DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed April 24, 2026. The application has been updated accordingly.
Specification
The objection to the specification presented in the Office Action dated January 28, 2026 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quoniam et al. (2025/0083939) hereinafter Quoniam.
Quoniam discloses:
Claim 14: A lift device, comprising:
a chassis (Fig. 1; 2);
a platform configured to support an operator (Fig. 1; 3), the platform including an attachment point (Fig. 3; 10) configured to engage a lanyard (Fig. 3; 21, Para. [0075]) to secure the operator to the platform, the attachment point being a fixed hook on the platform (Fig. 5; 10);
a lift assembly (Fig. 1; 6) coupling the platform to the chassis and configured to raise the platform relative to the chassis (Para. [0064]);
a sensor (Fig. 6; 112) configured to provide sensor data indicative of engagement between the attachment point and the lanyard (Para. [0080]); and
a controller (Fig. 1; 7, Para. [0069]) operatively coupled to the sensor (Para. [0069]) and configured to:
determine, based on the sensor data, if the lanyard is engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0080]);
in response to a determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point, at least one of (a) activate an alarm to provide a notification to alert the operator that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0083-0085]) or (b) limit movement of the lift device;
determine, based on the sensor data, if the operator is wearing a harness (Fig. 3; based on the verification of the connection of 21/22, Para. [0075]) coupled to the lanyard (Para. [0075]); and
in response to a determination that the operator is not wearing the harness coupled to the lanyard, at least one of (a) control the alarm to provide a notification to alert the operator that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0083-0085]) or (b) limit the movement of the lift device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vance et al. (2015/0122579) hereinafter Vance.
Claim 17: A control method, comprising:
receiving image data from a camera having a field of view that includes a work area of a platform (Fig. 1; 130, Para. [0019]);
determining, based on the image data, if a personal protective equipment (PPE) system is securing an operator to a fixed attachment point of the platform at least by determining if a harness (Fig. 5; 510) of the PPE system is worn by the operator based on the image data (Fig. 3; Para. [0024-0028]); and
in response to a determination that the PPE system is not securing the operator to the attachment point, controlling an alarm to provide a notification to alert the operator (Para. [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quoniam et al. (2025/0083939) hereinafter Quoniam, in view of Vance et al. (2015/0122579) hereinafter Vance.
Quoniam discloses:
Claim 1: A lift device, comprising:
a chassis (Fig. 1; 2);
a platform configured to support an operator (Fig. 1; 3), the platform including an attachment point (Fig. 3; 10) configured to engage a lanyard (Fig. 3; 21, Para. [0075]) to secure the operator to the platform;
a lift assembly (Fig. 1; 6) coupling the platform to the chassis and configured to raise the platform relative to the chassis (Para. [0064]);
a sensor (Fig. 6; 112) having a field of view that includes the attachment point and configured to provide sensor data indicative of engagement between the attachment point and the lanyard (Para. [0080]);
a bracket (Fig. 6; 10) fixedly coupling the camera to the platform such that the field of view is fixed relative to the platform (Para. [0080]), wherein the platform includes a railing at least partially surrounding and defining a perimeter of a work area of the platform (Fig. 3; 19, Para. [0056]), and wherein the sensor is coupled to the bracket outside of the perimeter of the work area (Fig. 3; 112 is mounted near 10 which is outside of the perimeter created by 19); and
a controller (Fig. 1; 7, Para. [0069]) operatively coupled to the sensor (Para. [0069]) and configured to:
determine, based on the sensor data, if the lanyard is engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0080]); and
in response to a determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point, at least one of (a) activate an alarm to provide a notification to alert the operator that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0083-0085]) or (b) limit movement of the lift device.
Quoniam discloses a sensor for detecting attachment of a safety lanyard but fails to specifically disclose a camera.
However, Vance discloses a camera (Fig. 1; 130, Para. [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Quoniam to include the camera, as taught by Vance, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow a visual image of the work area and lanyard attachment location (Para. [0019]).
Claim 5: Quoniam discloses the lift device of Claim 1, wherein the attachment point is a first attachment point (Fig. 7; at 22), wherein the platform includes a second attachment point (Fig. 7; at 100), and wherein the field of view of the camera includes the first attachment point and the second attachment point (Para. [0080]).
Claim 6: Quoniam discloses a lift device, comprising:
a chassis (Fig. 1; 2);
a platform (Fig. 1; 3) configured to support a first operator, the platform including (a) a first attachment point (Fig. 7; at 22) configured to engage a first lanyard (Fig. 3; 21, Para. [0075]) to secure the first operator to the platform, the first attachment point provided at a first corner between a first horizontal rail and a first vertical rail (Fig. 3; 10 is located at the right corner created by a horizontal and a vertical member of 19);
a lift assembly (Fig. 1; 6) coupling the platform to the chassis and configured to raise the platform relative to the chassis (Para. [0064]);
a sensor (Fig. 6; 112) having a field of view that includes the first attachment point (Para. [0080]), the sensor being configured to provide sensor data indicative of engagement between the first attachment point and the first lanyard (Para. [0080]); and
a controller (Fig. 1; 7, Para. [0069]) operatively coupled to the sensor (Para. [0069]) and configured to:
determine, based on the sensor data, if the first lanyard is engaged with the first attachment point (Para. [0080]);
in response to a determination that the first lanyard is not engaged with the first attachment point, at least one of (a) activate an alarm to provide a notification to alert the operators that the first lanyard is not engaged with the first attachment point (Para. [0083-0085]) or (b) limit movement of the lift device; and
Quoniam discloses a sensor for detecting attachment of a safety lanyard but fails to specifically disclose a camera.
However, Vance discloses a camera (Fig. 1; 130, Para. [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Quoniam to include the camera, as taught by Vance, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow a visual image of the work area and lanyard attachment location (Para. [0019]).
Quoniam fails to disclose a system to identify the presence of a plurality of operators with a second restraining system.
However, Vance discloses a system to identify the presence of a plurality of operators (Para. [0019]) and a second restraining system (Fig. 1; 140, Para. [0023])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Quoniam to include the ability to identify a plurality of operators, as taught by Vance, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow a visual image of the work area and lanyard attachment location of a plurality of operators (Para. [0019]).
Claim 7: Quoniam discloses the lift device Claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to activate the alarm to provide the notification in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0083-0085]).
Claim 8: Quoniam discloses the lift device of Claim 7, wherein the notification is an auditory alert (Para. [0083]).
Claim 12: Quoniam discloses the lift device of Claim 1, wherein the attachment point defines an aperture (Fig. 5; 101) configured to receive a hook of the lanyard (Fig. 7; 22).
Claim 13: Quoniam discloses the lift device of Claim 12, wherein the attachment point is a first attachment point (Fig. 7; at 22), wherein the platform includes a railing at least partially surrounding a work area of the platform (Fig. 3; 19, Para. [0056]), and wherein the first attachment point and a second attachment point (Fig. 7; at 100) are at least partially defined by the railing (Fig. 3; 19, Para. [0056]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quoniam et al. (2025/0083939) hereinafter Quoniam, in view of Thompson et al. (11,472,685) hereinafter Thompson.
Claim 10: Quoniam discloses a lift device, comprising:
a chassis (Fig. 1; 2);
a platform configured to support an operator (Fig. 1; 3), the platform including an attachment point (Fig. 3; 10) configured to engage a lanyard (Fig. 3; 21, Para. [0075]) to secure the operator to the platform;
a lift assembly (Fig. 1; 6) coupling the platform to the chassis and configured to raise the platform relative to the chassis (Para. [0064]);
a sensor (Fig. 6; 112) configured to provide sensor data indicative of engagement between the attachment point and the lanyard (Para. [0080]); and
a controller (Fig. 1; 7, Para. [0069]) operatively coupled to the sensor (Para. [0069]) and configured to:
determine, based on the sensor data, if the lanyard is engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0080]);
but fails to disclose limiting movement of the lift device in response to a determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point;
However, Thompson discloses an interlock (Fig. 2A; 208) that couples to a control system and will limit operations of the aerial device based on detection of a lanyard connection (Col. 5, Lines 10-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Quoniam to include the interlock, as taught by Thompson, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would ensure a worker’s lanyard is connected before allowing operation in order to prevent a fall.
control the lift assembly to lower the platform in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point.
Regarding claim 10, Quoniam fails to specifically disclose controlling the lift assembly to lower the platform in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art to program controlling the lift assembly to lower the platform in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lift assembly of Quoniam to include the ability to control the lift assembly to lower the platform in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point with a reasonable expectation of success because it would lower the untethered operator to a safe location.
Claims 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vance et al. (2015/0122579) hereinafter Vance, in view of Thompson et al. (11,472,685) hereinafter Thompson.
Vance discloses:
Claim 15: A control method, comprising:
receiving image data from a camera (Fig. 1; 130) having a field of view that includes a work area of a platform (Fig. 1; Para. [0019]);
determining, based on the image data, if a personal protective equipment (PPE) system is securing an operator to a fixed attachment point of the platform (Fig. 3; Para. [0024-0028]); and
in response to a determination that the PPE system is not securing the operator to the attachment point, controlling an alarm to provide a notification to alert the operator (Para. [0032]) but fails to disclose preventing a boom assembly from lifting the platform.
However, Thompson discloses an interlock (Fig. 2A; 208) that couples to a control system and will prevent operations of the aerial device based on detection of a lanyard connection (Col. 5, Lines 10-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vance to include the interlock, as taught by Thompson, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would ensure a worker’s lanyard is connected before allowing operation in order to prevent a fall.
Claim 16: Vance discloses the control method of Claim 15, wherein determining if the PPE system is securing the operator to the attachment point includes determining if a lanyard of the PPE system is engaged with the attachment point based on the image data (Fig. 3; Para. [0024-0028]).
Claim 19: Vance discloses a control method, comprising:
receiving image data from a camera (Fig. 1; 130) having a field of view that includes a work area of a platform (Fig. 1; Para. [0019]);
identifying, based on the image data, a first operator and a second operator present within the work area (Fig. 3; Para. [0024-0028]);
determining, based on the image data, if a first harness (Fig. 5; 510) is worn by the first operator and a first lanyard is coupling the first harness to the platform (Fig. 3; Para. [0024-0028]);
determining, based on the image data, if a second harness is worn by the second operator and a second lanyard is coupling the second harness to the platform (Fig. 3; Para. [0024-0028]);
determining that a personal protective equipment (PPE) system is not operational in response to at least one of (a) a determination that the first harness is not worn by the first operator, (b) the first lanyard is not coupling the first harness to the platform (Fig. 3; Para. [0024-0028]), (c) a determination that the second harness is not worn by the second operator, or (d) the second lanyard is not coupling the second harness to the platform (Fig. 3; Para. [0024-0028]);
but fails to disclose limiting operation of a lift assembly to prevent upward movement of the platform in response to a determination that the PPE system is not operational.
However, Thompson discloses an interlock (Fig. 2A; 208) that couples to a control system and will prevent operations of the aerial device based on detection of a lanyard connection (Col. 5, Lines 10-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vance to include the interlock, as taught by Thompson, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would ensure a worker’s lanyard is connected before allowing operation in order to prevent a fall.
Claim 20: Vance discloses the control method of Claim 19, further comprising controlling an alarm to provide a notification in response to the determination that the PPE system is not operational (Para. [0032]).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quoniam et al. (2025/0083939) hereinafter Quoniam, in view of Vance et al. (2015/0122579) hereinafter Vance, and further in view of Thompson et al. (11,472,685) hereinafter Thompson.
Claim 9: Quoniam and Vance disclose the lift device Claim 1, but fail to disclose wherein the controller is configured to limit the movement of the lift device in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point.
However, Thompson discloses an interlock (Fig. 2A; 208) that couples to a control system and will prevent operations of the aerial device based on detection of a lanyard connection (Col. 5, Lines 10-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Quoniam to include the interlock, as taught by Thompson, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would ensure a worker’s lanyard is connected before allowing operation in order to prevent a fall.
Claim 11: Quoniam and Vance disclose the lift device of Claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to both (a) activate the alarm to provide the notification to alert the operator that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point (Quoniam - Para. [0083-0085]) but fails to disclose limiting the movement of the lift device in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point.
However, Thompson discloses an interlock (Fig. 2A; 208) that couples to a control system and will prevent operations of the aerial device based on detection of a lanyard connection (Col. 5, Lines 10-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Quoniam to include the interlock, as taught by Thompson, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would ensure a worker’s lanyard is connected before allowing operation in order to prevent a fall.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5-17 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kathleen M. McFarland/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
Kathleen M. McFarland
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635