Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 09/15/2022. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) was submitted on (05/22/2024). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 12-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Austria et al (U.S. Pub. NO. 11912233).
With regard to claim 1, Austria discloses an electronic device comprising: one or more input devices; (The reference discloses the sensor is configured to have an input response time of between about 0 seconds and about 1 second.) (Austria, Col 6 Line 5-10)
one or more actuators; (The reference discloses the door actuator) (Austria, Col 2 Line 10-20)
memory; (The reference discloses the door interface system may include a processor and memory configured to process the data collected from the sensors) (Austria, Col 4 Line 30-55)
and one or more processors coupled to the one or more input devices, the one or more actuators, and the memory, the one or more processors configured to: (The reference discloses the door interface system 100 may include a processor and memory configured to process the data collected from the sensors 106, 108, 110, and sending and/or signals to the actuating system for the door.) (Austria, Col 4 Line 30-55)
receive, using the one or more input devices, an input; in response to receiving the input: (The reference discloses at operation 602, the door interface system 100 is configured to receive an input.) (Austria, Col 7 Line 10-20)
in accordance with a determination that one or more context criteria are satisfied, articulate the one or more actuators in accordance with the input; (The reference discloses at operation 602, the door interface system 100 has not detected an input. As shown in operations 604 and 608 below, the door interface system 100 detects an input when an object 612, such as a human hand or finger, is moved into proximity of the exterior surface 304 of the door 102 or front surface 302 of the door interface system 100.) (Austria, Col 7 Line 10-40)
and in accordance with a determination that one or more context criteria are not satisfied, forgo articulating the one or more actuators in accordance with the input. (The reference discloses at operation 602, the door interface system 100 has not detected an input. As shown in operations 604 and 608 below, the door interface system 100 detects an input when an object 612, such as a human hand or finger, is moved into proximity of the exterior surface 304 of the door 102 or front surface 302 of the door interface system 100. Explicitly describes a situation where an input is absent or not detected, in this system, the context criteria require the detection of a specific input before proceeding. When the system determines that an input has not been detected, the criteria are not satisfied, and the system forgoes articulating the actuators, as demonstrated by the diagram's flow..) (Austria, Col 7 Line 10-40)
With regard to claim 2, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Austria discloses wherein the one or more context criteria include a criterion that is satisfied based on a current location of the electronic device. (The reference discloses the localization component 730 can include and/or request/receive a map of an environment and can continuously determine a location and/or orientation of the autonomous vehicle within the map. In some instances, the localization component 730 can utilize SLAM (simultaneous localization and mapping), CLAMS (calibration, localization and mapping, simultaneously), relative SLAM, bundle adjustment, non-linear least squares optimization, or the like to receive image data, LIDAR data, radar data, IMU data, GPS data, wheel encoder data, and the like to accurately determine a location of the autonomous vehicle. In some instances, the localization component 730 can provide data to various components of the vehicle 702 to determine an initial position of an autonomous vehicle for generating a candidate trajectory.) (Austria, Col 9 Line 1-15)
With regard to claim 3, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Austria discloses wherein the one or more context criteria include a criterion that is satisfied based on a current speed of movement of the electronic device. (The reference discloses a velocity of the entity, an acceleration of the entity, an extent of the entity (size)) (Austria, Col 9 Line 30-39)
With regard to claim 4, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Austria discloses wherein the one or more context criteria include a criterion that is satisfied based on a determination, using sensed data, that the electronic device is located at one of a plurality of recognized scenes. (The reference discloses Characteristics associated with the environment can include, but are not limited to, a presence of another entity in the environment, a state of another entity in the environment, a time of day, a day of a week, a season, a weather condition, an indication of darkness/light, etc.) (Austria, Col 9 Line 34-39)
With regard to claim 5, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Austria discloses one or more cameras, (The reference discloses cameras) (Austria, Col 4 Line 3-4)
wherein the one or more context criteria include a criterion that is satisfied based on identifying an object included in an image of current surroundings of the electronic device captured using the one or more cameras. (The reference discloses the image recognition component 740 can include functionality to identify one or more persons, buildings, locations, and the like, in data captured by sensors on the vehicle 702 and/or in data provided to the vehicle 702.) (Austria, Col 10 Line 39-45)
With regard to claim 7, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Austria discloses the actuator is an actuator to open a door controlled by the electronic device; (The reference discloses vehicle door actuator systems are configured to transition the door between an open position providing access to an interior space of the vehicle and a closed position blocking access to the interior space.) (Austria, Col 10 Line 10-20)
the one or more input devices include a motion sensor; (The reference discloses the object 612 is moved away from the proximity sensor 106 until it reaches a deactivation range 618. When the proximity sensor 106 detects that the object 612 has entered the deactivation range 618, or when the proximity sensor 106 no longer detects an object 612 within the activation range 616, the door interface system registers a deactivation event.) (Austria, Col 7 Line 55-65)
and receiving the input includes detecting, using the motion sensor, motion data corresponding to a request to open the door. (The reference discloses the perception component 732 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 702 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type) (Austria, Col 9 Line 45-55)
With regard to claim 12, Austria discloses A method performed at an electronic device including one or more input devices, one or more actuators, memory, and one or more processors coupled to the one or more input devices, the one or more actuators, and the memory, the method comprising: (The reference discloses the sensor is configured to have an input response time of between about 0 seconds and about 1 second. Also discloses the door actuator and the door interface system may include a processor and memory configured to process the data collected from the sensors) (Austria, Col 2 Line 10-20, Col 4 Line 30-55, Col 6 Line 5-10)
receiving, using the one or more input devices, an input; in response to receiving the input: (The reference discloses at operation 602, the door interface system 100 is configured to receive an input.) (Austria, Col 7 Line 10-20)
in accordance with a determination that one or more context criteria are satisfied, articulating the one or more actuators in accordance with the input; (The reference discloses at operation 602, the door interface system 100 has not detected an input. As shown in operations 604 and 608 below, the door interface system 100 detects an input when an object 612, such as a human hand or finger, is moved into proximity of the exterior surface 304 of the door 102 or front surface 302 of the door interface system 100.) (Austria, Col 7 Line 10-40)
and in accordance with a determination that one or more context criteria are not satisfied, forgoing articulating the one or more actuators in accordance with the input. (The reference discloses at operation 602, the door interface system 100 has not detected an input. As shown in operations 604 and 608 below, the door interface system 100 detects an input when an object 612, such as a human hand or finger, is moved into proximity of the exterior surface 304 of the door 102 or front surface 302 of the door interface system 100.) (Austria, Col 7 Line 10-40)
With regard to claim 13, Austria discloses A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by an electronic device including one or more input devices, one or more actuators, memory, (The reference discloses the sensor is configured to have an input response time of between about 0 seconds and about 1 second. Also discloses the door actuator and the door interface system may include a processor and memory configured to process the data collected from the sensors) (Austria, Col 2 Line 10-20, Col 4 Line 30-55, Col 6 Line 5-10)
and one or more processors coupled to the one or more input devices, the one or more actuators, cause the electronic device to: (The reference discloses the door interface system 100 may include a processor and memory configured to process the data collected from the sensors 106, 108, 110, and sending and/or signals to the actuating system for the door.) (Austria, Col 4 Line 30-55)
receive, using the one or more input devices, an input; in response to receiving the input: (The reference discloses at operation 602, the door interface system 100 is configured to receive an input.) (Austria, Col 7 Line 10-20)
in accordance with a determination that one or more context criteria are satisfied, articulate the one or more actuators in accordance with the input; (The reference discloses at operation 602, the door interface system 100 has not detected an input. As shown in operations 604 and 608 below, the door interface system 100 detects an input when an object 612, such as a human hand or finger, is moved into proximity of the exterior surface 304 of the door 102 or front surface 302 of the door interface system 100.) (Austria, Col 7 Line 10-40)
and in accordance with a determination that one or more context criteria are not satisfied, forgo articulating the one or more actuators in accordance with the input. (The reference discloses at operation 602, the door interface system 100 has not detected an input. As shown in operations 604 and 608 below, the door interface system 100 detects an input when an object 612, such as a human hand or finger, is moved into proximity of the exterior surface 304 of the door 102 or front surface 302 of the door interface system 100. Explicitly describes a situation where an input is absent or not detected, in this system, the context criteria require the detection of a specific input before proceeding. When the system determines that an input has not been detected, the criteria are not satisfied, and the system forgoes articulating the actuators, as demonstrated by the diagram's flow..) (Austria, Col 7 Line 10-40)
With regard to claim 14, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Austria discloses wherein the electronic device further includes one or more cameras, and the one or more context criteria include a criterion that is satisfied based on identifying an object included in an image of current surroundings of the electronic device captured using the one or more cameras. (The reference discloses the image recognition component 740 can include functionality to identify one or more persons, buildings, locations, and the like, in data captured by sensors on the vehicle 702 and/or in data provided to the vehicle 702.) (Austria, Col 10 Line 39-45)
With regard to claim 16, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Austria discloses the actuator is an actuator to open a door controlled by the electronic device; (The reference discloses vehicle door actuator systems are configured to transition the door between an open position providing access to an interior space of the vehicle and a closed position blocking access to the interior space.) (Austria, Col 10 Line 10-20)
the one or more input devices include a motion sensor; (The reference discloses the object 612 is moved away from the proximity sensor 106 until it reaches a deactivation range 618. When the proximity sensor 106 detects that the object 612 has entered the deactivation range 618, or when the proximity sensor 106 no longer detects an object 612 within the activation range 616, the door interface system registers a deactivation event.) (Austria, Col 7 Line 55-65)
and receiving the input includes detecting, using the motion sensor, motion data corresponding to a request to open the door. (The reference discloses the perception component 732 can provide processed sensor data that indicates a presence of an entity that is proximate to the vehicle 702 and/or a classification of the entity as an entity type) (Austria, Col 9 Line 45-55)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8-9, 15, 17-18 are rejected under35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Austria et al. (U.S. Pub. NO. 11912233), as applied to independent claim 1 above, in view Zalan et al. (U.S. Pub. NO. 2013/0076059).
With regard to claim 6, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Austria discloses the actuator is an actuator to open a door controlled by the electronic device; (The reference discloses vehicle door actuator systems are configured to transition the door between an open position providing access to an interior space of the vehicle and a closed position blocking access to the interior space.) (Austria, Col 10 Line 10-20)
However, Austria does not teach the one or more input devices include a door handle sensor; and the input corresponds to a request to open the door.
Zalan teaches the one or more input devices include a door handle sensor; (The reference teaches the switch may be mounted within the vehicle passenger cabin. The switch may be a soft button on a touch-screen display. The switch may be remotely and wirelessly activated. the latching assembly may further comprise a magnetic flux sensor (e.g., a reed switch or a Hall sensor) coupled to a sensor circuit, where the sensor circuit outputs a first control signal when the door is closed and the ferromagnetic member is adjacent to the latching assembly, and outputs a second control signal when the door is open and the ferromagnetic member is not adjacent to the latching assembly. thus, allowing the port door to be opened using a button on a key fob or using a proximity detection system (e.g., RFID)) (Zalan, [010-011], [024])
and the input corresponds to a request to open the door. (The reference teaches the switch may be mounted within the vehicle passenger cabin. The switch may be a soft button on a touch-screen display. The switch may be remotely and wirelessly activated. the latching assembly may further comprise a magnetic flux sensor (e.g., a reed switch or a Hall sensor) coupled to a sensor circuit, where the sensor circuit outputs a first control signal when the door is closed and the ferromagnetic member is adjacent to the latching assembly, and outputs a second control signal when the door is open and the ferromagnetic member is not adjacent to the latching assembly. thus, allowing the port door to be opened using a button on a key fob or using a proximity detection system (e.g., RFID)) (Zalan, [010-011], [024])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator is an actuator to open a door controlled by the electronic device disclosed by Austria to include the one or more input devices include a door handle sensor; and the input corresponds to a request to open the door of Zalan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to combine the actuator system of Austria with the door handle sensor and input request of Zalan to improve convenience and user experience. By integrating a door handle sensor into the electronic door control system, a user could open the vehicle door simply by interacting with the handle, rather than relying on a separate button or remote key fob. This combination would provide a more intuitive and seamless operation for accessing the vehicle, combining the robust actuator mechanism described in Austria with the user-centric input method described in Zalan. This modification would not present any undue technical challenge, as both references relate to automotive access systems, and the combination would represent a predictable combination of known elements to achieve a known result a more convenient way to open a vehicle door as suggested by Zalan at [010-011], [024].
With regard to claim 8, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Zalan discloses the actuator is an actuator controlling access of a charging port of the electronic device; (The reference discloses FIG. 2 provides an external side view of the lamp assembly of the vehicle shown in FIG. 1 with the charge port access door closed. The present invention provides a door latching system for the door covering the charge port of an electric vehicle) (Zalan, FIG. 2-3, [008], [014-015])
and the input corresponds to a request to access the charging port. (The reference discloses the door latching system is comprised of a ferromagnetic member, e.g., a ferromagnetic metal or composite, attached to an interior surface of the door, and a latching assembly integrated into the port housing, where the latching assembly includes an assembly case, an electromagnet, and a permanent magnet.) (Zalan, [009])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified A door interface system, The door interface system is configured to control the vehicle door based at least in part on detecting an object proximate the visual indicator disclosed by Austria to include the wherein the actuator is an actuator controlling access to a fuel door controlled by the electronic device; and the input corresponds to a request to access the fuel door disclosed by Austria to include the the actuator is an actuator controlling access of a charging port of the electronic device; and the input corresponds to a request to access the charging port of Zalan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to because using an actuator to control a charging port door, as disclosed by Zalan, is functionally and structurally a direct equivalent to using an actuator to control a fuel door. In the context of vehicle design, both fuel doors and charging port doors are small exterior access panels that require a controlled locking/unlocking mechanism. As electric vehicles became more prevalent, a person skilled in the art would find it an obvious substitution of parts to adapt an existing door interface and latching system designed for a conventional fuel door to function with an electric vehicle's charging port door. The motivation is to apply existing, known design principles for automated access panels to a modern vehicle component, ensuring consistency in user interface and leveraging established engineering solutions for secure and automated access to a vehicle's energy receptacle as suggested by Zalan at [FIG. 2-3, [008-009], [014-015].
With regard to claim 9, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Zalan discloses wherein the actuator is an actuator controlling access to a fuel door controlled by the electronic device; (The reference discloses a charge port door 101 integrated within a vehicle 100. In this exemplary embodiment, the charge port door is integrated into the rear vehicle lamp and reflector assembly 103 and utilizes the latching mechanism of the present invention. It should be understood, however, that the present invention is not limited to such a configuration and that the latching system of the invention is equally applicable to a charge port door mounted at another vehicle location, such as the front or rear fender panel, or another vehicle body member. Similarly, it will be appreciated that while the latching mechanism is illustrated with a charge port door (i.e., charge port door 101), it may also be used with a conventional fuel filler door.) (Zalan, [021])
and the input corresponds to a request to access the fuel door. (The reference discloses a charge port door 101 integrated within a vehicle 100. In this exemplary embodiment, the charge port door is integrated into the rear vehicle lamp and reflector assembly 103 and utilizes the latching mechanism of the present invention. It should be understood, however, that the present invention is not limited to such a configuration and that the latching system of the invention is equally applicable to a charge port door mounted at another vehicle location, such as the front or rear fender panel, or another vehicle body member. Similarly, it will be appreciated that while the latching mechanism is illustrated with a charge port door (i.e., charge port door 101), it may also be used with a conventional fuel filler door.) (Zalan, [021])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified A door interface system, The door interface system is configured to control the vehicle door based at least in part on detecting an object proximate the visual indicator disclosed by Austria to include the wherein the actuator is an actuator controlling access to a fuel door controlled by the electronic device; and the input corresponds to a request to access the fuel door of Zalan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to to ensure design flexibility and applicability across different vehicle types (e.g., internal combustion engine vehicles and electric vehicles). Zalan explicitly teaches that the disclosed latching mechanism, while illustrated with a charge port door, is "equally applicable to a charge port door mounted at another vehicle location, such as the front or rear fender panel, or another vehicle body member" and "may also be used with a conventional fuel filler door" [021]. This express teaching provides a clear suggestion to a person skilled in the art to interchange the application of the actuator and associated control system between a charging port and a fuel door. The motivation is to provide a versatile door interface system that can be readily integrated into various vehicle platforms without significant redesign, thereby optimizing manufacturing processes and leveraging existing technological solutions for different, yet functionally similar, vehicle access points as suggested by Zalan at [021].
With regard to claim 15, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Zalan discloses the actuator is an actuator to open a door controlled by the electronic device; (The reference discloses vehicle door actuator systems are configured to transition the door between an open position providing access to an interior space of the vehicle and a closed position blocking access to the interior space.) (Austria, Col 10 Line 10-20)
However, Austria does not teach the one or more input devices include a door handle sensor; and the input corresponds to a request to open the door.
Zalan teaches the one or more input devices include a door handle sensor; (The reference teaches the switch may be mounted within the vehicle passenger cabin. The switch may be a soft button on a touch-screen display. The switch may be remotely and wirelessly activated. the latching assembly may further comprise a magnetic flux sensor (e.g., a reed switch or a Hall sensor) coupled to a sensor circuit, where the sensor circuit outputs a first control signal when the door is closed and the ferromagnetic member is adjacent to the latching assembly, and outputs a second control signal when the door is open and the ferromagnetic member is not adjacent to the latching assembly. thus, allowing the port door to be opened using a button on a key fob or using a proximity detection system (e.g., RFID)) (Zalan, [010-011], [024])
and the input corresponds to a request to open the door. (The reference teaches the switch may be mounted within the vehicle passenger cabin. The switch may be a soft button on a touch-screen display. The switch may be remotely and wirelessly activated. the latching assembly may further comprise a magnetic flux sensor (e.g., a reed switch or a Hall sensor) coupled to a sensor circuit, where the sensor circuit outputs a first control signal when the door is closed and the ferromagnetic member is adjacent to the latching assembly, and outputs a second control signal when the door is open and the ferromagnetic member is not adjacent to the latching assembly. thus, allowing the port door to be opened using a button on a key fob or using a proximity detection system (e.g., RFID)) (Zalan, [010-011], [024])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator is an actuator to open a door controlled by the electronic device disclosed by Austria to include the one or more input devices include a door handle sensor; and the input corresponds to a request to open the door of Zalan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to combine the actuator system of Austria with the door handle sensor and input request of Zalan to improve convenience and user experience. By integrating a door handle sensor into the electronic door control system, a user could open the vehicle door simply by interacting with the handle, rather than relying on a separate button or remote key fob. This combination would provide a more intuitive and seamless operation for accessing the vehicle, combining the robust actuator mechanism described in Austria with the user-centric input method described in Zalan. This modification would not present any undue technical challenge, as both references relate to automotive access systems, and the combination would represent a predictable combination of known elements to achieve a known result a more convenient way to open a vehicle door as suggested by Zalan at [010-011], [024].
With regard to claim 17, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Austria discloses the actuator is an actuator controlling access of a charging port of the electronic device; (The reference discloses FIG. 2 provides an external side view of the lamp assembly of the vehicle shown in FIG. 1 with the charge port access door closed. The present invention provides a door latching system for the door covering the charge port of an electric vehicle) (Austria, FIG. 2-3, [008], [014-015])
and the input corresponds to a request to access the charging port. (The reference discloses the door latching system is comprised of a ferromagnetic member, e.g., a ferromagnetic metal or composite, attached to an interior surface of the door, and a latching assembly integrated into the port housing, where the latching assembly includes an assembly case, an electromagnet, and a permanent magnet.) (Austria, [009])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified A door interface system, The door interface system is configured to control the vehicle door based at least in part on detecting an object proximate the visual indicator disclosed by Austria to include the wherein the actuator is an actuator controlling access to a fuel door controlled by the electronic device; and the input corresponds to a request to access the fuel door disclosed by Austria to include the the actuator is an actuator controlling access of a charging port of the electronic device; and the input corresponds to a request to access the charging port of Zalan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to to ensure the design's flexibility and applicability across different vehicle types, specifically adapting from a generic or fuel door application to a charging port application. Zalan explicitly notes that its latching system, while demonstrated with a charge port door, is "equally applicable" to a "conventional fuel filler door" and can be mounted at various vehicle locations [021]. This explicit teaching provides clear motivation to adapt the mechanism for a charging port, especially with the rise of electric vehicles. A skilled person would recognize the functional equivalence of controlling access to a fuel filler versus a charging port and would find it an obvious design choice to substitute one for the other within the broader context of an automated vehicle access system. The motivation is to provide a versatile, reliable, and modern system that can be readily integrated into diverse vehicle platforms efficiently as suggested by Zalan at [FIG. 2-3, [008-009], [014-015].
With regard to claim 18, Zalan discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Zalan discloses the actuator is an actuator controlling access to a fuel door controlled by the electronic device; (The reference discloses a charge port door 101 integrated within a vehicle 100. In this exemplary embodiment, the charge port door is integrated into the rear vehicle lamp and reflector assembly 103 and utilizes the latching mechanism of the present invention. It should be understood, however, that the present invention is not limited to such a configuration and that the latching system of the invention is equally applicable to a charge port door mounted at another vehicle location, such as the front or rear fender panel, or another vehicle body member. Similarly, it will be appreciated that while the latching mechanism is illustrated with a charge port door (i.e., charge port door 101), it may also be used with a conventional fuel filler door.) (Zalan, [021])
and the input corresponds to a request to access the fuel door. (The reference discloses a charge port door 101 integrated within a vehicle 100. In this exemplary embodiment, the charge port door is integrated into the rear vehicle lamp and reflector assembly 103 and utilizes the latching mechanism of the present invention. It should be understood, however, that the present invention is not limited to such a configuration and that the latching system of the invention is equally applicable to a charge port door mounted at another vehicle location, such as the front or rear fender panel, or another vehicle body member. Similarly, it will be appreciated that while the latching mechanism is illustrated with a charge port door (i.e., charge port door 101), it may also be used with a conventional fuel filler door.) (Zalan, [021])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified A door interface system, The door interface system is configured to control the vehicle door based at least in part on detecting an object proximate the visual indicator disclosed by Austria to include the wherein the actuator is an actuator controlling access to a fuel door controlled by the electronic device; and the input corresponds to a request to access the fuel door of Zalan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to o ensure the design's flexibility and applicability across different vehicle types (e.g., internal combustion engine vehicles and electric vehicles). Zalan explicitly teaches that the disclosed latching mechanism, while illustrated with a charge port door, is "equally applicable to a charge port door mounted at another vehicle location, such as the front or rear fender panel, or another vehicle body member" and "may also be used with a conventional fuel filler door" [021]. This express teaching provides a clear suggestion to a person skilled in the art to interchange the application of the actuator and associated control system between a charging port and a fuel door. The motivation is to provide a versatile door interface system that can be readily integrated into various vehicle platforms without significant redesign, thereby optimizing manufacturing processes and leveraging established technological solutions for different, yet functionally similar, vehicle access points as suggested by Zalan at [021].
Claims 10, 19 are rejected under35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Austria et al. (U.S. Pub. NO. 11912233), as applied to independent claim 1 above, in view Salter et al. (U.S. Pub. NO. 2018/0229691).
With regard to claim 10, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Salter discloses the one or more input devices include a water sensor; (The reference discloses the wiper system may further monitor each of the rain sensors.) (Salter, [020])
the actuator is an actuator to activate wipers controlled by the electronic device in accordance with moisture data sensed using the water sensor; (The reference discloses In an exemplary embodiment, the wiper system 12 corresponds to an automatic wiper system configured to activate one or more moving components in response to a detection of moisture or rain detected by at least one rain sensor) (Salter, [013])
and receiving the input includes detecting, using the water sensor, moisture data corresponding to activation of the wipers. (The reference discloses In an exemplary embodiment, the wiper system 12 corresponds to an automatic wiper system configured to activate one or more moving components in response to a detection of moisture or rain detected by at least one rain sensor) (Salter, [013])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified A door interface system, The door interface system is configured to control the vehicle door based at least in part on detecting an object proximate the visual indicator disclosed by Austria to include the one or more input devices include a water sensor; the actuator is an actuator to activate wipers controlled by the electronic device in accordance with moisture data sensed using the water sensor; and receiving the input includes detecting, using the water sensor, moisture data corresponding to activation of the wipers of Salter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to expand the functionality and automation of the vehicle's control system by integrating environmental awareness. Austria discloses a door interface system that uses proximity sensors and visual indicators to control vehicle access, while Salter discloses a system that uses a water (rain) sensor to automatically control wipers [013, 020]. A person skilled in the art would recognize the value of combining these control paradigms to create a more comprehensive and context-aware vehicle control system. For example, the system could be configured to automatically close all doors/windows or perform other safety functions in response to detected moisture (rain). The motivation would be to enhance user convenience, safety, and vehicle autonomy by enabling the electronic control unit to manage various actuators (door, wipers, etc.) based on a broader range of sensor inputs, specifically environmental conditions like rain. This represents a predictable design choice in the field of automotive automation aimed at creating a more integrated and "smart" vehicle system as suggested by Salter at [013], [020].
With regard to claim 19, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. However, Salter discloses the one or more input devices include a water sensor; (The reference discloses the wiper system may further monitor each of the rain sensors.) (Salter, [020])
the actuator is an actuator to activate wipers controlled by the electronic device in accordance with moisture data sensed using the water sensor; (The reference discloses in an exemplary embodiment, the wiper system 12 corresponds to an automatic wiper system configured to activate one or more moving components in response to a detection of moisture or rain detected by at least one rain sensor) (Salter, [013])
and receiving the input includes detecting, using the water sensor, moisture data corresponding to activation of the wipers. (The reference discloses in an exemplary embodiment, the wiper system 12 corresponds to an automatic wiper system configured to activate one or more moving components in response to a detection of moisture or rain detected by at least one rain sensor) (Salter, [013])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified A door interface system, The door interface system is configured to control the vehicle door based at least in part on detecting an object proximate the visual indicator disclosed by Austria to include the one or more input devices include a water sensor; the actuator is an actuator to activate wipers controlled by the electronic device in accordance with moisture data sensed using the water sensor; and receiving the input includes detecting, using the water sensor, moisture data corresponding to activation of the wipers of Salter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification o expand the functionality and automation of the vehicle's control system by integrating environmental awareness. Austria discloses a door interface system that uses proximity sensors and visual indicators to control vehicle access, while Salter discloses a system that uses a water (rain) sensor to automatically control wipers. A person skilled in the art would recognize the value of combining these control paradigms to create a more comprehensive and context-aware vehicle control system. For example, the system could be configured to automatically close all doors/windows or perform other safety functions in response to detected moisture (rain). The motivation would be to enhance user convenience, safety, and vehicle autonomy by enabling the electronic control unit to manage various actuators (door, wipers, etc.) based on a broader range of sensor inputs, specifically environmental conditions like rain. This represents a predictable design choice in the field of automotive automation aimed at creating a more integrated and "smart" vehicle system as suggested by Salter at [013], [020].
Claims 11, 20 are rejected under35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Austria et al. (U.S. Pub. NO. 11912233), as applied to independent claim 1 above, in view Ryu et al. (U.S. Pub. NO. 2010/0017071).
With regard to claim 11, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Ryu discloses the actuator is an actuator to reposition a mirror controlled by the electronic device in accordance with an input received using the one or more input devices; (The reference discloses the mirror actuation assembly includes an actuator or electric motor device capable of transforming electrical signals into a mechanical force, most commonly a torque applied to an output shaft. The mirrors are mechanically attached to the output of the actuator through a mechanical means, such as a threaded shaft assembly, a cam device, or other methods well known in the art. Two or more actuators are frequently used to enable adjustment of the mirror in a plurality of directions, for example, as referenced by a horizontal and vertical plane.) (Ryu, [031])
and the input corresponds to a request to reposition the mirror. (The reference discloses the mirror actuation assembly includes an actuator or electric motor device capable of transforming electrical signals into a mechanical force, most commonly a torque applied to an output shaft. The mirrors are mechanically attached to the output of the actuator through a mechanical means, such as a threaded shaft assembly, a cam device, or other methods well known in the art. Two or more actuators are frequently used to enable adjustment of the mirror in a plurality of directions, for example, as referenced by a horizontal and vertical plane.) (Ryu, [031])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified A door interface system, The door interface system is configured to control the vehicle door based at least in part on detecting an object proximate the visual indicator disclosed by Austria to include the actuator is an actuator to reposition a mirror controlled by the electronic device in accordance with an input received using the one or more input devices; and the input corresponds to a request to reposition the mirror of Ryu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to expand the functional scope of the vehicle's electronic control system to manage additional, common vehicle components, specifically side mirrors. Austria teaches a system for controlling a door interface based on sensor inputs, while Ryu teaches the use of actuators to reposition vehicle mirrors in response to inputs. A person skilled in the art would recognize that both systems utilize a core electronic control unit managing actuators based on various inputs (proximity sensors in Austria, user controls/inputs in Ryu). Integrating the mirror control function into the same or an interconnected electronic device, as suggested by combining the two references, is a standard design practice in automotive engineering aimed at centralizing control, simplifying wiring harnesses, and creating a unified user interface. The motivation is to improve manufacturing efficiency and provide a more integrated, comprehensive control system for the vehicle's various automated functions as suggested by Ryu at [031].
With regard to claim 20, Austria discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. However, Ryu discloses the actuator is an actuator to reposition a mirror controlled by the electronic device in accordance with an input received using the one or more input devices; (The reference discloses the mirror actuation assembly includes an actuator or electric motor device capable of transforming electrical signals into a mechanical force, most commonly a torque applied to an output shaft. The mirrors are mechanically attached to the output of the actuator through a mechanical means, such as a threaded shaft assembly, a cam device, or other methods well known in the art. Two or more actuators are frequently used to enable adjustment of the mirror in a plurality of directions, for example, as referenced by a horizontal and vertical plane.) (Ryu, [031])
and the input corresponds to a request to reposition the mirror. (The reference discloses the mirror actuation assembly includes an actuator or electric motor device capable of transforming electrical signals into a mechanical force, most commonly a torque applied to an output shaft. The mirrors are mechanically attached to the output of the actuator through a mechanical means, such as a threaded shaft assembly, a cam device, or other methods well known in the art. Two or more actuators are frequently used to enable adjustment of the mirror in a plurality of directions, for example, as referenced by a horizontal and vertical plane.) (Ryu, [031])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified A door interface system, The door interface system is configured to control the vehicle door based at least in part on detecting an object proximate the visual indicator disclosed by Austria to include the actuator is an actuator to reposition a mirror controlled by the electronic device in accordance with an input received using the one or more input devices; and the input corresponds to a request to reposition the mirror of Ryu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to to expand the functional scope of the vehicle's electronic control system to manage additional, common vehicle components, specifically side mirrors. Austria teaches a system for controlling a door interface based on sensor inputs, while Ryu teaches the use of actuators to reposition vehicle mirrors in response to inputs. A person skilled in the art would recognize that both systems utilize a core electronic control unit managing actuators based on various inputs (proximity sensors in Austria, user controls/inputs in Ryu). Integrating the mirror control function into the same or an interconnected electronic device, as suggested by combining the two references, is a standard design practice in automotive engineering aimed at centralizing control, simplifying wiring harnesses, and creating a unified user interface. The motivation is to improve manufacturing efficiency and provide a more integrated, comprehensive control system for the vehicle's various automated functions as suggested by Ryu at [031].
Conclusion
/ALI J BAKKAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
11/5/25