Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 02/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a thorough and complete search of the elected claims would necessarily encompass a thorough and complete search for the subject matter of the non-elected claims. This is not found persuasive because the elected and non-elected claims can be classified differently (B01D 71/0281 and B01D 67/00 respectively), so the elected claims would not necessarily encompass the non-elected and would result in a search burden for the examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noda (US20200346171).
Regarding claim 1, Noda discloses a separation membrane that is made of a zeolite (paragraph 0007). The zeolite is formed on a porous support (paragraph 0011). The zeolite membrane can have an ETL-type zeolite (paragraph 0043).
Noda does not disclose an X-ray diffraction pattern where an intensity of a peak existing in vicinity of diffraction angles 9.9° and 19.8° are each not lower than 0.8 times the intensity of a peak at diffraction angle 7.9°.
Noda discloses the same materials as the present invention. The zeolite is ETL-type (paragraph 0043). The support is a ceramic sintered compact including alumina, silica, mullite, zirconia, titania, yttria, silicon nitride, and silicon carbide (paragraph 0037). The inorganic binder may be at least one of titania, mullite, easily sinterable alumina, silica, glass frit, clay minerals, and easily sinterable cordierite (paragraph 0038). The alkali metals in the membrane can be lithium, sodium, potassium, rubidium, or cesium (paragraph 0049).
Noda discloses ratios that satisfy the present invention. The amount of Si in the zeolite membrane is preferably 5 times or more and 1000 times or less than the amount of Al (paragraph 0048). The amount of alkali metal to Al is preferably less than or equal to 90 mol%, more preferably less than or equal to 60 mol% (paragraph 0049).
The membrane is formed in the same manner as the present invention. The zeolite powder is synthesized by hydrothermal synthesis and seed crystals are acquired (paragraph 0058). The porous support is immersed in a solution which the seed crystals are dispersed, so that the crystals are deposited on the support (paragraph 0059).
Because the materials, ratios of materials, and method of forming the membrane are the same as the present application, it is the position of the examiner that the XRD of the membrane in Noda is the same as the present invention and thus the peak existing in vicinity of diffraction angles 9.9° and 19.8° are each not lower than 0.8 times the intensity of the peak existing in the vicinity of diffraction angle 7.9°.
Regarding claim 2, because the materials, ratios of materials, and method of forming the membrane are the same as the present application, it is the position of the examiner that the XRD of the membrane in Noda is the same as the present invention and thus the peak existing in vicinity of diffraction angles 9.9° and 19.8° are each not lower than 1.0 times the intensity of the peak existing in the vicinity of diffraction angle 7.9°.
Regarding claim 3, Noda discloses an amount of Si in the zeolite membrane that is preferably 5 times or more and 1000 times or less than the amount of Al (paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 4, because the materials, ratios of materials, and method of forming the membrane are the same as the present application, it is the position of the examiner that the CF4 gas permeance is not higher than 10 nmol/m2*s*Pa in the membrane taught in Noda.
Regarding claim 5, Noda discloses that the zeolite membrane contains rubidium (paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 6, Noda discloses the amount of alkali metal to Al is preferably less than or equal to 90 mol%, more preferably less than or equal to 60 mol% (paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 7, Noda discloses a gas separation apparatus that includes the zeolite membrane complex and a gas supply part (paragraph 0034). The gas supply part supplies a mixed gas (paragraph 0055). A mixed gas containing CO2, N2, and CH4 are led into the apparatus. CO2 and N2 permeate the zeolite membrane complex to be simultaneously and efficiently separated from CH4 in the mixed gas (paragraph 0065).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda as applied to claims 1-7 above, and further in view of Izuru et al. (JP2021024801).
The teachings of Noda are applied as above for claim 1. In addition:
Regarding claim 8, Noda discloses a gas separation apparatus that includes the zeolite membrane complex and a gas supply part (paragraph 0034). The apparatus separates a high permeability substance in a mixed substance by allowing the high permeability substance to permeate the zeolite membrane complex (paragraph 0065).
Noda does not disclose a membrane reactor comprising a catalyst for accelerating a chemical reaction of a starting material. Noda does not disclose the mixed substance containing a product that is generated by a chemical reaction.
Izuru et al. discloses an alcohol production apparatus by reacting a raw material containing at least hydrogen and carbon monoxide in the presence of a catalyst (paragraph 008). The apparatus comprises a reactor equipped with a raw material feed and a zeolite membrane that is an alcohol selective permeable membrane (paragraph 0021). The reactor also has a catalyst disposed around the zeolite membrane (paragraph 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve the gas separation device taught in Noda by adding the reactor and catalyst component of Izuru et al to carry out a reaction inside of the gas separation apparatus as a means of process intensification.
Conclusion
/DAVID ANDREW CALDERON/Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742