DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (US 2017/0229094).
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi discloses a method, comprising:
obtaining service data (Paragraph 18, The storage unit 15 is configured to store various types of data, including image data [service data]); and
sending first data (Paragraph 17, a source device 10 configured to send image data and a display device 20 (sink device) configured to receive the image data and display an image; Paragraph 19, The control unit 12 is configured to convert…the image data to be sent to the display device 20 into image data in a data format conforming to the eDP standard [first data]), wherein the first data is obtained based on the service data (Paragraph 19, The control unit 12 is configured to convert…the image data to be sent to the display device 20 into image data in a data format conforming to the eDP standard [first data based on the image data (service data)]), wherein a data structure of the first data is the same as a data structure of second data (Paragraph 19 and figure 1, The first link training processing unit 121 is configured to, by controlling the communication unit 13, perform link training in accordance with an eDP protocol [data structure] (first link training) [second data]…The control unit 12 is configured to convert…the image data to be sent to the display device 20 into image data in a data format conforming to the eDP standard [data structure]), the second data is used for performing link training (Paragraph 19 and figure 1, The first link training processing unit 121 is configured to, by controlling the communication unit 13, perform link training in accordance with an eDP protocol (first link training) [second data]), and the link training is performed before the first data is sent (Paragraph 19, first link training, then establish [link up] transmission path, prepare the image data to be sent or received, image data converted to eDP standard after link up has been established, and send image data from source device 10 to sink device 20 over transmission line 30 via respective eDP interfaces of source and sink devices).
Regarding claim 25, Takahashi discloses a method, comprising:
receiving first data (Paragraph 17, a source device 10 configured to send image data and a display device 20 (sink device) configured to receive the image data and display an image; Paragraph 19, The control unit 12 is configured to convert…the image data to be sent to the display device 20 into image data in a data format conforming to the eDP standard [first data]), wherein the first data is obtained based on service data (Paragraph 19, The control unit 12 is configured to convert…the image data to be sent to the display device 20 into image data in a data format conforming to the eDP standard [first data based on the image data (service data)]);
obtaining service data (Paragraphs 17-21, at the sink unit/display device 20, the image data [service data] is received in the eDP protocol format and processed for display by the control unit 22 and the image processing unit 26), wherein a data structure of the first data is the same as a data structure of second data (Paragraph 19 and figure 1, The first link training processing unit 121 is configured to, by controlling the communication unit 13, perform link training in accordance with an eDP protocol [data structure] (first link training) [second data]…The control unit 12 is configured to convert…the image data to be sent to the display device 20 into image data in a data format conforming to the eDP standard [data structure]), the second data is used for performing link training (Paragraph 19 and figure 1, The first link training processing unit 121 is configured to, by controlling the communication unit 13, perform link training in accordance with an eDP protocol (first link training) [second data]), and the link training is performed before the first data is sent (Paragraph 19, first link training, then establish [link up] transmission path, prepare the image data to be sent or received, image data converted to eDP standard after link up has been established, and send image data from source device 10 to sink device 20 over transmission line 30 via respective eDP interfaces of source and sink devices).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kobayashi (US 2004/0221056).
Regarding claims 17 and 26, Takahashi discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Kobayashi: wherein the first data comprises a first identifier, and the first identifier identifies that the first data comprises service data (Kobayashi, Paragraph 69, link training performed on a main link between a source device and sink device; Paragraph 76, the main link packet headers serve as stream identification numbers thereby greatly reducing overhead and maximizing link bandwidth; Paragraph 81, stream source 1206 sends stream attributes to the source link layer 1214 that is then transmitted to the receiver over the auxiliary channel 224. These attributes are the information used by the receiver to identify the packets of a particular stream).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takahashi with the cited disclosure from Kobayashi in order to reduce overhead and maximize link bandwidth (Kobayashi, Paragraph 76).
Claim(s) 18, 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Kobayashi as applied to claims 17 and 26 above, and further in view of Zeng (US 7,853,731).
Regarding claim 18, Takahashi in view of Kobayashi discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Zeng: wherein: the first data further comprises a third identifier, wherein the third identifier is configured for character delimitation, inter-channel alignment processing, or periodic link locking detection during transmission of the service data; and the third identifier is arranged between the first identifier and the service data (Zeng, Abstract, Link training is then performed between the source device and the sink device utilizing the first set of preset parameter and the link status (bit lock, symbol lock and inter-lane alignment) of the DisplayPort device is then read).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takahashi and Kobayashi with the cited disclosure from Zeng in order to perform link training using sets of parameters until the link training is successful (Zeng, Abstract).
Regarding claim 28, Takahashi in view of Kobayashi discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Zeng: wherein: the first data further comprises a third identifier, wherein the third identifier is configured for inter-channel alignment processing during transmission of the service data; and the third identifier is arranged between the first identifier and the service data (Zeng, Abstract, Link training is then performed between the source device and the sink device utilizing the first set of preset parameter and the link status (bit lock, symbol lock and inter-lane alignment) of the DisplayPort device is then read).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takahashi and Kobayashi with the cited disclosure from Zeng in order to perform link training using sets of parameters until the link training is successful (Zeng, Abstract).
Regarding claim 29, Takahashi in view of Kobayashi discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Zeng: wherein: the first data further comprises a third identifier, wherein the third identifier is configured for periodic link locking detection during transmission of the service data; and the third identifier is arranged between the first identifier and the service data (Zeng, Abstract, Link training is then performed between the source device and the sink device utilizing the first set of preset parameter and the link status (bit lock, symbol lock and inter-lane alignment) of the DisplayPort device is then read).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takahashi and Kobayashi with the cited disclosure from Zeng in order to perform link training using sets of parameters until the link training is successful (Zeng, Abstract).
Claim(s) 19, 30 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Das Sharma et al. (US 2019/0042380).
Regarding claim 19, Takahashi discloses the claimed invention above as well as wherein before sending the first data, the method further comprises: sending the second data, wherein the second data is obtained based on a training pattern, and the training pattern is configured for performing the link training (Takahashi, Paragraph 19, The first link training processing unit 121 is configured to, by controlling the communication unit 13, perform link training in accordance with an eDP protocol (first link training), then establish [link up] transmission path, prepare the image data to be sent or received, image data converted to eDP standard after link up has been established, and send image data from source device 10 to sink device 20 over transmission line 30 via respective eDP interfaces of source and sink devices).
Takahashi does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Das Sharma et al.: wherein the second data comprises a second identifier, and the second identifier indicates that the second data comprises link training data (Das Sharma et al., Paragraph 67, a binary code may be injected in one or more fields of the specialized training sequence (e.g., in an otherwise reserved field in a particular symbol sent in a training sequence within a particular link training state (e.g., a polling state)) to identify a specific one of multiple supported test modes…the training sequences may identify a LUT testing link state in which the lane under test is to enter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takahashi with the cited disclosure from Das Sharma et al. in order to identify lanes and particular training sequences to be applied thereto between source and sink device (Das Sharma et al., Paragraph 67).
Regarding claim 30, Takahashi discloses the claimed invention above as well as wherein before receiving the first data, the method further comprises: receiving the second data, wherein the second data is obtained based on a training pattern, and the training pattern is configured for performing the link training (Takahashi, Paragraph 19, The first link training processing unit 121 is configured to, by controlling the communication unit 13, perform link training in accordance with an eDP protocol (first link training), then establish [link up] transmission path, prepare the image data to be sent or received, image data converted to eDP standard after link up has been established, and send image data from source device 10 to sink device 20 over transmission line 30 via respective eDP interfaces of source and sink devices).
Takahashi does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Das Sharma et al.: wherein the second data comprises a second identifier, and the second identifier indicates that the second data comprises link training data (Das Sharma et al., Paragraph 67, a binary code may be injected in one or more fields of the specialized training sequence (e.g., in an otherwise reserved field in a particular symbol sent in a training sequence within a particular link training state (e.g., a polling state)) to identify a specific one of multiple supported test modes…the training sequences may identify a LUT testing link state in which the lane under test is to enter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takahashi with the cited disclosure from Das Sharma et al. in order to identify lanes and particular training sequences to be applied thereto between source and sink device (Das Sharma et al., Paragraph 67).
Regrading claim 31, Das Sharma et al. disclose determining an equalization parameter based on the second data; and wherein receiving the first data comprises: receiving the first data based on the equalization parameter (Das Sharma et al., Paragraphs 50, 78, link training performed with equalization).
Claim(s) 21 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Das Sharma et al. as applied to claim19 and 30 above, and further in view of Bommana et al. (US 2022/0058142).
Regarding claims 21 and 33, Takahashi in view of Das Sharma et al. discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Bommana et al.: wherein: the second data further comprises a fourth identifier, wherein the fourth identifier is configured for character delimitation during the link training; and the fourth identifier is arranged between the second identifier and the training pattern (Bommana et al., Paragraph 30, both partners proceed into link training, sending training sequence (TSEQ), TS1, and then TS2 ordered sets, which are unique start-of-packet delimiters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takahashi and Kobayashi with the cited disclosure from Bommana et al. in order to determine link capabilities (Bommana et al., Paragraph 30).
Claim(s) 22, 23 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Das Sharma et al. as applied to claims 19 and 30 above, and further in view of Zeng.
Regarding claim 22, Takahashi in view of Das Sharma et al. discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Zeng: wherein: the second data further comprises a fourth identifier, wherein the fourth identifier is configured for inter-channel alignment processing during the link training; and the fourth identifier is arranged between the second identifier and the training pattern (Zeng, Abstract, Link training is then performed between the source device and the sink device utilizing the first set of preset parameter and the link status (bit lock, symbol lock and inter-lane alignment) of the DisplayPort device is then read).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takahashi and Das Sharma et al. with the cited disclosure from Zeng in order to perform link training using sets of parameters until the link training is successful (Zeng, Abstract).
Regarding claim 23, Takahashi in view of Das Sharma et al. discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Zeng: wherein: the second data further comprises a fourth identifier, wherein the fourth identifier is configured for periodic link locking detection during the link training; and the fourth identifier is arranged between the second identifier and the training pattern (Zeng, Abstract, Link training is then performed between the source device and the sink device utilizing the first set of preset parameter and the link status (bit lock, symbol lock and inter-lane alignment) of the DisplayPort device is then read).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takahashi and Kobayashi with the cited disclosure from Zeng in order to perform link training using sets of parameters until the link training is successful (Zeng, Abstract).
Regarding claim 34, Takahashi in view of Das Sharma et al. discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Zeng: wherein: the second data further comprises a fourth identifier, wherein the fourth identifier is configured for inter-channel alignment processing or periodic link locking detection during the link training; and the fourth identifier is arranged between the second identifier and the training pattern (Zeng, Abstract, Link training is then performed between the source device and the sink device utilizing the first set of preset parameter and the link status (bit lock, symbol lock and inter-lane alignment) of the DisplayPort device is then read).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takahashi and Kobayashi with the cited disclosure from Zeng in order to perform link training using sets of parameters until the link training is successful (Zeng, Abstract).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Kobayashi as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Bommana et al.
Regarding claim 27, Takahashi in view of Kobayashi discloses the claimed invention above but does not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Bommana et al.: wherein: the first data further comprises a third identifier, wherein the third identifier is configured for character delimitation during transmission of the service data; and the third identifier is arranged between the first identifier and the service data (Bommana et al., Paragraph 30, both partners proceed into link training, sending training sequence (TSEQ), TS1, and then TS2 ordered sets, which are unique start-of-packet delimiters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takahashi and Kobayashi with the cited disclosure from Bommana et al. in order to determine link capabilities (Bommana et al., Paragraph 30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20, 24, 32 and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
regarding claims 20 and 32, the prior art does not disclose or adequately suggest the same data structure for both service data and link training data as specifically recited in the claimed invention;
regarding claims 24 and 35, the prior art does not disclose or adequately suggest first and second identifiers as special character scramble reset (SR) and special character training pattern scramble reset (TPSR).
Conclusion
/OTIS L THOMPSON, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
December 11, 2025