DETAILED ACTION
This action is filed in response to the request for continued examination filed on 03/03/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible
for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been
timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR
1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 03/03/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 3/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments are fully addressed in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (TWM617148U) in view of Kinoshita (US 20170191832 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses a detachable protective structure (e.g. see [pg. 4 paragraph 1] “and can be disassembled and assembled together with the detection device while supporting and protecting the detection device”) of detection device for accommodating a detection device, said detection device including a signal processing module, a conducting member, and a probe, said conducting member disposed on one side of said signal processing module with one terminal connected electrically to said signal processing module, the other terminal of said conducting member connected electrically to one side of said probe (e.g. see [pg. 4 paragraph 3] “The present invention provides a storage structure for a detection device, which is used to store a detection device, the detection device includes a frequency extension module, a conductive member and a probe, one side of the frequency extension module is arranged and electrically connected to one end of the conductive member, and the other end of the conductive member is arranged and electrically connected to one side of the probe”) and said detachable protective structure of detection device comprising:
a shielding member, including a shielding body, a side opening (e.g. 5 paragraph 2] “the shielding member includes a shielding body, a lower opening and a side opening”), said side opening facing to said signal processing module (e.g. see [Fig. 1B] Examiner notes the side opening 26 is facing the signal processing module), said side opening passing through one side of said shielding body (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 2] “the side opening 26 passes through the side of the shielding body 22”), said shielding body covering part of said signal processing module (e.g. see [Fig. 2A] Examiner notes the shielding body is covering the signal processing module) by said side opening, as well as said shielding body enveloping said conducting member and said probe are disposed in the shielding body by said part of said signal processing module (e.g. see [Fig. 2A]),
said conducting member and said probe configured to enter the shielding body through the side opening (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 2] “the side opening 26 is disposed through a side portion of the shielding body 22, and the side opening 26 is connected to the lower opening 24, so that the two openings 24, 26 form an L-shaped opening, wherein the lower opening 24 of the shielding member 20 is correspondingly sleeved with the probe 5 and the probe support portion 16, and the side opening 26 of the shielding member 20 is correspondingly sleeved with the conductive member 4, so that these components are accommodated in the inner side of the shielding body 22.” Examiner notes the above quoted section teaches the probe and the conducting member entering the storage structure through the L shaped opening which comprises both a lower opening and a side opening 26), and
said shielding member further including a fixing part disposed at said shielding member (e.g. see [Fig. 3A element 30]).
Huang does not explicitly disclose said shielding member further including a fixing part disposed at said shielding member and corresponding to an alignment part of said signal processing module, said alignment part disposed at a side of said signal processing module, when said shielding body covers said part of said signal processing module, said fixing part overlapping said alignment part.
In the same field of endeavor, Kinoshita teaches said shielding member further including a fixing part disposed at said shielding member and corresponding to an alignment part of said signal processing module, said alignment part disposed at a side of said signal processing module (e.g. see [0194] “As shown in FIG. 21, in the sensor unit 100E in which a sensor module 25 (i.e. a signal processing module) made up of an inner case 20 and a substrate 15, and an outer case 1e, are fitted together via a joining member, the sensor module 25 and the outer case 1e (i.e. the shielding body) are fastened (fixed) by screws 170 as fastening members,” and [0195] “In FIG. 22, the through-holes 9 for the screws 170 are provided on the side of the bottom surface 8 of the outer case 1e. In this modification, two through-holes 9 are provided near opposite angles of the bottom surface 8 of the outer case 1e (see FIG. 21)”)when said shielding body covers said part of said signal processing module, said fixing part overlapping said alignment part (e.g. see [Fig. 21] and [0195] “Through-holes are provided at positions overlapping with the through-holes 9, in the joining member 10, as viewed in a plan view, and screw holes 29 are formed at positions overlapping with the through-holes 9, in the inner case 20, as viewed in a plan view. Then, as the screws 170 as fastening members inserted from the through-holes 9 of the outer case 1e are screwed in the screw holes 29 of the inner case 20, the sensor module 25 is fastened and fixed inside the outer case 1e via the joining member 10 (elastic member)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the protective structure of Huang with the screw hole placement and alignment of Kinoshita for the purpose of ensuring the protective structure is securely attached to the signal processing module.
Regarding Claim 2, Huang and Kinoshita teach the limitations of Claim 1. Huang further discloses the protective structure further comprising fixing member, passing through a fixing part of said shield body and an alignment part of said signal processing module correspondingly (e.g. see [Fig. 3B] and [pg. 8 paragraph 3] “at least one first fixing member 30, which penetrated through the shielding body 22 and inserted on one of the main bodies 12 to fix the shielding member 20 to prevent it from sliding and falling”).
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor, Kinoshita teaches the protective structure further comprising fixing member, passing through a fixing part of said shield body and an alignment part of said signal processing module correspondingly (e.g. see [Fig. 21] Examiner notes Fig. 21 shows Screw Element 170 penetrating through the shield body 1e and the signal processing module 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the protective structure of Huang with the screw hole placement and alignment of Kinoshita for the purpose of ensuring the protective structure is securely attached to the signal processing module.
Regarding Claim 3, Huang and Kinoshita teach the limitations of Claim 2. Huang further discloses wherein said fixing part and alignment part are screw holes, respectively and said fixing member is a threaded member (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 3] and [Fig. 3A-3B] Examiner notes the figures show the fixing parts to be screws and screw holes are required to affix screws).
Regarding Claim 4, Huang and Kinoshita teach the limitations of Claim 1. Huang further discloses the protective structure comprising a base, disposed below said signal processing module (e.g. see [pg. 4 paragraph 3] “the storage structure of the detection device includes a base and a shielding member, the base includes a body, at least one module support portion and a probe support portion, the at least A module support portion is arranged above one of the main bodies” and [Fig. 3B elements 10 and 3]).
Regarding Claim 5, Huang discloses a detachable protective structure (e.g. see [pg. 4 paragraph 1] “and can be disassembled and assembled together with the detection device while supporting and protecting the detection device”) of detection device for accommodating a detection device, including a signal processing module, a conducting member, and a probe, said conducting member disposed on one side of said signal processing module with one terminal connected electrically to said signal processing module, the other terminal of said conducting member connected electrically to one side of said probe (e.g. see [pg. 4 paragraph 3] “The present invention provides a storage structure for a detection device, which is used to store a detection device, the detection device includes a frequency extension module, a conductive member and a probe, one side of the frequency extension module is arranged and electrically connected to one end of the conductive member, and the other end of the conductive member is arranged and electrically connected to one side of the probe”) and said detachable protective structure of detection device comprising:
a base, disposed below said signal processing module (e.g. see [pg. 4 paragraph 3] “the storage structure of the detection device includes a base and a shielding member, the base includes a body, at least one module support portion and a probe support portion, the at least A module support portion is arranged above one of the main bodies” and [Fig. 3B elements 10 and 3]), and a
shielding member, including a shielding body, a side opening (e.g. 5 paragraph 2] “the shielding member includes a shielding body, a lower opening and a side opening”), said side opening facing to said signal processing module (e.g. see [Fig. 1B] Examiner notes the side opening 26 is facing the signal processing module), said side opening passing through one side of said shielding body (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 2] “the side opening 26 passes through the side of the shielding body 22”), said shielding body covering parts of said base and said signal processing module by said opening (e.g. see [Fig. 3A] Examiner notes the shielding body is covering the signal processing module), as well as said shielding body enveloping said conducting member and said probe by said side opening while said conducting member and said probe are disposed in the shielding body by said parts of said based and said signal processing module (e.g. see [Fig. 3A]),
said conducting member and said probe configured to enter the shielding body through the side opening (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 2] “the side opening 26 is disposed through a side portion of the shielding body 22, and the side opening 26 is connected to the lower opening 24, so that the two openings 24, 26 form an L-shaped opening, wherein the lower opening 24 of the shielding member 20 is correspondingly sleeved with the probe 5 and the probe support portion 16, and the side opening 26 of the shielding member 20 is correspondingly sleeved with the conductive member 4, so that these components are accommodated in the inner side of the shielding body 22.” Examiner notes the above quoted section teaches the probe and the conducting member entering the storage structure through the L shaped opening which comprises both a lower opening and a side opening 26), and
said shielding member further including a fixing part disposed at said shielding member (e.g. see [Fig. 3A element 30]).
Huang does not explicitly disclose said shielding member further including a fixing part disposed at said shielding member and corresponding to an alignment part of said signal processing module, said alignment part disposed at a side of said base, when said shielding body covers said part of said base, said fixing part overlapping said alignment part.
In the same field of endeavor, Kinoshita teaches said shielding member further including a fixing part disposed at said shielding member and corresponding to an alignment part of said signal processing module(e.g. see [0194] “As shown in FIG. 21, in the sensor unit 100E in which a sensor module 25 (i.e. a signal processing module) made up of an inner case 20 and a substrate 15, and an outer case 1e, are fitted together via a joining member, the sensor module 25 and the outer case 1e (i.e. the shielding body) are fastened (fixed) by screws 170 as fastening members,” and [0195] “In FIG. 22, the through-holes 9 for the screws 170 are provided on the side of the bottom surface 8 of the outer case 1e. In this modification, two through-holes 9 are provided near opposite angles of the bottom surface 8 of the outer case 1e (see FIG. 21)”), said alignment part disposed at a side of said base (e.g. see [0131] “The through-hole part 90 may be provided in any part of the base member of the substrate 15”), when said shielding body covers said part of said signal processing module, said fixing part overlapping said alignment part (e.g. see [Fig. 21] and [0195] “Through-holes are provided at positions overlapping with the through-holes 9, in the joining member 10, as viewed in a plan view, and screw holes 29 are formed at positions overlapping with the through-holes 9, in the inner case 20, as viewed in a plan view. Then, as the screws 170 as fastening members inserted from the through-holes 9 of the outer case 1e are screwed in the screw holes 29 of the inner case 20, the sensor module 25 is fastened and fixed inside the outer case 1e via the joining member 10 (elastic member)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the protective structure of Huang with the screw hole placement and alignment of Kinoshita for the purpose of ensuring the protective structure is securely attached to the signal processing module.
Regarding Claim 6, Huang and Kinoshita teach the limitations of Claim 5. Huang further discloses the protective structure further comprising fixing member, passing through a fixing part of said shield body and an alignment part of said base correspondingly (e.g. see [Fig. 3B] and [pg. 8 paragraph 3] “at least one first fixing member 30, which penetrated through the shielding body 22 and inserted on one of the main bodies 12 to fix the shielding member 20 to prevent it from sliding and falling” and [Fig. 3A] Examiner notes the screw 30 goes through a hole that secures the cover to the base is on left side of the base in the figure)).
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor, Kinoshita teaches the protective structure further comprising fixing member, passing through a fixing part of said shield body and an alignment part of said base correspondingly (e.g. see [Fig. 21] Examiner notes Fig. 21 shows Screw Element 170 penetrating through the shield body 1e and the signal processing module 25, which includes a base).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the protective structure of Huang with the screw hole placement and alignment of Kinoshita for the purpose of ensuring the protective structure is securely attached to the signal processing module.
Regarding Claim 7, Huang and Kinoshita teach the limitations of Claim 6. Huang further discloses wherein said fixing part and alignment part are screw holes, respectively and said fixing member is a threaded member (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 3] and [Fig. 3A-3B] Examiner notes the figures show the fixing parts to be screws and screw holes are required to affix screws).
Regarding Claim 8, Huang discloses a detachable protective structure (e.g. see [pg. 4 paragraph 1] “and can be disassembled and assembled together with the detection device while supporting and protecting the detection device”) of detection device for accommodating a detection device, including a signal processing module, a conducting member, and a probe, said conducting member disposed on one side of said signal processing module with one terminal connected electrically to said signal processing module, the other terminal of said conducting member connected electrically to one side of said probe (e.g. see [pg. 4 paragraph 3] “The present invention provides a storage structure for a detection device, which is used to store a detection device, the detection device includes a frequency extension module, a conductive member and a probe, one side of the frequency extension module is arranged and electrically connected to one end of the conductive member, and the other end of the conductive member is arranged and electrically connected to one side of the probe”) and said detachable protective structure of detection device comprising:
a base, disposed below said signal processing module (e.g. see [Fig. 4A element 14]; a platform, disposed below said base (e.g. see [Fig. 4A element 12]);
a shielding member, including a shielding body, a side opening (e.g. 5 paragraph 2] “the shielding member includes a shielding body, a lower opening and a side opening”), said side opening facing to said signal processing module (e.g. see [Fig. 1B] Examiner notes the side opening 26 is facing the signal processing module), said side opening passing through one side of said shielding body (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 2] “the side opening 26 passes through the side of the shielding body 22”), said shielding body covering parts of said base and said signal processing module correspondingly (e.g. see [Fig. 4A] Examiner notes when the shielding body is placed over the processing module as indicated by the line leading downwards in Fig. 4a, the signal processing module would be covered), as well as said shielding body enveloping said conducting member and said probe by said side opening while said probe is disposed in the shielding body by said parts of said base and said signal processing module(e.g. see [Fig. 4A]),
said conducting member and said probe configured to enter the shielding body through the side opening (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 2] “the side opening 26 is disposed through a side portion of the shielding body 22, and the side opening 26 is connected to the lower opening 24, so that the two openings 24, 26 form an L-shaped opening, wherein the lower opening 24 of the shielding member 20 is correspondingly sleeved with the probe 5 and the probe support portion 16, and the side opening 26 of the shielding member 20 is correspondingly sleeved with the conductive member 4, so that these components are accommodated in the inner side of the shielding body 22.” Examiner notes the above quoted section teaches the probe and the conducting member entering the storage structure through the L shaped opening which comprises both a lower opening and a side opening 26),
Huang does not explicitly disclose said shielding member further including a fixing part disposed below said shielding body and corresponding to an alignment part of said platform, said alignment part disposed at a side of said platform, when said shielding body covers said parts of said base, said fixing part overlapping said alignment part.
In the same field of endeavor, Kinoshita teaches said shielding member further including a fixing part disposed below said shielding body (e.g. see [Fig. 21] Examiner notes the screw holes 9 in Elements 10, 15, and 20 of Fig. 21 are below the shielding body 1e]) and corresponding to an alignment part of said platform (e.g. see [0194] “As shown in FIG. 21, in the sensor unit 100E in which a sensor module 25 (i.e. a signal processing module) made up of an inner case 20 (i.e. the platform) and a substrate 15 (i.e. the base), and an outer case 1e, are fitted together via a joining member, the sensor module 25 and the outer case 1e (i.e. the shielding body) are fastened (fixed) by screws 170 as fastening members,” and [0195] “In FIG. 22, the through-holes 9 for the screws 170 are provided on the side of the bottom surface 8 of the outer case 1e. In this modification, two through-holes 9 are provided near opposite angles of the bottom surface 8 of the outer case 1e (see FIG. 21)”), said alignment part disposed at a side of said platform (e.g. see [holes 29 in Element 20 of Fig. 21]), when said shielding body covers said part of said base, said fixing part overlapping said alignment part (e.g. see [Fig. 21] and [0195] “Through-holes are provided at positions overlapping with the through-holes 9, in the joining member 10, as viewed in a plan view, and screw holes 29 are formed at positions overlapping with the through-holes 9, in the inner case 20, as viewed in a plan view. Then, as the screws 170 as fastening members inserted from the through-holes 9 of the outer case 1e are screwed in the screw holes 29 of the inner case 20, the sensor module 25 is fastened and fixed inside the outer case 1e via the joining member 10 (elastic member)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the protective structure of Huang with the screw hole placement and alignment of Kinoshita for the purpose of ensuring the protective structure is securely attached to the signal processing module.
Regarding Claim 9, Huang and Kinoshita teach the limitations of Claim 8. Huang further discloses a fixing member, passing through said fixing part of said shielding body and said alignment part of said platform correspondingly (e.g. see [Fig. 3B] Examiner notes the screw that drills into the shield is shown to go through the bottom of the device which includes the platform 10).
Examiner notes the cited prior art shows the screw 30 goes from the top of the cover down into the platform, while the instant application teaches said fixing part disposed below said shielding body. However the location of where to place screws in a structure in order to affix one member to another is a predictable variation that is well known in the art, and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to utilize the known technique of placing the screws at any desired location to affix to members based on different design incentives (see MPEP 2143(I)(C) and MPEP2143(I)(F)).
Regarding Claim 10, Huang and Kinoshita teach the limitations of Claim 9. Huang further discloses wherein said fixing part and alignment part are screw holes, respectively and said fixing member is a threaded member (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 3] and [Fig. 3A-3B] Examiner notes the figures show the fixing parts to be screws and screw holes are required to affix screws).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (TWM617148U) in view of Cullen (US4623778A).
Regarding Claim 11, Huang discloses a detachable protective structure (e.g. see [pg. 4 paragraph 1] “and can be disassembled and assembled together with the detection device while supporting and protecting the detection device”) of detection device for accommodating a detection device, including a signal processing module, a conducting member, and a probe, said conducting member disposed on one side of said signal processing module with one terminal connected electrically to said signal processing module, the other terminal of said conducting member connected electrically to one side of said probe (e.g. see [pg. 4 paragraph 3] “The present invention provides a storage structure for a detection device, which is used to store a detection device, the detection device includes a frequency extension module, a conductive member and a probe, one side of the frequency extension module is arranged and electrically connected to one end of the conductive member, and the other end of the conductive member is arranged and electrically connected to one side of the probe”) and said detachable protective structure of detection device comprising:
a shielding member, including a shielding body, a side opening, and a top opening, said side opening facing to said signal processing module (e.g. see [Fig. 6 Element 26]), said side opening passing through one side of said shielding body, said shielding body merely covering and enveloping said probe by said side opening, said top opening connected with said side opening, said conducting member passing through said top opening (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 2]), (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 3] Examiner notes the prior art teaches a lower and side opening, not an upper and side opening. However, Examiner notes the effect of the two connected openings is the same in both embodiments in that it creates an L shape opening used to insert the probe into the covering. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to utilize the known technique of creating an L shape opening used to insert the probe into the covering in different configurations based on different design incentives to achieve the predictable outcome of connecting the probe through the covering.(see MPEP 2143(I)(C) and MPEP2143(I)(F) and MPEP2143(I)(B)),
while said probe is merely disposed in said shielding body through said side opening (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 2] “the side opening 26 is disposed through a side portion of the shielding body 22, and the side opening 26 is connected to the lower opening 24, so that the two openings 24, 26 form an L-shaped opening, wherein the lower opening 24 of the shielding member 20 is correspondingly sleeved with the probe 5 and the probe support portion 16, and the side opening 26 of the shielding member 20 is correspondingly sleeved with the conductive member 4, so that these components are accommodated in the inner side of the shielding body 22.” Examiner notes the above quoted section teaches the probe and the conducting member entering the storage structure through the L shaped opening which comprises both a lower opening and a side opening 26),
said shielding member further including a fixing part, disposed on said shielding body (e.g. see [Fig. 3A element 30]). and corresponding to an alignment part of said probe, said alignment part disposed at one side on said probe, when said shielding body covers said probe, said fixing part overlapping said alignment part.
Huang does not explicitly disclose said shielding member further including a fixing part, disposed on said shielding body and corresponding to an alignment part of said probe, said alignment part disposed at one side on said probe, when said shielding body covers said probe, said fixing part overlapping said alignment part.
In the same field of endeavor, Cullen teaches a fixing part disposed on said shielding body and corresponding to an alignment part of said probe, said alignment part disposed at one side of said probe, when said shielding body covers said probe, said fixing part overlapping said alignment part (e.g. see [Fig. 9A] and [Col 17 lines 5-7] “housing 300 (i.e. shielding body) further defines therein channel 305 therein into which probe 100 fits (i.e. the shielding body covers probe). Screw 305a attaches probe to housing 300 (i.e. the screw goes into one side of the probe via overlapping holes)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the protective structure of Huang with the screw hole placement and alignment of Cullen for the purpose of ensuring the protective structure is securely attached.
Regarding Claim 12, Huang and Cullen teach the limitations of Claim 11. Huang does not explicitly disclose the protective structure further comprising fixing member, passing through a fixing part of said shield body and alignment part of said probe correspondingly.
In the same field of endeavor, Cullen teaches the protective structure further comprising fixing member, passing through a fixing part of said shield body and alignment part of said probe correspondingly (e.g. see [Fig. 9a] where screw 305a passes through the shielding body (i.e. housing 300) and the probe 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the protective structure of Huang with the screw hole placement and alignment of Cullen for the purpose of ensuring the protective structure is securely attached.
Regarding Claim 13, Huang and Cullen teach the limitations of Claim 12. Huang further discloses wherein said fixing part and alignment part are screw holes, respectively and said fixing member is a threaded member (e.g. see [pg. 8 paragraph 3] and [Fig. 3A-3B] Examiner notes the figures show the fixing parts to be screws and screw holes are required to affix screws).
Regarding Claim 14, Huang and Cullen teach the limitations of Claim 11. Huang further discloses the protective structure comprising a base, disposed below said signal processing module (e.g. see [pg. 4 paragraph 3] “the storage structure of the detection device includes a base and a shielding member, the base includes a body, at least one module support portion and a probe support portion, the at least A module support portion is arranged above one of the main bodies” and [Fig. 3B elements 10 and 3]).
Conclusion
/NYLA GAVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857