DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiegman in view of Bhardway (US 2008/0319593) and further in view of Schulz et al. (US 2021/0403135)
Re Claims 1 and 13; An energy distribution system for an aircraft (Par 0003-9) wherein the energy distribution system comprises
at least two electrical powertrain units (Par 0034, main engines), each powertrain unit comprises a propulsion unit (200, 220 etc.) powered by one or more energy storage units (20, par 0030), of the energy distribution system, each energy storage unit is configured to supply a first direct current, DC, voltage via a DC connection (25) to the propulsion unit,
wherein the energy distribution system comprises at least one converter unit (50) configured to energize a DC bus (35) of the energy distribution system, the DC bus having a second DC voltage lower than the first DC voltage (25) provided from each respective energy storage unit (20), (Fig. 1 par 0006) each converter unit of the at least one converter unit (25; 35; 45) comprises:
a DC/DC converter arrangement (50) configured to convert the first DC voltage from at least one of the energy storage units (20) to a second DC voltage on the DC bus; (par 0003,6) and
a DC bus battery (22; 42) with a nominal operating DC voltage of the second DC voltage; wherein the DC bus (16; 19) provides energy for charging the DC bus battery (22; 42) when energized from the at least one energy storage unit (13), and the DC bus battery (22; 42) supply energy to the DC bus (16; 19) when the at least one energy storage unit fails to energize the DC bus (0006).
Wiegman does not disclose the first DC voltage supplied by the energy storage unit (13) in each powertrain unit varies depending on state of charge and the power demand from the connected propulsion unit (1),
wherein the at least one converter unit comprises a first converter unit and a second converter unit, eat converter unit is configured to energize a separate DB bus and
wherein the separate DC busses are configured to be connected to one or more switches
However, Bhardwaj discloses Of course the voltage output of power sources 206 and 210 may vary from nominal values depending on load and state of charge for a battery. (Par 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have used the known implicit function of varying the voltage based on the state of charge and the load coupled to it in order provided adequate power to the load.
However, Schulz discloses a detail of a plane power system to comprise a first converter unit (CES on the left) and a second converter unit (CES on the right), each converter unit is configured to energize a separate DC bus (12 AND 16). (Fig. 4, when the switches 80 are opened, the DCDC converters would energize their side of the bus)
wherein the separate DC buses (61, 64 and 62,63) are configured to be connected via one or more switches (80 and 81). (Fig. 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have a dedicated DC-DC converter for each bus in order to have two independent systems so that full control of the plane is achievable when one side of the place faces faults.
Re Claim 2; Wiegman discloses, further comprising an external input (shown but not labeled) configured to provide energy to the DC bus (16; 19) of each converter unit (150) via one or more switches (40 and 45) (Par 0008, Fig. 3).
Re Claim 3; Wiegman discloses wherein the at least one converter unit.
Wiegman does not disclose the detail of the converter comprises a first converter unit and a second converter unit, each converter unit is configured to energize a separate DC bus (16-1, 16- 2; 19-1, 19-2).
Re Claim 5; Schulz discloses wherein each DC/DC converter arrangement (21; 41-1, 41-2) comprises a separate DC/DC converter (CES) for each of the at least one energy storage unit (91). (Fig. 4)
Re Claim 6; Schulz discloses wherein each of the at least one energy storage unit (91) is connected to two independent DC/DC converter arrangements (CES) (Fig. 4).
Re Claim 7; Wiegman discloses wherein the DC bus battery (22; 42) is controlled by a BMU (battery charger) powered by the DC bus battery (22; 42). (Par 0038)
Re Claim 8; Wiegman discloses wherein the DC bus battery (22; 42) is configured to power up the DC bus when starting the aircraft. (Par 0008, Fig. 3)
Re Claim 9; Wiegman discloses wherein each propulsion unit comprises a DC/AC inverter (60, Par 0007, 30), an electric motor (Par 0030), and a propeller (not shown but implicit).
Re Claim 10; Wiegman discloses wherein the DC/DC converter arrangement (21) is configured to convert the first DC voltage from each of the energy storage units (13) to the second DC voltage on the DC bus (16). (Fig. 3)
Re Claim 11; Wiegman discloses wherein each electric propulsion unit (1) is powered by one energy storage unit (13). (Par 0006)
Re Claim 12; Wiegman discloses wherein each electric propulsion unit (1) is powered by the energy storage units (13) via a common DC bus (51). (Fig. 3)
Re Claim 14; Wiegman discloses wherein the method comprises the steps to: - monitor the status of DC/DC converters converting the first DC voltage to the second DC voltage when energizing the DC bus;
- if the DC/DC converters are operational, then charge each DC bus battery via the DC bus; and
- if one DC bus is non-energized, then connect the DC bus battery to energize the DC bus. (Par 0006; when 50 is sufficiently energized is charges and maintains the charge of the battery is 50 does not get enough energy, battery 30 energizes the Low Voltage DC bus 35.)
Re Claim 15; Schulz discloses wherein the at least one converter unit of the energy distribution system comprises a first converter unit and a second converter unit, each converter unit is configured to energize a separate DC bus, and wherein at least one DC/DC converter is detected to malfunction (65), and the method further comprises the step to connect an energized DC bus with a non-energized DC bus by closing (66) one or more switches. (Par 0076,0111)
Re Claim 16 Schulz discloses further comprising a control unit configured to: -monitor the status of DC/DC converters converting the first DC voltage to the second DC voltage when energizing the DC bus;
- if the DC/DC converters are operational, then charge each DC bus battery via the DC bus; and
-if one DC bus is non-energized, then connect the DC bus battery to energize the DC bus, wherein at least one DC/DC converter is detected to malfunction ,and the control unit is further configured to connect an energized DC bus with a non-energized DC bus by closing said one or mores witches. (Fig. 4 controlling switch 84 on both side of the power system and opening and closing those switches would perform the claim. For instance, when switch 84 on the left is opened, the converter 104 would malfunction thereby relying on the converter 104 on the right to provide power to both batteries or from both batteries)
Re Claim 17 Schulz discloses wherein the energy distribution system further comprises a control unit(52) configured to monitor the status of DC/DC converters and senses the voltage level of each DC bus via voltage sensor, wherein if any of the voltage sensors indicate a drop in voltage level, or the monitored status of the DC/DC converters will affect the voltage level of the DC bus, the DC bus battery is usable to energize the DC bus, and where in the control unit (52) is further configured to inter connect the DC buses by closing said one or more switches if one of the DC buses experiences a drop in voltage level (Fig. 4 controlling switch 84 on both side of the power system and opening and closing those switches would perform the claim)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Wiegman does not show a high voltage DC source sufficient to drive electrical propulsion units. The Office cites to WFSM 220 (Wound Field Synchronous Machine) and gearbox 200 as propuision units, but they are not. WFSM 220 is described as a start up motor for the main engines. See Wiegman [0030] ("During engine start up, WFSM 220 acts as startup motor for the main engines .. ."), Because WFSM 220 only acts as a startup motor for the main engines, WFSM 220 cannot be considered a propulsion unit.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagree, As shown in par [0027] Engine gear box 200 has a second shaft for accepting WFSM 220. The second shaft is engaged to engine gear box 200 during main engine startup and normal flight operation. During normal flight operation, WFSM 220 is a generator that supplies inverter circuit 135 with AC power. Inverter 120 of inverter circuit 135 converts the AC power from WFSM 220 to DC power. The DC power is then supplied to DC bus 101, which is connected to the high voltage bus 25 at terminal 102.
Wiegman further shows in Fig. 4 a power flow diagram for engine startup operation mode.
Par [0037] discloses because an onboard battery that provides all the power for engine startup will be large, especially when the battery is designed to perform engine start operations in cold weather conditions, a power conditioning unit consistent with the present invention is flexible with respect to power flow and will allow engine start operations to be performed using supplemental power from AC or DC ground carts. Accordingly, the onboard battery in an aircraft using the present invention can be smaller and lighter than that of the related art systems.
Applicant further argues Moreover, Wiegman fails to disclose an energy distribution system comprising at least two electrical powertrain units, each electrical powertrain unit comprising a propulsion unit powered by one or more energy storage units of the energy distribution system, each energy storage unit is configured to supply a first direct current, DC, voltage via a DC connection to the propulsion unit, the first DC voltage supplied by the energy storage unit in each powertrain unit varies depending on state of charge and the power demand from the connected propulsion unit. Instead, Wiegman refers to “engine gear box" in paragraph [0004] and "main engine startup" in paragraph [0009] as well as “engine flameout' on the aircraft’ paragraph [0032], all of which indicates that Wiegman does not deal with electrical powertrain units but with conventional jet turbine aircraft engines.
However, the Examiner has indicated that, that limitation is taught by Schulz
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
11/06/2025
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836