Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 – 6 are objected to because of the following:
In each claim, there is language directed to the holding part “inserting its tip from the inlet of the holding hole” which appears at least partially duplicative of language introduced in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 9,407,049 (“Ishibashi”) in view of JP 3015382 U (“JP ‘382”) and U.S. Pat. No. 7,793,895 (“Franks”).
Regarding claim 1, Ishibashi discloses a connector comprising:
a terminal fitting (32) that is physically and electrically connected to a mating terminal fitting (22);
a housing (31) that houses the terminal fitting, and allows a protruded part (the housing portions of 31 above C, see Fig. 4) to protrude from a wall face of a metallic mating wall body (the upper wall of C) in a state of being fitted and connected to a mating fitting part (see Fig. 4);
a shield shell (40) that includes a shield main body (the portion near the lead line of numeral 40 in Figure 3) that is placed over the protruded part of the housing from outside, and a fixing part (portion 41) that is in contact with the wall face of the mating wall body, the fixing part having a bolt insertion hole formed coaxially with a female screw part of the mating wall body (see Fig. 3);
a metallic bolt (BT) that is inserted into the bolt insertion hole and screwed into the female screw part to screw-fix the fixing part to the mating wall body (see Fig. 3); and
a bolt cap (CP) that is placed over a head part of the bolt (CP fits over BT), wherein
the bolt cap includes: a cap main body (the cap CP) that is placed over the head part to hide the head part; a holding body (the portion under bolt BT, see Fig. 1); and a connector body (the tether portion, see Fig. 1) that connects the cap main body and the holding body.
Ishibashi does not disclose the bolt cap holding body as inserted into a holding hole of the fixing part from an inlet to be closely fitted and held to the holding hole, wherein the holding body includes an insertion part that is inserted into the holding hole by inserting its tip from the inlet of the holding hole, and a recessed part is provided in the fixing part for housing the tip between the wall face and an outlet to prevent the tip of the insertion part that is slipped out of the outlet of the holding hole from abutting against the wall face on an insertion port side of the mating wall body in the fitted and connected state.
However, JP ‘382 teaches a bolt cap with a cap main body 1, a holding body 8, and connector body 7 that connects the cap main body and the holding body, the holding body inserted into a holding hole 9 of a fixing part of a case structure from an inlet to be closely fitted and held to the holding hole (see Figs. 4 – 6), , wherein the holding body includes an insertion part that is inserted into the holding hole by inserting its tip from the inlet of the holding hole (portions a, b, and the tip are inserted from the inlet into the hole, see Figs. 4 and Fig. 5).
Furthermore, Franks teaches a holding body inserted into a holding hole of the fixing part from an inlet (see Fig. 5), wherein the holding body includes an insertion part that is inserted into the holding hole by inserting its tip from the inlet of the holding hole (see portion 117), and a recessed part (23) is provided in the fixing part (11) for housing the tip between a wall face and an outlet to prevent the tip of the insertion part that is slipped out of the outlet of the holding hole from abutting against the wall face on an insertion port side of the mating wall body in the fitted and connected state (11 mounts to a panel, see col. 1, lns. 63 – 64, and the holding part 23 is within recess 23, so as to avoid contact with the panel to which 11 mounts).
It would have been obvious to use a holding body which is inserted into an adjacent holding hole as taught by JP ‘382 because this moves the holding body away from the nut and makes it so that the cap is held on the body even when the nut is loosened and/or removed, and furthermore it would have been obvious to provide a recess as taught by Franks because this allows the housing to closely mount to a structure while ensuring that the holding body is attached to the housing in a safe and secure manure.
Regarding claim 5, JP ‘382 further teaches the holding body includes: an insertion part that is inserted into the holding hole by inserting a tip from the inlet of the holding hole (see the structure within and beyond the hole, including the part below the lead line of numeral 7 in Figure 5 and portion 8 with portions a and b as seen in Figure 5); and a locking part that is provided at the tip of the insertion part (8, a, b), the locking part being formed in an umbrella shape with a pointed tip (see Fig. 5), and at an end through an outlet of the holding hole, the locking part is engaged with a wall face of the fixing part on the outlet side (see portion B engaging the wall of 4). It would have been obvious to provide the insertion part as taught by JP ‘382 because this part helps hole the cap to the panel structure.
Claims 2 and 6 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishibashi in view of JP ‘382 and Franks, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 3,494,244 (“Wayland”).
Regarding claim 2, Ishibashi as modified above does not disclose the holding body includes a lip part that is closely fitted around a whole inner peripheral face of the holding hole.
However, Wayland teaches a fastener structure (10) which includes a holding body secured to a holding hole in a panel structure (see Fig. 5), the holding body includes a lip part 16 that is fitted around a whole inner peripheral face of the holding hole (see Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to make the holding body to be shaped like the fastener structure of Wayland and to have lip parts as taught by Wayland, because these parts help securely hold the fastener structure in the hole and also help provide a seal within the hole.
Regarding claim 6, Wayland further teaches the holding body includes: an insertion part (leading portion of 10) that is inserted into the holding hole by inserting a tip from the inlet of the holding hole; and a locking part (the leading portion includes a member 16 which engages the bottom wall as seen in Figure 5) that is provided at the tip of the insertion part, the locking part being formed in an umbrella shape with a pointed tip (see Figure 5, the leading end includes a pointed tip 18 and is shaped like an umbrella), and at an end through an outlet of the holding hole, the locking part is engaged with a wall face of the fixing part on the outlet side (see Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to include the leading portion of the fastener as taught by Wayland, because this helps guide the fastener through the hole and also helps retain the fastener by engaging the wall of the panel structure.
Regarding claims 7 – 8, Ishibashi as modified does not disclose wherein the bolt cap includes a covering part that is closely fitted to a peripheral edge of the inlet in an outer wall of the fixing part on the inlet side, the covering part covering over the inlet.
However, Wayland teaches a covering part 12 that is closely fitted to a peripheral edge of an inlet in an outer wall of the fixing part 10 on the inlet side (see Fig. 5), the covering part covering over the inlet (see Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to include the covering part 12 with the holding body of the bolt cap, because this part provides a broad portion which can be pushed upon to mate the fastener structure with the hole and also covers the inlet hole to provide protection for the hole structure.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishibashi in view of JP ‘382 and Franks, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 11,892,020 (“Schoch”).
Regarding claim 3, Ishibashi as modified discloses the holding body includes an insertion part that is inserted into the holding hole by inserting a tip from the inlet of the holding hole (see above), but does not disclose wherein
the inlet of the holding hole has a chamfered part chamfered around a whole peripheral edge of the inlet, and the tip of the insertion part is formed in a pointed cone shape.
However, JP ‘382 further teaches the tip 8 of the insertion part is formed in a pointed cone shape. Furthermore, Schoch teaches providing a hole for a fastener with a chamfered part chamfered around a whole peripheral edge of an inlet as seen in Figure 3a.
It would have been obvious to have the holding body include a fastener with a cone shaped insertion part as taught by JP ‘382, because this helps ensure that the fastener is guided through the insertion hole, and furthermore it would have been obvious to provide a chamfer at the inlet as taught by Schoch because chamfers help guide fastener structures into an insertion hole.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishibashi in view of JP ‘382 and Franks, and further in view of Wayland and U.S. Pat. No. 11,892,020 (“Schoch”).
Regarding claim 4, Ishibashi as modified discloses the holding body includes an insertion part that is inserted into the holding hole by inserting a tip from the inlet of the holding hole (see above), but does not disclose:
the inlet of the holding hole has a chamfered part chamfered around a whole peripheral edge of the inlet, and the tip of the insertion part is formed in a pointed cone shape.
However, Wayland further teaches the holding body includes an insertion part (the leading portion of 10) that is inserted into the holding hole by inserting a tip from the inlet of the holding hole (see Fig. 5), and the tip of the insertion part is formed in a pointed cone shape (see Fig. 5). Furthermore, Schoch teaches providing a hole for a fastener with a chamfered part chamfered around a whole peripheral edge of an inlet as seen in Figure 3a.
It would have been obvious to have the holding body include a fastener with an insertion part shaped and inserted in the hole as taught by Wayland, because this helps ensure that the fastener with the lip part is guided through the insertion hole, and furthermore it would have been obvious to provide a chamfer at the inlet as taught by Schoch because chamfers help guide fastener structures into an insertion hole.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection in view of Franks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831