This Office Action is in reply to Applicants’ correspondence of 09/02/2026.
Applicants’ remarks and amendments have been fully and carefully considered but are not found to be sufficient to put the application in condition for allowance. New grounds of rejection are presented in this Office Action necessitated by Applicants’ IDS of 06/24/2026 submitted with the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p). Any rejections or objections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims or as discussed in this Office Action.
This Action is made FINAL.
Please Note: The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Election/Restrictions
In the reply filed on 03/11/2026 Applicants election, without traverse, the invention of Group I (claims 1-15 drawn to method of detecting a target nucleic acid).
Claims 16-34 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as set forth on page 2 of the Office Action of 06/04/2026.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefiniteness
Necessitated by Claim Amendments
Claims 1 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The rejected claims are unclear over recitation of the limitation “the 5' end of the second complementary sequence that is complementary to the 3' end of the target nucleic acid” (lines 6-7 of amended claim 1) because there is not proper antecedent basis in the text of the claim for “the 5' end of the second complementary sequence”.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - New Matter
Necessitated by Claim Amendments
Claims 1 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter rejection.
The instant rejection of claims is relevant to the breadth of the currently claimed oligonucleotides in light of the teachings of the application as originally filed. The application as filed provides for an oligonucleotide of four parts, provided in the 5’-3’ direction as: a signal generation sequence; a nuclease recognition site; a sequence complementary to the signal generation sequence; a sequence complementary to a target), e.g.: Figure 1A of the drawings:
and the abasic site(s) of the oligonucleotide are disclosed as being “located between the 5' end and the 3' end of the second complementary sequence” (i.e.: portion ‘D’ in the figure above. The amended claims are broader in scope that the disclosure of the application as originally filed because the relevant portion of the amended claims include “the two abasic moieties are located at positions that are 7 and 8 nucleotides from the 5' end of the second complementary sequence”. But being “from the 5' end” is generic with regard to the directionality of the position of the abasic sites, and encompasses abasic sites that are “7 and 8 nucleotides from the 5' end of the second complementary sequence” in the direction of the sequence complementary to the signal generation sequence (e.g.: in position ‘C’ of the figure above). Where the claims encompass subject matter not taught in the application as originally filed, the rejection for including new matter is appropriate.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komori et al (WO 2016/103234) in view of Ng et al (1989), as set forth on pages 2-5 of the Office Action of 06/04/2026, is withdrawn in light of the newly supplied reference presented in Applicants’ IDS of 06/24/2026 submitted with the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p).
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komori et al (WO 2016/103234) in view of Ng et al (1989) and Glokler et al (2014; EP 2 743 354 A1) (cited on the IDS of 06/24/2026.
Relevant to the methods of Claim 1, Komori et al teaches a method of detecting a target nucleic acid comprising contacting a sample with: a first oligonucleotide (i.e.: sequence conversion DNA or SC DNA) comprising, in the 5' to 3' direction, a signal DNA generation sequence, an endonuclease recognition site, and a sequence complementary a portion of the signal DNA generation sequence (i.e.: cover sequence) and a second complementary sequence that is complementary to the 3’ end of a target, where the oligonucleotide forms a hairpin structure (Figs 1-3); a polymerase; and a nicking endonuclease (e.g.: p.2-4).
Relevant to claims 7 and 8, Komori et al teaches (p.17-18) that the methods can be performed at constant temperatures, and temperatures from about 200C to about 420C.
Relevant to claims 9 and 10, Kimori et al teaches methods using enzymes with displacement activity, and without exonuclease activity (e.g.: p.15).
Relevant to claims 11 and 12, Kimori et al teaches methods applied to detection of miRNA and infections agents (e.g.: p.20).
Relevant to claim 15, Kimori et al teaches oligonucleotides comprising 3’-end modifications (e.g.: p.13-14, Fig. 3; p.23 – Example 1).
Further relevant to the instantly rejected claims, Komori et al teaches (p.13-14) that the oligonucleotide may comprise a modification, including abasic groups. Komori et al teaches modifications can reduce or eliminate the occurrence of any non-desired extension reactions, such as replication initiated from the 3 'end of the oligonucleotide that may lead to detection errors (e.g., false positives), and may prevent non-specific extension reactions arising from events such as binding between the oligonucleotide and a non-target sequence, binding between the oligonucleotide and a target sequence at an incorrect position, or non-templated de novo or ab initio DNA synthesis may also lead to detection errors.
Komori et al does not exemplify an oligonucleotide that comprises at least two abasic moieties, wherein the two abasic moieties are located at positions that are 7 and 8 nucleotides from the 5' end of the second complementary sequence that is complementary to the 3' end of the target nucleic acid, as recited in claim 1. However, the effects of abasic sites in primers on the polymerase extension capabilities of the primer were known in the prior art and are taught by Ng et al and by Glokler et al.
Relevant to the rejected claims, Ng et al teaches abasic sites positions 5, 7, 9 and 11 in a 12-mer primer (e.g.: Fig 6), and demonstrates, by using the primers in a direct incorporation assay, that primers with abasic lesions at 12-mer positions 11 and 9 were unable to support incorporation, and primers with abasic lesions at 12-mer positions 5 and 7 showed decreased incorporation (Fig. 7).
Further relevant to the limitations of the claims, Glokler et al exemplifies the effects of abasic sites in primers used in polymerase-based extension assays (e.g.: p.8 – Example 1: Priming assay; Table 1; Figure 1). Glokler teaches the use of primers with abasic sites at positions (from the 5’-end of the primer): 7 and 12; 7 and 13; 8 and 13; and 5, 10 and 15.
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the rejected claims to have used the structures of Komori et al for the detection of a target nucleic acid, and to have included abasic sites in the oligonucleotide as suggested by Komori et al and exemplified by both Ng et al and Glokler et al. The skilled artisan would have been motivated put abasic sites in the oligonucleotide based on the expressed teachings of Komori et al that oligonucleotide modifications such as abasic groups may reduce or eliminate the occurrence of any non-desired extension reactions, the expressed teaching of Ng et al that abasic groups at various positions in a primer may prevent or reduce polymerase-based primer extension, and the particular teachings of Glokler et al that abasic sites provide a reduction of the melting temperature of polynucleotides and also lead to a high binding specificity of the oligonucleotide (e.g.: para 0009).
Where the claims recite particular positions of an abasic group, it is noted that such positions are recited in relation to the 5’-end of the second complementary sequence, and thus the position of the abasic group in relation to the 3’-end of the second complementary sequence may be different depending on the length of the second complementary sequence; nonetheless it is noted that Ng et al teaches the effectiveness of abasic sites that are 5, 7, 9, and 11 nucleotides from the 5-end of a primer, and Ng et al teaches that abasic sites in a primer abrogate the binding of a polymerase to a template-primer structure. Further in this regard, Glokler et al teaches primers with a plurality of abasic sites, and includes abasic sites in primers at positions including 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13 and 15. Glokler et al further establishes that the number and position of the abasic sites in a primer represents a results effective variable when considering extension of the primer by a polymerase at different temperatures and with templates with different mismatches (Figure 1). It would have been prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan to include a plurality of abasic sites in a primer, including at positions 7 and 8 form the 5’ end, to the specificity of an extension reaction as taught by Glokler et al. Where Ng et al, and Glokler et al teach that the positioning of abasic sites effects the disruption of polymerase binding, and alters the specificity of an extension reaction, the use of particular abasic positioning would have been routine optimization for the skilled artisan practicing the methods of Komori et al in view of Ng et al and Glokler et al. Similarly, with regard to the reduction in background signal amplification as recited in claim 13 and 14, where Ng et al and Glokler et al provide teachings that different abasic positions have quantitatively different effects on nucleotide incorporation by a polymerase, and where Komori et al teaches that a goal of including oligonucleotide modifications is to reduce or eliminate the occurrence of any non-desired extension reactions, achieving any desired level of background signal would have been a matter of routine optimization to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Remarks
Applicants have traversed the rejection of claims as provided in the previous Office Action. In light of the references provided with Applicants’ IDS of 06/24/2026 submitted with the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p), a new rejection is set forth above that includes the teachings of Glokler et al. Applicants’ arguments have been fully and carefully considered but are not found to be persuasive in light of the rejection as set forth above that includes the teachings of Glokler et al. Applicants’ arguments related to the asserted lack of teachings in Ng et al with regard to the use of a plurality of abasic sites in a primer, and the recognition of abasic site positions in a primer as a results effective variable in a polymerase-based extension assay, are not persuasive because such teachings are clearly provided in the prior art of Glokler et al. Additionally, the exemplifications of Glokler et al provide the skilled artisan with a reasonable expectation of success in making and using primers consonant with the requirements of the claims. In this regard it is noted that a proper rejection under 35 USC 103 for obviousness does not require absolute predictability, but only a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dean et al (US Pat 7,205,129) and Kim et al (US Pat 8,513,399) each provide teachings related to primers with a plurality of abasic sites and the effect on extension reactions using the primers. In particular it is noted that Kim et al teaches the use of primers with abasic sites at adjacent positions.
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 06/24/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Stephen Kapushoc
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/STEPHEN T KAPUSHOC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683