DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-7 and 14-26 are pending. Claims 8-13 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
2. Claims 1, 14 and 21 were not amended to incorporate allowable subject matter of claims 26 as previously presented. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim 26 recites “the controller is configured to offload the beacon tracking to the second processor while the first processor performs the operation.”
Claim 1 was amended to recite “offload beacon tracking to the second processor” however claim 1 does not teach performing the functionality that corresponds to “while the first processor performs the operation.” Amended claim 1 is a broader scope and not in condition for allowance.
Claim 21 was amended to recite “offload beacon tracking to the second processor” responsive to a trigger however the amendment does not “while the first processor performs the operation.” For example, the scope of the currently amended claim 21 would include offloading beacon tracking to the second processor after the first processor has completed performing the operation. The Examiner has interpreted the use of “while” to mean “at the same time.” Amended claim 21 is a broader scope and not in condition for allowance.
3. In light of the amendments to the claims, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 14-17 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-6 and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babbar et al, US 2011/0191484 in view of Wang et al, US 2021/0409979 (as cited in the IDS dated 03/07/2025) hereafter Wang in view of Schoenberg et al, US 2022/020142 hereafter Schoenberg.
As for claim 1, Babbar discloses:
A device comprising:
a plurality of processors coupled to one or more network interfaces configured to provide wireless connectivity (Babbar, Fig. 1, [0022], The application processor 10 connected to three modem processors (i.e., modem processors 1, 2, 3). Each of the modem processors 1, 2, 3 may include an internal modem and may be connected to a secondary modem, such as secondary modems 1, 2, 3. ); and a controller (Babbar, Fig. 1, [0022], The application processor 10 connected to three modem processors (i.e., modem processors 1, 2, 3) configured to:
establish a wireless connection (Babbar, [0022], [0030], [0034]-[0035], [0061], [0072], Establish wireless WAN/LAN/MAN network connections.) via a first processor of the plurality of processors (Babbar, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0022], [0030], [0034], One of the modem processors (1, 2, 3) establishes a connection using the corresponding modem/Um interface).;
wherein the second processor is different from the first processor (Babbar, Fig. 1, [0022], The plurality of different modem processors (1, 2, 3)).
Barbar Fig. 1 discloses a plurality of processors coupled to respective modems/interfaces/transceivers.
Babbar does not explicitly disclose responsive to a trigger of the first processor scanning for one or more channels, transfer the established wireless connection from the first processor to a second processor of the plurality of processors,…responsive to the second processor detecting data to be received from the established wireless connection, transfer the established wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor.
However, Wang discloses responsive to a trigger of the first transceiver scanning for one or more channels, transfer the established wireless connection from the first transceiver to a second transceiver (Wang, [0043], [0055], [0110], [0102], [0125], [0129]-[0130], response to a trigger (e.g. scan schedule and/or notification) scan the channels, switch/transfer from communication from the primary low latency link to the backup link associated with AP2 of the plurality of APs) of the plurality of transceivers (Wang, Fig, 2, Fig. 3, [0046], [0060], The plurality of transceivers. The Examiner interprets the transceivers of Wang to corresponds to the modems disclosed in Wang),…responsive to the second processor detecting data to be received from the established wireless connection (Wang, [0010], [0056], [0117], [0129], Responsive to receiving a notification from the AP on the active/new/second/current transceiver/interface), transfer the established wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor (Wang, [0043], [0055], [0102], [0110], Switching between the primary low latency link and the backup link. Switching from the first link to the second link can include using a transceiver (e.g., transceiver 220b) associated with the second link instead of the transceiver (e.g., transceiver 220a) associated with the first link or vice versa.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babbar with responsive to a trigger of the first processor scanning for one or more channels, transfer the established wireless connection from the first processor to a second processor of the plurality of processors,…responsive to the second processor detecting data to be received from the established wireless connection, transfer the established wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor as taught by Wang to provide better utilization of channel resources, reduce channel access time upon channel switching, and/or save power and/or time (Wang, [0004]).
However, Schoenberg discloses offload beacon tracking to the second processor (Schoenberg, [0006], an electronic device having a wireless processor coupled with a wireless radio, scanning for a beacon advertisement using a wireless processor of the electronic device while an application processor of the electronic device is in a low power state, storing the beacon advertisement and a timestamp as an entry in a beacon advertisement buffer in response to detecting the beacon advertisement via the wireless processor, processing the beacon advertisement buffer to remove duplicate entries, transferring buffer entries to the application processor when the application processor wakes from the low power state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Babbar and Wang with offload beacon tracking to the second processor as taught by Schoenberg to provide improved wireless communications and power saving (Schoenberg, [0004]).
As for claim 2, Babbar does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to: responsive to completion of scanning for the one or more channels, transferring the established first wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor.
Wang discloses the controller (Wang, [0055], The processor configured to) is configured to: responsive to completion of scanning for the one or more channels (Wang, [0010], [0056], [0117], [0129], Responsive to receiving a notification from the AP during scanning), transferring the established first wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor (Wang, [0043], [0055], [0110], [0102], [0129], response to a trigger (e.g. scan schedule and/or notification) scan the channels, switch/transfer from communication between interfaces/links. Switching between links includes using a transceiver associated with one link instead of the transceiver associated with other link).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babbar with responsive to completion of scanning for the one or more channels, transferring the established first wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor as taught by Wang better utilization of channel resources, reduce channel access time upon channel switching, and/or save power and/or time (Wang, [0004]).
As for claim 3, Babbar does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to establish the wireless connection via the first processor to an access point.
However, Wang discloses the controller (Wang, [0055], The processor configured to) is configured to establish the wireless connection via the first processor to an access point (Wang, Fig. 3, [0060], Establish a connection between the transceiver and the access point.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babbar with the controller is configured to establish the wireless connection via the first processor to an access point as taught by Wang better utilization of channel resources, reduce channel access time upon channel switching, and/or save power and/or time (Wang, [0004]).
As for claim 4, Babbar does not explicitly disclose responsive to transferring the established connection from the first processor to the second processor, the second processor is configured to receive one or more beacons from the access point.
However, Wang discloses responsive to transferring the established connection from the first processor to the second processor, the second processor is configured to receive one or more beacons from the access point (Wang, [0005], [0055], [0102], responsive to transferring to the second/new interface, the second/new interface receives the continuing communications from the access point. The communications include beacons/notifications. Switching between links includes using a transceiver associated with one link instead of the transceiver associated with other link)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babbar with responsive to transferring the established connection from the first processor to the second processor, the second processor is configured to receive one or more beacons from the access point as taught by Wang to provide better utilization of channel resources, reduce channel access time upon channel switching, and/or save power and/or time (Wang, [0004]).
As for claim 5, Babbar does not explicitly disclose responsive to transferring the established wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor, the first processor is configured to receive the data from the access point.
Wang discloses responsive to transferring the established wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor (Wang, [0043], [0055], [0102], Switching between the primary low latency link and the backup link. “Between” means from primary to backup or backup to primary. Switching between links includes using a transceiver associated with one link instead of the transceiver associated with other link), the first processor is configured to receive the data from the access point (Wang, [0129], After switching to the other, the current/first link continues communication with the access point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babbar with responsive to transferring the established wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor, the first processor is configured to receive the data from the access point as taught by Wang to provide better utilization of channel resources, reduce channel access time upon channel switching, and/or save power and/or time (Wang, [0004]).
As for claim 6, Babbar does not explicitly disclose responsive to completion of receiving the data from the access point, the controller is configured to: transfer the established wireless connection from the first processor to the second processor.
Wang discloses responsive to completion of receiving the data from the access point (Wang, [0129], Responsive to receiving a notification from the AP), the controller is configured to: transfer the established wireless connection from the first processor to the second processor (Wang, [0043], [0110], [0102], [0129], response to a trigger (e.g. scan schedule and/or notification) scan the channels, switch/transfer from communication from the primary low latency link to the backup link associated with AP2 of the plurality of APs. Switching from the first link to the second link can include using a transceiver (e.g., transceiver 220b) associated with the second link instead of the transceiver (e.g., transceiver 220a) associated with the first link or vice versa.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babbar with responsive to completion of receiving the data from the access point, the controller is configured to: transfer the established wireless connection from the first processor to the second processor as taught by Wang to provide better utilization of channel resources, reduce channel access time upon channel switching, and/or save power and/or time (Wang, [0004]).
As for claim 21, Babbar discloses:
A system comprising: a controller (Babbar, Fig. 1, [0022], The application processor 10 connected to three modem processors (i.e., modem processors 1, 2, 3) in communication with a plurality of processors coupled to one or more network interfaces (Babbar, Fig. 1, [0022], The application processor 10 connected to three modem processors (i.e., modem processors 1, 2, 3). Each of the modem processors 1, 2, 3 may include an internal modem and may be connected to a secondary modem, such as secondary modems 1, 2, 3. ), the controller configured to: establish a first wireless connection (Babbar, [0022], [0030], [0034]-[0035], [0061], [0072], Establish wireless WAN/LAN/MAN network connections.) via a first processor of a plurality of processors coupled to one or more network interfaces (Babbar, Fig. 1, [0022], The application processor 10 connected to three modem processors (i.e., modem processors 1, 2, 3). Each of the modem processors 1, 2, 3 may include an internal modem and may be connected to a secondary modem, such as secondary modems 1, 2, 3. ) configured to provide wireless connectivity (Babbar, [0022], [0030], [0034]-[0035], [0061], [0072], Establish wireless WAN/LAN/MAN network connectivity), wherein the second processor is different from the first processor (Babbar, Fig. 1, [0022], The plurality of different modem processors (1, 2, 3)).
Babbar does not explicitly disclose responsive to a trigger of the first processor performing an operation, transfer the established first wireless connection from the first processor to a second processor of the plurality of processors, and transferring, while the first processor performs the operation, the established first connection from the second processor back to the first processor.
However, Wang discloses responsive to a trigger of the first processor performing an operation, transfer the established first wireless connection from the first processor to a second processor (Wang, [0043], [0055], [0110], [0102], [0125], [0129]-[0130], response to a trigger (e.g. scan schedule and/or notification) scan the channels, switch/transfer from communication from the primary low latency link to the backup link associated with AP2 of the plurality of APs) of the plurality of processors (Wang, Fig, 2, Fig. 3, [0046], [0060], The plurality of transceivers. The Examiner interprets the transceivers of Wang to corresponds to the modems disclosed in Wang), and transferring, while the first processor performs the operation, the established first connection from the second processor back to the first processor(Wang, [0043], [0055], [0102], [0110], Switching between the primary low latency link and the backup link. Switching from the first link to the second link can include using a transceiver (e.g., transceiver 220b) associated with the second link instead of the transceiver (e.g., transceiver 220a) associated with the first link or vice versa.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babbar with responsive to a trigger of the first processor performing an operation, transfer the established first wireless connection from the first processor to a second processor of the plurality of processors, and transferring, while the first processor performs the operation, the established first connection from the second processor back to the first processor as taught by Wang to provide better utilization of channel resources, reduce channel access time upon channel switching, and/or save power and/or time (Wang, [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babbar with responsive to a trigger of the first processor scanning for one or more channels, transfer the established wireless connection from the first processor to a second processor of the plurality of processors,…responsive to the second processor detecting data to be received from the established wireless connection, transfer the established wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor as taught by Wang to provide better utilization of channel resources, reduce channel access time upon channel switching, and/or save power and/or time (Wang, [0004]).
However, Schoenberg discloses offload beacon tracking to the second processor (Schoenberg, [0006], an electronic device having a wireless processor coupled with a wireless radio, scanning for a beacon advertisement using a wireless processor of the electronic device while an application processor of the electronic device is in a low power state, storing the beacon advertisement and a timestamp as an entry in a beacon advertisement buffer in response to detecting the beacon advertisement via the wireless processor, processing the beacon advertisement buffer to remove duplicate entries, transferring buffer entries to the application processor when the application processor wakes from the low power state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Babbar and Wang with offload beacon tracking to the second processor as taught by Schoenberg to provide improved wireless communications and power saving (Schoenberg, [0004]).
As for claim 22, Babbar does not explicitly disclose the operation is scanning for one or more channels.
However, Wang discloses the operation is scanning for one or more channels (Wang, [0043], [0055], [0110], [0102], [0125], [0129]-[0130], Scan the channels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babbar with the operation is scanning for one or more channels as taught by Wang to provide better utilization of channel resources, reduce channel access time upon channel switching, and/or save power and/or time (Wang, [0004]).
As for claim 23, Babbar does not explicitly disclose in transferring the established first wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor, the controller is configured to: responsive to the second processor detecting data to be received from the established first wireless connection, transfer the established first wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor.
However, Wang discloses in transferring the established first wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor (Wang, [0043], [0055], [0102], [0110], Switching between the primary low latency link and the backup link. Switching from the first link to the second link can include using a transceiver (e.g., transceiver 220b) associated with the second link instead of the transceiver (e.g., transceiver 220a) associated with the first link or vice versa.), the controller (Wang, [0055], The processor configured to) is configured to: responsive to the second processor detecting data to be received from the established first wireless connection (Wang, [0043], [0055], [0110], [0102], [0125], [0129]-[0130], response to a trigger (e.g. scan schedule and/or notification) scan the channels, switch/transfer), transfer the established first wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor (Wang, [0043], [0055], [0102], [0110], Switching between the primary low latency link and the backup link. Switching from the first link to the second link can include using a transceiver (e.g., transceiver 220b) associated with the second link instead of the transceiver (e.g., transceiver 220a) associated with the first link or vice versa.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babbar with in transferring the established first wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor, the controller is configured to: responsive to the second processor detecting data to be received from the established first wireless connection, transfer the established first wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor as taught by Wang to provide better utilization of channel resources, reduce channel access time upon channel switching, and/or save power and/or time (Wang, [0004]).
As for claim 24, Babbar does not explicitly disclose responsive to completion of scanning for the one or more channels, transferring the established first wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor.
Wang discloses responsive to completion of scanning for the one or more channels (Wang, [0010], [0056], [0117], [0129], Responsive to receiving a notification from the AP during scanning), transferring the established first wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor (Wang, [0043], [0055], [0110], [0102], [0129], response to a trigger (e.g. scan schedule and/or notification) scan the channels, switch/transfer from communication between interfaces/links. Switching between links includes using a transceiver associated with one link instead of the transceiver associated with other link).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babbar with responsive to completion of scanning for the one or more channels, transferring the established first wireless connection from the second processor back to the first processor as taught by Wang to provide better utilization of channel resources, reduce channel access time upon channel switching, and/or save power and/or time (Wang, [0004]).
5. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babbar in view of Wang in view of Schoenberg as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wietfeldt et al, US 2017/0006615 hereafter Wietfeldt.
As for claim 7, the combination of Babbar, Wang, and Schoenberg does not explicitly disclose the data to be received from the established wireless connection is unicast data addressed to the device.
However, Wietfeldt discloses the data to be received from the established wireless connection is unicast data addressed to the device (Wietfeldt, [0026]-[0027],[0029], [0115], Receiving the unicast message that is addressed to the device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Babbar, Wang, and Schoenberg with the data to be received from the established wireless connection is unicast data addressed to the device as taught by Wietfeldt to provide optimize the reach of messages (Wietfeldt, [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 14-17 are allowed.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 19-20 and 25-26 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469