DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “to support a cycle thereon” in lines 10-11 should be corrected as --to support [[a]]the cycle thereon--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the main frame” in line 11 should be corrected as --the elongated main frame--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the elongated mainframe” in line 2 should be corrected as --the elongated [[mainframe]]main frame--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “to support a cycle thereon” in line 10 should be corrected as --to support [[a]]the cycle thereon--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the main frame” in line 11 should be corrected as --the elongated main frame--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the elongated mainframe” in line 2 should be corrected as --the elongated [[mainframe]]main frame--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a locking mechanism configured to engage a portion of the cycle and secure the cycle to the upper cycle mount” in claims 1 and 12.
A review of the specification, para[0041] shows that a locking mechanism may include peg bolts, wherein the peg bolts may, for example, be single bolts and/or U-bolts, etc., and as seen in figures. Therefore, for examination purposes, the term, “a locking mechanism” has been interpreted to be single bolts, U-bolts, etc. or equivalents thereof, as best understood from the originally filed specification and drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ressler et al (US 9,221,402 B2).
Regarding claim 1¸ Ressler et al (‘402) discloses an adjustable cycle rack 10 (col.3 line65) for one or more cycles, configured to be selectively used with multiple different sized cycles, and configured to be used during transport and after transport, the adjustable cycle rack comprising: an elongated main frame 18 (col.4 line2); and a first jackstand 50 (fig2, one on a left end of the elongated main frame 18, col.5 lines4-5) coupled to a first end (a left end) of the elongated main frame 18, and a second jackstand 50 (fig2, one on a right end of the elongated main frame 18, col.5 lines4-5) coupled to a second end (a right end) of the elongated main frame 18; each of the first and second jackstands 50 comprising a lifter frame 46 (col.5 lines19-20, a lifter 58 (col.5 line18) carried by the lifter frame 46 and adjustable to a selected height (col.5 lines22-27), an upper cycle mount 62 (col.5 line21) coupled to the lifter 58 and configured to support the cycle thereon at the selected height (col.5 lines22-27), and a locking mechanism 86 (col.6 line3, figs7-8; As aforementioned, a locking mechanism is interpreted as single bolts, U-bolts, etc., or equivalents thereof. In this case, a locking mechanism 86 taught by Ressler et al is shaped and performs similar to U-bolts.) configured to engage a portion of the cycle and secure the cycle to the upper cycle mount 62 (figs7-8).
Regarding claim 5¸ Ressler et al discloses the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 1, wherein the upper cycle mount 62 comprises a mounting plate 62 (fig2).
Regarding claim 6¸ Ressler et al discloses the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 5, wherein the mounting plate 62 comprises at least one bumper (inclined end portions) on a top surface thereof.
Regarding claim 9¸ Ressler et al discloses the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 1, wherein the main frame 18 includes at least one floor coupler 35 (col.4 line44).
Regarding claim 11¸ Ressler et al discloses the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 1, further comprising an additional jackstand 50 (fig2, one between the first and second jackstands) coupled to the elongated main frame 18 between the first and second ends thereof (fig2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 12, 15-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ressler et al (US 9,221,402 B2) in view of Posey (US 7,686,549 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Ressler et al discloses the adjustable cycle rack of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose that the elongated main frame comprises a central frame housing carrying first and second extendable spacing rods which are extendable from respective first and second end of the center frame housing. As seen in fig1, Posey (‘549) teaches a use of an elongated main frame 50 (col.4 line20) of a cycle rack (fig1), wherein the elongated main frame 50 comprises a central frame housing 50B (col.4 line25) carrying first and second extendable spacing rods 51A (col.4 lines22-25) which are extendable from respective first and second ends of the central frame housing 51B (fig1, col.4 lines26-29)and wherein a first jackstand (fig1, a jackstand on a first side 44 of the rack) coupled to the first extendable spacing rod 51A (one toward the first side 44) and a second jackstand (fig1, a jackstand on a second side 46 of the rack) is coupled to the second extendable spacing rod 51A (one toward the second side 46), so that a length of the elongated main frame 50 can be adjusted (fig1, col.4 lines26-29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ressler et al to use an elongated main frame with a central frame housing carrying first and second extendable spacing rods, as taught by Posey, so that a length of the elongated main frame can be adjusted (fig1, col.4 lines26-29).
Regarding claim 12, Ressler et al (‘402) discloses an adjustable cycle rack 10 (col.3 line65) for one or more cycles, configured to be selectively used with multiple different sized cycles, and configured to be used during transport and after transport, the adjustable cycle rack comprising: an elongated main frame 18 (col.4 line2); and a first jackstand 50 (fig2, one on a left end of the elongated main frame 18, col.5 lines4-5) and a second jackstand 50 (fig2, one on a right end of the elongated main frame 18, col.5 lines4-5); each of the first and second jackstands 50 comprising an upper cycle mount 62 (col.5 line21) configured to support the cycle thereon at a selected height (col.5 lines22-27), and a locking mechanism 86 (col.6 line3, figs7-8; As aforementioned, a locking mechanism is interpreted as single bolts, U-bolts, etc., or equivalents thereof. In this case, a locking mechanism 86 taught by Ressler et al is shaped and performs similar to U-bolts.) configured to engage a portion of the cycle and secure the cycle to the upper cycle mount 62 (figs7-8). Ressler et al, however, does not explicitly disclose that the elongated main frame comprises a central frame housing carrying first and second extendable spacing rods which are extendable from respective first and second end of the center frame housing. As seen in fig1, Posey (‘549) teaches a use of an elongated main frame 50 (col.4 line20) of a cycle rack (fig1), wherein the elongated main frame 50 comprises a central frame housing 50B (col.4 line25) carrying first and second extendable spacing rods 51A (col.4 lines22-25) which are extendable from respective first and second ends of the central frame housing 51B (fig1, col.4 lines26-29)and wherein a first jackstand (fig1, a jackstand on a first side 44 of the rack) coupled to the first extendable spacing rod 51A (one toward the first side 44) and a second jackstand (fig1, a jackstand on a second side 46 of the rack) is coupled to the second extendable spacing rod 51A (one toward the second side 46), so that a length of the elongated main frame 50 can be adjusted (fig1, col.4 lines26-29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ressler et al to use an elongated main frame with a central frame housing carrying first and second extendable spacing rods, as taught by Posey, so that a length of the elongated main frame can be adjusted (fig1, col.4 lines26-29).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ressler et al and Posey teaches the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 12. Ressler et al further discloses wherein the upper cycle mount 62 comprises a mounting plate 62 (fig2).
Regarding claim 16¸ the combination of Ressler et al and Posey teaches the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 15. Ressler et al further discloses wherein the mounting plate 62 comprises at least one bumper (inclined end portions) on a top surface thereof.
Regarding claim 19¸ the combination of Ressler et al and Posey teaches the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 12. Ressler et al further discloses wherein the main frame 18 includes at least one floor coupler 35 (col.4 line44).
Regarding claim 20¸ the combination of Ressler et al and Posey teaches the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 12. Ressler et al further discloses an additional jackstand 50 (fig2, one between the first and second jackstands) coupled to the elongated main frame 18 between the first and second ends thereof (fig2).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ressler et al (US 9,221,402 B2) in view of Gluck (6,152,434).
Regarding claims 3-4, Ressler et al discloses the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a biasing member. Gluck (‘434) teaches a use of a spring including a gas pressure spring (col.1 lines33-36) for a jackstand (fig3) to adjust a lifter respect to a lifter frame (col.1 lines33-38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ressler et al to use a biasing member including a gas pressure spring, as taught by Gluck, so that a lifter can be adjusted respect to a lifter frame.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ressler et al (US 9,221,402 B2) in view of Dansie et al (US 2005/0199561 A1).
Regarding claims 7-8, Ressler et al discloses the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose that the locking mechanism 62 (para[0058],[0059], “a restraining system”) comprises first and second peg bolts and a driver. Dansie et al (‘561) teaches a use of a locking mechanism a cycle rack including two peg bolts 75 (figs1,6, para[0058]) configured to engage and secure a cycle and a driver 70 (para[0051]) configured to selectively actuate the two peg bolts 75 between an unlocked position (para[0051], “an open position”) and a locked position (para[0051], “a closed position”) that engages the cycle (para[0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ressler et al to use two peg bolts and a driver, as taught by Dansie et al, so that the locking mechanism can be easily actuated between open and closed position (unlocked/locked) via a drive (a locking arm).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ressler et al (US 9,221,402 B2) in view of Warner et al (US 2006/0045685 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Ressler et al discloses the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a set of wheels. Warner et al (‘685) teaches a use of a set of wheels 116,118 (para[0071]) for a cycle rack (figs1-3C) to the rack can be a mobile configuration (para[0071]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ressler et al to use a set of wheels, as taught by Warner et al, so that the rack can be a mobile configuration (para[0071]).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ressler et al (US 9,221,402 B2) and Posey (US 7,686,549 B1) in further view of Gluck (6,152,434).
Regarding claims 13-14, the combination of Ressler et al and Posey teaches the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 12, however, does not explicitly teach a use of a biasing member. Gluck (‘434) teaches a use of a spring including a gas pressure spring (col.1 lines33-36) for a jackstand (fig3) to adjust a lifter respect to a lifter frame (col.1 lines33-38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ressler et al to use a biasing member including a gas pressure spring, as taught by Gluck, so that a lifter can be adjusted respect to a lifter frame.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ressler et al (US 9,221,402 B2) in view of Dansie et al (US 2005/0199561 A1).
Regarding claims 17-18, the combination of Ressler et al and Posey teaches the adjustable cycle rack according to claim 12, however, does not explicitly teach that the locking mechanism 62 (para[0058],[0059], “a restraining system”) comprises first and second peg bolts and a driver. Dansie et al (‘561) teaches a use of a locking mechanism a cycle rack including two peg bolts 75 (figs1,6, para[0058]) configured to engage and secure a cycle and a driver 70 (para[0051]) configured to selectively actuate the two peg bolts 75 between an unlocked position (para[0051], “an open position”) and a locked position (para[0051], “a closed position”) that engages the cycle (para[0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ressler et al to use two peg bolts and a driver, as taught by Dansie et al, so that the locking mechanism can be easily actuated between open and closed position (unlocked/locked) via a drive (a locking arm).
Conclusion
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723