DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received on August 28th, 2026. Claims 9-10, 16-18, 20-21, 27-28 have been canceled. Claims 1-5, 8, 11-15, 19, 22-26, 29 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Application 18/361,675 claim benefit of US Provisional Applications 63/468,728 (05/24/2023), 63/417,891 (10/20/2022), 63/395,572 (08/05/2022).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed August 28th, 2026, have been fully considered, but deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection which has been necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 12, 16, 19, 23, 26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montemurro et al. (US 2023/0262786 A1) in view of Chu et al. (US 20220240264 A1) in view of Gou et al. (US 2024/0430657).
Regarding claims 1, 12, 23, Montemurro et al. discloses an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) (see Figure 1a [AP MLD]) comprising: a transceiver (paragraphs 0110-0111 [AP MLD with one or more transceivers]); at least one processor including processing circuitry operably coupled to the transceiver (paragraph 0110 and Figure 9 [Processor coupled to the one or more transceivers]); memory storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least on processor individually or collectively, cause the AP MLD (see Figure 9 and paragraph 0112 [the memory 920 or mass storage 930 may have recorded thereon statements and instructions executable by the processor 910 for performing any of the aforementioned method operations described above]) to: form a link with a corresponding station (STA) of a non-AP MLD (see Figure 1a [Non-AP MLD comprising multiple STAs with a corresponding link with a respective AP]); and transmit, to the non-AP MLD, information associated with emergency preparedness communication services (EPCS) operation parameters to the link (paragraphs 0005, 0011, 0031 [NSEP/EPCS; Each NSEP service type may be associated with a corresponding parameter set used to configure the service between an AP and a non-AP STA; the frame is sent by a STA or an MLD, and the frame further includes a set of EDCA or Priority Access parameters based on a traffic characteristic of the priority service]).
Montemurro et al. discloses the new frame could be called an (NSEP) Priority Access Update frame with the same or a similar format to the NSEP Priority Access Response frame 510 when used in an unsolicited mode (paragraph 0107) and the use of an unsolicited NSEP priority access response frame or an equivalent frame provides the technical benefit of updating parameters associated with a specific priority service type during the lifetime of an established service (paragraph 0109).
Montemurro et al. does not explicitly disclose transmit, to the non-AP MLD, a actionm frame for updating the EPCS operation parameters with the non-AP MLD; and update the EPCS operation parameters with the non-AP MLD based on the action frame (Applicant’s Spec 0068 Defines Management Frame as a beacon or probe response frames).
However, Chu et al. discloses transmit, to the non-AP MLD, a action frame for updating the EPCS operation parameters with the non-AP MLD; and update the EPCS operation parameters with the non-AP MLD based on the action frame (paragraph 0070 [in one embodiment, the update of information in EDCA Parameter Set element for NSEP service is a critical update. The update of the EDCA Parameter Set element for NSEP service may be done using a Beacon frame. In one embodiment, update of the EDCA Parameter Set for NSEP is carried in broadcast Action frame]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize a beacon frame could be used to update the EDCA Parameter Set element for NSEP service during the lifetime of an established service. The motivation is to update the service parameters.
The references as combined above do not explicitly disclose wherein the action frame comprises a frame that includes a field that indicates a category, a field that indicates a protected extremely high throughput (EHT), a field that indicates a dialog token, and a field that indicates a priority access multi-link element.
However, Guo et al. discloses wherein the action frame comprises a frame that includes a field that indicates a category, a field that indicates a protected extremely high throughput (EHT), a field that indicates a dialog token, and a field that indicates a priority access multi-link element (see Table 3 and paragraphs 0164, 0178 [third parameter set response frame includes all of the above; action frame category]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize the action frame could include Category, Protected EHT action, Dialog token, and Priority access multi-link element to allow for an updated parameter set.
Regarding claims 5, 16, 26, Montemurro et al. further discloses wherein: transmit the action frame in an unsolicited mode (paragraphs 0105-0106 [unsolicited update; AP MLD 105 shall send an unsolicited response frame, such as an NSEP Priority Access Enable Response frame 510 to the MAC layer 704 of the 106 non-AP STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD 106]).
Regarding claims 8, 19, 29, Montemurro et al. further discloses wherein the action frame comprises an EPCS priority access enable response frame that includes updated values of the EPCS operation parameters (paragraph 0106 [An event triggers a change to the parameters associated with the priority access service for an existing specific service type; an AP MLD 105 shall send an unsolicited response frame, such as an NSEP Priority Access Enable Response frame 510 to the MAC layer 704 of the 106 non-AP STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD 106 ]).
Claim(s) 2-3, 13-14, 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montemurro et al. (US 2023/0262786 A1) in view of Chu et al. (US 20220240264 A1) in view of Gou et al. (US 2024/0430657) as applied to claims 1, 5, 12, 16, 23, 26 above, and further in view of IEEE P802.11 (03-2021).
Regarding claims 2, 13, 24, the references as combined above do not explicitly disclose transmit, to the nonAP-MLD, a teardown message for tearing down the EPCS operation parameters for the corresponding non-AP MLD, determine that the EPCS operation parameters have been torn down, and setup updated EPCS operation parameters with the non-AP MLD.
IEEE P802.11 discloses transmit a teardown message for tearing down the EPCS operation parameters for the non-AP MLD (page 13 [The NSEP Priority Access Teardown frame is an Action frame of category Protected EHT. It is transmitted by an MLD or EHT non-AP STA to disable NSEP priority access]), determine that the EPCS operation parameters have been torn down (page 15 [The teardown operation follows the similar procedure except it does not require a response, suggesting a response could be sent, though not required]), and setup updated EPCS operation parameters with the non-AP MLD (page 17 [The initiating AP MLD shall transmit an NSEP Priority Access Enable Request frame (9.6.36.2 NSEP Priority Access Enable Request frame details) to an associated non-AP MLD or EHT non-AP STA with dot11EHTNSEPPriorityAccessActivated set to true]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize an AP MLD could send a teardown message and enable request frame as shown by IEEE P802.11 in order to update the new parameters.
Regarding claims 3, 14, 25, the references as combined above do not explicitly disclose receive a teardown message from the non-AP MLD for tearing down the EPCS operation parameters for the non-AP MLD, determine that the EPCS operation parameters have been torn down, and setup updated EPCS operation parameters with the non-AP MLD.
IEEE P802.11 discloses receive a teardown message from the non-AP MLD for tearing down the EPCS operation parameters for the non-AP MLD (page 13 [The NSEP Priority Access Teardown frame is an Action frame of category Protected EHT. It is transmitted by an MLD or EHT non-AP STA to disable NSEP priority access]), determine that the EPCS operation parameters have been torn down (page 15 [The teardown operation follows the similar procedure except it does not require a response, suggesting a response could be sent, though not required]), and setup updated EPCS operation parameters with the non-AP MLD (page 17 [The initiating AP MLD shall transmit an NSEP Priority Access Enable Request frame (9.6.36.2 NSEP Priority Access Enable Request frame details) to an associated non-AP MLD or EHT non-AP STA with dot11EHTNSEPPriorityAccessActivated set to true]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize an AP MLD could send a teardown message and enable request frame as shown by IEEE P802.11 in order to update the new parameters.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11, 15, 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not explicitly disclose or make obvious:
Regarding claims 4, 15, wherein: the EPCS operation parameters transmitted to the corresponding STA need to be updated, and to determine the procedure for updating the EPCS operation parameters; the processor is configured to: generate a first management frame indicating that the AP MLD no longer has EPCS capability, determine that the EPCS operation parameters have been torn down, generate a second management frame indicating that the AP MLD again has EPCS capability, and setup updated EPCS operation parameters with the corresponding STA.
Regarding claims 11, 22, wherein: the EPCS operation parameters transmitted to the corresponding STA need to be updated, and to determine the procedure for updating the EPCS operation parameters, the processor is configured to: generate multiple sets of EPCS operation parameters for the corresponding STA, generate a message indicating which of the multiple sets of EPCS operation parameters is currently in use; and based on the message indicating which of the multiple sets of EPCS operation parameters is currently in use, setup updated EPCS operation parameters with the corresponding STA.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465