DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the correspondence filed on 4/8/2026.
Claims 9, 20-22 are cancelled.
Claims 1-8, 10-19 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In “wherein the vehicle generates, along a voyage;”, “along a voyage;” is believed to be in error for -- along a voyage: Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 12, 19, and their dependent claims, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation: “wherein the cooling system is configured to direct an external air flow around the sealed subsystem during the voyage between the take-off by the vehicle and the landing by the vehicle to at least partially recharge the PCM towards the first state of matter between: a first absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the first thermal power; and a second absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the third thermal power”.
It is unclear if the limitation, especially the word “between”, refers to a time period, or refers to a state. In other words, it is unclear if “to at least partially recharge the PCM towards the first state of matter between: a first absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the first thermal power; and a second absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the third thermal power” refers to recharging the PCM during the period between a first absorption of thermal energy and a second absorption of energy, or, if it refers to recharging the PCM to an intermediate state of matter that is equivalent to a state of matter equivalent to a state between a first absorption of thermal power and a second absorption of thermal power.
Claim 12 recites the limitation: directing an external air flow around the sealed subsystem of the vehicle to at least partially recharge the PCM towards the first state of matter between: a first absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the first thermal power; and a second absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the third thermal power
It is unclear if the limitation, especially the word “between”, refers to a time period, or refers to a state. In other words, it is unclear if “to at least partially recharge the PCM towards the first state of matter between: a first absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the first thermal power; and a second absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the third thermal power” refers to recharging the PCM during the period between a first absorption of thermal energy and a second absorption of energy, or, if it refers to recharging the PCM to an intermediate state of matter that is equivalent to a state of matter equivalent to a state between a first absorption of thermal power and a second absorption of thermal power.
Claim 19 recites the limitation: wherein the sealed subsystem is configured to be exposed to an external air flow around the vehicle during the voyage between the take-off by the vehicle and the landing by the vehicle to at least partially recharge the PCM towards the first state of matter between: a first absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the first thermal power; and a second absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the third thermal power.
It is unclear if the limitation, especially the word “between”, refers to a time period, or refers to a state. In other words, it is unclear if “to at least partially recharge the PCM towards the first state of matter between: a first absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the first thermal power; and a second absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the third thermal power” refers to recharging the PCM during the period between a first absorption of thermal energy and a second absorption of energy, or, if it refers to recharging the PCM to an intermediate state of matter that is equivalent to a state of matter equivalent to a state between a first absorption of thermal power and a second absorption of thermal power.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shidore 20230046910 in view of Filangi 20160380280, Cantrell 20230067744 and Shubenkov 20250105315.
Regarding claim 1, Shidore teaches:
A system comprising:
a heat exchanger (inter alia, 74, 86) configured to be thermally coupled to a cooling system (inter alia, modular thermal control system 50, Fig 2) of an electrified aircraft propulsion (EAP) system (inter alia, electric motor assembly 20 [0040] and the vehicle subsystems in paragraph [0032]; aircraft [0038]) of a vehicle ([0038]), wherein the cooling system is thermally coupled to at least two subsystems of a plurality of subsystems of the EAP system (“A modular thermal control system includes a modular thermal control unit configured to be removably installed into a vehicle and connected in thermal communication with one or more vehicle subsystems or components, such as a battery assembly, a motor or engine cooling system, an electronics cooling system and/or a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system” [0032]),
a sealed subsystem (cooling unit 52 includes a housing 90 [0056]) thermally coupled to the heat exchanger (coupled to 74, Fig 2); and
a phase changing material (PCM) disposed within the sealed (“PCM 92 is filled and sealed within the cavity” [0057]) subsystem (92, Fig 3), wherein the PCM is configured to transition, via an at least partial transition between a first state of matter and a second state of matter (changes phase (e.g., between liquid and solid) [0052]), thermal energy between the PCM and the cooling system via the heat exchanger ([0052-0056]).
Shidore teaches the system comprising one or more thermal loops of the vehicle, and that “the thermal control unit 52 may be connected to any desired thermal loop for cooling and/or heating, such as an electronics or motor cooling unit, or HVAC loop” [0056], implying the maintenance of different threshold temperature levels in the different systems. This is further taught by “based on the temperature exceeding a selected threshold temperature, controlling the modular thermal control unit to dissipate heat from the thermal loop” claim 17.
To clear any doubt, Filangi teaches:
wherein each subsystem of the at least two subsystems is configured to be maintained at a different threshold temperature level;
to maintain each subsystem of the at least two subsystems at a respective threshold temperature level (“[0006] Embodiments described herein thus provide a single coolant loop that can be used for cooling at least two systems that are generally operable at two different temperatures. Rather than providing two separate cooling loops that can provide the two different cooling temperatures [0006]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shidore with Filangi's structure discussed above in order to “for cooling at least two systems that are generally operable at two different temperatures” [0006] because “fuel cell systems and their related electronic components [need to be cooled at some points during their use to prevent overheating” [0005].
Regarding the limitation
wherein the vehicle generates, along a voyage;
a first thermal power corresponding to take-off by the vehicle, the first thermal power being greater than an average thermal power generated by the vehicle over the voyage,
a second thermal power corresponding to travel by the vehicle during the voyage, the second thermal power being less than the average thermal power, and
a third thermal power corresponding to landing by the vehicle, the third thermal power being greater than the average thermal power,
wherein the cooling system is configured to maintain each subsystem of the at least two subsystems at the respective threshold temperature levels in response to the generation of the first thermal power, the second thermal power, and the third thermal power by the vehicle without increasing power consumption by the cooling system.
one of ordinary skill would understand that power requirement varies during different phases of a flight, and an electrified aircraft propulsion system would demand more power during take off and landing (especially in a vertical take-off and landing configuration), which would cause a higher amount of heat to be produced as a function of power demand. These limitations are therefore present in electrically powered VTOL aircraft. The lowest thermal power would be expected to be found during normal cruise, and therefore the average thermal power would be between the peaks (take-off and landing) and the lowest thermal power, cruise, or travel; the system, as discussed above, being set up to maintain each subsystem at a respective threshold temperature level would complete such task in response to the first, second and third thermal powers.
However, to clear any doubt, Cantrell teaches a thermal management system for components within an aircraft, such as a propeller motor, a battery ([0002]), and “each component may have a normal operating temperature based on normal power consumption during the flight and peak operating temperatures resulting from specific events occurring during the flight. For example, the heat of a motor and/or inverter of a propeller arrangement of the aircraft may increase during take off, landing, hovering, or turning of the aircraft compared to the temperature during cruising” [0003], therefore teaching a first thermal power, a second thermal power, a third thermal power as claimed. As taught by Cantrell, the thermal power associated with take off and landing (associated with first and third thermal power) being higher than cruise (associated with the second thermal power), leading to the first and third thermal power being higher than the average of the three thermal powers, and the second thermal power being less than the average thermal power. Cantrell teaches wherein the cooling system is configured to maintain each subsystem of the at least two subsystems at the respective threshold temperature levels in response to the generation of the first thermal power, the second thermal power, and the third thermal power by the vehicle (“the thermal management system is typically configured to provide sufficient cooling for the expected elevated temperatures” [0003], “Some aspects of the disclosure are directed to a thermal management system configured to provide proactive cooling to one or more components of a power system to mitigate the temperature cycle of the component during a high power event (e.g., take off, landing, hovering, turning, etc.)” [0004].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shidore in view of Filangi with Cantrell's teachings discussed above in order to provide “a thermal management system proactively provides cooling to powered components and/or the battery of an aircraft based on expected temperature rises of the components” As taught by Cantrell (Abstract). Regarding the limitation “without increasing power consumption by the cooling system”, the combination discussed above comprises a phase change material and is suitable for the intended use, see Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose. MPEP 2144.07.
Shidore in view of Filangi and Cantrell is silent about:
wherein the cooling system is configured to direct an external air flow around the sealed subsystem during the voyage between the take-off by the vehicle and the landing by the vehicle to at least partially recharge the PCM towards the first state of matter between:
a first absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the first thermal power; and
a second absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the third thermal power.
However, Shubenkov teaches a “cooling system for a fuel-cell system onboard a vehicle such as an aircraft in one embodiment employs the latent heat of evaporation of a two-phase coolant to reduce mass and parasitic power requirements of the cooling system” abstract, and “a primary ambient air heat exchanger coolant loop for cooling the fuel-cell system, and a secondary coolant loop comprising a fluid circuit configured to circulate a coolant in thermal contact with a phase-change material (PCM)” abstract, and. Shubenkov also teaches (as also discussed above) a first thermal power corresponding to take-off by the vehicle, the first thermal power being greater than an average thermal power generated by the vehicle over the voyage (the amount of waste heat generated by the fuel-cells is greatest during takeoff and climb [0016]), a second thermal power corresponding to travel by the vehicle during the voyage, the second thermal power being less than the average thermal power (the amount of waste heat generated by the fuel-cells is greatest during takeoff and climb [0016])
and Shubenkov teaches:
wherein the cooling system (inter alia, Fig. 17-20b) is configured to direct an external air flow (“ambient air”, Fig. 17) around the sealed subsystem (Shubenkov’s sealed subsystem comprises PCM 460, heat bump 454, heat exchanger 456, Fig. 17, showing a fluid coolant [0209] with arrows depicting this closed/sealed system; “the secondary heat exchanger loop 436a” [0209]) during the voyage between the take-off by the vehicle (the amount of waste heat generated by the fuel-cells is greatest during takeoff and climb [0016]) and the landing by the vehicle to at least partially recharge the PCM towards the first state of matter (“second ambient air heat exchanger 456 for cooling the PCM 460” [0209], and change of state of matter when thermal energy is changed is a known characteristic of PCM) between:
a first absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the first thermal power; and
a second absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the third thermal power (pump 454 is present in the system and controlled by controller 500 [0208-0209], capable of providing cooling to the system via heat exchanger 456 and ambient air throughout the voyage, between a first absorption of thermal energy and a second absorption of thermal energy).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shidore in view of Filangi and Cantrell with Shubenkov's teachings discussed above in order to provide a “second ambient air heat exchanger 456 for cooling the PCM 460” [0209] as taught by Shubenkov, and a “cooling system sized below that required for peak power operation of the vehicle comprises a phase-change coolant system” [0097].
Regarding claim 2, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The system of claim 1 wherein the EAP system is disposed within the vehicle (10), and wherein the at least two subsystems comprises:
a power source of the vehicle (24); and
one or more of:
a propulsion subsystem of the vehicle;
an electrical subsystem of the vehicle; or
an air conditioning (AC) subsystem of the vehicle (“a battery assembly, a motor or engine cooling system, an electronics cooling system and/or a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system” [0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The system of claim 1 wherein the EAP system is disposed within the vehicle (10), and wherein the at least two subsystems comprises two or more of:
a power source of the vehicle (24);
a propulsion subsystem of the vehicle;
an electrical subsystem of the vehicle; or
an AC subsystem of the vehicle (“a battery assembly, a motor or engine cooling system, an electronics cooling system and/or a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system” [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The system of claim 1 wherein the EAP system is disposed within the vehicle (10), wherein the heat exchanger is configured to be thermally coupled to a cabin of a vehicle (HVAC unit 34, Fig 1, [0032, 0042]), and wherein the heat exchanger is configured to maintain a temperature inside the cabin at a threshold cabin temperature level (“An HVAC unit 34 is included for regulating temperature in the vehicle compartment 14“ [0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The system of claim 1 wherein the heat exchanger is configured to disengage from the cooling system (“he thermal control unit 52 includes fluid lines 60 and 62, which are connected via respective quick disconnect ports 64 and 66 “ [0048], and heat exchanger 86 is shown in 52).
Regarding claim 6, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The system of claim 1 wherein the PCM comprises one or more of a salt hydrate, Paraffin, or a water/ice mix (“Examples of PCMs include water and wax-based materials” [0052, 0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The system of claim 1 wherein the sealed (“PCM 92 is filled and sealed within the cavity” [0057]) subsystem configured to be recharged (inter alia, “primed or preconditioned” [0068]) by cooling an exterior of the heat exchanger (“The housing 90 also includes a cavity 100 that extends along and surrounds each coolant channel 94, and that is filled with the PCM 92” [0059], and “the PCM 92 are optionally primed or preconditioned prior to performing track maneuvers (or other vehicle operations) by establishing fluid communication between the cooling unit 52 and the thermal loop” [0068]), wherein when the sealed subsystem is at least partially recharged, the PCM at least partially reverts back to an initial state of matter (“liquid to solid” [0068]).
Regarding claim 8, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The system of claim 7 wherein the exterior of the heat exchanger is configured to be cooled by ambient air or liquid (“the PCM 92 are optionally primed or preconditioned […] by establishing fluid communication between the cooling unit 52 and the thermal loop” [0068]).
Regarding claim 11, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first state of matter comprises a solid and the second state of matter comprises a liquid (changes phase (e.g., between liquid and solid)).
Regarding claim 12, Shidore teaches:
A method comprising:
circulating a fluid within a cooling system of an electrified aircraft propulsion (EAP) system of a vehicle to extract thermal energy from each subsystem (“Coolant flows through the coolant line 68 to a pump 70, and then through a chiller 74 that includes a refrigerant-to-coolant heat exchanger” [0049]) of at least two subsystems of a plurality of subsystems of the EAP system (“A modular thermal control system includes a modular thermal control unit configured to be removably installed into a vehicle and connected in thermal communication with one or more vehicle subsystems or components, such as a battery assembly, a motor or engine cooling system, an electronics cooling system and/or a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system” [0032]);
transmitting the thermal energy (changes phase (e.g., between liquid and solid) [0051-0052]) from the cooling system to a heat exchanger thermally coupled to the cooling system ([0050-0056]); and
storing the thermal energy (changes phase (e.g., between liquid and solid) [0051-0052]) in a phase changing material (PCM) (92) disposed within a sealed (“PCM 92 is filled and sealed within the cavity” [0057]) subsystem thermally coupled to the heat exchanger(cooling unit 52 includes a housing 90 [0056], “The housing 90, in an embodiment, includes a plurality of coolant channels 94, which are configured so that coolant flowing through the unit 52 is proximate to the PCM 92 and heat can be effectively transferred [0058]),
wherein storage of the thermal energy in the PCM at least partially transitions the PCM from a first state of matter to a second state of matter (changes phase (e.g., between liquid and solid) [0052]), and
Regarding the limitation “wherein storing the thermal energy in the PCM causes the cooling system is configured to maintain each subsystem at a different threshold temperature level, Shidore teaches the system comprising one or more thermal loops of the vehicle, and that “the thermal control unit 52 may be connected to any desired thermal loop for cooling and/or heating, such as an electronics or motor cooling unit, or HVAC loop” [0056], implying the maintenance of different threshold temperature levels in the different systems. This is further taught by “based on the temperature exceeding a selected threshold temperature, controlling the modular thermal control unit to dissipate heat from the thermal loop” claim 17.
To clear any doubt, Filangi teaches:
“wherein storing the thermal energy in the PCM causes the cooling system is configured to maintain each subsystem at a different threshold temperature level (“[0006] Embodiments described herein thus provide a single coolant loop that can be used for cooling at least two systems that are generally operable at two different temperatures. Rather than providing two separate cooling loops that can provide the two different cooling temperatures [0006]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shidore with Filangi's structure discussed above in order to “for cooling at least two systems that are generally operable at two different temperatures” [0006] because “fuel cell systems and their related electronic components [need to be cooled at some points during their use to prevent overheating” [0005].
Regarding the limitations
wherein the vehicle generates, along a voyage:
a first thermal power corresponding to take-off by the vehicle, the first thermal power being greater than an average thermal power generated by the vehicle over the voyage,
a second thermal power corresponding to travel by the vehicle during the voyage, the second thermal power being less than the average thermal power, and
a third thermal power corresponding to landing by the vehicle, the third thermal power being greater than the average thermal power;
[maintain each subsystem at a different threshold temperature level,] as the vehicle generates the first thermal power, the second thermal power, and the third thermal power, without increasing power consumption by the cooling system”
one of ordinary skill would understand that power requirement varies during different phases of a flight, and an electrified aircraft propulsion system would demand more power during take off and landing (especially in a vertical take-off and landing configuration), which would cause a higher amount of heat to be produced as a function of power demand. These limitations are therefore present in electrically powered VTOL aircraft. The lowest thermal power would be expected to be found during normal cruise, and therefore the average thermal power would be between the peaks (take-off and landing) and the lowest thermal power, cruise, or travel; the system, as discussed above, being set up to maintain each subsystem at a respective threshold temperature level would complete such task in response to the first, second and third thermal powers.
However, to clear any doubt, Cantrell teaches a thermal management system for components within an aircraft, such as a propeller motor, a battery ([0002]), and “each component may have a normal operating temperature based on normal power consumption during the flight and peak operating temperatures resulting from specific events occurring during the flight. For example, the heat of a motor and/or inverter of a propeller arrangement of the aircraft may increase during take off, landing, hovering, or turning of the aircraft compared to the temperature during cruising” [0003], therefore teaching a first thermal power, a second thermal power, a third thermal power as claimed. As taught by Cantrell, the thermal power associated with take off and landing (associated with first and third thermal power) being higher than cruise (associated with the second thermal power), leading to the first and third thermal power being higher than the average of the three thermal powers, and the second thermal power being less than the average thermal power. Cantrell teaches wherein the cooling system is configured to maintain each subsystem of the at least two subsystems at the respective threshold temperature levels in response to the generation of the first thermal power, the second thermal power, and the third thermal power by the vehicle (“the thermal management system is typically configured to provide sufficient cooling for the expected elevated temperatures” [0003], “Some aspects of the disclosure are directed to a thermal management system configured to provide proactive cooling to one or more components of a power system to mitigate the temperature cycle of the component during a high power event (e.g., take off, landing, hovering, turning, etc.)” [0004].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shidore in view of Filangi with Cantrell's teachings discussed above in order to provide “a thermal management system proactively provides cooling to powered components and/or the battery of an aircraft based on expected temperature rises of the components” As taught by Cantrell (Abstract). Regarding the limitation “without increasing power consumption by the cooling system”, the combination discussed above comprises a phase change material and is suitable for the intended use, see Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose. MPEP 2144.07.
Shidore in view of Filangi and Cantrell is silent about:
directing an external air flow around the sealed subsystem of the vehicle to at least partially recharge the PCM towards the first state of matter between:
a first absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the first thermal power; and
a second absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the third thermal power,
However, Shubenkov teaches a “cooling system for a fuel-cell system onboard a vehicle such as an aircraft in one embodiment employs the latent heat of evaporation of a two-phase coolant to reduce mass and parasitic power requirements of the cooling system” abstract, and “a primary ambient air heat exchanger coolant loop for cooling the fuel-cell system, and a secondary coolant loop comprising a fluid circuit configured to circulate a coolant in thermal contact with a phase-change material (PCM)” abstract, and. Shubenkov also teaches (as also discussed above) a first thermal power corresponding to take-off by the vehicle, the first thermal power being greater than an average thermal power generated by the vehicle over the voyage (the amount of waste heat generated by the fuel-cells is greatest during takeoff and climb [0016]), a second thermal power corresponding to travel by the vehicle during the voyage, the second thermal power being less than the average thermal power (the amount of waste heat generated by the fuel-cells is greatest during takeoff and climb [0016])
and Shubenkov teaches:
directing an external air flow (“ambient air”, Fig. 17) around the sealed subsystem of the vehicle (Shubenkov’s sealed subsystem comprises PCM 460, heat bump 454, heat exchanger 456, Fig. 17, showing a fluid coolant [0209] with arrows depicting this closed/sealed system; “the secondary heat exchanger loop 436a” [0209]) to at least partially recharge the PCM towards the first state of matter (“second ambient air heat exchanger 456 for cooling the PCM 460” [0209], and change of state of matter when thermal energy is changed is a known characteristic of PCM) between:
a first absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the first thermal power; and
a second absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the third thermal power (pump 454 is present in the system and controlled by controller 500 [0208-0209], capable of providing cooling to the system via heat exchanger 456 and ambient air throughout the voyage, between a first absorption of thermal energy and a second absorption of thermal energy).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shidore in view of Filangi and Cantrell with Shubenkov's teachings discussed above in order to provide a “second ambient air heat exchanger 456 for cooling the PCM 460” [0209] as taught by Shubenkov, and a “cooling system sized below that required for peak power operation of the vehicle comprises a phase-change coolant system” [0097].
Regarding claim 13, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed for claim 12.
Shidore further teaches:
The method of claim 12 wherein the EAP system is disposed within the vehicle (10), and wherein the at least two subsystems comprises:
a power source of the vehicle (24); and one or more of:
a propulsion subsystem of the vehicle;
an electrical subsystem of the vehicle;
or an air conditioning (AC) subsystem of the vehicle
(“a battery assembly, a motor or engine cooling system, an electronics cooling system and/or a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system” [0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The method of claim 12 wherein the EAP system is disposed within the vehicle (10), and wherein the at least two subsystems comprises two or more of:
a power source of the vehicle;
a propulsion subsystem of the vehicle;
an electrical subsystem of the vehicle;
or an AC subsystem of the vehicle.
(“a battery assembly, a motor or engine cooling system, an electronics cooling system and/or a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system” [0032]).
Regarding claim 15, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The method of claim 12 wherein the EAP system is disposed within the vehicle (10), wherein the heat exchanger is thermally coupled to a cabin of a vehicle (HVAC unit 34, Fig 1, [0032, 0042]), and wherein the method further comprises:
causing the heat exchanger to transmit cabin thermal energy from within the cabin of the vehicle to the sealed subsystem (“for thermal control of one or more vehicle subsystems and/or components. A modular thermal control system includes a modular thermal control unit configured to be removably installed into a vehicle and connected in thermal communication with one or more vehicle subsystems or components […] ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system” [0032] and “to control a temperature of a vehicle component (e.g., by heating or cooling the vehicle component) [0033]”) to maintain a temperature inside the cabin at a threshold cabin temperature level (“An HVAC unit 34 is included for regulating temperature in the vehicle compartment 14“ [0042]).
Regarding claim 16, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The method of claim 12 wherein the PCM comprises one or more of a salt hydrate, Paraffin or a water/ice mix (PCMs include water and wax-based materials. [0052])
Regarding claim 17, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The method of claim 12 further comprising at least partially recharging (inter alia, “primed or preconditioned” [0068]) the sealed (“PCM 92 is filled and sealed within the cavity” [0057]) subsystem via cooling an exterior of the heat exchanger (“The housing 90 also includes a cavity 100 that extends along and surrounds each coolant channel 94, and that is filled with the PCM 92” [0059], and “the PCM 92 are optionally primed or preconditioned prior to performing track maneuvers (or other vehicle operations) by establishing fluid communication between the cooling unit 52 and the thermal loop” [0068]), wherein recharging the sealed subsystem at least partially reverts the PCM to an initial state of matter (“liquid to solid” [0068]).
Regarding claim 18, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Shubenkov teaches the invention as discussed so far.
Shidore further teaches:
The method of claim 12 wherein the first state of matter comprises a solid and the second state of matter comprises a liquid (changes phase (e.g., between liquid and solid)).
Regarding claim 19, Shidore teaches:
A system comprising:
a heat exchanger (inter alia, 74, 86) configured to be thermally coupled to a cooling system (inter alia, modular thermal control system 50, Fig 2) of a vehicle (10),
wherein the cooling system is thermally coupled to at least two subsystems of the vehicle (“A modular thermal control system includes a modular thermal control unit configured to be removably installed into a vehicle and connected in thermal communication with one or more vehicle subsystems or components, such as a battery assembly, a motor or engine cooling system, an electronics cooling system and/or a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system” [0032]),
wherein the at least two subsystems comprises two or more of a battery, a propulsion subsystem, an electrical subsystem, an air conditioning (AC) subsystem, or a cabin of the vehicle (“a battery assembly, a motor or engine cooling system, an electronics cooling system and/or a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system” [0032]),
a sealed subsystem (cooling unit 52 includes a housing 90 [0056]) thermally coupled to the heat exchanger (coupled to 74, Fig 2);
and a phase changing material (PCM) disposed within the sealed subsystem “PCM 92 is filled and sealed within the cavity” [0057]), wherein the PCM is configured to transition, via an at least partial transition between a first state of matter and a second state of matter (changes phase (e.g., between liquid and solid) [0052]), thermal energy between the PCM and the cooling system via the heat exchanger ([0052-0056])
Shidore teaches the system comprising one or more thermal loops of the vehicle, and that “the thermal control unit 52 may be connected to any desired thermal loop for cooling and/or heating, such as an electronics or motor cooling unit, or HVAC loop” [0056], implying the maintenance of different threshold temperature levels in the different systems. This is further taught by “based on the temperature exceeding a selected threshold temperature, controlling the modular thermal control unit to dissipate heat from the thermal loop” claim 17.
To clear any doubt, Filangi teaches:
wherein each subsystem of the at least two subsystems is configured to be maintained at a different threshold temperature level
to maintain each subsystem of the at least two subsystems at a respective threshold temperature level.
(“[0006] Embodiments described herein thus provide a single coolant loop that can be used for cooling at least two systems that are generally operable at two different temperatures. Rather than providing two separate cooling loops that can provide the two different cooling temperatures [0006]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shidore with Filangi's structure discussed above in order to “for cooling at least two systems that are generally operable at two different temperatures” [0006] because “fuel cell systems and their related electronic components [need to be cooled at some points during their use to prevent overheating” [0005].
Regarding the limitation
wherein the vehicle generates, along a voyage;
a first thermal power corresponding to take-off by the vehicle, the first thermal power being greater than an average thermal power generated by the vehicle over the voyage,
a second thermal power corresponding to travel by the vehicle during the voyage, the second thermal power being less than the average thermal power, and
a third thermal power corresponding to landing by the vehicle, the third thermal power being greater than the average thermal power,
as the vehicle generates the first thermal power, the second thermal power, and the third thermal power without increasing power consumption by the PCM
one of ordinary skill would understand that power requirement varies during different phases of a flight, and an electrified aircraft propulsion system would demand more power during take off and landing (especially in a vertical take-off and landing configuration), which would cause a higher amount of heat to be produced as a function of power demand. These limitations are therefore present in electrically powered VTOL aircraft. The lowest thermal power would be expected to be found during normal cruise, and therefore the average thermal power would be between the peaks (take-off and landing) and the lowest thermal power, cruise, or travel; the system, as discussed above, being set up to maintain each subsystem at a respective threshold temperature level would complete such task in response to the first, second and third thermal powers.
However, to clear any doubt, Cantrell teaches a thermal management system for components within an aircraft, such as a propeller motor, a battery ([0002]), and “each component may have a normal operating temperature based on normal power consumption during the flight and peak operating temperatures resulting from specific events occurring during the flight. For example, the heat of a motor and/or inverter of a propeller arrangement of the aircraft may increase during take off, landing, hovering, or turning of the aircraft compared to the temperature during cruising” [0003], therefore teaching a first thermal power, a second thermal power, a third thermal power as claimed. As taught by Cantrell, the thermal power associated with take off and landing (associated with first and third thermal power) being higher than cruise (associated with the second thermal power), leading to the first and third thermal power being higher than the average of the three thermal powers, and the second thermal power being less than the average thermal power. Cantrell teaches wherein the cooling system is configured to maintain each subsystem of the at least two subsystems at the respective threshold temperature levels in response to the generation of the first thermal power, the second thermal power, and the third thermal power by the vehicle (“the thermal management system is typically configured to provide sufficient cooling for the expected elevated temperatures” [0003], “Some aspects of the disclosure are directed to a thermal management system configured to provide proactive cooling to one or more components of a power system to mitigate the temperature cycle of the component during a high power event (e.g., take off, landing, hovering, turning, etc.)” [0004].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shidore in view of Filangi with Cantrell's teachings discussed above in order to provide “a thermal management system proactively provides cooling to powered components and/or the battery of an aircraft based on expected temperature rises of the components” As taught by Cantrell (Abstract). Regarding the limitation “without increasing power consumption by the PCM”, the combination discussed above comprises a phase change material and is suitable for the intended use, see Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose. MPEP 2144.07.
Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell is silent about:
wherein the cooling system is configured to direct an external air flow around the sealed subsystem during the voyage between the take-off by the vehicle and the landing by the vehicle to at least partially recharge the PCM towards the first state of matter between:
a first absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the first thermal power; and
a second absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the third thermal power.
However, Shubenkov teaches a “cooling system for a fuel-cell system onboard a vehicle such as an aircraft in one embodiment employs the latent heat of evaporation of a two-phase coolant to reduce mass and parasitic power requirements of the cooling system” abstract, and “a primary ambient air heat exchanger coolant loop for cooling the fuel-cell system, and a secondary coolant loop comprising a fluid circuit configured to circulate a coolant in thermal contact with a phase-change material (PCM)” abstract, and. Shubenkov also teaches (as also discussed above) a first thermal power corresponding to take-off by the vehicle, the first thermal power being greater than an average thermal power generated by the vehicle over the voyage (the amount of waste heat generated by the fuel-cells is greatest during takeoff and climb [0016]), a second thermal power corresponding to travel by the vehicle during the voyage, the second thermal power being less than the average thermal power (the amount of waste heat generated by the fuel-cells is greatest during takeoff and climb [0016])
and Shubenkov teaches:
wherein the cooling system (inter alia, Fig. 17-20b) is configured to direct an external air flow (“ambient air”, Fig. 17) around the sealed subsystem (Shubenkov’s sealed subsystem comprises PCM 460, heat bump 454, heat exchanger 456, Fig. 17, showing a fluid coolant [0209] with arrows depicting this closed/sealed system; “the secondary heat exchanger loop 436a” [0209]) during the voyage between the take-off by the vehicle (the amount of waste heat generated by the fuel-cells is greatest during takeoff and climb [0016]) and the landing by the vehicle to at least partially recharge the PCM towards the first state of matter (“second ambient air heat exchanger 456 for cooling the PCM 460” [0209], and change of state of matter when thermal energy is changed is a known characteristic of PCM) between:
a first absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the first thermal power; and
a second absorption of the thermal energy by the PCM in response to the generation of the third thermal power (pump 454 is present in the system and controlled by controller 500 [0208-0209], capable of providing cooling to the system via heat exchanger 456 and ambient air throughout the voyage, between a first absorption of thermal energy and a second absorption of thermal energy).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shidore in view of Filangi, and Cantrell with Shubenkov's teachings discussed above in order to provide a “second ambient air heat exchanger 456 for cooling the PCM 460” [0209] as taught by Shubenkov, and a “cooling system sized below that required for peak power operation of the vehicle comprises a phase-change coolant system” [0097].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shidore 20230046910 in view of Filangi 20160380280, Cantrell 20230067744 and Shubenkov 20250105315 and further in view Bonden 20190047699.
Regarding claim 10, Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell, Nan teaches the invention as discussed for claim 1.
Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell, and Nan as discussed so far, is silent about:
The system of claim 1 wherein at least one of the first peak thermal power or the third peak thermal power is greater than or equal to one hundred and fifty percent of the average thermal power.
However, Bonden teaches a system for controlling the temperature of an aerial vehicle (abstract), and:
the first peak thermal power is greater than or equal to one hundred and fifty percent of the average thermal power (in [0101] Bonden teaches “In some aspects, the second volume flow rate may be less than 10% of the first volume flow rate. In some aspects, the second volume flow rate may be less than 1% of the first volume flow rate. In some aspects, the second volume flow rate may be substantially zero”, teaching the average thermal power between its first and second flow rate can be calculated to be as low as half of the first peak power (using Bonden’s second flow rate to be substantially zero as discussed above), making the first peak thermal power greater than one hundred and fifty percent of the average thermal power; as discussed above, the a second portion’s peak thermal power is less than the average thermal power and preconditions the PCM).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shidore in view of Filangi, Cantrell and Nan with Bonden's structure discussed above in order to provide “ a first volume flow rate to dissipated heat from the cooling structure” [0100] that meets the demands “associated with an ambient condition in a vicinity of the unmanned aerial vehicle” as taught by Bonden [0100].
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but they are not persuasive because they do not apply to the new combination of references, i.e., adding a new reference to the old combination of references, that was necessitated by applicant’s amendment. However, to the extent possible, applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejections above, at the appropriate location.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ROBERTO TOSHIHARU IGUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741