DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Guenier et al. (US2004/0077930).
Regarding claim 1, Guenier discloses a system for in-situ removal of accumulated moisture and debris from a transparent protective cover of a handheld intraoral camera disposed at a procedural site in a mouth of a patient when an oral procedure is performed, comprising:
said handheld intraoral camera (endoscope 1), comprising:
a camera unit mounted on an elongated holder (camera unit includes front lens 13, lenses 96 and CCD catcher 4; Fig. 2 & 3: front lens 13 and lenses 96 are mounted on the optical tube 10); and
an elongated sleeve configured to slide over and removably cover the elongated holder and the camera unit (sleeve 9 is capable of sliding on optical tube 10 [0062]), wherein the elongated sleeve comprises an opening at a first end for accommodating the transparent protective cover of the camera unit (Fig. 3: sleeve 9 appears to comprise an opening at a distal end, adjacent with entry face 129, which allows the entry face 129 of prism 126 to be optically exposed to the working area), and wherein the elongated sleeve further comprises:
an elongated cavity extending from the opening at the first end of the elongated sleeve to a second end of the elongated sleeve (Fig. 3: interstice 130 extends from the opening within sleeve 9, adjacent to the opening of entry face 129 on a distal end, to a proximal end near small holes 8 [0059]), wherein the elongated cavity comprises a nozzle proximal to the opening at the first end of the elongated sleeve (small gap 135 is proximal to the opening of sleeve 9 that is adjacent to entry face 129 [0062]); and
a control unit (control box 124, video screen 70, and generator 93), comprising:
a display screen for displaying images of the procedural site when the oral procedure is performed (dental surgeon works under control with video screen [0001], video screen is connected to video-endoscope 1 but not shown in drawings, however appears to be reference numeral 70 in Fig. 1); and
a compressor for providing pressurized fluid (Fig. 1: generator 93 generates air flow 92 [0059]), wherein the pressurized fluid travels from the compressor to the nozzle of the elongated cavity via a channel in the elongated holder (Fig. 3: air flow 92 travels through a channel in grip 3, through small holes 8 to small gap 135 [0059]) for the in-situ removal of the accumulated moisture and the debris from the transparent protective cover of the handheld intraoral camera disposed at the procedural site within the mouth of the patient when the oral procedure is performed.
Regarding claim 5, Guenier discloses the system of claim 1. Guenier further discloses wherein the camera unit of the handheld intraoral camera further comprises an integrated light source for providing illumination to the procedural site when the procedure is performed (lamps 127 arranged around entry face 129 [0061 & 0064]).
Regarding claim 6, Guenier discloses the system of claim 5. Guenier further discloses wherein the integrated light source is a ring light (light source consisting of lamps 127 arranged around the entry face 129 of prism 126 [0061], suggesting lamps form a ring).
Regarding claim 9, Guenier discloses a method for in-situ removal of accumulated moisture and debris from a transparent protective cover of a handheld intraoral camera disposed at a procedural site within a mouth of a patient when an oral procedure is performed (air flow 92 is near entry face 129 to keep the entry face 129 of the prism clean [0062]), comprising: providing the handheld intraoral camera (endoscope 1), comprising: a camera unit mounted on an elongated holder (camera unit includes front lens 13, lenses 96 and CCD catcher 4; Fig. 2 & 3: front lens 13 and lenses 96 are mounted on the optical tube 10); and an elongated sleeve configured to slide over and removably cover the elongated holder and the camera unit (sleeve 9 is capable sliding on optical tube 10 [0062]), wherein the elongated sleeve comprises an opening at a first end for accommodating a transparent protective cover of the camera unit (Fig. 3: sleeve 9 appears to comprise an opening at a distal end, adjacent with entry face 129, which allows the entry face 129 of prism 126 to be optically exposed to the working area), and wherein the elongated sleeve further comprises: an elongated cavity extending from the opening at the first end of the elongated sleeve to a second end of the elongated sleeve (interstice 130 extends from the opening within sleeve 9, adjacent to the opening of entry face 129 on a distal end, to a proximal end near small holes 8 [0059]), wherein the elongated cavity comprises a nozzle proximal to the opening at the first end of the elongated sleeve (small gap 135 is proximal to the opening of sleeve 9 that is adjacent to entry face 129 [0062]); and a control unit (control box 124, video screen 70, and generator 93), comprising: a display screen for displaying images of the procedural site when the oral procedure is performed (dental surgeon works under control with video screen [0001], video screen is connected to video-endoscope 1 but not shown in drawings, however appears to be reference numeral 70 in Fig. 1); and a compressor for providing pressurized fluid (generator 93 generates air flow 92 [0059]); disposing the handheld intraoral camera at the procedural site within the mouth of the patient and obtaining an image of the procedural site on the display screen of the control unit (endoscope 1 is used to work in the oral cavity using video control [0060], endoscope 1 with the image-taking device for accumulating signals with the CCD catcher 4 [0058]); and using the compressor to supply the pressurized fluid (generator 93 generates air flow 92 [0059]), wherein the pressurized fluid travels from the compressor to the nozzle of the elongated cavity via a channel in the elongated holder (Fig. 1-3: air flows from generator 93 through grip 3, through small holes 8, through interstice 130, through small gap 135 [0059, 0062]) for the in-situ removal of the accumulated moisture and the debris from the transparent protective cover of the handheld intraoral camera disposed at the procedural site within the mouth of the patient when the oral procedure is performed (air flow 92 is near entry face 129 to keep the entry face 129 of the prism clean [0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Guenier discloses the method of claim 9, further disclosing the method comprising blowing the pressurized fluid to the procedural site (Fig. 3: air flow 92 is delivered to entry face 129, surface of mirror 136, and the area with the object 7 being examined [0059, 0062]).
Regarding claim 11, Guenier discloses the method of claim 9, further disclosing wherein the pressurized fluid is one or more of air and water (air flow 92).
Regarding claim 13, Guenier discloses a handheld intraoral camera, comprising: a camera unit mounted on an elongated holder (camera unit includes front lens 13, lenses 96 and CCD catcher 4; Fig. 2 & 3: front lens 13 and lenses 96 are mounted on the optical tube 10); and an elongated sleeve configured to slide over and removably cover the elongated holder and the camera unit (sleeve 9 is capable of sliding on optical tube 10 [0062]), wherein the elongated sleeve comprises an opening at a first end for accommodating the transparent protective cover of the camera unit (Fig. 3: sleeve 9 appears to comprise an opening at a distal end, adjacent with entry face 129, which allows the entry face 129 of prism 126 to be optically exposed to the working area), and wherein the elongated sleeve further comprises: an elongated cavity extending from the opening at the first end of the elongated sleeve to a second end of the elongated sleeve (interstice 130 extends from the opening within sleeve 9, adjacent to the opening of entry face 129 on a distal end, to a proximal end near small holes 8 [0059]), wherein the elongated cavity comprises a nozzle proximal to the opening at the first end of the elongated sleeve (small gap 135 is proximal to the opening of sleeve 9 that is adjacent to the entry face 129 [0062]).
Regarding claim 17, Guenier discloses the handheld intraoral camera of claim 13, further disclosing wherein the camera unit further comprises an integrated light source for providing illumination (lamps 127 arranged around entry face 129 [0061 & 0064]).
Regarding claim 18, Guenier discloses the handheld intraoral camera of claim 17, further disclosing wherein the integrated light source is a ring light (light source consisting of lamps 127 arranged around the entry face 129 of prism 126 [0061], suggesting lamps form a ring).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenier in view of Sylvester et al. (US2010/0216086).
Regarding claim 2, Guenier discloses the system of claim 1. Guenier further discloses wherein the handheld intraoral camera further comprises a handle configured to be attached to the elongated holder, wherein the handle comprises an interface comprising a passage for delivering the pressurized fluid from the compressor to the nozzle of the elongated cavity (Fig. 1 & 2: grip 3 comprises an interface at its proximal end which includes a passage for air flow from the generator 93 through grip 3 to small holes 8). Guenier fails to disclose the configuration in which image signals are communicated to the video screen, thus fails to disclose wherein the handle comprises an interface for connecting the camera unit through the elongated holder, and wherein the interface comprises a signal line for transferring images from the camera unit to the display screen of the control unit. In the same field of endeavor, Sylvester teaches an intra-oral imaging system (Fig. 1: handpiece 10, CPU 12, and umbilical cord 14 [0019]) comprising a handle (Fig. 2: housing 20 [0021]), an elongated holder (Fig. 2: optic housing 28 [0021]), and a camera unit (camera unit comprising imaging prism 52, CCD 54, and CCD housing 56 [0023]), wherein camera unit is on the elongated holder (Fig. 2: imaging prism 52 is on the optic housing 28), wherein the handle is connected to the elongated holder (Fig. 2: housing 20 is connected to the optic housing 28), the intro-oral imaging system further comprising an interface for connecting the camera through shaft (umbilical cord 14 connects handpiece 10/intra-oral camera to transmit and store images [0019-0021]), and wherein the interface comprises a signal line for transferring image from the camera unit to the display screen (Fig. 1: umbilical cord 14 connects handpiece 10/intra-oral camera to transmit and store images [0019], video display in the form of a monitor illustrated in Fig. 1). Since Guenier fails to disclose the configuration in which image signals are communicated to the video screen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any known wired or wireless connection, including the one taught by Sylvester, as the umbilical cord is a well-known structure and method for transferring image signals between a camera and a processing unit.
Regarding claim 3, Guenier, modified by Sylvester, discloses the system of claim 2. Guenier further discloses wherein the handle of the handheld intraoral camera is detachably attached to the elongated sleeve of the handheld intraoral camera using a fastener (sleeve 9 is capable of sliding onto optical tube 10 and locking with a stop at the distal part 28 with respect to grip 3 of the video endoscope 1 [0062]).
Regarding claim 12, Guenier discloses the method of claim 9, further disclosing wherein the method comprises: attaching a handle to the elongated holder (sleeve 9 slides on the optical tube 10 [0062]), wherein the handle comprises an interface for connecting the camera unit through the elongated holder (Fig. 2: cabling extending from the proximal end of grip 3 and cabling allowing air flow 92 to enter grip 3), wherein the interface further comprises a passage for delivering the pressurized fluid from the compressor to the nozzle of the elongated cavity (Fig. 1 & 2: grip 3 comprises an interface at its proximal end which includes a passage for air flow from the generator 93 through grip 3 to small holes 8). While Guenier discloses what appears to be a cabling for introducing pressurized fluid, Guenier fails to disclose the cabling also is configured to transfer images from the camera unit to the display screen of the control unit through a signal line of the interface. In the same field of endeavor, Sylvester teaches an intra-oral imaging system (Fig. 1: handpiece 10, CPU 12, and umbilical cord 14 [0019]) comprising a handle (Fig. 2: housing 20 [0021]), an elongated holder (Fig. 2: optic housing 28 [0021]), and a camera unit (camera unit comprising imaging prism 52, CCD 54, and CCD housing 56 [0023]), wherein camera unit is on the elongated holder (Fig. 2: imaging prism 52 is on the optic housing 28), wherein the handle is connected to the elongated holder (Fig. 2: housing 20 is connected to the optic housing 28), the intro-oral imaging system further comprising an interface for connecting the camera through shaft (umbilical cord 14 connects handpiece 10/intra-oral camera to transmit and store images [0019-0021]), and wherein the interface comprises a signal line for transferring image from the camera unit to the display screen (Fig. 1: umbilical cord 14 connects handpiece 10/intra-oral camera to transmit and store images [0019], video display in the form of a monitor illustrated in Fig. 1). Since Guenier fails to disclose the configuration in which image signals are communicated to the video screen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any known wired or wireless connection, including the one taught by Sylvester, as the umbilical cord is a well-known structure and method for transferring image signals between a camera and a processing unit.
Regarding claim 14, Guenier discloses the handheld intraoral camera of claim 13, further comprising a handle configured to be attached to the elongated holder (Fig. 3: grip 3 is connected to optical tube 10), wherein the handle comprises an interface, and wherein the interface further comprises a hose for transferring pressurized fluid from a compressor in the control unit to the nozzle of the elongated cavity (Fig. 2: cabling extending from the proximal end of grip 3 and cabling allowing air flow 92 from generator 93 to enter grip 3). While Guenier discloses what appears to be a cabling for introducing pressurized fluid, Guenier fails to disclose the cabling also is configured to transfer images from the camera unit to the display screen of the control unit through a signal line of the interface. In the same field of endeavor, Sylvester teaches an intra-oral imaging system (Fig. 1: handpiece 10, CPU 12, and umbilical cord 14 [0019]) comprising a handle (Fig. 2: housing 20 [0021]), an elongated holder (Fig. 2: optic housing 28 [0021]), and a camera unit (camera unit comprising imaging prism 52, CCD 54, and CCD housing 56 [0023]), wherein camera unit is on the elongated holder (Fig. 2: imaging prism 52 is on the optic housing 28), wherein the handle is connected to the elongated holder (Fig. 2: housing 20 is connected to the optic housing 28), the intro-oral imaging system further comprising an interface for connecting the camera through shaft (umbilical cord 14 connects handpiece 10/intra-oral camera to transmit and store images [0019-0021]), and wherein the interface comprises a signal line for transferring image from the camera unit to the display screen (Fig. 1: umbilical cord 14 connects handpiece 10/intra-oral camera to transmit and store images [0019], video display in the form of a monitor illustrated in Fig. 1). Since Guenier fails to disclose the configuration in which image signals are communicated to the video screen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any known wired or wireless connection, including the one taught by Sylvester, as the umbilical cord is a well-known structure and method for transferring image signals between a camera and a processing unit.
Regarding claim 15, Guenier, modified by Sylvester, discloses the handheld intraoral camera of claim 14. Guenier further discloses wherein the handle is detachably fastened to the elongated sleeve using a fastener (sleeve 9 is capable of sliding onto optical tube 10 and locking with a stop at the distal part 28 with respect to grip 3 of the video endoscope 1 [0062]).
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenier in view of Sylvester and Ueno et al. (US2008/0119695).
Regarding claim 4, Guenier, modified by Sylvester, discloses the system of claim 3. While Guenier discloses wherein the fastener is a stop, Guenier fails to provide further details of the structure of the stop and thus fails to disclose wherein the fastener is a ring that is screwed and unscrewed to attach and detach respectively the handle to the elongated sleeve of the handheld intraoral camera. In the same field of endeavor, Ueno teaches an endoscope comprising a fastener for connecting a handle of the endoscope to the scope section of an endoscope (Fig. 2: lock ring 33 couples the scope section 8A to the drive source unit 8B at the coupling end section 16 and coupling end section 18, respectively [0052]), further teaching wherein the fastener is a ring that is screwed and unscrewed to attached and detach respectively the handle from the scope section (lock ring 33 is rotatably supported on the coupling end section 18 of the drive source unit 8B in the spin direction [0052]), the fastener further comprising an engagement pin and a threaded stop (engagement pin 32 engages with cam groove 33a). Since Guenier fails to disclose the details in which the elongated sleeve is attached to the handle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized that the fastener taught by Ueno, is one of the various suitable fasteners in known in the art for connecting two tubular sections of an endoscope, including the elongated sleeve and handle of Guenier.
Regarding claim 16, Guenier, modified by Sylvester, discloses the method of claim 15. While Guenier discloses wherein the fastener is a stop, Guenier fails to provide further details of the structure of the stop and thus fails to disclose wherein the fastener is a ring that is screwed and unscrewed to attach and detach respectively the handle to the elongated sleeve of the handheld intraoral camera In the same field of endeavor, Ueno teaches an endoscope comprising a fastener for connecting a handle of the endoscope to the scope section of an endoscope (Fig. 2: lock ring 33 couples the scope section 8A to the drive source unit 8B at the coupling end section 16 and coupling end section 18, respectively [0052]), further teaching wherein the fastener is a ring that is screwed and unscrewed to attached and detach respectively the handle from the scope section (lock ring 33 is rotatably supported on the coupling end section 18 of the drive source unit 8B in the spin direction [0052]), the fastener further comprising an engagement pin and a threaded stop (engagement pin 32 engages with cam groove 33a). Since Guenier fails to disclose the details in which the elongated sleeve is attached to the handle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized that the fastener taught by Ueno, is one of the various suitable fasteners in known in the art for connecting two tubular sections of an endoscope, including the elongated sleeve and handle of Guenier.
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenier in view of Sylvester and Fulton (US2016/0270878).
Regarding claim 7, Guenier, modified by Sylvester, discloses the system of claim 2. Guenier fails to disclose the configuration or method in which the flow of pressurized fluid is controlled. In the same field of endeavor, Fulton teaches an intraoral medical device comprising tubing connected to a pressurized fluid supply (Fig. 36: pressurized air or fluid flows through tubing 951 and exits openings 958 [0166]), further teaching wherein the flow of the pressurized fluid is controlled by a foot pedal (suction and positive air pressure may be synchronized or activated by various controls, for example a foot pedal [0180]). Since Guenier fails to disclose the method or configuration in which the air flow from the generator is controlled, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any fluid flow control known in the endoscope art, such as the one taught by Fulton, to control the flow of pressurized fluid in the system of Guenier, as foot pedals are common control for adjusting the flow fluid in endoscopic system.
Regarding claim 19, Guenier, modified by Sylvester, discloses the handheld intraoral camera of claim 14, but fails to disclose the configuration or method in which the flow of pressurized fluid is controlled. In the same field of endeavor, Fulton teaches an intraoral medical device comprising tubing connected to a pressurized fluid supply (Fig. 36: pressurized air or fluid flows through tubing 951 and exits openings 958 [0166]), further teaching wherein the flow of the pressurized fluid is controlled by a foot pedal (suction and positive air pressure may be synchronized or activated by various controls, for example a foot pedal [0180]). Since Guenier fails to disclose the method or configuration in which the air flow from the generator is controlled, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any fluid flow control known in the endoscope art, such as the one taught by Fulton, to control the flow of pressurized fluid in the system of Guenier, as foot pedals are common control for adjusting the flow fluid in endoscopic system.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenier in view of Sylvester and Kim et al. (US2020/0163533).
Regarding claim 8, Guenier discloses the system of claim 1. Guenier further discloses wherein the fluid is one or more of air and water (air flow 92 [0059]). Guenier fails to disclose the material in which the elongated sleeve is made from and fails to explicitly disclose wherein the elongated sleeve is cleaned using one of an autoclave, a soap, and a disinfected after insertion into a patient's mouth. In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches an intraoral scanner comprising an elongated sleeve, wherein the elongated sleeve is made from metallic material (suitable materials for autoclavable cover can be metals or plastics [0026]), and wherein the elongated sleeve is cleaned using one of autoclave, soap, and a disinfected after insertion into a patient’s mouth (Kim: cover 12 can be autoclavable [0026], however the sleeve 9 of Guenier is configured to be, or capable of being, cleaned, sterilized, autoclaved or disinfected, although not explicitly stated). Since Guenier fails to disclose the material of the elongated sleeve/sleeve 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any known sleeve cover in the art, including the metal material taught by Kim, as the sleeve material of Guenier.
Regarding claim 20, Guenier discloses the handheld intraoral camera of claim 13. Guenier fails to disclose the material in which the elongated sleeve is made from and fails to explicitly disclose wherein the elongated sleeve is cleaned using one of an autoclave, a soap, and a disinfected after insertion into a patient's mouth. In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches an intraoral scanner comprising an elongated sleeve, wherein the elongated sleeve is made from metallic material (suitable materials for autoclavable cover can be metals or plastics [0026]), and wherein the elongated sleeve is cleaned using one of autoclave, soap, and a disinfected after insertion into a patient’s mouth (Kim: cover 12 can be autoclavable [0026], however the sleeve 9 of Guenier is configured to be, or capable of being, cleaned, sterilized, autoclaved or disinfected, although not explicitly stated). Since Guenier fails to disclose the material of the elongated sleeve/sleeve 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any known sleeve cover in the art, including the metal material taught by Kim, as the sleeve material of Guenier.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See reference cited in PTO-892.
/LI-TING SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
11/04/2025