CTNF 18/361,855 CTNF 79433 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 07/30/2023. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Groat et al. (US 2016/0380441) . Re Claims 1, 10 and 16: Groat et al. {hereinafter referred as “Groat”} teaches system and method for self-contained automatic battery charging and battery-life-extension charging, which includes evaluating an information handling system, by a processor, to determine whether the information handling system was powered off longer than a pre-determined period { herein teaches an eco-float time period } (¶ 93+); if the information handling system was powered off longer than the pre-determined period, then determining whether a battery of the information handling system is at a critical { herein the examiner interprets a fail state as a critical state, such as a safety hazard } battery charge level (¶ 43-51+, 62+); and if the battery is at the critical battery charge level, then performing a battery chemistry refresh { herein the refresh mode 1240 is preferred when a certain desirable battery run time is critical to a user } (¶ 93-103+). With regards to Claim 10 with the limitations of Claim 1 (as discussed above): Groat also teaches a processor { herein processor 316 may include program ROM, data RAM, data EEPROM } (¶ 61+); and a memory storing code that when executed causes the processor to perform operations (see ¶ 56+, 107+). Re Claims 2 and 17: Groat teaches system and method, wherein the pre-determined period is based on a policy { herein configuration parameters } (¶ 53-57+). Re Claims 3 and 18: Groat teaches system and method, wherein the evaluating of the information handling system includes comparing a first timestamp { herein Groat teaches a time component 1120 such as a timer } when the information handling system was shut down and a second timestamp when the information handling system was powered on (¶ 49-51+, 83-84+, 92-101; also see claim 5 of Groat). Re Claims 4-6, 15 and 19: Groat teaches system and method, wherein the battery chemistry refresh { herein refresh charge mode } includes a battery charge/discharge cycle (¶ 95+), wherein during the battery charge/discharge cycle, the battery is charged until a battery charge level reaches a maximum battery charge threshold (¶ 98+), wherein during the battery charge/discharge cycle, subsequent to the battery reaching the maximum battery charge threshold, discharging the battery until the battery charge level reaches a minimum battery charge threshold { herein the term “zero volt battery” refers to a battery which has been deeply discharged and therefore the voltage across the battery terminals is very low } (¶ 65+). Re Claims 7 and 20: Groat teaches system and method, further comprising determining a battery charge level when the information handling system is powered on (¶ 61+). Re Claim 9: Groat teaches system and method, further comprising setting a basic input/output system flag to trigger execution of a battery charge/discharge process (¶ 88+). Re Claim 11: Groat teaches system and method, wherein the operations further comprise checking for an available update { herein that the program allows a user to field-upgrade charger firmware and a dynamically linked library for easy application integration and updates } (¶ 54-56+). Re Claim 12: Groat teaches system and method, wherein the operations further comprise if there is an available update { herein Groat teaches the program allows a user to field-upgrade charger firmware. The examiner herein interprets that the terms update and upgrade are often used interchangeably }, then applying the available update (¶ 54+) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groat et al. (US 2016/0380441) in view of Mariels (US 2010/0052614) . The teachings of Groat have been discussed above. Groat also teaches software parameters with various embodiments and a software communication library that is application-independent underlies setup/configuration communications (¶ 52+). Furthermore, Groat discloses For California efficiency, embodiments of the present systems and methods may implement adaptive control to comply, are able to track time history of energy consumption to meet time-based requirements, and/or the like (¶ 66+) Groat fails to specifically teach creating a log of data generated during the evaluating of the information handling system. Mariels teaches system and method for battery charge management, which includes creating a log { herein a data logger 615 } of data generated during the evaluating of the information handling system (¶ 71+). In view of Mariels’ teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Groat creating a log of data generated during the evaluating of the information handling system so as to record all data activities of the battery life. Such modification would be beneficial for communicating saved configurations for later use and/or re-use and improvements to the performance of the system . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groat et al. (US 2016/0380441) in view of Mount et al. (US 2004/0150371) . The teachings of Groat have been discussed above. Groat teaches the power board has many components, each with a specific purpose in enabling operation of the battery charger (¶ 38+). Groat fails to specifically teach that the operations further comprise performing a security scan. Mount et al. teaches power conditioner and backup security scanning equipment, wherein the operations further comprise performing a security scan (¶ 6+). In view of Mount et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Groat the operations further comprise performing a security scan so as to determine the status of the device. Such modification would be beneficial by performing a checksum operation of the files using a boot mode . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groat et al. (US 2016/0380441) in view of Paunonen (US 2009/0267570) . The teachings of Groat have been discussed above. Groat also teaches proper operation of the firmware and digital interfaces (¶ 54+, 73+). Groat fails to specifically teach that the operations further comprise querying a boot mode during a pre-extensible firmware interface initialization phase of a boot process. Paunonen teaches apparatus for providing boot-up capability signals and associated methods, wherein the operations further comprise querying a boot mode during a pre-extensible firmware interface initialization phase of a boot process (¶ 57+). In view of Paunonen’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Groat the operations further comprise querying a boot mode during a pre-extensible firmware interface initialization phase of a boot process so as to perform hardware initialization and loading the operating system . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mercer (US 5,982,148) teaches method and apparatus for monitoring the self-discharge of a secondary battery upon completion of a charge cycle. Williams(US 2008/0007219) teaches arbitrating battery power calibration in an intelligent storage element. Potega (US 2003/0085621) teaches power supply method and configurations. Elias et al. (US 2008/0054847) teaches battery characterization technique. Carkner (US 2014/0361726) teaches system and method for assuring operational readiness of a mission critical battery having a long storage. Knepper et al. (US 2016/0291673) teaches information handling battery charge management to support quick start. Thorland (US 2005/0248313) teaches event-driven battery charging an reconditioning. Kelly (US 2015/0002105) teaches apparatus and method for accurate energy device state-of-charge(SOC) monitoring and control using real-time state-of-health (SO) data. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EDWYN LABAZE whose telephone number is (571)272-2395. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-5:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mr. STEVE PAIK can be reached at 571-272-2404. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EDWYN LABAZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/361,855 Page 2 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/361,855 Page 3 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/361,855 Page 4 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/361,855 Page 5 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/361,855 Page 6 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/361,855 Page 7 Art Unit: 2876 Application/Control Number: 18/361,855 Page 8 Art Unit: 2876