:
wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the main housing and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along a longitudinal axis, and wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 45 degrees around the longitudinal axis.”
The examiner, however, disagrees.
Papadimitriou discloses wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the main housing (Fig. 1) and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing (Fig. 1) such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1), and wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 90 degrees around the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1).
In regards to dependent claims 12-16, they are rejected for similar reasons to that of claim 11.
Regarding claims 17, 19, and 20, applicant asserts that:
“Independent claim 17 is amended herein to recite "expelling heated coolant from the main housing via a fluid outlet forming in the main housing that is circumferentially spaced less than 45 degrees around a longitudinal axis from the fluid inlet." Should the arguments presented above regarding the patentability of claims 1-5, 9, and 11-16 be persuasively received, consideration of withdrawn claims 17, 19, and 20 for rejoinder is respectfully requested.”
The examiner, however, disagrees.
Claims 1-16 are rejected. Therefore, claims 17, 19 and 20 are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bolotnikov (US 2020/0412183) and in view of Papadimitriou (US 11515748, submitted by applicant) and
Vu (US 2023/0268797).
As to claim 1, Bolotnikov discloses an electric motor (Paragraph 0001) comprising: a stator (1;
Paragraph 0041); a coolant sleeve assembly (11; Paragraph 0045), wherein the coolant sleeve assembly
includes a sleeve (11; Paragraph 0045) that at least partially surrounds the stator (1; Fig. 1).
Bolotnikov fails to disclose (i) the coolant sleeve assembly includes a sleeve and a spring wound
around the sleeve, and wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel wall
separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the stator in use of the
electric motor,
(ii) a main housing defining an interior space in which the coolant sleeve assembly and the stator
are at least partially disposed such that the main housing, the coolant sleeve assembly, and the stator
extend circumferentially around a longitudinal axis,
(iii) and a first annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at one axial end
of the sleeve and a second annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at another
axial end of the sleeve opposite the one axial end,
(iv) wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel wall separate from
the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the stator in use of the electric motor,
(v) wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the
main housing and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis, and
(vi) wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 90 degrees around the longitudinal axis.
Papadimitriou, however, discloses (i) a coolant sleeve assembly (Fig. 2), wherein the coolant
sleeve assembly includes a sleeve (4; Fig. 2) and a spring (6; Fig. 2) wound around the sleeve,
(iv) and wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel wall (Column 2,
Lines 26-41; Fig. 2) separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the
electric motor (Column 2, Lines 12-17),
(v) wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the main housing (Fig. 1) and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing (Fig. 1) such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1),
(vi) wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 90 degrees around the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Bolotnikov with the coolant
sleeve assembly includes a sleeve and a spring wound around the sleeve, and wherein the spring at least
partially defines at least one coolant channel wall separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the electric motor, wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the main housing and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis, and wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 90 degrees around the longitudinal axis, as disclosed by Papadimitriou, to ensure uniform cooling of the motor (Column 2, Lines 55-59).
The combination of Bolotnikov and Papadimitriou discloses the electric motor of claim 1, further
comprising (ii) a main housing defining an interior space in which the coolant sleeve assembly (Fig. 1 of
Papdimitriou) and the stator (Fig. 4 of Bolotnikov) are at least partially disposed such that the main
housing, the coolant sleeve assembly (Fig. 1 of Papdimitriou), and the stator extend circumferentially
around a longitudinal axis (Fig. 4 of Bolotnikov).
Vu, however, discloses (iii) a first annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main
housing at one axial end of the sleeve and a second annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the
main housing at another axial end of the sleeve opposite the one axial end (5 and 6; Fig. 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Bolotnikov with a first
annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at one axial end of the sleeve and a
second annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at another axial end of the
sleeve opposite the one axial end, as disclosed by Vu, to seal the coolant and prevent leakage.
As to claim 2, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou and Vu discloses the electric motor
of claim 1, wherein the spring is a helical spring that at least partially defines at least one helical coolant
channel wall around the sleeve (Column 2, Lines 12-17 of Papadimitriou; Fig. 2 of Papadimitriou).
As to claim 3, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou and Vu discloses the electric motor
of claim 2, wherein the helical spring has a rectangular cross-sectional shape (Column 3, Lines 49-52 of
Papadimitriou).
As to claim 4, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou and Vu discloses the electric motor
of claim 2, wherein: an exterior surface of the sleeve extends circumferentially around a longitudinal
axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); the exterior surface is devoid of any channels or projections along the
longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); and the helical spring contacts the exterior surface of the
sleeve (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou).
As to claim 5, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou and Vu discloses the electric motor
of claim 4, wherein one or more coolant leakage paths separate from the at least one helical coolant
channel wall (Column 2, Lines 51-57 of Papadimitriou) are defined between the exterior surface of the
sleeve and the helical spring in use of the electric motor.
As to claim 9, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou and Vu discloses the electric motor
of claim 8, wherein: one of the first fluid port and the second fluid port is arranged to conduct coolant to
the coolant sleeve assembly in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis in use of the electric
motor (Fig. 1 of Papdimitriou); and another of the first fluid port and the second fluid port is arranged to
conduct coolant away from the coolant sleeve assembly in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal
axis in use of the electric motor (Fig. 1 of Papdimitriou).
As to claim 11, Bolotnikov discloses an electric motor (Para 0001) comprising: a stator; a coolant sleeve assembly including a sleeve sized to receive the stator (Para 0045).
Bolotnikov fails to disclose (i) the coolant sleeve assembly includes a spring wound around the sleeve, and wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel wall separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the stator in use of the electric motor,
(ii) a main housing in which the coolant sleeve assembly and the stator are at least partially
disposed,
(iii) and a first annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at one axial end
of the sleeve and a second annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at another
axial end of the sleeve opposite the one axial end,
(iv) wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel wall separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the stator in use of the electric motor,
(v) wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the
main housing and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis, and
(vi) wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 45 degrees around the longitudinal axis.
Papadimitriou, however, discloses (i) the coolant sleeve assembly (Fig. 2) includes a spring
wound around the sleeve (Fig. 2),
(iv) and wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel wall (Column 2, Lines 26-41; Fig. 2) separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the electric motor (Column 2, Lines 12-17),
(v) wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the
main housing and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1), and
(vi) wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 45 degrees around the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Bolotnikov with the coolant
sleeve assembly includes a sleeve and a spring wound around the sleeve, and wherein the spring at least
partially defines at least one coolant channel wall separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around
the sleeve and thereby cool the electric motor, wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the main housing and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis, and wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 45 degrees around the longitudinal axis, as disclosed by Papadimitriou, to ensure uniform cooling of the motor (Column 2, Lines 55-59).
The combination of Bolotnikov and Papadimitriou discloses the electric motor of claim 1, further comprising (ii) a main housing in which the coolant sleeve assembly (Fig. 1 of Papdimitriou) and the stator (Fig. 4 of Bolotnikov) are at least partially disposed.
Vu, however, discloses (iii) a first annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main
housing at one axial end of the sleeve and a second annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the
main housing at another axial end of the sleeve opposite the one axial end (5 and 6; Fig. 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Bolotnikov with a first
annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at one axial end of the sleeve and a
second annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at another axial end of the
sleeve opposite the one axial end, as disclosed by Vu, to seal the coolant and prevent leakage.
As to claim 12, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou and Vu discloses the electric motor of claim 11, wherein the spring is a helical spring that at least partially defines at least one helical
coolant channel wall around the sleeve (Column 2, Lines 12-17 of Papadimitriou; Fig. 2 of Papadimitriou).
As to claim 13, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou and Vu discloses the electric motor of claim 12, wherein: an exterior surface of the sleeve extends circumferentially around a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); the exterior surface is devoid of any channels or projections
along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); and the helical spring contacts the exterior surface
of the sleeve (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou).
As to claim 14, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou and Vu discloses the electric motor of claim 11, wherein one or more coolant leakage paths separate from the at least one helical coolant channel wall (Column 2, Lines 51-57 of Papadimitriou) are defined between an exterior surface of the sleeve and the spring in use of the coolant sleeve assembly.
As to claim 15, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou and Vu discloses the electric motor of claim 11, wherein: an exterior surface of the sleeve extends circumferentially around a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); the spring contacts the exterior surface of the sleeve (Fig. 1 of
Papadimitriou); and the sleeve is formed to include at least one retention feature (3; Fig. 1 of
Papadimitriou) to at least partially retain the spring in interaction with the sleeve around the
longitudinal axis.
As to claim 16, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou and Vu discloses the electric motor of claim 11, wherein: an exterior surface of the sleeve extends circumferentially around a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); and the spring contacts the exterior surface of the sleeve such that a radial tension of the spring at least partially retains the spring in interaction with the sleeve around the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou).
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834