DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 10/9/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-4, 8-11, 13-16, 18-20 and 22-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument (applicant’s remark, page 2) that Hoffman teaches that the powder forming the wick structure 12 and powder forming the wick structure 12 are mixed, has been carefully considered but is not found to be persuasive. Hoffman discloses (paragraphs 93 and 96 and figure 15 or 18) that each powder (12 or 12’) is located in a predetermined area.. For example, a patch composed of powder (12’) is located on the evaporator and a patch composed of powder (12) is located on the condenser area. Therefore, they are not mixed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer IV et al. (US 20120279687) in view of Hoffman Paul et al. (US 20090025910A1). Meyer IV et al discloses (figures 1 and 3) a heat pipe comprising a container (10) being a tubular body, the container having an end surface of one end portion and an end surface of another end portion, the end surfaces each being sealed; a wick structure (20) provided inside the container; and a working fluid enclosed inside the container, wherein the wick structure includes a first wick portion (21) and a second wick portion (22) in at least one cross section perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the container, the second wick portion (22) being integral with the first wick portion, the second wick portion extending outward from the first wick portion, the second portion being thinner than the first wick portion; and the second wick portion includes a flat portion extending in a direction perpendicular to a height direction of an internal space of the container (see figure A). Meyer further discloses (figure A) that an end of the second wick portion is not in contact with an inner surface of the container facing the end of the second wick portion (the end of the second wick portion is spaced from the inner surface of the container facing the end of the second wick portion) ; the flat portion extends from the first wick portion toward the inner surface over a predetermined length (length of the flat section) while maintaining a predetermined thickness. (the predetermined thickness is shown as height of second wick portion, shown in figure A). Meyer IV et al. further discloses (figure 3 and A) that in the one cross section, the wick structure has a gradual change portion between a top portion of the first wick portion and the flat portion, the gradual change portion being a portion in which thickness of the wick structure continuously reduces in a direction perpendicular to the height direction of the internal space of the container. Meyer IV further discloses (figure 3) that the first wick portion consists of powder of a single type of material and the second wick portion consist of powder of a single type material. (figure 3 discloses that the first wick portion (21) and the second wick portion (22) are made from same type of material.
Meyer IV does not disclose that the average particle size of the powder in the first wick portion (not in the second wick portion) and that of the second wick portion are different. Hoffman et al. discloses (figures 15A or figure 18) a heat pipe that has a wick comprising a first wick portion consist of solely of powder (12) from a single type of material and second wick portion consists of solely of powder (12’) from a single type of material; the average particle size of powder (12) in the first wick portion (not included in the second wick portion of 12’) separated from the second wick portion and that of the second wick portion are different, (size of 12 and 12’ is different) for a purpose achieving the boiling and fluid flow properties as desired. (paragraphs 93 and 96). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Hoffman’s teaching in Meyer’s device for a purpose of achieving the boiling and fluid flow properties as desired.
Figure A: the modified figure corresponds to figure 3 with limitations shown.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4,8-11, 13-16 and 18-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record either taken singularly or in combination fail to disclose the invention as claimed. In particular, reference to Myer IV and Hoffman are the closest prior art but fail to disclose that the first wick portion and the second wick portion are made of powder of different material types.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763