DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Support for the limitations of a projected treatment period of 36 month and stable eGFR over the projected treatment periods of at least 100 weeks or 36 months as recited in claims 1 and 29 is not found within Provisional Applications 63/245,779, 63/246,765, or 63/138,325. Should Applicant disagree with the analysis above, they must point to the location with the Provisional Applications where the limitations are presented.
Claim 1 and claims 24-26, 32, 34, 35, and 38, which depend from claim 1, are given priority date of Jan 14, 2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group XI, corresponding to claims 1-5, 17, 20, 22, and 24-27, in the reply filed on Jan 22, 2024 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 24-26, 32, 34, 35, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the AURORA2 Clinical Trial Listing (NCT03597464; Published: Aug 14, 2018), as evidenced by Rovin et al. (The Lancet. 397(10289): P2070-2080: Published: May 29, 2021; Non-Patent Literature Document #264 on the IDS dated 11/20/2023), in view of the Lupkynis Prescribing Information (Published: January 22, 2021).
Claim 1 recites treating lupus nephritis in a human by administering 23.7mg BID voclosporin over a treatment period of at least 100 weeks, the AURORA2 clinical trial listing teaches administering 23.7 mg BID voclosporin to lupus nephritis patients; see Arms and Interventions. Regarding the duration of the treatment period in claims 1 and 26, this long-term safety and tolerability study assessed the use of voclosporin enrolled patients from the 52-week long AURORA trial for an additional 24 months of treatment; see Study Description. In total, the patients were treated for 3 years or 156 weeks or 36 months. Regarding claims 24 and 25, the Study Description teaches that subjects will continue to receive MMF and a corticosteroid.
The AURORA2 Clinical trial listing does not teach assessing the eGFR every 3 months after the first 12 months.
The AURORA2 trial is an extension or continuation of the AURORA1 trial; see Study Description. The AURORA2 Clinical trial listing states the change in eGFR from AURORA1 baseline to up to 37 months and the proportion of subjects in renal response at months 12, 18, 24, 30, and 36 are secondary outcome measures. Because the AURORA2 trial is a two-year extension of the one-year AURORA1 trial, the months for renal response are from the AURORA1 baseline. Rovin et al. evidences that complete renal response is a composite which includes UPCR of 0.5 mg/mg or less and eGFR of 60 mL per min or more, or no confirmed eGFR decrease of more than 20% from baseline; see pages 2072-2073. Thus, the AURORA2 Clinical Trial Listing, as evidenced by Rovin et al., teaches measuring eGFR every 6 months.
The Lupkynis Prescribing Information teaches assessing eGFR every two weeks for the first month and every four weeks thereafter; see Dosage Recommendations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to assess eGFR at any time in the interval of every one month, as taught by the Lupkynis Prescribing Information, to every six months, as taught by the AURORA2 Clinical Trial Listing. Claim 1, from which claims 32, 34, 35, 37, and 38 depend, requires only two steps – 1. assessing eGFR every 3 months after 12 months of treatment and 2. administering 23.7 mg BID voclosporin to a human with lupus nephritis for the treatment period duration. The limitations of eGFR during the treatment period as recited in claims 1, 32, 34, 35, and 38 necessarily flow from the method of claim 1.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 1, 24-26, 32, 34, 35, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxena et al. (ACR Convergence 2021 Abstract Number 1425; Published: November 8, 2021).
Regarding claims 1 and 24-26, Saxena et al. teaches that human patients with lupus nephritis were treated with 23.7 mg BID voclosporin in combination with MMF and low-dose steroids for 30 months with intent to treat for 36 months (12 months in AURORA1 and two years in AURORA2); see Methods. Regarding the step of assessing every 3 months after 12 months of treatment, Figure 2 demonstrates that eGFR remained stable at about 80 mL/min/1.73m2 for 30 months with data points at every 3-month interval.
Saxena et al. does not teach assessing eGFR every 3 months for a 36-month treatment period; instead the reference only teaches measuring eGFR for 30 months. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to continue the 3 month eGFR assessment interval for two more assessments to reach the conclusion of the 36 month total treatment period. Claim 1, from which claims 32, 34, 35, 37, and 38 depend, requires only two steps – 1. assessing eGFR every 3 months after 12 months of treatment and 2. administering 23.7 mg BID voclosporin to a human with lupus nephritis for the treatment period duration. The limitations of eGFR during the treatment period as recited in claims 1, 32, 34, 35, and 38 necessarily flow from the method of claim 1.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the application, as evidenced by the references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments filed March 18, 2026 are acknowledged. Any rejection not repeated above is resolved by amendment.
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(a) filed March 18, 2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1, 24-26, 32, 34, 35, and 38 based upon Saxena et al. (ACR Convergence 2021 Abstract Number 1425; Published: November 8, 2021) as set forth in the last Office action because: the reference has three authors Amit Saxena, Christopher Mela, and Antonia Coeshall, and the declaration does not provide a reasonable explanation a reasonable explanation of the presence of additional authors; see MPEP 2155.01.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over the AURORA2 Clinical Trial Listing (NCT03597464; Published: Aug 14, 2018), as evidenced by Rovin et al. (The Lancet. 397(10289): P2070-2080: Published: May 29, 2021; Non-Patent Literature Document #264 on the IDS dated 11/20/2023), in view of the Lupkynis Prescribing Information (Published: January 22, 2021),
Applicant argues that the ‘Study Description and Study Design’ of the AURORA2 trial listing is silent to assessing eGFR and the timing of assessment. Applicant further states that the secondary outcome measure of the “proportion of subject in renal response at months 12, 18, 24, 30, and 36” and change in eGFR “up to 37 months” are merely secondary outcomes measures. Applicant argues that “[s]econdary outcome measures are not instruction to conduct the clinical trial but instead are additional endpoints to evaluate the effect of the treatment.”
Indeed, the clinical trial listing is not a protocol. However, the trial listing clearly teaches one of ordinary skill in the art that assessing renal response, which includes eGFR, at months 12, 18, 24, 30, and 36, or every 6 months beyond 12 months, is an appropriate interval of time to measure renal response, which includes eGFR. And, in order to evaluate the effect of treatment using these additional secondary endpoints at the taught time intervals, one would have had to assess renal response at these time points.
On page 6, Applicant argues that Rovin et al. teaches renal response as a composite which includes eGFR and that even if renal response is evaluated at months 12, 18, 24, 30, and 36, this does not preclude assessing eGFR more frequently.
Examiner agrees. The renal response time intervals in the AURORA2 trial listing are guidance for the minimal assessments of renal response and does not preclude more frequently assessments. As stated in the rejection above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious, based on the combination of references cited, to assess eGFR at 1- to 6-month intervals.
Finally, Applicant argues that the Lupkynis Prescribing Information teaches away from administering voclosporin beyond one year.
The Prescribing Information states “Consider the risks and benefits of LUPKYNIS treatment beyond one year in light of the patient’s treatment response and risk of worsening nephrotoxicity. (2.3, 5.3)”. This suggests that treatment could continue beyond one year. Section 2.3 states that “Safety and efficacy have not been established beyond one year”, points to sections 6.1 and 14, and reiterates that one should consider the risks and benefits of longer duration of treatment in light of the patient’s treatment response and risk of worsening nephrotoxicity.” Section 6.3 teaches that decreased eGFR was reported by 70 patients treated with 23.7 mg voclosporin. Additionally, section 6.3 teaches that, of the 26% who experienced decreased eGFR, the decrease occurred within the first 3 months of voclosporin treatment in 71% (50/70) of those patients. Thus, the majority of patients will not experience a decrease in eGFR and, those who would, would experience such decrease during the initial treatment period and well before one year of treatment. The 52-week data in the Prescribing Information suggests that the risk of a patient developing decreased eGFR after the initial 3 months, while not absent, is limited. A patient being among the 82.1% of patients having eGFR ≥ 60 mL/min/1.73 m2, no confirmed decrease from baseline eGFR of >20%, or no treatment- or disease-related eGFR-associated AE at Week 52 may consider that the benefit of treatment beyond one year outweighs the potential risk of nephrotoxicity.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over the AURORA2 Clinical Trial Listing, as evidenced by Rovin et al., in view of the Lupkynis Prescribing Information is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Naughton (American Family Physician. 78(6): 743-750; Published: Sep 15, 2008) teaches clinical recommendations for managing drug-induced nephrotoxicity including calcineurin inhibitors and the use of the Cockcroft-Gault formula as a preventative measure for monitoring drug-induced nephrotoxicity; pages 744-745 and 748.
Lupus.net (Kidney Transplant; Published: Jan 2, 2020) teaches that a significant proportion of lupus nephritis patients will progress to end-stage kidney failure and require a kidney transplant.
Rovin et al. (Kidney International. 95: 219-223; Published: November 9, 2018) teaches measuring eGFR every 4 months during the first year of treatment; see Figure 5.
/KATHERINE ANN HOLTZMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1646
/JULIET C SWITZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682