DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 7/28/2023.
The Examiner notes claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
And/or
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, & 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tacoma (US 20090159487), hereinafter Tacoma.
Regarding claim 1. (Each claim status is listed above in the Status of Claims section) Tacoma discloses a grabbing device [10] comprising: a grabbing claw [26] configured to expand from a collapsed state [Fig 1] to an expanded state [Fig 2], wherein the grabbing claw is attached at one end to a wire [Fig 6 & 12-13; 22]; and a switch [24] in mechanical connection with the wire [Fig 6 & 11], wherein the switch is configured to move the grabbing claw from a first position to a second position [¶37]; wherein when the switch is in the first position, the grabbing claw is in the collapsed state [Fig 1 & 12; ¶37], and wherein when the switch is in the second position, the grabbing claw is in the expanded state [Fig 1 & 13; ¶37].
Regarding claim 2.Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 1, wherein when the grabbing claw is in the expanded state, the grabbing claw is configured to hold a cleaning product [Fig 14 & 20; ¶44; 26 can hold a wipe, wash cloth, or sponge which are cleaning products and the figures show 26 holding cleaning products].
Regarding claim 3. Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 2, further comprising: a first stop portion projecting inwardly from the grabbing device; and a second stop portion projecting inwardly from the grabbing device; wherein when the switch abuts the first stop portion, the switch is in the first position, and wherein when the switch abuts the second stop portion, the switch is in the second position [Fig 6 & 11; 24 extends through a hole in 21; this hole has a stop at first end of the hole away from the claw and another stop at a second end of the hole closest to the claw; the switch abuts these in its first and second positions, respectively; additionally the stops project from an outer surface of the stop inwardly towards the center of the elongated member that houses the wire].
Regarding claim 6. Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 1, further comprising a spring connected to the switch at a rear end of the grabbing device [¶38; the grabbing device can have a spring connected to 24 (via 26B) which is located at a rear end of the grabbing device, per ¶9 the button is located at a second end of the grabbing device opposite the first end which has the claws (i.e. the button is locate at a rear end)].
Regarding claim 7. Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 1, wherein when the grabbing claw is in the collapsed state, the grabbing claw is contained within the grabbing device [Fig 1 & 6].
Regarding claim 8. A grabbing device comprising: a grabbing claw configured to hold a cleaning wipe; and a switch configured to move the grabbing claw from a first position to a second position; wherein when the switch is in the first position, the grabbing claw is in a collapsed and retracted state, and wherein when the switch is in the second position, the grabbing claw is in an expanded and protruded state
[Rejected for the same reason(s) as the similar limitation(s) in claim 1-2].
Regarding claim 9. Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 8, wherein the grabbing claw and the switch are connected via a wire.
[Rejected for the same reason(s) as the similar limitation(s) in claim 1]
Regarding claim 10. Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 8, wherein when the grabbing claw is in the expanded and protruded state, the grabbing claw is configured to hold a cleaning product [Fig 1-2 & 14].
Regarding claim 11. Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 9, further comprising: a first stop portion projecting inwardly from the grabbing device; and a second stop portion projecting inwardly from the grabbing device; wherein when the switch abuts the first stop portion, the switch is in the first position, and wherein when the switch abuts the second stop portion, the switch is in the second position.
[Rejected for the same reason(s) as the similar limitation(s) in claim 3]
Regarding claim 14. Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 8, further comprising a spring connected to the switch at a rear end of the grabbing device.
[Rejected for the same reason(s) as the similar limitation(s) in claim 6]
Regarding claim 15. Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 8, wherein when the grabbing claw is in the collapsed and retracted state, the grabbing claw is contained within the grabbing device.
[Rejected for the same reason(s) as the similar limitation(s) in claim 7]
Regarding claim 16. Tacoma discloses a method for using a grabbing device comprising: moving a switch from a first position to a second position such that a grabbing claw may protrude from the grabbing device such that a cleaning wipe may be placed into the grabbing claw; and moving the switch from the second position to the first position, causing the grabbing claw to retract into the grabbing device [Fig 1-2 & 14; ¶10 & ¶37; the grabbing device operates by moving the switch (24) from a first position [Fig 1] to a second position [Fig 2] with the claws (26) protruding which can grab a cleaning wipe then retracting the claws by moving the switch back to the first position].
Regarding claim 17. Tacoma discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising the step of moving the switch from the first position to the second position, causing the grabbing claw to protrude from the grabbing device [Fig 1-2].
Regarding claim 18. Tacoma discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the grabbing device comprises: a first stop portion projecting inwardly from the grabbing device; and a second stop portion projecting inwardly from the grabbing device; wherein when the switch abuts the first stop portion, the switch is in the first position, and wherein when the switch abuts the second stop portion, the switch is in the second position.
[Rejected for the same reason(s) as the similar limitation(s) in claim 3]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 12-13, & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tacoma in view of Federico et al. (US 5630243), hereinafter Federico.
Regarding claim 4. Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 1, wherein the switch further comprises an internal body that translates with the switch inside the grabbing device [Fig 11; 24 has an internal body within 21 that translates with outer portion of 24 inside of the grabbing device], and wherein the wire further comprises a wire attachment … in the internal body of the switch [Fig 11; ¶37; 22 is attached to the internal body of 24].
Tacoma may not explicitly disclose a wire attachment looped through a pin hole in the internal body of the switch.
Federico teaches a grabbing device with a wire attachment looped through a pin hole in the internal body of the switch [Fig 1A; the wire (4) has a wire attachment to 2 through a pin hole in the internal body of 2].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire attachment as disclosed by Tacoma to have a wire attachment looped through a pin hole in the internal body of the switch as taught by Federico for the purpose of disclosing a known attachment structure connecting the wire and switch as Tacoma discloses that they are not integral but does not disclose the specific structure [Tacoma: ¶37 & Federico: Fig 1A].
Regarding claim 5. Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 4, further comprising a rigid rod [Fig 6 & 12-13; 26A is ridge rod as it is thicker and therefore more ridge than the rest of 22], wherein the wire attachment mechanically connects the internal body to the rigid rod [Fig 6 & 11-13; 22 connects 24 to 26A].
Regarding claim 12. Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 9, wherein the switch further comprises an internal body that translates with the switch inside the grabbing device, and wherein the wire further comprises a wire attachment looped through a pin hole in the internal body of the switch.
[Rejected for the same reason(s) as the similar limitation(s) in claim 4]
Regarding claim 13. Tacoma discloses the grabbing device of claim 12, further comprising a rigid rod, wherein the wire attachment mechanically connects the internal body to the rigid rod.
[Rejected for the same reason(s) as the similar limitation(s) in claim 5]
Regarding claim 19. Tacoma discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the switch further comprises an internal body that translates with the switch inside the grabbing device, and wherein a wire that connects the switch to the grabbing claw further comprises a wire attachment looped through a pin hole in the internal body of the switch.
[Rejected for the same reason(s) as the similar limitation(s) in claim 4]
Regarding claim 20. Tacoma discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising a rigid rod, wherein the wire attachment mechanically connects the internal body to the rigid rod.
[Rejected for the same reason(s) as the similar limitation(s) in claim 5]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited, PTO form 892.
/AARON R MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723