DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/396,781, filed on August 10, 2022.
Acknowledgement
3. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of the amendment on October 11, 2023. Claims 1-20 are pending. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of information disclosure statement (IDS), dated on January 5, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner's Notes
5. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-3, 12, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US 2020/0107353).
Regarding claim 1, Jung et al. teach the method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) with a base station in a wireless system (paragraph [0009] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: UE 110 illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a user equipment (UE);”
network entity/base station 120 illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a base station;”
in fact, the method performed by UE 110 with base station 120 in the wireless system, as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the prior art teaches this preamble), comprising:
receiving, from the base station, a downlink control information (DCI) including an association indication contained in an association field of the DCI to indicate an association between one or more phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) ports and one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports (paragraph [0070] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the DCI information/field, e.g., in DCI format 0_1A, indicating PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an association field of the DCI to indicate an association between one or more phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) ports and one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports;”
in fact, receiving, from base station 120, the DCI including the DCI information/field, e.g., in DCI format 0_1A, indicating PTRS-DMRS association between PTRS ports and DMRS ports, as shown in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, from the base station, a downlink control information (DCI) including an association indication contained in an association field of the DCI to indicate an association between one or more phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) ports and one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports” in the instant application),
wherein the association indication is for configuration of uplink (UL) transmissions using a number of UL antenna elements of the UE (paragraph [0066] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: the set/number of antenna ports regards to UE, e.g., UE 110 as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a number of UL antenna elements of the UE;”
in fact, the indication of PTRS-DMRS association regards to the configuration of UL, e.g., PUSCH transmissions, using the set/number of antenna ports of UE, e.g., UE 110 as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the association indication is for configuration of uplink (UL) transmissions using a number of UL antenna elements of the UE” in the instant application), and
wherein the association field has a bit width determined based on an antenna architecture of the UE (paragraph [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the bit width of the field regards to PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the association field has a bit width;”
in fact, indicating/determining the bit width of the PTRS-DMRS association field regards to the UE in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the association field has a bit width determined based on an antenna architecture of the UE” in the instant application),
the antenna architecture including the number of UL antenna elements of the UE (paragraph [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the set/number of UL antenna ports/elements of the UE, e.g., for a PUSCH, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the antenna architecture including the number of UL antenna elements of the UE” in the instant application); and
determining a DMRS port associated with a PTRS port based on the association indication contained in the association field and the antenna architecture (paragraph [0070] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: indicating/determining the DMRS port associated with the PTRS port based on the PTRS-DMRS association and the antenna ports/elements in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining a DMRS port associated with a PTRS port based on the association indication contained in the association field and the antenna architecture” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 2, Jung et al. further teach the method, wherein the association indication is contained in the association field of the DCI in a DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2 (paragraph [0070] lines 1-11; Examiner’s Notes: the DCI format 0_1A in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a DCI format 0_1;”
in fact, the DCI information/field, e.g., in DCI format 0_1A, indicating PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the association indication is contained in the association field of the DCI in a DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 3, Jung et al. further teach the method, wherein the antenna architecture of the UE further includes a non-coherent antenna architecture, a fully coherent antenna architecture, or a partially coherent antenna architecture including multiple antenna panels (paragraphs [0066] lines 1-8 & [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the antenna ports regards to the non-coherent joint transmission in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a non-coherent antenna architecture;”
in fact, the UE’s antenna ports of the non-coherent joint transmission including antenna panels in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the antenna architecture of the UE further includes a non-coherent antenna architecture, a fully coherent antenna architecture, or a partially coherent antenna architecture including multiple antenna panels” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 12, Jung et al. teach the user equipment (UE) in a wireless system (paragraphs [0009] lines 1-21 & [0108] lines 1-15; Examiner’s Notes: both UE 110 illustrated in FIG. 1 and UE 400 in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “user equipment (UE);”
in fact, UE 110 in the wireless system, as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “user equipment (UE) in a wireless system” in the instant application), comprising:
a transceiver (paragraph [0108] lines 1-15; Examiner’s Notes: transceiver 470 in UE 400 in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transceiver” in the instant application) configured to communicate with a base station (paragraph [0009] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: network entity/base station 120 illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a base station;”
in fact, the method performed by UE 110 with base station 120 in the wireless system, as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the prior art teaches this limitation); and
a processor (paragraph [0108] lines 1-15; Examiner’s Notes: controller 420 in UE 400 in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “processor” in the instant application) communicatively coupled to the transceiver and configured to:
receive, from the base station, a downlink control information (DCI) including an association indication contained in an association field of the DCI to indicate an association between one or more phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) ports and one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports (paragraph [0070] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the DCI information/field, e.g., in DCI format 0_1A, indicating PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an association field of the DCI to indicate an association between one or more phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) ports and one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports;”
in fact, receiving, from base station 120, the DCI including the DCI information/field, e.g., in DCI format 0_1A, indicating PTRS-DMRS association between PTRS ports and DMRS ports, as shown in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive, from the base station, a downlink control information (DCI) including an association indication contained in an association field of the DCI to indicate an association between one or more phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) ports and one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports” in the instant application),
wherein the association indication is for configuration of uplink (UL) transmissions using a number of UL antenna elements of the UE (paragraph [0066] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: the set/number of antenna ports regards to UE, e.g., UE 110 as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a number of UL antenna elements of the UE;”
in fact, the indication of PTRS-DMRS association regards to the configuration of UL, e.g., PUSCH transmissions, using the set/number of antenna ports of UE, e.g., UE 110 as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the association indication is for configuration of uplink (UL) transmissions using a number of UL antenna elements of the UE” in the instant application), and
wherein the association field has a bit width determined based on an antenna architecture of the UE (paragraph [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the bit width of the field regards to PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the association field has a bit width;”
in fact, indicating/determining the bit width of the PTRS-DMRS association field regards to the UE in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the association field has a bit width determined based on an antenna architecture of the UE” in the instant application),
the antenna architecture including the number of UL antenna elements (paragraph [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the set/number of UL antenna ports/elements of the UE, e.g., for a PUSCH, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the antenna architecture including the number of UL antenna elements” in the instant application); and
determine a DMRS port associated with a PTRS port based on the association indication contained in the association field and the antenna architecture (paragraph [0070] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: indicating/determining the DMRS port associated with the PTRS port based on the PTRS-DMRS association and the antenna ports/elements in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determine a DMRS port associated with a PTRS port based on the association indication contained in the association field and the antenna architecture” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 13, Jung et al. further teach the UE, wherein the antenna architecture of the UE further includes a non-coherent antenna architecture, a fully coherent antenna architecture, or a partially coherent antenna architecture including multiple antenna panels (paragraphs [0066] lines 1-8 & [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the antenna ports regards to the non-coherent joint transmission in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a non-coherent antenna architecture;”
in fact, the UE’s antenna ports of the non-coherent joint transmission including antenna panels in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the antenna architecture of the UE further includes a non-coherent antenna architecture, a fully coherent antenna architecture, or a partially coherent antenna architecture including multiple antenna panels” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 19, Jung et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of a user equipment (UE) (paragraphs [0009] lines 1-21 & [0108] lines 1-15; Examiner’s Notes: both UE 110 illustrated in FIG. 1 and UE 400 in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “user equipment (UE);”
memory 450 in UE 400 in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “non-transitory computer-readable medium” in the instant application;
controller 420 in UE 400 in FIG. 4 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a processor” in the instant application), cause the UE to perform operations, the operations comprising:
receiving, from the base station, a downlink control information (DCI) including an association indication contained in an association field of the DCI to indicate an association between one or more phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) ports and one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports (paragraph [0070] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the DCI information/field, e.g., in DCI format 0_1A, indicating PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an association field of the DCI to indicate an association between one or more phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) ports and one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports;”
in fact, receiving, from base station 120, the DCI including the DCI information/field, e.g., in DCI format 0_1A, indicating PTRS-DMRS association between PTRS ports and DMRS ports, as shown in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, from the base station, a downlink control information (DCI) including an association indication contained in an association field of the DCI to indicate an association between one or more phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) ports and one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports” in the instant application),
wherein the association indication is for configuration of uplink (UL) transmissions using a number of UL antenna elements of the UE (paragraph [0066] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: the set/number of antenna ports regards to UE, e.g., UE 110 as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a number of UL antenna elements of the UE;”
in fact, the indication of PTRS-DMRS association regards to the configuration of UL, e.g., PUSCH transmissions, using the set/number of antenna ports of UE, e.g., UE 110 as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the association indication is for configuration of uplink (UL) transmissions using a number of UL antenna elements of the UE” in the instant application), and
wherein the association field has a bit width determined based on an antenna architecture of the UE (paragraph [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the bit width of the field regards to PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the association field has a bit width;”
in fact, indicating/determining the bit width of the PTRS-DMRS association field regards to the UE in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the association field has a bit width determined based on an antenna architecture of the UE” in the instant application),
the antenna architecture including the number of UL antenna elements (paragraph [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the set/number of UL antenna ports/elements of the UE, e.g., for a PUSCH, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the antenna architecture including the number of UL antenna elements” in the instant application); and
determining a DMRS port associated with a PTRS port based on the association indication contained in the association field and the antenna architecture (paragraph [0070] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: indicating/determining the DMRS port associated with the PTRS port based on the PTRS-DMRS association and the antenna ports/elements in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining a DMRS port associated with a PTRS port based on the association indication contained in the association field and the antenna architecture” in the instant application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 4-7, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2020/0107353).
Regarding claim 4, Jung et al. teach the partially coherent antenna architecture including antenna panels with antenna elements (paragraphs [0066] lines 1-8 & [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: simultaneously operating UE antenna panels with antenna ports/elements in the prior art teaches this limitation in the instant application).
Jung et al. teach the claimed invention except for specifically indicating “two antenna panels, each antenna panel including four antenna elements; or four antenna panels, each antenna panel including two antenna elements.”
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select “two antenna panels, each antenna panel including four antenna elements; or four antenna panels, each antenna panel including two antenna elements,” since such a choice/modification would have involved a mere change in the size/number of antenna panels and the size/number of antenna elements. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, Jung et al. teach the multiple antenna panels (paragraph [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the UE antenna panels in the prior art teaches the multiple antenna panels in the instant application).
Jung et al. teach the claimed invention without specifically indicating “the multiple antenna panels are vertically stacked or horizontally stacked.”
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select the multiple antenna panels vertically stacked or horizontally stacked, since such a choice is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 6, Jung et al. teach the bit width of the association field of the DCI and the number of bits for the association indication (paragraphs [0066] lines 1-8 & [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the bit width of the DCI field regards to PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the bit width of the association field of the DCI;”
the number of bits for indicating the PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the number of bits for the association indication” in the instant application).
Jung et al. teach the claimed invention except for specifically indicating the size difference, e.g., “wherein the bit width of the association field of the DCI is greater than a number of bits for the association indication.”
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select the size difference, e.g., “wherein the bit width of the association field of the DCI is greater than a number of bits for the association indication,” since such a choice would have involved a mere change in the size of the bit width of the association field of the DCI and a number of bits for the association indication. A change/selection in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 7, Jung et al. further teach the method, wherein the base station is a first base station (paragraph [0009] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: network entity/base station 120 illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first base station” in the instant application),
the association indication is a first association indication for the first base station (paragraph [0070] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the PTRS-DMRS association indication for the base station 120 illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the association indication is a first association indication for the first base station” in the instant application), and
the association field of the DCI includes a second association indication to indicate a second association between one or more PTRS ports and one or more DMRS ports for configuration of UL transmissions from the UE to a second base station (paragraph [0066] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: network entity/base station 125 illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second base station”
the DCI information/field, e.g., in DCI format 0_1A, indicating PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second association indication to indicate a second association between one or more PTRS ports and one or more DMRS ports;”
in fact, the DCI information/field, e.g., in DCI format 0_1A, indicating PTRS-DMRS association regards to the configuration of UL, e.g., PUSCH transmissions, from UE 110 to base station 125, as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the association field of the DCI includes a second association indication to indicate a second association between one or more PTRS ports and one or more DMRS ports for configuration of UL transmissions from the UE to a second base station” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 14, Jung et al. teach the UE, including the partially coherent antenna architecture including antenna panels with antenna elements (paragraphs [0066] lines 1-8 & [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: simultaneously operating UE antenna panels with antenna ports/elements in the prior art teaches this limitation in the instant application).
Jung et al. teach the claimed invention except for specifically indicating “two antenna panels, each antenna panel including four antenna elements; or four antenna panels, each antenna panel including two antenna elements.”
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select “two antenna panels, each antenna panel including four antenna elements; or four antenna panels, each antenna panel including two antenna elements,” since such a choice/modification would have involved a mere change in the size/number of antenna panels and the size/number of antenna elements. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 15, Jung et al. teach the bit width of the association field of the DCI and the number of bits for the association indication (paragraphs [0066] lines 1-8 & [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the bit width of the DCI field regards to PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the bit width of the association field of the DCI;”
the number of bits for indicating the PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the number of bits for the association indication” in the instant application).
Jung et al. teach the claimed invention except for specifically indicating the size difference, e.g., “wherein the bit width of the association field of the DCI is greater than a number of bits for the association indication.”
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select the size difference, e.g., “wherein the bit width of the association field of the DCI is greater than a number of bits for the association indication,” since such a choice would have involved a mere change in the size of the bit width of the association field of the DCI and a number of bits for the association indication. A change/selection in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 16, Jung et al. further teach the UE, wherein the base station is a first base station (paragraph [0009] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: network entity/base station 120 illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first base station” in the instant application),
the association indication is a first association indication for the first base station (paragraph [0070] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the PTRS-DMRS association indication for the base station 120 illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the association indication is a first association indication for the first base station” in the instant application), and
the association field of the DCI includes a second association indication to indicate a second association between one or more PTRS ports and one or more DMRS ports for configuration of UL transmissions from the UE to a second base station (paragraph [0066] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: network entity/base station 125 illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second base station”
the DCI information/field, e.g., in DCI format 0_1A, indicating PTRS-DMRS association in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second association indication to indicate a second association between one or more PTRS ports and one or more DMRS ports;”
in fact, the DCI information/field, e.g., in DCI format 0_1A, indicating PTRS-DMRS association regards to the configuration of UL, e.g., PUSCH transmissions, from UE 110 to base station 125, as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the association field of the DCI includes a second association indication to indicate a second association between one or more PTRS ports and one or more DMRS ports for configuration of UL transmissions from the UE to a second base station” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 20, Jung et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the antenna architecture of the UE further includes a non-coherent antenna architecture, a fully coherent antenna architecture, or a partially coherent antenna architecture including multiple antenna panels (paragraphs [0066] lines 1-8 & [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the antenna ports regards to the non-coherent joint transmission in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a non-coherent antenna architecture;”
in fact, the UE’s antenna ports of the non-coherent joint transmission including antenna panels in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the antenna architecture of the UE further includes a non-coherent antenna architecture, a fully coherent antenna architecture, or a partially coherent antenna architecture including multiple antenna panels” in the instant application); and
Jung et al. further teach the partially coherent antenna architecture including antenna panels with antenna elements (paragraphs [0066] lines 1-8 & [0067] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: simultaneously operating UE antenna panels with antenna ports/elements in the prior art teaches this limitation in the instant application).
Jung et al. teach the claimed invention except for specifically indicating “two antenna panels, each antenna panel including four antenna elements; or four antenna panels, each antenna panel including two antenna elements.”
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select “two antenna panels, each antenna panel including four antenna elements; or four antenna panels, each antenna panel including two antenna elements,” since such a choice/modification would have involved a mere change in the size/number of antenna panels and the size/number of antenna elements. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 8-11, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1 or 12, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Regarding claims 8-11, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "determining a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) antenna port associated with the PTRS port based on the antenna architecture of the UE; and transmitting to the base station a PTRS through the PUSCH antenna port and the DMRS port associated with the PTRS port” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) antenna port associated with the PTRS port based on the antenna architecture of the UE; and transmit to the base station a PTRS through the PUSCH antenna port and the DMRS port associated with the PTRS port” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Amerga et al. (US 2013/0294318) is generally directed to various aspects of the method for transmitting a downlink signal at a base station in a wireless communication system includes generating a user equipment (UE)-specific reference signal sequence and mapping the generated sequence to resource elements (REs) predetermined according to antenna port groups;
Ying et al. (US 2018/0279327) is cited for the UE that includes receiving circuitry configured to receive a radio resource control message including first information used for indicating a periodicity, wherein the receiving circuitry is also configured to receive on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), downlink control information (DCI) with CRC scrambled by a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI), the DCI including information indicating a time domain resource.
/WEI ZHAO/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2473