Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 11-14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 20220308195) in view of Colmenares (US 20220363393).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1/11, Zeng teaches A system ([Fig.2 and 0259], “WiCPD system 200”) for controlling a vehicle application ([0259], “WiCPD reports a “child in vehicle”) in a vehicle using channel state information (CSI) ([0259], “the CSIs are processed by the motion target detector 202 to detect if there is a child in motion inside the vehicle.”), the system comprising:
a CSI generation device ([0259], “transmitter (TX) 211”) ...
a controllable device ([Fig.2], transmitter of a vehicle that can transmit indicator to a UE via a communication network.); and a controller ([Fig.2 and 0259], “The receiver (RX) 212” And [0299 and Fig.9], “The Bot 900 in this example may serve as Bot 211 in FIG. 2 for wireless sensing.”), wherein the controller is configured to:
receive CSI data from the CSI generation device ([0259], “The receiver (RX) 212 measures the CSI from the incoming packets transmitted by the transmitter (TX) 211.”);
identify one or more classification states from the CSI data associated with one or more of a human presence ([0259], “the CSIs are processed by the motion target detector 202 to detect if there is a child in motion inside the vehicle.”), a posture, or a gesture of the passenger;
identify an operation to be executed by the controllable device based on a classification state of the one or more classification states ([0259], “If the decision is YES, WiCPD reports a “child in vehicle”.); and
responsive to identifying the operation, send a first command to the controllable device to perform the operation ([0259 and Fig.2], a transmitter located in the vehicle is instructed to report “child in vehicle” indicator to a UE carried by a vehicle owner.).
However, Zeng does not specifically disclose controlling an aircraft application in an aircraft ... and wherein the controllable device is at least one of a reading light, a gasper, a flight attendant call signal, a door to the overhead storage bin, or an infotainment system associated with a passenger.
In an analogous art, Colmenares discloses A system for controlling an aircraft application in an aircraft using sensing information ([0054], “the sensor processor 112 commands the cabin controller 113 to control the cabin system 114 or device.”), the system comprising:
...
a controllable device ([0054], “cabin system 114 or device”), wherein the controllable device ([0017], “The cabin systems may include window shades, entertainment systems, monitors, sound equipment, cabin lights, pocket doors, and other cabin devices.”) is at least one of a reading light ([0017], “cabin lights”), a gasper, a flight attendant call signal, a door to the overhead storage bin, or an infotainment system associated with a passenger ([0034], “increase a size of a displayed map on a cabin monitor when the subject separates two fingers, while a different subject may increase a size of the displayed map on a cabin monitor.”); and
a controller ([0054], “the sensor processor 112”), wherein the controller is configured to:
...
identify one or more classification states from database ([0034], “The sensor processor 112 or cabin controller 113 may compare the detected motion with a gesture library associated with the sensor processor 112.”) associated with one or more of a human presence, a posture, or a gesture of the passenger ([0053], “Task 322 compares the sensor data with stored gestures to identify a cabin system to control.”);
identify an operation to be executed by the controllable device based on a classification state of the one or more classification states ([0037], “complex gestures may be used to manipulate cabin lights.” And [0019], “any gesture command detected by it can be handled for the specific user (i.e., their light, their shade, a movie, etc. And [0034], “increase a size of a displayed map on a cabin monitor when the subject separates two fingers, while a different subject may increase a size of the displayed map on a cabin monitor.”); and
responsive to identifying the operation, send a first command to the controllable device to perform the operation ([0036], “the sensor processor 112 may generate a task to increase the size of a map presented on the display.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Zeng to specify controlling aircraft application by sensing operation as taught by Colmenares. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to “provide a control system for aircraft cabins with beneficial ease of use.”
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2/12, Zeng teaches wherein the system further comprises: a Wi-Fi receiver ([Fig.2], receiver 212 and [0259], “The receiver (RX) 212 measures the CSI from the incoming packets transmitted by the transmitter (TX) 211.”), wherein the CSI generation device is the Wi-Fi receiver acting as transceiver ([0305], “the Origin 1000 ... a transceiver 1010 comprising a transmitter 1012 and a receiver 1014.”) and wherein the CSI data is provided to the controller via the Wi-Fi receiver ([0259], “the CSIs are processed by the motion target detector 202 to detect if there is a child in motion inside the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim(s) 3/13, Zeng teaches wherein the system further comprises: a Wi-Fi transmitter ([Fig.2], transmitter 211), wherein the CSI generation device is the Wi-Fi transmitter ([Fig.2], receiver 212 and [0259], “The receiver (RX) 212 measures the CSI from the incoming packets transmitted by the transmitter (TX) 211.”) and wherein the CSI data is provided to the controller via the Wi-Fi transmitter ([0259], “the CSIs are processed by the motion target detector 202 to detect if there is a child in motion inside the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim(s) 4/14, Zeng teaches a Wi-Fi receiver ([Fig.2], receiver 212); and a Wi-Fi transmitter ([Fig.2], transmitter 211), wherein the CSI generation device is the Wi-Fi receiver and the Wi-Fi transmitter both acting as transceivers ([0305]) and wherein the CSI data is provided to the controller via the Wi-Fi receiver and the Wi-Fi transmitter ([0259], “the CSIs are processed by the motion target detector 202 to detect if there is a child in motion inside the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim(s) 7/17, Zeng teaches wherein the controller is configured to utilize a trained model to identify the one or more classification states associated with the one or more of the human presence ([Fig.2], child in car), the posture, or the gesture, wherein the trained model is trained utilizing the CSI data associated with sensitive subcarriers within a communication channel of the CSI generation device, and wherein the sensitive subcarriers are a subset of subcarriers of the communication channel of the CSI generation device interfered with by a passenger ([0262], “To detect a stationary child, the system may first leverage the motion statistics on each subcarrier to select those subcarriers which are sensitive to motions since the breathing motion corresponds a child's chest movement is subtle and easily to be submerged by the noise.”).
Regarding claim(s) 8/18, Zeng teaches wherein the controller is configured to utilize interference data to identify the operation ([0259], “If the decision is YES, WiCPD reports a “child in vehicle”.) that should be executed based on the classification state ([0262], “To detect a stationary child, the system may first leverage the motion statistics on each subcarrier to select those subcarriers which are sensitive to motions since the breathing motion corresponds a child's chest movement is subtle and easily to be submerged by the noise.”).
Regarding claim(s) 9/19, Colmenares teaches wherein the operation is at least one of turning on a reading light, turning off the reading light ([0017], “controlling aircraft cabin system equipment by providing passengers and crew members a simple way to use touchless gestures ... The cabin systems may include window shades, entertainment systems, monitors, sound equipment, cabin lights, pocket doors, and other cabin devices.”), turning on air, turning off the air, turning on a flight attendant call signal, opening a door to a storage bin, or closing the door to the storage bin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Zeng to specify controlling aircraft application by sensing operation as taught by Colmenares. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to " provide a control system for aircraft cabins with beneficial ease of use.”
Regarding claim(s) 10/20, Colmenares teaches wherein the operation is controlling an infotainment system ([0017], “controlling aircraft cabin system equipment by providing passengers and crew members a simple way to use touchless gestures ... The cabin systems may include window shades, entertainment systems, monitors, sound equipment, cabin lights, pocket doors, and other cabin devices.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Zeng to specify controlling aircraft application by sensing operation as taught by Colmenares. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to " provide a control system for aircraft cabins with beneficial ease of use.”
Claim(s) 5-6 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng in view of Colmenares, and further in view of Jayaweera (US 20250138176).
Regarding claim(s) 5/15, Jayaweera teaches wherein a location of the Wi-Fi receiver and the Wi-Fi transmitter are optimized by obtaining and processing the CSI data at all possible discrete locations within the vehicle ([0310 and Fig.2], “one is located towards a front-left corner of the space, a second one towards a front-right corner of the space, a third one towards a back-left corner of the space and a fourth one towards a back-right corner of the space.”).
However, Zeng and Jayaweera does not teach aircraft.
In an analogous art, Colmenares discloses aircraft ([Fig.2], sensors in are located near an aircraft passenger ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Zeng to specify sensors locations in an aircraft as taught by Colmenares. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to detector passenger gestures.
Regarding claim(s) 6/16, Jayaweera teaches wherein an optimized location of the Wi-Fi receiver and the Wi-Fi transmitter is used to integrate the Wi-Fi receiver and the Wi-Fi transmitter into the vehicle ([0310 and Fig.2], “one is located towards a front-left corner of the space, a second one towards a front-right corner of the space, a third one towards a back-left corner of the space and a fourth one towards a back-right corner of the space.”).
However, Zeng and Jayaweera does not teach aircraft.
In an analogous art, Colmenares discloses aircraft ([Fig.2], sensors in are located near an aircraft passenger ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Zeng to specify sensors locations in an aircraft as taught by Colmenares. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to detector passenger gestures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See updated mapping in claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411