DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first target" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by 3GPP; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on Enhanced Support of Non-Public Networks (Release 17); 3GPP TR 23.700-07 (hereinafter, TR 23.700-07).
*It is noted that the claims have numerous alternative limitations. Thus, the alternative limitations that the examiner has addressed are underlined.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, TR 23.700-07 discloses a method (inherently having a processor, a memory and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor and executed by the processor) for supporting information acquisition, performed by a second communications device (NG-RAN 5G AN) (see figure 6.5.3.1-1, page 44), wherein the method comprises: acquiring first information (RRC indication) (Step B see figure 6.5.3.1-1, page 44), wherein the first information comprises first configuration information and/or information associated with the first configuration information (the address of the provisioning server); and performing a first operation based on the first information, wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following: acquiring slice information of a terminal and/or DN information of a terminal, and confirming, based on the slice information of the terminal and/or the DN information of the terminal, first configuration information associated with the slice information of the terminal and/or the DN information of the terminal; sending the first configuration information and/or the information associated with the first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is the first configuration information associated with the slice information of the terminal and/or the DN information of the terminal; sending the first information to the first target end and/or sending the first information by using related signaling of the data channel of the terminal; saving the first information; generating index information of the first configuration information for the first configuration information, wherein the index information of the first configuration information is one or more items of the information associated with the first configuration information; generating index information of a first server for address information of the first server, wherein the index information of the address information of the first server is one or more items of information associated with the first server; acquiring first request information, and querying or receiving subscribed first configuration information based on the first request information; sending the queried or subscribed first configuration information and/or information associated with the first configuration information; selecting a first target end (AMF for onboarding) (During the registration procedure, the UE provides an RRC indication that can be used by the NG-RAN to select an AMF for onboarding and an indication in the registration request indicating that the registration is for restricted onboarding service only.) (see clause 6.5.3.1, pages 43-46; figure 6.5.3.1-1) and/or selecting a data channel of the terminal; and setting a priority of the first information to be higher than a priority of policy information related to a data operation, wherein the first configuration information comprises the address information of the first server (address of the provisioning server), wherein the first server is capable of configuring a credential and/or subscription of a first object for the terminal (The provisioning server provisions the UE’s subscription credentials for the SO-SNPN and other configuration information into the UE over the secure connection) (see clause 6.5.3.1, pages 43-46; figure 6.5.3.1-1) ; and the information associated with the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the first object; group identification information of a network group to which the first object belongs; slice information associated with the first object; DN information associated with the first object; identification information of a network to which the first server belongs; group identification information of a network group to which the first server belongs; type information of the credential and/or subscription; slice information associated with the first configuration information; DN information associated with the first configuration information; and indication information for indicating a first access mode, indicating one of the following: the first configuration service information is used for the terminal that accesses a first network in the first access mode (since the RRC indication is sent from the UE to the NG-RAN and allows the NG-RAN to select an AMF for onboarding, the RRC indication indicates that the UE wants to access the NG-RAN for onboarding purposes such that first access mode is the access for onboarding purposes) (see clause 6.5.3.1, pages 43-46; figure 6.5.3.1-1).
and the first server is capable of configuring the credential and/or subscription of the first object for the terminal that accesses the first network in the first access mode (see clause 6.5.3.1, pages 43-46; figure 6.5.3.1-1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, TR 23.700-07 discloses a method (inherently having a processor, a memory and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor and executed by the processor) for supporting information acquisition, performed by a second communications device (PCF), wherein the method comprises: acquiring first information (policy data for onboarding), wherein the first information comprises first configuration information (Provisioning server address) (On establishment of SM policy association as specified in TS 23.502 [6] clause 4.16.4, PCF acquires policy data for onboarding by invoking UDR (API) with S-NSSAI and Onboarding DNN…Provisioning server address is part of policy data at UDR) (see clause 6.5.3.2, pages 46-48; figure 6.5.3.1-1) and/or information associated with the first configuration information; and performing a first operation based on the first information, wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following: acquiring slice information of a terminal and/or DN information of a terminal, and confirming, based on the slice information of the terminal and/or the DN information of the terminal, first configuration information associated with the slice information of the terminal and/or the DN information of the terminal; sending the first configuration information and/or the information associated with the first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is the first configuration information associated with the slice information of the terminal and/or the DN information of the terminal; sending the first information to the first target end (SMF) (PCF provides provisioning server addresses as part of SM policy data to SMF) (see clause 6.5.3.2, pages 46-48; figure 6.5.3.1-1) and/or sending the first information by using related signaling of the data channel of the terminal; saving the first information; generating index information of the first configuration information for the first configuration information, wherein the index information of the first configuration information is one or more items of the information associated with the first configuration information; generating index information of a first server for address information of the first server, wherein the index information of the address information of the first server is one or more items of information associated with the first server; acquiring first request information, and querying or receiving subscribed first configuration information based on the first request information; sending the queried or subscribed first configuration information and/or information associated with the first configuration information; selecting a first target end and/or selecting a data channel of the terminal; and setting a priority of the first information to be higher than a priority of policy information related to a data operation, wherein the first configuration information comprises the address information of the first server (provisioning server address), wherein the first server is capable of configuring a credential and/or subscription of a first object for the terminal; (Provisioning server: the server that provisions the authenticated/authorized UE with the subscription data and optionally other configuration information) (see clause 6.5.3.2, pages 46-48; figure 6.5.3.1-1) and the information associated with the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the first object; group identification information of a network group to which the first object belongs; slice information associated with the first object; DN information associated with the first object; identification information of a network to which the first server belongs; group identification information of a network group to which the first server belongs; type information of the credential and/or subscription; slice information associated with the first configuration information; DN information associated with the first configuration information; and indication information for indicating a first access mode, indicating one of the following: the first configuration service information is used for the terminal that accesses a first network in the first access mode, and the first server is capable of configuring the credential and/or subscription of the first object for the terminal that accesses the first network in the first access mode (see clause 6.5.3.2, pages 46-48; figure 6.5.3.1-1).
Regrading claim 11, TR 23.700-07 discloses a method for supporting information acquisition, performed by a first communications device (AF) (see clause 6.5.3.2, pages 46-48; figure 6.5.3.1-1) wherein the method comprises: sending (see Step 1) first information to a first network (O-SNPN), wherein the first information comprises first configuration information and/or information associated with the first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information comprises address information of a first server (Provisioning server address), wherein the first server is capable of configuring a credential and/or subscription of a first object (subscription owner SO) for a terminal (Provisioning server: the server that provisions the authenticated/authorized UE with the subscription data and optionally other configuration information) (see clause 6.5.3.2, pages 46-48; figure 6.5.3.1-1); and the information associated with the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the first object; group identification information of a network group to which the first object belongs; slice information associated with the first object; DN information associated with the first object; identification information of a network to which the first server belongs; group identification information of a network group to which the first server belongs; type information of the credential and/or subscription; indication information for indicating a first access mode; slice information associated with the first configuration information; and DN information associated with the first configuration information (see clause 6.5.3.2, pages 46-48; figure 6.5.3.1-1).
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 17, TR 23.700-07 discloses wherein the first object comprises at least one of the following: a network A, an entity in a data network, an entity (subscription owner) outside the first network (O-SNPN) (see clause 3.1, page 15 for Subscription Owner), primary authentication and/or authorization, non-primary authentication and/or authorization, slice information, DN information, an object associated with primary authentication and/or authorization, and an object associated with non-primary authentication and/or authorization, wherein the network A is the same as or different from the first network; and/or the type information of the credential and/or subscription comprises at least one of the following: a credential and/or subscription used for primary authentication and/or authorization, and a credential and/or subscription used for non-primary authentication and/or authorization; and/or the terminal accessing the first network accesses the first network in the first access mode; and/or the first server comprises at least one of the following: a first server used for primary authentication and/or authorization configuration, and a first server used for non-primary authentication and/or authorization configuration, wherein the first server used for primary authentication and/or authorization configuration is capable of configuring the credential and/or subscription of the first object for the terminal, and the credential and/or subscription is used for primary authentication and/or authorization; and the first server used for non-primary authentication and/or authorization configuration is capable of configuring the credential and/or subscription of the first object for the terminal, and the credential and/or subscription is used for non-primary authentication and/or authorization.
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 18, TR 23.700-07 discloses wherein a network type of the first network and/or a network type of the network A comprises at least one of the following: a public network, a non-public network, a PLMN, a PNI NPN, and an SNPN (the first network O-SNPN) (clause 6.51, page 41).
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 19, TR 23.700-07 discloses wherein the address information of the first server comprises at least one of the following: inherently an Internet Protocol address of the first server (since the FQDN of the provisioning server address are configured to an appropriate DNS resolver before provisioning server address are configured to the O-SNPN and the DSN resolver inherently resolves a domain into an IP address) a media access control address of the first server, a port number of the first server, a protocol type for configuring the credential and/or subscription, a protocol version of the first server, and address index information of the first server (see clause 6.5.3.2; figure 6.5.3.1-1, pages 46-48).
Regarding claims 5, 8, 15 and 20, TR 23.700-07 discloses wherein the first access mode comprises at least one of the following: an access mode for accessing a network to acquire a credential and/or subscription, an access mode with limited access to a network, and an access mode using a default credential to access a network (inherently…since the RRC indication is sent from the UE to the NG-RAN and allows the NG-RAN to select an AMF for onboarding, the RRC indication indicates that the UE wants to access the NG-RAN for onboarding purposes) (Step B see figure 6.5.3.1-1, page 44).
Regarding claim 6, TR 23.700-07 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first request information comprises at least one of the following: the indication information for indicating the first access mode; the type information of the credential and/or subscription; identification information of a second object; group identification information of a network group to which the second object belongs; identification information of a second network; group identification information of a second network group, wherein the second network group is a network group to which the second network belongs; slice information associated with the second object; DN information associated with the second object; the slice information of the terminal; and the DN information of the terminal, wherein the type information of the credential and/or subscription comprises at least one of the following: a credential and/or subscription used for primary authentication and/or authorization, and a credential and/or subscription used for non-primary authentication and/or authorization; and the second object comprises at least one of the following: a network A, an entity in a data network, an entity outside the first network, primary authentication and/or authorization, non-primary authentication and/or authorization, slice information, DN information, an object associated with primary authentication and/or authorization, and an object associated with non-primary authentication and/or authorization (inherently…since the RRC indication is sent from the UE to the NG-RAN and allows the NG-RAN to select an AMF for onboarding, the RRC indication indicates that the UE wants to access the NG-RAN for onboarding purposes) (Step B see figure 6.5.3.1-1, page 44).
Regarding claim 7, TR 23.700-07 discloses, the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the first operation comprises acquiring first request information, and querying or receiving subscribed first configuration information based on the first request information, the operation of querying or receiving subscribed first configuration information based on the first request information comprises at least one of the following: the identification information of the first object comprised in the index information of the queried or subscribed first configuration information matches identification information of a second object in the first request information; the group identification information of the network group to which the first object belongs, comprised in the index information of the queried or subscribed first configuration information, matches group identification information of a second network group in the first request information; identification information of a network A comprised in the index information of the queried or subscribed first configuration information matches identification information of a second network in the first request information; group identification information of a network group to which the network A belongs, comprised in the index information of the queried or subscribed first configuration information, matches the identification information of the second network in the first request information; the identification information of the network to which the first server belongs, comprised in the index information of the queried first configuration information, matches the identification information of the second network in the first request information; the group identification information of the network group to which the first server belongs, comprised in the index information of the queried or subscribed first configuration information, matches the group identification information of the second network group in the first request information; the index information of the queried first configuration information comprises the first access mode, and the first request information comprises the indication information for indicating the first access mode; the index information of the queried or subscribed first configuration information comprises a credential and/or subscription used for primary authentication and/or authorization, and the first request information comprises a credential and/or subscription used for primary authentication and/or authorization; and the index information of the queried or subscribed first configuration information comprises a credential and/or subscription used for non-primary authentication and/or authorization, and the first request information comprises a credential and/or subscription used for non-primary authentication and/or authorization (Upon the UE requesting Configuration PDU session the SMF requests policy configuration data from the PCF. On establishment of SM Policy Association as specified in TS 23.502 [6] clause 4.16.4 PCF acquires policy data for onboarding by invoking UDR (API) with S-NSSAI and Onboarding DNN)). (see clause 6.5.3.2, page 47).
Regarding claim 9, TR 23.700-07 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the step of sending the first configuration information and/or the information associated with the first configuration information comprises: in a case that a second condition is met, sending the first configuration information and/or the information associated with the first configuration information, wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: the terminal registers with or accesses the first network; and the first configuration information and/or the information associated with the first configuration information is generated or updated (since the RRC indication is sent from the UE to the NG-RAN and allows the NG-RAN to select an AMF for onboarding, the RRC indication indicates that the UE wants to access the NG-RAN for onboarding purposes) (Step B see figure 6.5.3.1-1, page 44).
Regarding claim 10, TR 23.700-07 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the operation of setting a priority of the first information to be higher than a priority of policy information related to a data operation comprises: in a case that a third condition is met, setting the priority of the first information to be higher than the priority of the policy information related to the data operation, wherein the third condition comprises at least one of the following: the first information is first information acquired through reception; and the first information is not locally configured first information (in case a UE with a preconfigured provisioning server address receives a provisioning server address from the onboarding network, the provisioning server address received from the onboarding network shall prevail.) (see clause 6.5.3.2, page 46).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rooney et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0403875 discloses a system and method for onboarding in a Wi-Fi mesh network.
Chen et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0359212 discloses a system and method for deriving a profile for a target endpoint device.
Deshpande, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0089806 discloses provisioning a device for use in a personal area network.
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646