DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Amendment filed on December 5, 2025 has been reviewed.
Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 16, 19, 21 and 22 are amended in the amendment.
Claims 1-26 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, 13, 16-17, 19-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappaport et al. (US 2006/0019679 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rappaport, in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2024/0048539 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana et al. (US 2018/0302292 A1), hereinafter referred to as Khurana.
With respect to claim 1, Rappaport teaches A measurement application control device (the measuring network device 101, para. 0127) comprising:
a communication interface (communication interface 105, para. 0127); and
a processor (measuring device with chipset including processor, para. 0208) configured to execute instructions that cause the processor to perform the functions of:
a unified communication library configured to establish at least one communication connection to a unified network communication partner over the communication interface (a position calculation application 104 instantiated as a software application on a computing device that is capable of communicating with one or more measuring devices 101 and/or measuring applications 103 via some communication pathway 105, para. 0125); and
a measurement application configured to establish at least one application data connection according to a specific communication pattern to at least one application communication partner via the unified communication library (measuring application 103 aggregate the RF channel characteristics being measured by the measuring devices 101, the measuring application 103 has an established communication connection with each measuring device 101 through which the measuring device 101 sends the measured RF channel characteristic data for each wireless device 100; the communication connection between the measuring application 103 and the measuring device 101 take the form of a wireless or wired communication path and use any form of communication protocol known now or in the future, in the context of a WLAN, the measuring application 103 communicate with measurement devices 101 using the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Extendable Markup Language (XML), or any other similar networking protocols, para. 0120) and to exchange measurement application data with the at least one application communication partner via the at least one application data connection (the measuring devices 101 and measuring applications 103 themselves have the ability to communicate with one another to facilitate the exchange of RF channel characteristics per wireless device 100 as needed, para. 0121),
wherein the unified communication library comprises a pattern-specific interface for at least one communication pattern, the at least one communication pattern comprising the specific communication pattern (measuring application 103 aggregate the RF channel characteristics being measured by the measuring devices 101, the measuring application 103 has an established communication connection with each measuring device 101 through which the measuring device 101 sends the measured RF channel characteristic data for each wireless device 100; the communication connection between the measuring application 103 and the measuring device 101 take the form of a wireless or wired communication path and use any form of communication protocol known now or in the future, in the context of a WLAN, the measuring application 103 communicate with measurement devices 101 using the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Extendable Markup Language (XML), or any other similar networking protocols, para. 0120), and
wherein the measurement application is configured to establish the at least one application data connection with the at least one application communication partner via the unified network communication partner using the pattern-specific interface (the measuring application 103 communicate with measurement devices 101 using the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Extendable Markup Language (XML), or any other similar networking protocols, para. 0120; position calculation application 104 instantiated as a software application on a computing device that is capable of communicating with one or more measuring devices 101 and/or measuring applications 103 via some communication pathway 105, para. 0125).
Rappaport does not explicitly teach
wherein the unified communication library is further configured to enclose the at least one application data connection in the at least one communication connection for provision of the measurement application data to the respective application communication partner by the unified network communication partner,
However, Nguyen teaches
wherein the unified communication library is further configured to enclose the at least one application data connection in the at least one communication connection for provision of the measurement application data to the respective application communication partner by the unified network communication partner (the encrypted sensor measurement data 106 is associated with attribute fields 108 110, 112, 114, 116, 118 whose values are derived from the session token 190 and provisioning information to produce composite data packets 120 that are transferred 268 by the sensor client application 172 to the MQTT message broker 66, para. 0062) in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069),
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Nguyen to the device of Rappaport in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069).
Rappaport in view of Nguyen does not explicitly teach
A measurement application control device comprising:
a processor configured to execute instructions that cause the processor to perform the functions of:
a unified communication library within the measurement application control device;
a measurement application within the measurement application control device;
However, Khurana teaches
A measurement application control device (the network unit 14 as well as the measurement unit 16 are housed in a common device 20 being a wideband radio communication tester, para. 0044; fig. 1) comprising:
a processor configured to execute instructions (a control unit 18 for controlling the benchmark testing, para. 0043; fig. 1) that cause the processor to perform the functions of:
a unified communication library within the measurement application control device (the network unit, the control unit and the benchmark unit may establish a performance quality analysis system for over-the-top content, para. 0018; the network unit 14 is connected to the internet 29 for ensuring realistic test conditions; the internet connection enables the possibility to retrieve information from the internet during benchmark testing the device under test 12, para. 0057; fig. 1);
a measurement application within the measurement application control device (the measuring unit 14 acquires benchmark data of the device under test 12 during the benchmark testings that are forwarded to the analyzing unit 30 for analyzing purposes such that the results provided by the analyzing unit 30 are forwarded to the indication unit 32 that is configured to indicate the results to the user appropriately, para. 0059; fig. 1) in order to ensure similar conditions for different benchmark testings in order to attain reliable results as taught by Khurana (para. 0027);
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Khurana to the device of Rappaport in view of Nguyen in order to ensure similar conditions for different benchmark testings in order to attain reliable results as taught by Khurana (para. 0027).
With respect to claim 2, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 1 as described above,
Further, Nguyen teaches wherein the specific communication pattern comprises at least one of:
a request-response communication pattern;
a publish-subscribe communication pattern (The AMQP message broker 42 functions as an asynchronous publish/subscribe-based message distributor utilizing an internal buffer cache 52 and reactive event dispatcher 54, para. 0032) in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069);
a remote procedure call communication pattern; or
an event-channel communication pattern.
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Nguyen to the device of Rappaport in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069).
With respect to claim 3, Rappaport teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one communication connection comprises at least one of:
a network connection;
a Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) connection (the RF channel characteristics are typically conveyed to the position location application 104 via some communication pathway 105, which is any form of wired or wireless connection capable of carrying some type of communication protocol include but are not limited to TCP/IP, para. 0125);
a WebSocket connection;
a shared memory connection; or
an Application Programming Interface (API) function call.
With respect to claim 5, Rappaport teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 1, wherein the unified communication library is configured to receive data for the at least one application data connection via the at least one communication connection (a measuring device 101 or measuring application 103 forward measured RF channel characteristics it has received from a separate measuring device or measuring application to another measuring device or measuring application 103, para. 0121; the measuring device 101 forward the measured RF channel characteristics to a third measuring device (or separate measuring application 103) who in turn communicates the measured RF channel characteristics to the desired destination; through this process, any interconnection of communication paths between one or more measuring devices 101 and/or measuring applications 103, para. 0122), and forward the data to the measurement application (a measuring device 101 or measuring application 103 forward measured RF channel characteristics it has received from a separate measuring device or measuring application to another measuring device or measuring application 103, para. 0121; the measuring device 101 forward the measured RF channel characteristics to a third measuring device (or separate measuring application 103) who in turn communicates the measured RF channel characteristics to the desired destination; through this process, any interconnection of communication paths between one or more measuring devices 101 and/or measuring applications 103, para. 0122).
With respect to claim 8, Rappaport teaches A measurement application control device (the measuring network device 101, para. 0127) comprising:
a processor (measuring device with chipset including controller, para. 0208);
a communication interface (communication interface 105, para. 0127);
a unified communication controller (measuring device with chipset including controller, para. 0208) configured to establish at least one communication connection to a unified network communication partner over the communication interface (a position calculation application 104 instantiated as a software application on a computing device that is capable of communicating with one or more measuring devices 101 and/or measuring applications 103 via some communication pathway 105, para. 0125); and
a measurement application configured to establish at least one application data connection according to a specific communication pattern to at least one application communication partner via the unified network communication partner using the unified communication controller (measuring application 103 aggregate the RF channel characteristics being measured by the measuring devices 101, the measuring application 103 has an established communication connection with each measuring device 101 through which the measuring device 101 sends the measured RF channel characteristic data for each wireless device 100; the communication connection between the measuring application 103 and the measuring device 101 take the form of a wireless or wired communication path and use any form of communication protocol known now or in the future, in the context of a WLAN, the measuring application 103 communicate with measurement devices 101 using the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Extendable Markup Language (XML), or any other similar networking protocols, para. 0120), and to exchange measurement application data with the at least one application communication partner via the at least one application data connection (the measuring devices 101 and measuring applications 103 themselves have the ability to communicate with one another to facilitate the exchange of RF channel characteristics per wireless device 100 as needed, para. 0121),
Rappaport does not explicitly teach
wherein the unified communication controller is configured to enclose the at least one application data connection in the at least one communication connection for provision of the measurement application data to the respective application communication partner by the unified network communication partner.
However, Nguyen teaches
wherein the unified communication controller is configured to enclose the at least one application data connection in the at least one communication connection for provision of the measurement application data to the respective application communication partner by the unified network communication partner (the encrypted sensor measurement data 106 is associated with attribute fields 108 110, 112, 114, 116, 118 whose values are derived from the session token 190 and provisioning information to produce composite data packets 120 that are transferred 268 by the sensor client application 172 to the MQTT message broker 66, para. 0062) in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Nguyen to the device of Rappaport in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069).
Rappaport in view of Nguyen does not explicitly teach
A measurement application control device comprising:
a unified communication controller within the measurement application control device;
a measurement application within the measurement application control device;
However, Khurana teaches
A measurement application control device (the network unit 14 as well as the measurement unit 16 are housed in a common device 20 being a wideband radio communication tester, para. 0044; fig. 1) comprising:
a unified communication library within the measurement application control device (the network unit, the control unit and the benchmark unit may establish a performance quality analysis system for over-the-top content, para. 0018; the network unit 14 is connected to the internet 29 for ensuring realistic test conditions; the internet connection enables the possibility to retrieve information from the internet during benchmark testing the device under test 12, para. 0057; fig. 1);
a measurement application within the measurement application control device (the measuring unit 14 acquires benchmark data of the device under test 12 during the benchmark testings that are forwarded to the analyzing unit 30 for analyzing purposes such that the results provided by the analyzing unit 30 are forwarded to the indication unit 32 that is configured to indicate the results to the user appropriately, para. 0059; fig. 1) in order to ensure similar conditions for different benchmark testings in order to attain reliable results as taught by Khurana (para. 0027);
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Khurana to the device of Rappaport in view of Nguyen in order to ensure similar conditions for different benchmark testings in order to attain reliable results as taught by Khurana (para. 0027).
With respect to claim 9, Rappaport teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 8, wherein the unified communication controller comprises a pattern-specific interface for at least one communication pattern (measuring application 103 aggregate the RF channel characteristics being measured by the measuring devices 101, the measuring application 103 has an established communication connection with each measuring device 101 through which the measuring device 101 sends the measured RF channel characteristic data for each wireless device 100; the communication connection between the measuring application 103 and the measuring device 101 take the form of a wireless or wired communication path and use any form of communication protocol known now or in the future, in the context of a WLAN, the measuring application 103 communicate with measurement devices 101 using the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Extendable Markup Language (XML), or any other similar networking protocols, para. 0120); and
wherein the measurement application is configured to establish the at least one application data connection via the pattern-specific interface (the measuring application 103 communicate with measurement devices 101 using the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Extendable Markup Language (XML), or any other similar networking protocols, para. 0120).
With respect to claim 10, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further Khurana teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 8 as described above,
Further, Nguyen teaches wherein the specific communication pattern comprises at least one of:
a request-response communication pattern;
a remote procedure call communication pattern;
a publish-subscribe communication pattern (The AMQP message broker 42 functions as an asynchronous publish/subscribe-based message distributor utilizing an internal buffer cache 52 and reactive event dispatcher 54, para. 0032) in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069); or
an event-channel communication pattern.
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Nguyen to the device of Rappaport in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069).
With respect to claim 11, Rappaport teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 8, wherein the at least one communication connection comprises at least one of:
a network connection;
a TCP/IP connection (the RF channel characteristics are typically conveyed to the position location application 104 via some communication pathway 105, which is any form of wired or wireless connection capable of carrying some type of communication protocol include but are not limited to TCP/IP, para. 0125);
a WebSocket connection;
a shared memory connection; or
an API function call.
With respect to claim 13, Rappaport teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 8, wherein the unified communication controller is configured to receive data for the at least one application data connection via the at least one communication connection (a measuring device 101 or measuring application 103 forward measured RF channel characteristics it has received from a separate measuring device or measuring application to another measuring device or measuring application 103, para. 0121; the measuring device 101 forward the measured RF channel characteristics to a third measuring device (or separate measuring application 103) who in turn communicates the measured RF channel characteristics to the desired destination; through this process, any interconnection of communication paths between one or more measuring devices 101 and/or measuring applications 103, para. 0122), and forward the data to the measurement application (a measuring device 101 or measuring application 103 forward measured RF channel characteristics it has received from a separate measuring device or measuring application to another measuring device or measuring application 103, para. 0121; the measuring device 101 forward the measured RF channel characteristics to a third measuring device (or separate measuring application 103) who in turn communicates the measured RF channel characteristics to the desired destination; through this process, any interconnection of communication paths between one or more measuring devices 101 and/or measuring applications 103, para. 0122).
With respect to claim 16, Rappaport teaches A network communication device comprising:
a processor (measuring device with chipset including controller, para. 0208);
a communication interface (communication interface 105, para. 0127); and
a server-side unified communication controller configured to establish at least one communication connection with a measurement application control device over the communication interface (a position calculation application 104 instantiated as a software application on a computing device [server -side unified communication controller] that is capable of communicating with one or more measuring devices 101 and/or measuring applications 103 via some communication pathway 105, para. 0125),
wherein the server-side unified communication controller is configured to receive data for at least one application data connection via the at least one communication connection (measuring application 103 aggregate the RF channel characteristics being measured by the measuring devices 101, the measuring application 103 has an established communication connection with each measuring device 101 through which the measuring device 101 sends the measured RF channel characteristic data for each wireless device 100; the communication connection between the measuring application 103 and the measuring device 101 take the form of a wireless or wired communication path and use any form of communication protocol known now or in the future, in the context of a WLAN, the measuring application 103 communicate with measurement devices 101 using the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Extendable Markup Language (XML), or any other similar networking protocols, para. 0120), and to forward the data to a respective application communication partner (the measuring devices 101 and measuring applications 103 themselves have the ability to communicate with one another to facilitate the exchange of RF channel characteristics per wireless device 100 as needed, para. 0121).
Rappaport does not explicitly teach unpack the data, and to forward the data to a respective application communication partner.
However, Nguyen teaches unpack the data, and to forward the data to a respective application communication partner (the encrypted sensor measurement data 106 is associated with attribute fields 108 110, 112, 114, 116, 118 whose values are derived from the session token 190 and provisioning information to produce composite data packets 120 that are transferred 268 by the sensor client application 172 to the MQTT message broker 66, para. 0062) in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Nguyen to the device of Rappaport in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069).
Rappaport in view of Nguyen does not explicitly teach
receiving data corresponding to the at least one application data connections from the communication connection that comprises a plurality of application data connections,
However, Khurana teaches
receiving data corresponding to the at least one application data connections from the communication connection that comprises a plurality of application data connections (the over-the-top traffic unit 26 can be established by a testing application installed on the device under test 12 wherein the testing application is controlled by the control unit 18, para. 0048; in order to determine the over-the-top behavior of the device under test for different over-the-top traffic applications [plurality of application data connections], in particular those ones typically used, para. 0019) in order to ensure similar conditions for different benchmark testings in order to attain reliable results as taught by Khurana (para. 0027),
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Khurana to the device of Rappaport in view of Nguyen in order to ensure similar conditions for different benchmark testings in order to attain reliable results as taught by Khurana (para. 0027).
With respect to claim 17, Rappaport teaches The network communication device according to claim 16, wherein the server-side unified communication controller is further configured to receive data for the at least one application data connection from the respective application communication partner (measuring application 103 aggregate the RF channel characteristics being measured by the measuring devices 101, the measuring application 103 has an established communication connection with each measuring device 101 through which the measuring device 101 sends the measured RF channel characteristic data for each wireless device 100; the communication connection between the measuring application 103 and the measuring device 101 take the form of a wireless or wired communication path and use any form of communication protocol known now or in the future, in the context of a WLAN, the measuring application 103 communicate with measurement devices 101 using the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Extendable Markup Language (XML), or any other similar networking protocols, para. 0120; the measuring devices 101 and measuring applications 103 themselves have the ability to communicate with one another to facilitate the exchange of RF channel characteristics per wireless device 100 as needed, para. 0121), and transmit the data of the at least one application data connection enclosed in the at least one communication connection to the measurement application control device (measuring application 103 aggregate the RF channel characteristics being measured by the measuring devices 101, the measuring application 103 has an established communication connection with each measuring device 101 through which the measuring device 101 sends the measured RF channel characteristic data for each wireless device 100; the communication connection between the measuring application 103 and the measuring device 101 take the form of a wireless or wired communication path and use any form of communication protocol known now or in the future, in the context of a WLAN, the measuring application 103 communicate with measurement devices 101 using the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Extendable Markup Language (XML), or any other similar networking protocols, para. 0120; the measuring devices 101 and measuring applications 103 themselves have the ability to communicate with one another to facilitate the exchange of RF channel characteristics per wireless device 100 as needed, para. 0121).
With respect to claim 19, Rappaport teaches A measurement application control method comprising:
establishing, by a measurement application control device, at least one communication connection (communication interface 105, para. 0127) to a unified network communication partner (a position calculation application 104 instantiated as a software application on a computing device that is capable of communicating with one or more measuring devices 101 and/or measuring applications 103 via some communication pathway 105, para. 0125);
establishing, by a measurement application control device, at least one application data connection according to a specific communication pattern to at least one application communication partner via the unified network communication partner (measuring application 103 aggregate the RF channel characteristics being measured by the measuring devices 101, the measuring application 103 has an established communication connection with each measuring device 101 through which the measuring device 101 sends the measured RF channel characteristic data for each wireless device 100; the communication connection between the measuring application 103 and the measuring device 101 take the form of a wireless or wired communication path and use any form of communication protocol known now or in the future, in the context of a WLAN, the measuring application 103 communicate with measurement devices 101 using the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Extendable Markup Language (XML), or any other similar networking protocols, para. 0120);
exchanging measurement application data of a measurement application with the at least one application communication partner via the at least one application data connection (the measuring devices 101 and measuring applications 103 themselves have the ability to communicate with one another to facilitate the exchange of RF channel characteristics per wireless device 100 as needed, para. 0121); and
Rappaport does not explicitly teach
enclosing the at least one application data connection in the at least one communication connection for provision of the measurement application data to the respective application communication partner.
However, Nguyen teaches
enclosing the at least one application data connection in the at least one communication connection for provision of the measurement application data to the respective application communication partner (the encrypted sensor measurement data 106 is associated with attribute fields 108 110, 112, 114, 116, 118 whose values are derived from the session token 190 and provisioning information to produce composite data packets 120 that are transferred 268 by the sensor client application 172 to the MQTT message broker 66, para. 0062) in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Nguyen to the method of Rappaport in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069).
Rappaport in view of Nguyen does not explicitly teach
exchanging measurement application data of a measurement application in the measurement application control device;
However, Khurana teaches
exchanging measurement application data of a measurement application in the measurement application control device (the measuring unit 14 acquires benchmark data of the device under test 12 during the benchmark testings that are forwarded to the analyzing unit 30 for analyzing purposes such that the results provided by the analyzing unit 30 are forwarded to the indication unit 32 that is configured to indicate the results to the user appropriately, para. 0059; fig. 1) in order to ensure similar conditions for different benchmark testings in order to attain reliable results as taught by Khurana (para. 0027);
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Khurana to the method of Rappaport in view of Nguyen in order to ensure similar conditions for different benchmark testings in order to attain reliable results as taught by Khurana (para. 0027).
With respect to claim 20, Rappaport teaches The measurement application control method according to claim 19, further comprising establishing the at least one application data connection via a pattern- specific interface (the measuring application 103 communicate with measurement devices 101 using the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Extendable Markup Language (XML), or any other similar networking protocols, para. 0120).
With respect to claim 21, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches The measurement application control method according to claim 19 as described above,
Further, Nguyen teaches wherein the specific communication pattern comprises at least one of:
a request-response communication pattern;
a remote procedure call communication pattern;
a publish-subscribe communication pattern (The AMQP message broker 42 functions as an asynchronous publish/subscribe-based message distributor utilizing an internal buffer cache 52 and reactive event dispatcher 54, para. 0032) in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069); or
an event-channel communication pattern.
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Nguyen to the method of Rappaport in order to provide efficient and secure operable system of communications between a distributed set of sensor devices and a remote sensor management system as taught by Nguyen (para. 0069).
With respect to claim 22, Rappaport teaches The measurement application control method according to claim 19, wherein the at least one communication connection comprises at least one of:
a network connection;
a TCP/IP connection (the RF channel characteristics are typically conveyed to the position location application 104 via some communication pathway 105, which is any form of wired or wireless connection capable of carrying some type of communication protocol include but are not limited to TCP/IP, para. 0125);
a WebSocket connection;
a shared memory connection; or
an API function call.
With respect to claim 24, Rappaport teaches The measurement application control method according to claim 19, further comprising receiving data for the at least one application data connection via the at least one communication connection (a measuring device 101 or measuring application 103 forward measured RF channel characteristics it has received from a separate measuring device or measuring application to another measuring device or measuring application 103, para. 0121; the measuring device 101 forward the measured RF channel characteristics to a third measuring device (or separate measuring application 103) who in turn communicates the measured RF channel characteristics to the desired destination; through this process, any interconnection of communication paths between one or more measuring devices 101 and/or measuring applications 103, para. 0122), and forwarding the data to the measurement application (a measuring device 101 or measuring application 103 forward measured RF channel characteristics it has received from a separate measuring device or measuring application to another measuring device or measuring application 103, para. 0121; the measuring device 101 forward the measured RF channel characteristics to a third measuring device (or separate measuring application 103) who in turn communicates the measured RF channel characteristics to the desired destination; through this process, any interconnection of communication paths between one or more measuring devices 101 and/or measuring applications 103, para. 0122).
Claims 4, 12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappaport et al. (US 2006/0019679 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rappaport, in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2024/0048539 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nguyen, further in view of Khurana et al. (US 2018/0302292 A1), hereinafter referred to as Khurana, and furthermore in view of Shao et al. (US 2024/0388660 A1), hereinafter referred to as Shao.
With respect to claim 4, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 1 as described above,
Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana does not explicitly teach wherein the unified communication library is configured to prioritize the at least one application data connection, and transmit data of the at least one application data connection according to the prioritization.
However, Shao teaches wherein the unified communication library is configured to prioritize the at least one application data connection, and transmit data of the at least one application data connection according to the prioritization (the quality of communication of priority forwarding of a packet and the like is controlled, para. 0043) in order to facilitate the provision of data with a high importance level, confidence level, or rarity level as taught by Shao (para. 0028).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, further in view of Khurana, and furthermore in view of Shao, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Shao to the device of Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana in order to facilitate the provision of data with a high importance level, confidence level, or rarity level as taught by Shao (para. 0028).
With respect to claim 12, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 8 as described above,
Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana does not explicitly teach wherein the unified communication controller is configured to prioritize the at least one application data connection, and transmit data of the at least one application data connection according to the prioritization.
However, Shao teaches wherein the unified communication controller is configured to prioritize the at least one application data connection, and transmit data of the at least one application data connection according to the prioritization (the quality of communication of priority forwarding of a packet and the like is controlled, para. 0043) in order to facilitate the provision of data with a high importance level, confidence level, or rarity level as taught by Shao (para. 0028).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, further in view of Khurana, and furthermore in view of Shao, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Shao to the device of Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana in order to facilitate the provision of data with a high importance level, confidence level, or rarity level as taught by Shao (para. 0028).
With respect to claim 23, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches The measurement application control method according to claim 19 as described above,
Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana does not explicitly teach further comprising prioritizing the at least one application data connection, and transmitting data of the at least one application data connection according to the prioritization.
However, Shao teaches further comprising prioritizing the at least one application data connection, and transmitting data of the at least one application data connection according to the prioritization (the quality of communication of priority forwarding of a packet and the like is controlled, para. 0043) in order to facilitate the provision of data with a high importance level, confidence level, or rarity level as taught by Shao (para. 0028).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, further in view of Khurana, and furthermore in view of Shao, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Shao to the method of Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana in order to facilitate the provision of data with a high importance level, confidence level, or rarity level as taught by Shao (para. 0028).
Claims 6, 14 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappaport et al. (US 2006/0019679 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rappaport, in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2024/0048539 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nguyen, further in view of Khurana et al. (US 2018/0302292 A1), hereinafter referred to as Khurana, and furthermore in view of Batra et al. (US 2005/0223021 A1), hereinafter referred to as Batra.
With respect to claim 6, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 1 as described above,
Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana does not explicitly teach further comprising a pattern translator library configured to translate data according to a predetermined communication pattern into data according to another communication pattern;
wherein the unified communication library is configured to access the pattern translator library to translate data according to the predetermined communication pattern into data according to the other communication pattern prior to transmission of the data in the at least one communication connection.
However, Batra teaches further comprising a pattern translator library configured to translate data according to a predetermined communication pattern into data according to another communication pattern (Web services 261 are integrated into the system through a web service proxy 263, which converts communications that conform to a request-response model to communications that conform to a publish-subscribe (point-to-point) model, para. 0136; the system goes through web service brokers to extract the data by invoking the appropriate web service interface, which transform publish-subscribe communication protocol for web service brokers to request-response protocol for the data source web service, para. 0037);
wherein the unified communication library is configured to access the pattern translator library to translate data according to the predetermined communication pattern into data according to the other communication pattern prior to transmission of the data in the at least one communication connection (Web services 261 are integrated into the system through a web service proxy 263, which converts communications that conform to a request-response model to communications that conform to a publish-subscribe (point-to-point) model, para. 0136; the system goes through web service brokers to extract the data by invoking the appropriate web service interface, which transform publish-subscribe communication protocol for web service brokers to request-response protocol for the data source web service, para. 0037) in order to optimize the pull frequency on the basis of data source characterization and local caching as taught by Batra (para. 0137).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, further in view of Khurana, and furthermore in view of Batra, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Batra to the device of Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana in order to optimize the pull frequency on the basis of data source characterization and local caching as taught by Batra (para. 0137).
With respect to claim 14, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 8 as described above,
Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana does not explicitly teach further comprising a pattern translator configured to translate data according to a predetermined communication pattern into data according to another communication pattern;
wherein the unified communication controller is configured to access the pattern translator to translate data according to the predetermined communication pattern into data according to the other communication pattern prior to transmission of the data in the at least one communication connection.
However, Batra teaches further comprising a pattern translator configured to translate data according to a predetermined communication pattern into data according to another communication pattern (Web services 261 are integrated into the system through a web service proxy 263, which converts communications that conform to a request-response model to communications that conform to a publish-subscribe (point-to-point) model, para. 0136; the system goes through web service brokers to extract the data by invoking the appropriate web service interface, which transform publish-subscribe communication protocol for web service brokers to request-response protocol for the data source web service, para. 0037);
wherein the unified communication controller is configured to access the pattern translator to translate data according to the predetermined communication pattern into data according to the other communication pattern prior to transmission of the data in the at least one communication connection (Web services 261 are integrated into the system through a web service proxy 263, which converts communications that conform to a request-response model to communications that conform to a publish-subscribe (point-to-point) model, para. 0136; the system goes through web service brokers to extract the data by invoking the appropriate web service interface, which transform publish-subscribe communication protocol for web service brokers to request-response protocol for the data source web service, para. 0037) in order to optimize the pull frequency on the basis of data source characterization and local caching as taught by Batra (para. 0137).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, further in view of Khurana, and furthermore in view of Batra, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Batra to the device of Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana in order to optimize the pull frequency on the basis of data source characterization and local caching as taught by Batra (para. 0137).
With respect to claim 25, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches The measurement application control method according to claim 19 as described above,
Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana does not explicitly teach further comprising translating data according to a predetermined communication pattern into data according to another communication pattern,
wherein data according to the predetermined communication pattern is translated into data according to another communication pattern prior to transmission of the data in the at least one communication connection.
However, Batra teaches further comprising translating data according to a predetermined communication pattern into data according to another communication pattern (Web services 261 are integrated into the system through a web service proxy 263, which converts communications that conform to a request-response model to communications that conform to a publish-subscribe (point-to-point) model, para. 0136; the system goes through web service brokers to extract the data by invoking the appropriate web service interface, which transform publish-subscribe communication protocol for web service brokers to request-response protocol for the data source web service, para. 0037),
wherein data according to the predetermined communication pattern is translated into data according to another communication pattern prior to transmission of the data in the at least one communication connection (Web services 261 are integrated into the system through a web service proxy 263, which converts communications that conform to a request-response model to communications that conform to a publish-subscribe (point-to-point) model, para. 0136; the system goes through web service brokers to extract the data by invoking the appropriate web service interface, which transform publish-subscribe communication protocol for web service brokers to request-response protocol for the data source web service, para. 0037) in order to optimize the pull frequency on the basis of data source characterization and local caching as taught by Batra (para. 0137).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, further in view of Khurana, and furthermore in view of Batra, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Batra to the method of Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana in order to optimize the pull frequency on the basis of data source characterization and local caching as taught by Batra (para. 0137).
Claims 7, 15, 18 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rappaport et al. (US 2006/0019679 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rappaport, in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2024/0048539 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nguyen, further in view of Khurana et al. (US 2018/0302292 A1), hereinafter referred to as Khurana, and furthermore in view of Lin (US 2005/0249134 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 1 as described above,
Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana does not explicitly teach wherein the unified communication library is configured to retrieve communication details for the unified network communication partner from a network-connected server, and to establish the communication connection to the unified network communication partner according to the communication details;
wherein the communication details comprise at least a TCP/IP network address and a TCP/IP port.
However, Lin teaches wherein the unified communication library is configured to retrieve communication details for the unified network communication partner from a network-connected server (an initiating device contacts and establishes a TCP/IP connection with a "redirector" server in order to request a publicly accessible IP address (and/or port number) 410; such a redirector server can be provided by any third party, para. 0018), and to establish the communication connection to the unified network communication partner according to the communication details (the target device receives and extracts the IP address and TCP port and opens its own TCP port ; the target device then transmits a request to establish a TCP connection to the IP address and TCP port at the redirector server 440; the redirector server receives the request from the target device, establishes a TCP/IP connection with the target device and informs the initiating device through the TCP/IP connection established with the initiating device, para. 0018);
wherein the communication details comprise at least a TCP/IP network address and a TCP/IP port (the target device receives and extracts the IP address and TCP port and opens its own TCP port; the target device then transmits a request to establish a TCP connection to the IP address and TCP port at the redirector server 440; the redirector server receives the request from the target device, establishes a TCP/IP connection with the target device and informs the initiating device through the TCP/IP connection established with the initiating device, para. 0018) in order to allocate publicly accessible network addresses to establish data communications among devices as taught by Lin (para. 0017).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, further in view of Khurana, and furthermore in view of Lin, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Lin to the device of Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana in order to allocate publicly accessible network addresses to establish data communications among devices as taught by Lin (para. 0017).
With respect to claim 15, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches The measurement application control device according to claim 8 as described above,
Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches does not explicitly teach wherein the unified communication controller is configured to retrieve communication details for the unified network communication partner from a network-connected server, and to establish the communication connection to the unified network communication partner according to the communication details,
wherein the communication details comprise at least a TCP/IP network address and a TCP/IP port.
However, Lin teaches wherein the unified communication controller is configured to retrieve communication details for the unified network communication partner from a network-connected server (an initiating device contacts and establishes a TCP/IP connection with a "redirector" server in order to request a publicly accessible IP address (and/or port number) 410; such a redirector server can be provided by any third party, para. 0018), and to establish the communication connection to the unified network communication partner according to the communication details (the target device receives and extracts the IP address and TCP port and opens its own TCP port ; the target device then transmits a request to establish a TCP connection to the IP address and TCP port at the redirector server 440; the redirector server receives the request from the target device, establishes a TCP/IP connection with the target device and informs the initiating device through the TCP/IP connection established with the initiating device, para. 0018),
wherein the communication details comprise at least a TCP/IP network address and a TCP/IP port (the target device receives and extracts the IP address and TCP port and opens its own TCP port; the target device then transmits a request to establish a TCP connection to the IP address and TCP port at the redirector server 440; the redirector server receives the request from the target device, establishes a TCP/IP connection with the target device and informs the initiating device through the TCP/IP connection established with the initiating device, para. 0018) in order to allocate publicly accessible network addresses to establish data communications among devices as taught by Lin (para. 0017).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, further in view of Khurana, and furthermore in view of Lin, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Lin to the device of Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana in order to allocate publicly accessible network addresses to establish data communications among devices as taught by Lin (para. 0017).
With respect to claim 18, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches The network communication device according to claim 16 as described above,
Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches does not explicitly teach wherein the server- side unified communication controller is configured to provide communication details about the network communication device to the measurement application control device for establishing the communication connection to the network communication device according to the communication details,
wherein the communication details comprise at least a TCP/IP network address and a TCP/IP port.
However, Lin teaches wherein the server- side unified communication controller is configured to provide communication details about the network communication device to the measurement application control device for establishing the communication connection to the network communication device according to the communication details (the target device receives and extracts the IP address and TCP port and opens its own TCP port ; the target device then transmits a request to establish a TCP connection to the IP address and TCP port at the redirector server 440; the redirector server receives the request from the target device, establishes a TCP/IP connection with the target device and informs the initiating device through the TCP/IP connection established with the initiating device, para. 0018),
wherein the communication details comprise at least a TCP/IP network address and a TCP/IP port (the target device receives and extracts the IP address and TCP port and opens its own TCP port; the target device then transmits a request to establish a TCP connection to the IP address and TCP port at the redirector server 440; the redirector server receives the request from the target device, establishes a TCP/IP connection with the target device and informs the initiating device through the TCP/IP connection established with the initiating device, para. 0018) in order to allocate publicly accessible network addresses to establish data communications among devices as taught by Lin (para. 0017).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, further in view of Khurana, and furthermore in view of Lin, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Lin to the device of Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana in order to allocate publicly accessible network addresses to establish data communications among devices as taught by Lin (para. 0017).
With respect to claim 26, Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches The measurement application control method according to claim 19 as described above,
Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana teaches does not explicitly teach further comprising:
retrieving communication details for the unified network communication partner from a network-connected server; and
establishing the communication connection to the unified network communication partner according to the communication details,
wherein the communication details comprise at least a TCP/IP network address and a TCP/IP port.
However, Lin teaches further comprising:
retrieving communication details for the unified network communication partner from a network-connected server (an initiating device contacts and establishes a TCP/IP connection with a "redirector" server in order to request a publicly accessible IP address (and/or port number) 410; such a redirector server can be provided by any third party, para. 0018); and
establishing the communication connection to the unified network communication partner according to the communication details (the target device receives and extracts the IP address and TCP port and opens its own TCP port ; the target device then transmits a request to establish a TCP connection to the IP address and TCP port at the redirector server 440; the redirector server receives the request from the target device, establishes a TCP/IP connection with the target mobile device and informs the initiating device through the TCP/IP connection established with the initiating device, para. 0018),
wherein the communication details comprise at least a TCP/IP network address and a TCP/IP port (the target device receives and extracts the IP address and TCP port and opens its own TCP port; the target device then transmits a request to establish a TCP connection to the IP address and TCP port at the redirector server 440; the redirector server receives the request from the target device, establishes a TCP/IP connection with the target mobile device and informs the initiating device through the TCP/IP connection established with the initiating device, para. 0018) in order to allocate publicly accessible network addresses to establish data communications among devices as taught by Lin (para. 0017).
Therefore, based on Rappaport in view of Nguyen, further in view of Khurana, and furthermore in view of Lin, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Lin to the method of Rappaport in view of Nguyen, and further in view of Khurana in order to allocate publicly accessible network addresses to establish data communications among devices as taught by Lin (para. 0017).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-26 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
March 29, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447