Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 9, 11-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bolotnikov (US 2020/0412183) and in view of Papadimitriou (US 11515748, submitted by applicant),
Vu (US 2023/0268797), and Cronin (US 20050151431).
As to claim 1, Bolotnikov discloses an electric motor (Paragraph 0001) comprising: a stator (1;
Paragraph 0041); a coolant sleeve assembly (11; Paragraph 0045), wherein the coolant sleeve
Assembly includes a sleeve (11; Paragraph 0045) that at least partially surrounds the stator (1; Fig. 1).
Bolotnikov fails to disclose
(i) the coolant sleeve assembly includes a sleeve and a spring
Wound around the sleeve, and wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel
Wall separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the stator in
use of the electric motor,
(ii) a main housing defining an interior space in which the coolant sleeve assembly and
the stator are at least partially disposed such that the main housing, the coolant sleeve assembly, and the stator extend circumferentially around a longitudinal axis,
(iii) and a first annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at one
axial end of the sleeve and a second annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at
another axial end of the sleeve opposite the one axial end,
(iv) wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel wall
separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the stator in use of the
electric motor,
(v) wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of
the main housing and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing such
that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis, and
(vi) wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially around the longitudinal axis,
(vii) wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another
circumferentially less than 90 degrees around the longitudinal axis.
Papadimitriou, however, discloses
(i) a coolant sleeve assembly (Fig. 2), wherein the coolant sleeve assembly includes a sleeve (4; fig. 2) and a spring (6; Fig. 2) wound around the sleeve,
(iv) and wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel wall
(Column 2, Lines 26-41; Fig. 2) separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the electric motor (Column 2, Lines 12-17),
(v) wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of
the main housing (Fig. 1) and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main
housing (Fig. 1) such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the
longitudinal axis (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Bolotnikov with the coolant sleeve assembly includes a sleeve and a spring wound around the sleeve, and wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel wall separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the electric motor, wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the main housing and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis, as disclosed by Papadimitriou, to ensure uniform cooling of the motor (Column 2, Lines 55-59).
The combination of Bolotnikov and Papadimitriou discloses the electric motor of claim
1, further comprising (ii) a main housing defining an interior space in which the coolant sleeve assembly
(Fig. 1 of Papdimitriou) and the stator (Fig. 4 of Bolotnikov) are at least partially disposed such that the
Main housing, the coolant sleeve assembly (Fig. 1 of Papdimitriou), and the stator extend
Circumferentially around a longitudinal axis (Fig. 4 of Bolotnikov).
Vu, however, discloses (iii) a first annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the
main housing at one axial end of the sleeve and a second annular seal arranged between the sleeve
and the main housing at another axial end of the sleeve opposite the one axial end (5 and 6; Fig. 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Bolotnikov with a
first annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at one axial end of the sleeve
and a second annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at another axial end of
the sleeve opposite the one axial end, as disclosed by Vu, to seal the coolant and prevent leakage.
Cronin, however, discloses
(vi) wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially around the longitudinal axis (Fig. 2),
(vii) wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 90 degrees around the longitudinal axis (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Bolotnikov with wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially around the longitudinal axis, wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 90 degrees around the longitudinal axis, as disclosed by Cronin, to optimize flow of the cooling fluid.
As to claim 2, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Cronin discloses the electric motor of claim 1, wherein the spring is a helical spring that at least partially defines at least one helical coolant channel wall around the sleeve (Column 2, Lines 12-17 of Papadimitriou; Fig. 2 of Papadimitriou).
As to claim 3, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Cronin discloses the electric motor of claim 2, wherein the helical spring has a rectangular cross-sectional shape (Column 3, Lines 49-52 of Papadimitriou).
As to claim 4, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Cronin discloses the electric motor of claim 2, wherein: an exterior surface of the sleeve extends circumferentially around a
longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); the exterior surface is devoid of any channels or projections along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); and the helical spring contacts the exterior surface of the sleeve (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou).
As to claim 5, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Cronin discloses the electric motor of claim 4, wherein one or more coolant leakage paths separate from the at least one helical coolant channel wall (Column 2, Lines 51-57 of Papadimitriou) are defined between the exterior surface of the sleeve and the helical spring in use of the electric motor.
As to claim 9, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Cronin discloses the electric motor of claim 8, wherein: one of the first fluid port and the second fluid port is arranged to conduct coolant to the coolant sleeve assembly in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis in use of the electric motor (Fig. 1 of Papdimitriou); and another of the first fluid port and the second fluid port is arranged to conduct coolant away from the coolant sleeve assembly in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis in use of the electric motor (Fig. 1 of Papdimitriou).
As to claim 11, Bolotnikov discloses an electric motor (Para 0001) comprising: a stator; a coolant sleeve assembly including a sleeve sized to receive the stator (Para 0045).
Bolotnikov fails to disclose
(i) the coolant sleeve assembly includes a spring wound around the sleeve, and wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel wall separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the stator in use of the electric motor,
(ii) a main housing in which the coolant sleeve assembly and the stator are at least partially disposed,
(iii) and a first annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at one axial end of the sleeve and a second annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at another axial end of the sleeve opposite the one axial end,
(iv) wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel wall separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the stator in use of the electric motor,
(v) wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the main housing and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis, and
(vi) wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially around the longitudinal axis,
(vii) wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 45 degrees around the longitudinal axis.
Papadimitriou, however, discloses
(i) the coolant sleeve assembly (Fig. 2) includes a spring wound around the sleeve (Fig. 2),
(iv) and wherein the spring at least partially defines at least one coolant channel wall (Column 2, Lines 26-41; Fig. 2) separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant around the sleeve and thereby cool the electric motor (Column 2, Lines 12-17),
(v) wherein the main housing includes a first fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the main housing and a second fluid port arranged at the outer diameter of the main housing such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Bolotnikov with the coolant sleeve assembly includes a sleeve and a spring wound around the sleeve, and wherein the spring at least
partially defines at least one coolant channel wall separate from the sleeve to conduct coolant
around the sleeve and thereby cool the electric motor, wherein the main housing includes a first
fluid port arranged at an outer diameter of the main housing and a second fluid port arranged
at the outer diameter of the main housing such that the first and second fluid ports are spaced
from one another along the longitudinal axis, as disclosed by Papadimitriou, to ensure uniform cooling of the motor (Column 2, Lines 55-59).
The combination of Bolotnikov and Papadimitriou discloses the electric motor of claim 1, further comprising (ii) a main housing in which the coolant sleeve assembly (Fig. 1 of Papdimitriou) and the stator (Fig. 4 of Bolotnikov) are at least partially disposed.
Vu, however, discloses (iii) a first annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at one axial end of the sleeve and a second annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at another axial end of the sleeve opposite the one axial end (5 and 6; Fig. 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Bolotnikov with a first annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at one axial end of the sleeve and a second annular seal arranged between the sleeve and the main housing at another axial end of the sleeve opposite the one axial end, as disclosed by Vu, to seal the coolant and prevent leakage.
Cronin, however, discloses
(vi) wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially around the longitudinal axis (Fig. 2),
(vii) wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 45 degrees around the longitudinal axis (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Bolotnikov with wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially around the longitudinal axis, wherein the first and second fluid ports are spaced from one another circumferentially less than 45 degrees around the longitudinal axis, as disclosed by Cronin, to optimize flow of the cooling fluid.
As to claim 12, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Cronin discloses the electric motor of claim 11, wherein the spring is a helical spring that at least partially defines at least one helical coolant channel wall around the sleeve (Column 2, Lines 12-17 of Papadimitriou; Fig. 2 of Papadimitriou).
As to claim 13, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Cronin discloses the electric motor of claim 12, wherein: an exterior surface of the sleeve extends circumferentially around a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); the exterior surface is devoid of any channels or projections along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); and the helical spring contacts the exterior surface of the sleeve (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou).
As to claim 14, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Cronin discloses the electric motor of claim 11, wherein one or more coolant leakage paths separate from the at least one helical coolant channel wall (Column 2, Lines 51-57 of Papadimitriou) are defined between an exterior surface of the sleeve and the spring in use of the coolant sleeve assembly.
As to claim 15, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Cronin discloses the
electric motor of claim 11, wherein: an exterior surface of the sleeve extends circumferentially
around a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); the spring contacts the exterior surface of
the sleeve (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); and the sleeve is formed to include at least one retention feature (3; Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou) to at least partially retain the spring in interaction with the sleeve around the
longitudinal axis.
As to claim 16, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Cronin discloses the
electric motor of claim 11, wherein: an exterior surface of the sleeve extends circumferentially around a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou); and the spring contacts the exterior surface of the sleeve such that a radial tension of the spring at least partially retains the spring in interaction with the sleeve around the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 of Papadimitriou).
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, Cronin, and in view of Hanquez (US 20180278120).
As to claim 21, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Cronin discloses the electric motor of claim 1.
Bolotnikov fails to disclose wherein the first and second annular seals are identical to one another.
Hanquez, however, discloses wherein the first and second annular seals are identical to one another (Para 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Bolotnikov with wherein the first and second annular seals are identical to one another, as disclosed by Hanquz, in order to simplify the manufacturing process and material allocation.
As to claim 22, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, Cronin, and Hanquez discloses the electric motor of claim 21, wherein the first and second annular seals have the same diameter (Para 0037 of Hanquez).
As to claim 23, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, and Cronin discloses the electric motor of claim 11.
Bolotnikov fails to disclose wherein the first and second annular seals are identical to one another.
Hanquez, however, discloses wherein the first and second annular seals are identical to one another (Para 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Bolotnikov with wherein the first and second annular seals are identical to one another, as disclosed by Hanquz, in order to simplify the manufacturing process and material allocation.
As to claim 24, the combination of Bolotnikov, Papadimitriou, Vu, Cronin, and Hanquez discloses the electric motor of claim 23, wherein the first and second annular seals have the same diameter (Para 0037 of Hanquez).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834