DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 -32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brewer et al. (WO2022/005999 (corresponding US PGPub 2023/0343968 used for citation purposes)). Considering Claim 1 , Brewer discloses a lithium-ion battery (lithium-ion battery [0095, 0271]) configured to undergo multiple charging and discharging cycles (multiple charge and discharge cycles [0273]), comprising: an anode compartment (anode [Abstract]), comprising an anode current collector (anode current collector 301 [0030]) and a respective anode coating on each side of the anode current collector (lithium storage layers disposed on both sides of collector to form anode [0030]); a cathode compartment (positive electrode (cathode) [0096, 0095]), comprising a cathode current collector (cathode current collector [0096]) and a respective cathode coating on each side of the cathode current collector (cathode active material provided on the cathode current collector [0096], when provided on surface, understood to be on each respective side of electrode [0030] as a separator is used to separate multilayer stacks of anodes and cathodes [0095]); a separator interposed between the anode component and the cathode component (intervening separator between anode and cathode [0095, 0097]); and an electrolyte infiltrated in the separator between the anode compartment and the cathode compartment (liquid electrolyte infiltrated in porous separator between anode and cathode [0095, 0097]), wherein: the anode coatings comprise composite particles comprising carbon and silicon (particles are secured to copper foil [0042], lithium storage nanostructures [0028] such as silicon nanoparticles are aggregated [0073] with carbon [0152] such as graphitic carbon [0071] ), a mass fraction of the silicon in the composite particles of the anode coatings being in a range of about 5 wt% to about 70 wt% of the anode coatings (at least 40 atomic % silicon for 5 to 70 wt% [0027]) . The claimed invention states that the areal expansion can be reduced by optimizing the current collector thickness to a preferred range of about 8 to 10 µm [0120 PGPub version]. Another technique for reducing areal expansion of the anode component is to use low-swell anode materials such as nanocomposite silicon with graphite [0122]. Another technique includes using a buffer layer comprising a polymer [0123]. The anode current collector also uses a yield strength in a range of about 220 MPa to about 700 MPa [0045]. Brewer discloses an anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108]. The lithium storage layer comprises a nanocomposite of silicon and graphite [0073, 0152, 0071, 0028]. A surface layer or sublayer includes a polymer material [0057]. The tensile strength may be in the range of about 600 MPa or more [0033] to correspond to the collector thickness and deposited silicon material. Because Brewer teaches the same components as used by the claimed invention, and because Brewer suggests an absence of or much reduced expansion and deformations from imparted stress [0148], it appears that Brewer inherently teaches a relationship of maximum areal expansion and strain at the UTS of A max ≤ έ UTS . Considering Claim 2 , Brewer discloses an anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108]. The lithium storage layer comprises a nanocomposite of silicon and graphite [0073, 0152, 0071, 0028]. A surface layer or sublayer includes a polymer material [0057]. The tensile strength may be in the range of about 600 MPa or more [0033] to correspond to the collector thickness and deposited silicon material. Because Brewer teaches the same components as used by the claimed invention, and because Brewer suggests an absence of or much reduced expansion and deformations from imparted stress [0148], it appears that Brewer inherently teaches a relationship of maximum areal expansion and strain such that a is in a range of about 0.6 to about 1.0, b is in a range of about 0.0 to about 0.7 in the claimed formula A max ≤ a έ UTS -b . Considering Claim 3 , Brewer discloses an anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108]. The lithium storage layer comprises a nanocomposite of silicon and graphite [0073, 0152, 0071, 0028]. A surface layer or sublayer includes a polymer material [0057]. The tensile strength may be in the range of about 600 MPa or more [0033] to correspond to the collector thickness and deposited silicon material. Because Brewer teaches the same components as used by the claimed invention, and because Brewer suggests an absence of or much reduced expansion and deformations from imparted stress [0148], it appears that Brewer inherently teaches a relationship of maximum areal expansion and strain such that a is in a range of about 0.6 to about 0.7 , b is in a range of about 0. 6 to about 0.7 in the claimed formula A max ≤ a έ UTS -b . Considering Claim 4 , Brewer discloses an anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108]. The lithium storage layer comprises a nanocomposite of silicon and graphite [0073, 0152, 0071, 0028]. A surface layer or sublayer includes a polymer material [0057]. The tensile strength may be in the range of about 600 MPa or more [0033] to correspond to the collector thickness and deposited silicon material. Because Brewer teaches the same components as used by the claimed invention, and because Brewer suggests an absence of or much reduced expansion and deformations from imparted stress [0148], it appears that Brewer inherently teaches a relationship of maximum areal expansion and strain such that the strain at the UTS is in a range of about 2% to about 18%. Considering Claim 5 , Brewer discloses an anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108]. The lithium storage layer comprises a nanocomposite of silicon and graphite [0073, 0152, 0071, 0028]. A surface layer or sublayer includes a polymer material [0057]. The tensile strength may be in the range of about 600 MPa or more [0033] to correspond to the collector thickness and deposited silicon material. Because Brewer teaches the same components as used by the claimed invention, and because Brewer suggests an absence of or much reduced expansion and deformations from imparted stress [0148], it appears that Brewer inherently teaches a relationship of maximum areal expansion and strain such that the maximum areal expansion is in a range of about 0.1% to about 6.0%. Considering Claim 6 , Brewer discloses an anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108]. The lithium storage layer comprises a nanocomposite of silicon and graphite [0073, 0152, 0071, 0028]. A surface layer or sublayer includes a polymer material [0057]. The tensile strength may be in the range of about 600 MPa or more [0033] to correspond to the collector thickness and deposited silicon material. Because Brewer teaches the same components as used by the claimed invention, and because Brewer suggests an absence of or much reduced expansion and deformations from imparted stress [0148], it appears that Brewer inherently teaches a relationship of maximum areal expansion and strain such that the UTS is about 250 MPa or greater. Considering Claim 7 , Brewer discloses that the mass fraction of the silicon in the composite particles of the anode coatings is in a range of about 15 wt% to about 40 wt% of the anode coatings ( at least 40 atomic % silicon for 1 5 to 4 0 wt% [0027] ). Considering Claim 8 , Brewer discloses that the mass fraction of the silicon in the composite particles of the anode coatings is in a range of about 1 0 wt% to about 6 0 wt% of the anode coatings ( at least 40 atomic % silicon for 1 0 to 6 0 wt% [0027] ). Considering Claim 9 , Brewer discloses a same silicon, silicon oxide, or silicon nitride [0073, 0074, 0075] as the claimed invention, so it appears that Brewer inherently discloses a silicon capacity in a range of about 500 mAh/g to about 1500 mAh/g. Considering Claim 10 , Brewer discloses that the copper foil is an electrodeposited copper foil (electrodeposited copper for layer [0042]). Considering Claim 11 , Brewer discloses that the copper foil exhibits a yield strength of about 170 MPa or greater ( tensile strength may be in the range of about 600 MPa or more [0033] ). Considering Claim 12 , Brewer discloses that a thickness of the copper foil is in a range of about 7 µm to about 12 µm ( anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108] ). Considering Claim 13 , Brewer discloses that a thickness of the copper foil is in a range of about 8 µm to about 1 0 µm ( anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108] ). Considering Claim 14 , Brewer discloses that an average thickness of the anode coatings is in a range of about 25 µm to about 75 µm (lithium storage layer with an average thickness of about 25 to about 50 µm [0086]). Considering Claim 15 , Brewer discloses that the anode coatings comprise graphite ( lithium storage nanostructures [0028] such as silicon nanoparticles are aggregated [0073] with carbon [0152] such as graphitic carbon [0071]) . Considering Claim 16 , Brewer discloses that the anode compartment is a first anode compartment (anode [Abstract]); the lithium-ion battery comprises a plurality of the first anode components (multiple anodes [0095]) ; the cathode component is a first cathode component (cathode [0095]); the lithium-ion battery comprises a plurality of the first cathode components (multiple cathodes [0095]); and the plurality of the first anode components and the plurality of the first cathode components are stacked along a stacking direction perpendicular to a plane of the plurality of the first anode components and the plurality of the first cathode components (layers of anodes and cathodes define planes, anode and cathodes are stacked [0095]), the plurality of the first anode components and the plurality of the first cathode components alternating along the stacking direction (anodes and cathodes alternate with an intervening separator [0095]). Considering Claim 17 , Brewer discloses that the lithium-ion battery is configured as a coin cell (coin cell [0149]). Considering Claim 18 , Brewer discloses that the anode component, the cathode component, and the separator are wound around a common core (anode, cathode, separator are wound into jelly-roll stack [0095]). Considering Claim 19 , Brewer discloses that the lithium-ion battery is configured as a coin cell (coin cell [0149]) or a jelly roll cell (anode, cathode, separator are wound into jelly-roll stack [0095]). Considering Claim 20 , Brewer discloses a method of making a lithium-ion battery (method of forming a lithium-ion battery [0095, 0271]) configured to undergo multiple charging and discharging cycles (multiple charge and discharge cycles [0273]), comprising: (A1) providing an anode component (providing anode [Abstract]), comprising an anode current collector (anode current collector 301 [0030]) and a respective anode coating on each side of the anode current collector (lithium storage layers disposed on both sides of collector to form anode [0030]) ; (A2) providing a cathode component (providing cathode [0095]) comprising a cathode current collector (cathode current collector [0096]) and a respective cathode coating on each side of the cathode current collector (cathode active material provided on the cathode current collector [0096], when provided on surface, understood to be on each respective side of electrode [0030] as a separator is used to separate multilayer stacks of anodes and cathodes [0095]); (A3) assembling the lithium-ion battery with a separator interposed between the anode component and the cathode component (intervening separator between anode and cathode [0095, 0097]) and an electrolyte infiltrated in the separator between the anode compartment and the cathode compartment (liquid electrolyte infiltrated in porous separator between anode and cathode [0095, 0097]), wherein: the anode coatings comprise composite particles comprising carbon and silicon (particles are secured to copper foil [0042], lithium storage nanostructures [0028] such as silicon nanoparticles are aggregated [0073] with carbon [0152] such as graphitic carbon [0071]), a mass fraction of the silicon in the composite particles of the anode coatings being in a range of about 5 wt% to about 70 wt% of the anode coatings (at least 40 atomic % silicon for 5 to 70 wt% [0027]). The claimed invention states that the areal expansion can be reduced by optimizing the current collector thickness to a preferred range of about 8 to 10 µm [0120 PGPub version]. Another technique for reducing areal expansion of the anode component is to use low-swell anode materials such as nanocomposite silicon with graphite [0122]. Another technique includes using a buffer layer comprising a polymer [0123]. The anode current collector also uses a yield strength in a range of about 220 MPa to about 700 MPa [0045]. Brewer discloses an anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108]. The lithium storage layer comprises a nanocomposite of silicon and graphite [0073, 0152, 0071, 0028]. A surface layer or sublayer includes a polymer material [0057]. The tensile strength may be in the range of about 600 MPa or more [0033] to correspond to the collector thickness and deposited silicon material. Because Brewer teaches the same components as used by the claimed invention, and because Brewer suggests an absence of or much reduced expansion and deformations from imparted stress [0148], it appears that Brewer inherently teaches a relationship of maximum areal expansion and strain at the UTS of A max ≤ έ UTS . Considering Claim 21 , Brewer discloses an anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108]. The lithium storage layer comprises a nanocomposite of silicon and graphite [0073, 0152, 0071, 0028]. A surface layer or sublayer includes a polymer material [0057]. The tensile strength may be in the range of about 600 MPa or more [0033] to correspond to the collector thickness and deposited silicon material. Because Brewer teaches the same components as used by the claimed invention, and because Brewer suggests an absence of or much reduced expansion and deformations from imparted stress [0148], it appears that Brewer inherently teaches a relationship of maximum areal expansion and strain such that a is in a range of about 0.6 to about 1.0, b is in a range of about 0.0 to about 0.7 in the claimed formula A max ≤ a έ UTS -b . Considering Claim 22 , Brewer discloses an anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108]. The lithium storage layer comprises a nanocomposite of silicon and graphite [0073, 0152, 0071, 0028]. A surface layer or sublayer includes a polymer material [0057]. The tensile strength may be in the range of about 600 MPa or more [0033] to correspond to the collector thickness and deposited silicon material. Because Brewer teaches the same components as used by the claimed invention, and because Brewer suggests an absence of or much reduced expansion and deformations from imparted stress [0148], it appears that Brewer inherently teaches a relationship of maximum areal expansion and strain such that a is in a range of about 0.6 to about 0.7, b is in a range of about 0.6 to about 0.7 in the claimed formula A max ≤ a έ UTS -b . Considering Claim 23 , Brewer discloses an anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108]. The lithium storage layer comprises a nanocomposite of silicon and graphite [0073, 0152, 0071, 0028]. A surface layer or sublayer includes a polymer material [0057]. The tensile strength may be in the range of about 600 MPa or more [0033] to correspond to the collector thickness and deposited silicon material. Because Brewer teaches the same components as used by the claimed invention, and because Brewer suggests an absence of or much reduced expansion and deformations from imparted stress [0148], it appears that Brewer inherently teaches a relationship of maximum areal expansion and strain such that the strain at the UTS is in a range of about 2% to about 18%. Considering Claim 24 , Brewer discloses an anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108]. The lithium storage layer comprises a nanocomposite of silicon and graphite [0073, 0152, 0071, 0028]. A surface layer or sublayer includes a polymer material [0057]. The tensile strength may be in the range of about 600 MPa or more [0033] to correspond to the collector thickness and deposited silicon material. Because Brewer teaches the same components as used by the claimed invention, and because Brewer suggests an absence of or much reduced expansion and deformations from imparted stress [0148], it appears that Brewer inherently teaches a relationship of maximum areal expansion and strain such that the maximum areal expansion is in a range of about 0.1% to about 6.0%. Considering Claim 25 , Brewer discloses that the mass fraction of the silicon in the composite particles of the anode coatings is in a range of about 15 wt% to about 40 wt% of the anode coatings ( at least 40 atomic % silicon for 1 5 to 4 0 wt% [0027] ). Considering Claim 26 , Brewer discloses that the mass fraction of the silicon in the composite particles of the anode coatings is in a range of about 10 wt% to about 60 wt% of the anode coatings ( at least 40 atomic % silicon for 10 to 6 0 wt% [0027] ). Considering Claim 27 , Brewer discloses a same silicon, silicon oxide, or silicon nitride [0073, 0074, 0075] as the claimed invention, so it appears that Brewer inherently discloses a silicon capacity in a range of about 500 mAh/g to about 1500 mAh/g. Considering Claim 28 , Brewer discloses that the copper foil is an electrodeposited copper foil (electrodeposited copper for layer [0042]). Considering Claim 29 , Brewer discloses that a thickness of the copper foil is in a range of about 7 µm to about 12 µm ( anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108] ). Considering Claim 30 , Brewer discloses that a thickness of the copper foil is in a range of about 8 µm to about 10 µm ( anode copper foil current collector with a thickness of 10 µm [0108] ). Considering Claim 31 , Brewer discloses that an average thickness of the anode coatings is in a range of about 25 µm to about 75 µm (lithium storage layer with an average thickness of about 25 to about 50 µm [0086]). Considering Claim 32 , Brewer discloses that the anode coatings comprise graphite ( lithium storage nanostructures [0028] such as silicon nanoparticles are aggregated [0073] with carbon [0152] such as graphitic carbon [0071]) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7582 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:00-4:30 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Basia Ridley can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1453 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/ Primary Patent Examiner Art Unit 1725