DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 10/27/2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 23, 26-29, and 32-34 have been amended and claims 1-15, 25, and 31 have been cancelled. Thus, claims 23-24, 26-30, and 32-34 are presently pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species M, Figs. 19, 20A, and 20B, directed to an occlusion device with a membrane between two or more layers in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
In claims 23 and 29 the limitation “securing means” invokes 112(f) as “means” is modified by the functional language “securing” but is not further modified by sufficient structure. For the purpose of prior art examination this limitation will be interpreted as a mechanical restraint (see [0104] of applicant’s patent application publication).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heisel et al (US 20140257374 A1), herein referenced to as “Heisel”.
Claim 16
Heisel discloses: A device 2 (see Figs. 1-2, [0024]-[0025]) for treating an aneurysm comprising an expandable mesh 20 + 22 (see Figs. 1-2, [0021], expanded state, [0025] and [0030]-[0031], collapsible) configured to be positioned in a cerebral aneurysm, the mesh 20 + 22 comprising at least two mesh layers 20 + 22 and a membrane 24 (see Figs. 1-2, [0035]) positioned between two of the at least two mesh layers 20 + 22.
The preamble, "for treating an aneurysm," merely recites intended uses of the apparatus. The claim, however, is an apparatus claim, and is to be limited by structural limitations. The Office submits that the device of Heisel meets the structural limitations of the claim, and is capable of being used to treat an aneurysm by occluding the aneurysm.
The language, "configured to be positioned in a cerebral aneurysm," constitutes functional claim language, indicating that the claimed device need only be capable of being used in such a manner. The claim, however, is an apparatus claim, and is to be limited by structural limitations. The Office submits that the device of Heisel meets the structural limitations of the claim, and is capable of being placed into a cerebral aneurysm to occlude the aneurysm.
Claim 17
Heisel discloses: The device of Claim 16, see 102 rejection above. Heisel further discloses: wherein the mesh 20 + 22 is a braid (see [0027], tubular braid).
Claim 18
Heisel discloses: The device of Claim 16, see 102 rejection above. Heisel further discloses: wherein the mesh 20 + 22 has a bowl shape (see Figs. 1-2, is bowl-shaped as it has a concave part meeting the definition of bowl as defined by the online Merriam-Webster dictionary as “a bowl-shaped or concave part”).
Claim 19
Heisel discloses: The device of Claim 16, see 102 rejection above. Heisel further discloses: wherein the membrane 24 is fluid impermeable (see [0037], occlusive, hence prevents the passing of fluid).
Claim 20
Heisel discloses: The device of Claim 16, see 102 rejection above. Heisel further discloses: wherein the membrane 24 has a plurality of perforations (see [0037], semi-nonporous, meaning will have some pores).
Claim 22
Heisel discloses: The device of Claim 16, see 102 rejection above. Heisel further discloses: wherein the at least two mesh layers 20 + 22 comprise an inner layer 22 (see Fig. 2, [0025]) and an outer layer 20 (see Fig. 2, [0025]) that are continuous (see Fig. 2, 20 + 22 are continuous with one another) with one another at a distal end portion the distal end of 20 + 22 towards the bottom of Fig. 2 (distal and proximal are relative terms that are opposite of another) of the mesh.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heisel in view of Warner et al (US 20190336132 A1), herein referenced to as “Warner”.
Claim 21
Heisel discloses: The device of Claim 16, see 102 rejection above. Heisel further discloses: wherein the membrane 24 comprises a polymer (see [0037], polyester, which is a polymer).
Heisel does not explicitly disclose: wherein the membrane comprises a fluoropolymer.
However, Warner in a similar field of invention teaches a device (see Fig. 23) for treating an aneurysm (see [0002] and [0028]) with mesh 300 + 320 (see Fig. 23, [0077]) with two layers 300 + 320 and membrane 310 (see Fig. 23, [0077]) positioned between (see [0077], sandwiched between) the two layers 300 + 320. Warner further teaches: wherein the membrane 320 comprises a fluoropolymer (see [0080], ePTFE, which is a fluoropolymer).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heisel to incorporate the teachings of Warner and have a device for treating an aneurysm with the membrane comprising a fluoropolymer. This is due to fluoropolymer being used for membranes is common in the art (see [0080]), thus it would be obvious to combine. See in re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (2100).
Claim(s) 16, 22-24, 26-27, 29-30, and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al (US 20210129275 A1), herein referenced to as “Nguyen” in view of Heisel.
Claim 16
Nguyen discloses: A device 1000 (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]) for treating an aneurysm (see [0210]) comprising an expandable mesh 1000a + 1000b (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]) configured to be positioned in a cerebral aneurysm (see [0287], aneurysm), the mesh 1000a + 1000b comprising at least two mesh layers 1000a + 1000b (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]).
Nguyen does not explicitly disclose: a membrane positioned between two of the at least two mesh layers.
However, Heisel in a similar field of invention teaches a device 2 (see Figs. 1-2) for occluding a bodily lumen (see [0002]) with an expandable mesh 20 + 22 with at least two layers 20 + 22. Heisel further teaches: a membrane 24 (see Figs. 1-2, [0025] and [0035]) positioned between two 20 + 22 of the at least two mesh layers 20 + 22.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nguyen to incorporate the teachings of Heisel and teach a device for treating an aneurysm with a membrane positioned between two of the at least two mesh layers. Motivation for such can be found in Heisel as this membrane can provide an immediate and a long-term benefit, immediately it provides an occlusive benefit, for long-term occlusion it provides cell seeding and tissue growth such that device stability and closure is facilitated (see [0037]).
Claim 22
The combination of Nguyen and Heisel teaches: The device of claim 16, see 103 rejection above. Nguyen further discloses: wherein the at least two mesh layers 1000a + 1000b comprise an inner layer 1000b (see Figs. 10B-10C, [0285]) and an outer layer 1000a (see Figs. 10B-C, [0285]) that are continuous with one another (see Figs. 10B-10C, 1000b and 1000a are continuous at 1010) at a distal end portion 1010 (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]) of the mesh.
Claim 23
Nguyen discloses: An occlusive device 1000 (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]) for treating an aneurysm (see [0210]), the device 1000 comprising: a mesh 1000 (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]) configured to be implanted in an aneurysm (see [0210]) and comprising a proximal end portion the proximal end of 1000 that is coupled via a proximal coupler (see Figs. 10B-10C, [0285]), a distal end portion 1010 (see Figs. 10B-10C, [0285]), and a longitudinal axis the longitudinal axis of 1000 that extends from the proximal end of the device to the distal end (see Figs. 10B-10C) extending therebetween, the mesh 1000 defining an opening 1008 (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0286]) at the distal end portion 1010 and outer 1000a (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]) and inner layers 1000b (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]) that are continuous (see Figs. 10B-10C, 1000a and 1000b are continuous distally at 1010) with one another distally at the distal end portion 1010 of the mesh and proximally (see [0288], the first and second ends of 1000 are secured at proximal coupler to form a double layer) at the proximal end portion the proximal end of 1000 that is coupled via a proximal coupler of the mesh via a securing means proximal coupler (see [0285] and [0288], meets the 112(f) interpretation of a mechanical restraint, as a proximal coupler is a mechanical restraint); wherein the mesh 1000 is configured to transition between a collapsed state (see [0288], low profile state) for delivery to an aneurysm (see [0210]) through an elongated shaft delivery catheter (see [0288]) and an expanded, unconstrained state (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]) wherein, in the expanded, unconstrained state (see Figs. 10B-10C): an inner surface (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below) of the outer layer 1000a and an inner surface (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below) of the inner layer 1000b are separated by a radial distance (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below) such that the inner surfaces (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below) of the outer 1000a and inner layers 1000b enclose a cavity (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below), the inner surface (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below) of the inner layer 1000b having a first region (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below) and a second region (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below) extending from the first region (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below), and wherein the first region (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below) extends proximally from the opening 1008 and is concave towards the inner surface (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below)of the outer layer 1000a, and wherein the second region (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below) is convex towards the inner surface (see annotated Figs. 10B-C below) of the outer layer 1000a.
Nguyen does not explicitly disclose: and a membrane positioned between the outer and inner layers.
However, Heisel in a similar field of invention teaches a device 2 (see Figs. 1-2) for occluding a bodily lumen (see [0002]) with an expandable mesh 20 + 22 with at least two layers 20 + 22. Heisel further teaches: a membrane 24 (see Figs. 1-2, [0025] and [0035]) positioned between two 20 + 22 of the at least two mesh layers 20 + 22.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nguyen to incorporate the teachings of Heisel and teach a device for treating an aneurysm with a membrane positioned between two of the at least two mesh layers. Motivation for such can be found in Heisel as this membrane can provide an immediate and a long-term benefit, immediately it provides an occlusive benefit, for long-term occlusion it provides cell seeding and tissue growth such that device stability and closure is facilitated (see [0037]).
Claim 24
The combination of Nguyen and Heisel teaches: The device of claim 23, see 103 rejection above. Nguyen further discloses: wherein the mesh 1000 comprises a plurality of braided filaments 1002 (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0288]).
Claim 26
The combination of Nguyen and Heisel teaches: The device of claim 23, see 103 rejection above. Heisel further teaches: wherein the membrane 24 is fluid impermeable (see [0037], occlusive, hence prevents the passing of fluid).
Claim 27
The combination of Nguyen and Heisel teaches: The device of claim 23, see 103 rejection above. Heisel further teaches: wherein the membrane 24 has a plurality of perforations (see [0037], semi-nonporous, meaning will have some pores).
Claim 29
Nguyen discloses: An occlusive device 1000 (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]) for treating an aneurysm (see [0210]), the device 1000 comprising: a mesh 1000 (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]) configured to be implanted in an aneurysm (see [0210]) and having a proximal end portion the proximal end of 1000 that is coupled via a proximal coupler (see Figs. 10B-10C, [0285]), a distal end portion 1010 (see Figs. 10B-10C, [0285]), and a longitudinal axis the longitudinal axis of 1000 that extends from the proximal end of the device to the distal end (see Figs. 10B-10C) extending therebetween, the mesh 1000 further comprising an opening 1008 (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0286]) at the distal end portion 1010 and outer 1000a (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]) and inner layers 1000b (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]) that meet distally at the distal end portion 1010 of the mesh 1000 and proximally (see [0288], the first and second ends of 1000 are secured at proximal coupler to form a double layer) at the proximal end portion the proximal end of 1000 that is coupled via a proximal coupler of the mesh 1000 via a securing means proximal coupler (see [0285] and [0288], meets the 112(f) interpretation of a mechanical restraint, as a proximal coupler is a mechanical restraint), wherein the mesh 1000 comprises a collapsed state (see [0288], low profile state) for delivery through an elongated shaft delivery catheter (see [0288]) to the aneurysm and an expanded, unconstrained state (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]), and wherein, in the expanded, unconstrained state (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0285]): an inner surface (see annotated Figs. 10B-10C below) of the outer layer 1000a and an inner surface (see annotated Figs. 10B-10C below) of the inner layer 1000b are separated by a radial distance (see annotated Figs. 10B-10C below) such that the inner surfaces (see annotated Figs. 10B-10C below) of the outer 1000a and inner layers 1000b enclose a first cavity (see annotated Figs. 10B-10C below), and the outer layer 1000a defines a diameter (see annotated Figs. 10B-10C below) that increases then decreases along the longitudinal axis the longitudinal axis of 1000 that extends from the proximal end of the device to the distal end of the mesh 1000 between the proximal the proximal end of 1000 that is coupled via a proximal coupler and distal end portions 1010.
Nguyen does not explicitly disclose: and a membrane positioned between the outer and inner layers.
However, Heisel in a similar field of invention teaches a device 2 (see Figs. 1-2) for occluding a bodily lumen (see [0002]) with an expandable mesh 20 + 22 with at least two layers 20 + 22. Heisel further teaches: a membrane 24 (see Figs. 1-2, [0025] and [0035]) positioned between two 20 + 22 of the at least two mesh layers 20 + 22.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nguyen to incorporate the teachings of Heisel and teach a device for treating an aneurysm with a membrane positioned between two of the at least two mesh layers. Motivation for such can be found in Heisel as this membrane can provide an immediate and a long-term benefit, immediately it provides an occlusive benefit, for long-term occlusion it provides cell seeding and tissue growth such that device stability and closure is facilitated (see [0037]).
Claim 30
The combination of Nguyen and Heisel teaches: The device of claim 29, see 103 rejection above. Nguyen further discloses: wherein the mesh 1000 comprises a plurality of braided filaments 1002 (see Figs. 10A-10C, [0288]).
Claim 32
The combination of Nguyen and Heisel teaches: The device of claim 29, see 103 rejection above. Heisel further teaches: wherein the membrane 24 is fluid impermeable (see [0037], occlusive, hence prevents the passing of fluid).
Claim 33
The combination of Nguyen and Heisel teaches: The device of claim 29, see 103 rejection above. Heisel further teaches: wherein the membrane 24 has a plurality of perforations (see [0037], semi-nonporous, meaning will have some pores).
Claim(s) 28 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Heisel as applied to claim 23 and claim 29 above, and further in view of Warner.
Claim 28
The combination of Nguyen and Heisel teaches: The device of claim 23, see 103 rejection above. Heisel further teaches: wherein the membrane 24 comprises a polymer (see [0037], polyester, which is a polymer).
The combination of Nguyen and Heisel does not explicitly teach: wherein the membrane comprises a fluoropolymer.
However, Warner in a similar field of invention teaches a device (see Fig. 23) for treating an aneurysm (see [0002] and [0028]) with mesh 300 + 320 (see Fig. 23, [0077]) with two layers 300 + 320 and membrane 310 (see Fig. 23, [0077]) positioned between (see [0077], sandwiched between) the two layers 300 + 320. Warner further teaches: wherein the membrane 320 comprises a fluoropolymer (see [0080], ePTFE, which is a fluoropolymer).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nguyen and Heisel to incorporate the teachings of Warner and have a device for treating an aneurysm with the membrane comprising a fluoropolymer. This is due to fluoropolymer being used for membranes is common in the art (see [0080]), thus it would be obvious to combine. See in re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (2100).
Claim 34
The combination of Nguyen and Heisel teaches: The device of claim 29, see 103 rejection above. Heisel further teaches: wherein the membrane 24 comprises a polymer (see [0037], polyester, which is a polymer).
The combination of Nguyen and Heisel does not explicitly teach: wherein the membrane comprises a fluoropolymer.
However, Warner in a similar field of invention teaches a device (see Fig. 23) for treating an aneurysm (see [0002] and [0028]) with mesh 300 + 320 (see Fig. 23, [0077]) with two layers 300 + 320 and membrane 310 (see Fig. 23, [0077]) positioned between (see [0077], sandwiched between) the two layers 300 + 320. Warner further teaches: wherein the membrane 320 comprises a fluoropolymer (see [0080], ePTFE, which is a fluoropolymer).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nguyen and Heisel to incorporate the teachings of Warner and have a device for treating an aneurysm with the membrane comprising a fluoropolymer. This is due to fluoropolymer being used for membranes is common in the art (see [0080]), thus it would be obvious to combine. See in re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (2100).
Conclusion
RAIHAN R. KHANDKER
Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/RAIHAN R KHANDKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3771