DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 13-17, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiramizu (US 2009/0221259) in view of Belson (US 4,254,459).
Referring to Claim 1, Shiramizu teaches mixer circuitry comprising:
a transformer having a first winding and a second winding (see device in fig. 11 which shows first and second windings in box 42);
a first input transistor coupled to a first terminal of the first winding and configured to receive an input signal (see Q40 with RFIN+ input connected to first winding in 42 in fig. 11);
a second input transistor coupled to a second terminal of the first winding and configured to receive the input signal (see Q41 with RFIN- input connected to first winding in 42 in fig. 11);
a first pair of mixer transistors coupled to a first terminal of the second winding and configured to receive an oscillating signal (see pair Q42 and Q43 with LO input connected to second winding in 42 in fig. 11);
a second pair of mixer transistors coupled to a second terminal of the second winding and configured to receive the oscillating signal (see pair Q44 and Q45 with LO input connected to second winding in 42 in fig. 11); and
the first and second windings having center taps (see center taps of both windings in box 42 in fig. 11).
Shiramizu does not teach a conductive path that couples a center tap contact of the first winding to a center tap contact of the second winding. Belson teaches a conductive path that couples a center tap contact of the first winding to a center tap contact of the second winding (see windings 40 and 42 in fig. 1 both with center taps shown with nodes 46 which are connected together through a conductive path). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Belson to the device of Shiramizu in order to better operate at the required voltage levels.
Referring to Claim 8, Shiramizu also teaches wherein the first pair of mixer transistors have first source-drain terminals coupled to the first terminal of the second winding (see drains of Q42 and Q43 connected to second winding in 42 in fig. 11), the first pair of mixer transistors have first gate terminals configured to receive the oscillating signal (see gates of Q42 and Q43 connected to LO inputs in fig. 11), the second pair of mixer transistors have second source-drain terminals coupled to the second terminal of the second winding (see drains of Q44 and Q45 connected to second winding in 42 in fig. 11), and the second pair of mixer transistors have second gate terminals configured to receive the oscillating signal (see gates of Q44 and Q45 connected to LO inputs in fig. 11).
Referring to Claim 13, Shiramizu also teaches wherein the first pair of mixer transistors and the second pair of mixer transistors are configured to generate an output signal based on the oscillating signal and the input signal (see OUT+ and OUT- as outputs of mixer transistors Q42-Q45 in fig. 11), the output signal having a different frequency than the input signal (see paragraph 54 which shows different frequencies between the input and output signals), and the conductive path being configured to share a DC bias current between the first pair of mixer transistors, the second pair of mixer transistors, the first input transistor, and the second input transistor (see paragraph 47 which shows shared bias current).
Referring to Claim 14, Shiramizu teaches mixer circuitry comprising:
a transconductor 1 (fig. 1);
mixer transistors Q42-Q45 (fig. 11);
a transformer that couples an output of the transconductor to an input of the mixer transistors (see fig. 11 which shows LO input to transistors Q42-Q45), wherein the transformer includes a first coil having a first center tap contact, and a second coil magnetically coupled to the first coil (see 42 of fig. 11 which shows first and second coils magnetically coupled).
Shiramizu does not teach the second coil having a second center tap contact that is coupled to the first center tap contact over a conductive path. Belson teaches the second coil having a second center tap contact that is coupled to the first center tap contact over a conductive path (see windings 40 and 42 in fig. 1 both with center taps shown with nodes 46 which are connected together through a conductive path). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Belson to the device of Shiramizu in order to better operate at the required voltage levels.
Referring to Claim 15, Shiramizu also teaches the mixer transistors having first source-drain terminals coupled to first and second terminals of the second coil and have gate terminals configured to receive an oscillating signal (see Q42-Q45 in fig. 11 with drain terminals coupled to second coil in box 42 and gates with LO inputs).
Referring to Claim 16, Shiramizu also teaches transistors with second source-drain terminals coupled to first and second terminals of the first coil (see Q40 and Q41 in fig. 11 with source terminals coupled to first coil in box 42).
Referring to Claim 17, Shiramizu also teaches the transistors in the transconductor have third source-drain terminals coupled to a ground line (see drain terminals of Q40 and Q41 coupled to ground in fig. 11).
Referring to Claim 21, Shiramizu teaches mixer circuitry comprising:
a first pair of transistors having first gate terminals configured to receive an input signal and having first source-drain terminals (see transistors Q40 and Q41 in fig. 11 with RFIN inputs),
a second pair of transistors having second gate terminals configured to receive a local oscillator (LO) signal and having second source-drain terminals (see transistors Q42 and Q43 in fig. 11 with LOIN inputs),
a third pair of transistors having third gate terminals configured to receive the LO signal and having third source-drain terminals (see transistors Q44 and Q45 in fig. 11 with LOIN inputs), and
a transformer having a first inductor and a second inductor, wherein the first inductor is coupled between the first source-drain terminals, the second inductor is coupled between the second source-drain terminals and the third source-drain terminals (see fig. 11 where the box 42 shows the first inductor coupled between the source terminals of Q40 and Q41 and the second inductor coupled between the drain terminals of Q42-Q45), and
the first and second windings having center taps (see center taps of both windings in box 42 in fig. 11).
Shiramizu does not teach a center tap of the first inductor is coupled to a center tap of the second inductor over a conductive path. Belson teaches a center tap of the first inductor is coupled to a center tap of the second inductor over a conductive path (see windings 40 and 42 in fig. 1 both with center taps shown with nodes 46 which are connected together through a conductive path). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Belson to the device of Shiramizu in order to better operate at the required voltage levels.
Claim(s) 2-7, 12, 18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiramizu and Belson and further in view of Kaila (US 11,316,476).
Referring to Claim 2, Shiramizu teaches the first pair of mixer transistors being coupled between the output transformer and the first terminal of the second winding (see Q42 and Q43 between OUT- and the second coil in 42 in fig. 11), and the second pair of mixer transistors being coupled between the output transformer and the second terminal of the second winding (see Q44 and Q45 between OUT+ and the second coil in 42 in fig. 11). The combination of Shiramizu and Belson does not teach the output transformer having a third winding and a fourth winding and a positive power supply line coupled to a center tap contact of the third winding. Kaila teaches the output transformer having a third winding 134 (fig. 1A) and a fourth winding 136 (fig. 1A) and a positive power supply line coupled to a center tap contact of the third winding (see VDD in the center of winding 134 in fig. 1A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kaila to the modified device of Shiramizu and Belson in order to reduce unwanted interference and emission.
Referring to Claim 3, Shiramizu also teaches the first input transistor Q40 (fig. 11) having a first source-drain terminal coupled to the first terminal of the first winding (see source of Q40 coupled to first coil in 42 in fig. 11), a second source-drain terminal coupled to a ground line (see drain of Q40 coupled to ground in fig. 11), and a first gate terminal configured to receive the input signal (see RFIN+ coupled to gate of Q40 in fig. 11).
Referring to Claim 4, Shiramizu also teaches the second input transistor having a third source-drain terminal coupled to the second terminal of the first winding (see source of Q41 coupled to first coil in 42 in fig. 11), a fourth source-drain terminal coupled to the ground line (see drain of Q41 coupled to ground in fig. 11), and a second gate terminal configured to receive the input signal (see RFIN- coupled to gate of Q41 in fig. 11).
Referring to Claim 5, Belson also teaches the positive power supply line and the ground line configured to produce a DC bias current that flows across the conductive path between the center tap contact of the first winding and the center tap contact of the second winding (see col. 9, line 32-col. 10, line 60 which shows the process of biasing current flowing through the conductive paths including the path between the center taps).
Referring to Claim 6, Kaila also teaches a first impedance termination disposed on the conductive path (see impedance termination 604 in fig. 6 on conducting path connected to power). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kaila to the modified device of Shiramizu and Belson in order to reduce unwanted interference and emission.
Referring to Claim 7, Kaila also teaches a second impedance termination that couples the conductive path to a ground line (see impedance termination 139 in fig. 1B on conducting path connected to ground).
Referring to Claim 12, Kaila also teaches an additional conductive path that couples a node on the conductive path to a ground line (see fig. 1B which shows conductive path with 139 leading to ground). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kaila to the modified device of Shiramizu and Belson in order to reduce unwanted interference and emission.
Referring to Claim 18, Shiramizu teaches the mixer transistors having fourth source-drain terminals (see sources of Q42-Q45 in fig. 11). The combination of Shiramizu and Belson does not teach a third coil, wherein the fourth source-drain terminals are coupled to first and second terminals of the third coil, the third coil having a third center tap contact coupled to a power supply line. Kaila teaches a third coil, wherein the fourth source-drain terminals are coupled to first and second terminals of the third coil, the third coil having a third center tap contact coupled to a power supply line (see fig. 1A which shows coil 134 coupled to source terminals and a voltage supply coupled to the center). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kaila to the modified device of Shiramizu and Belson in order to reduce unwanted interference and emission.
Referring to Claim 22, Shiramizu teaches wherein the first pair of transistors have fourth source-drain terminals (see drain terminals of Q40 and Q41 in fig. 11), the second pair of transistors having fifth source-drain terminals, the third pair of transistors having sixth source-drain terminals (see source terminals of Q42-Q45 in fig. 11), the second pair of transistors being configured to generate an output signal at the fifth source-drain terminals based on the input signal, the third pair of transistors being configured to generate the output signal at the sixth source-drain terminals based on the input signal (see OUT+ and OUT- signals in fig. 11), the output signal being at a different frequency than the input signal (see paragraph 54 which shows different frequencies between the input and output signals), and the electronic device further comprising a ground power supply line coupled to the fourth source-drain terminals (see drain terminals of Q40 and Q41 in fig. 11 connected to ground).
Shitamizu does not teach a third inductor coupled between the fifth source-drain terminals and the sixth source-drain terminals, and a positive power supply line coupled to a center tap of the third inductor. Kaila teaches a third inductor coupled between the fifth source-drain terminals and the sixth source-drain terminals, and a positive power supply line coupled to a center tap of the third inductor (see fig. 1A which shows coil 134 coupled to source terminals and a voltage supply coupled to the center). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kaila to the modified device of Shiramizu and Belson in order to reduce unwanted interference and emission.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiramizu and Belson and further in view of Krishnamurthi (US 2019/0267945).
Referring to Claim 9, the combination of Shiramizu and Belson does not teach a first impedance termination coupled between the first source-drain terminals and the first terminal of the second winding; and a second impedance termination coupled between the second source-drain terminals and the second terminal of the second winding. Krishnamurthi teaches a first impedance termination coupled between the first source-drain terminals and the first terminal of the second winding; and a second impedance termination coupled between the second source-drain terminals and the second terminal of the second winding (see Zin1 and Zin2 in fig. 7 as the impedance terminations between the terminals and winding). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Krishnamurthi to the modified device of Shiramizu and Belson in order to reduce the noise level during operation of the device.
Referring to Claim 10, Krishnamurthi also teaches a third impedance termination disposed on the conductive path (see Zin.total applied to connection node 210a which is described in paragraph 104 as the impedance termination).
Referring to Claim 11, Krishnamurthi also teaches wherein the first impedance termination comprises a first differential mode impedance termination, the second impedance termination comprises a second differential mode impedance termination (see paragraph 54 which shows the differential impedance), and the third impedance termination comprises a common mode impedance termination (see paragraph 20 which shows common impedance).
Conclusion
/EUGENE YUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648