DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on June 1, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, lines 2 and 3, it is unclear what is meant by “a first one” and “a second one” of the bipolar electrode, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 9 contains the trademark/trade name Super P. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe carbon black and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su et al. (“Su”, US 2024/0079594 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Su discloses solid-state batteries ([0046]) and teaches they may have a bipolar stack design ([0046]). The bipolar stacking design includes, for example, a plurality of bipolar electrodes where a first mixture of solid-state electroactive material particles (and optional solid-state electrolyte particles) is disposed on a first side of a current collector, and a second mixture of solid-state electroactive material particles (and optional solid-state electrolyte particles) is disposed on a second side of a current collector that is parallel with the first side ([0046]). The first mixture may include cathode material particles and the second mixture may include anode material particles ([0046]). Su teaches the solid-state electrodes may include PTFE fibrils ([0084]-[0086]).
As to claim 2, Su teaches the solid-state electrolyte particles may comprise one or more sulfide-based particles and halide-based particles, inter alia ([0061]). The sulfide-based particles may include a pseudobinary sulfide, a pseudoternary sulfide, and/or a psuedoquaternary sulfide ([0064]). Su teaches the electrolyte layer is a solid-state or semi-solid state separating layer that physically separates the negative electrode from the positive electrode ([0049]).
As to claim 3, Su teaches a positive electroactive material selected from a rock salt layered oxide, a spinel, a polyanion cathode, inter alia ([0010]). Su teaches the negative electroactive particles may comprise one or more carbonaceous negative electroactive materials such as graphite and graphene, and silicon-based particles such as silicon alloy and/or silicon-graphite mixture ([0071]).
As to claim 9, Su teaches the positive electrode may further include one or more conductive additives such as graphite, acetylene black, graphene (such as graphene oxide), carbon black (such as Super P), inter alia ([0082]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su.
Su is applied as in the rejection of claims 1-3 and 9 above.
As to claim 4, Su teaches the precursor of the polymeric binder material capable of being fibrillated to for fibers comprises solid polymeric binder particles comprising PTFE that have an average particle diameter of greater than or equal to 300 micrometers and less than or equal to 700 micrometers ([0087]).
MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to claim 5, Su teaches negative electrode may include 30 to 98 wt.% electroactive material ([0070]), 2 to 10 wt.% electrically conductive additives ([0074]), and 1 to 10 wt.% binder ([0074]), which may be PTFE fibrils ([0086]). Su teaches the same ranges for the positive electrode (see [0077] and [0083]).
As to claim 6, Su teaches the negative electrode may contain 1 wt.% to 10 wt.% binder ([0074]) and teaches the same for the positive electrode ([0083]). Su teaches the binder may be PTFE fibrils ([0086]).
As to claims 7 and 8, Su teaches the solid-state electrolyte layer may be in the form of a porous layer or a composite that comprises the first plurality of solid-state electrolyte particles ([0060]). Su teaches one or more binder particles may be mixed with the solid-state electrolyte particles in an amount of 0.5 wt.% to 10 wt.%, and the binders include PTFE ([0068]), which are taught in the form of fibrils ([0088]).
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746