DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s Submission of a Response
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 01/16/2026. Presently, claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-17, and 19-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-11, 13-17, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0132116 to Grant in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0232051 to Wu.
With regard to claim 1, Grant discloses a gaming controller, comprising: a plurality of input devices (0032); a plurality of haptic feedback components (0033); a wireless interface (0031); and at least one processor coupled to the wireless interface, the plurality of input devices, and the plurality of haptic feedback components (0031), wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive, through the wireless interface, [direction information] from an information handling system and to determine one or more feedback components of the plurality of haptic feedback components to activate using a mapping of a diction to one or a plurality of predefined directions, the one of the plurality of predefined directions corresponding to the one or more feedback components, to map a distance to the one or more feedback components, and to activate the one or more feedback components of the plurality of haptic feedback components based on the mapping of the direction and the distance to the one or more feedback components (0042; 0054-0055; 0080-0081).
Grant does not appear to be explicitly clear about the information being a vector. However, Wu teaches mapping of a direction of the vector to one of a plurality of predefined directions corresponding to the one or more feedback components (0043-0044; 0070).
With regard to claim 3, the combination of Grant and Wu teaches wherein a level of vibration of the one or more activated feedback components is based on the distance corresponding to the vector (Grant at 0054-0055; 0080-0081; Wu at 0043-0044; 0070).
With regard to claim 4, Grant discloses wherein the level of vibration of the one or more activated feedback components is a first level when the distance exceeds a first threshold and is a second level when the distance exceeds a second threshold (0054-0055; 0080-0081).
With regard to claim 5, Grant discloses wherein mapping the direction to the plurality of haptic feedback components comprises determining one of a plurality of predefined directions corresponds to the direction, and the one or more activated feedback components correspond to haptic feedback components associated with the one of the plurality of predefined directions (0054-0055; 0080-0081).
With regard to claim 6, the combination of Grant and Wu teaches wherein the vector corresponds to a location of a user in a virtual environment (Grant at 0054-0055; 0080-0081; Wu at 0043-0044; 0070).
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Grant and Wu teaches wherein the vector corresponds to a location of a display device relative to the gaming controller (Grant at 0054-0055; 0080-0081; Wu at 0035-0037; 0043-0044; 0070).
With regard to claim 8, Grant discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of haptic feedback components is associated with one of the plurality of input devices (0042).
Claims 9-11, 13-17, 19, and 20 contains similar limitations as claims 1 and 3-7 and are rejected in like manner.
With regard to claims 21-23 the combination of Grant and Wu teaches that the mapping of the direction of the vector to one of the plurality of predefined directions comprises adjusting the direction of the vector to match one of the plurality of predefined directions (Grant at 0042; 0054-0055; 0080-0081; Wu at 0043-0044; 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu with the disclosure of Grant in order to provide a more realistic haptic events to the users based upon vectors and where the user is located thus making the playing of the game more enjoyable and realistic to the user.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant in view of Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Application publication No. 2010/0085693 to Koshiishi.
With regard to claim 2, while Grant teaches various types of motors including ERMs, ERMs do not appear to be inherently coin vibration motors. However, Koshiishi teaches coin vibration motors (0013). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to substitute coin vibrators as taught by Koshiishi for the vibration motors disclosed by Grant as this would be a simple substitution of different vibration motors and would yield expected results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, “Applicant is suggesting that the ‘spatialization data’ described in Grant is used to adjust how a haptic effect will be experience at a given haptic component, but is not used to determine which of the haptic components should be activated,” (Arguments, page 7, emphasis in original). First, Applicant here seems to be arguing that the claims require that some haptic components must be activated in the claims while others are not. However, the claim states only, “determine one or more feedback components of the plurality of haptic feedback components to activate.” While certainly this could mean that not all are activated and only some are, this does NOT preclude that all are activated each time. Thus, Applicant’s argument of “the spatialization data itself does not determine the haptic data and thus does not determine where or not a particular haptic component will be activated,” (Arguments, page 8) is not commensurate with what is actually claimed. In other words, Applicant seems to be arguing that the claims require that only certain haptics are activated and others are not activated, whereas the claims only state that certain are activated which could be all and is silent about others not being activated. Secondly, Grant DOES consider only activating certain areas, so even if it were claimed as Applicant is implying, Grant would still read on that aspect. Specifically, Grant states in 0080-0081:
For example, a user may perceive localized haptic effects that are provided at one or more localized regions 711-716 the controller 700. Such localized haptic effects may be distinct from general haptic effects applied directly to the housing of the controller. In another example, haptic effects may be applied to a subset of localized regions 711-716 to convey a sense of direction to a user (e.g., left or right sensation).
In addition, haptic effects may be applied to a subset of localized regions 711-716 by mapping what is happening to an avatar (e.g., game character) to respective localized regions 711-716 of controller 700. For example, if the avatar is hit on the top left, then the controller 700 may have a corresponding haptic effect on the top left localized region. In another example, a user hit on the left side may feel haptic effects at the localized regions on the left side, such as localized regions 711, 714, and 716. In yet another example, a user's ship hit on the upper right side may feel haptic effects at localized region 713.
Here it is clear that when a user is hit on the right, haptics on the right are actuated, but NOT haptics on the left. Similarly, when a user is hit on the left haptics on the left are actuated but NOT haptics on the right.
Applicant continues the argument by stating, “Applicant has amended the independent claims to incorporate the subject matter of previous claim 5 and to clarify that the direction of the vector is used to determined which of the haptic feedback components of the gaming controller will be activated,” (Arguments, page 8). However, as discussed above, the claims do not actually go so narrow. That is, as discussed above, the claims would read on an “all or nothing” type approach, e.g. a vector is received, turn on all the feedback components, would read on the claims. Wu is then used to clearly show that such information can be conveyed through the use of vectors. In addition Wu further shows how the effect is received and that certain actuators can be started before others based on the vector (0071, “In addition, from a timing standpoint, the actuation points that are closer to event point 615 would feel the haptic effect sooner than the actuation points further from event point 615.”).
Thus, for these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not found convincing and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/Jay Trent Liddle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715