DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"a means for sensing" in claim 1;
"controller selectively transmits" in clam 7;
"a means for sensing" in claim 8;
"controller selectively transmits" in claim 14.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 19, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,683,731 in view of Netecke.
Instant Application
Pat. No. 10,683,731
1. An interlock for a drive system of a drawworks, the interlock comprising:
1. A drill rig, comprising:
a drawworks comprising a drum operably connected to a drive system and a brake; a derrick; a drill string that extends from the drum of the drawworks, along the derrick, to a block and tackle arrangement holding a travelling block, wherein operation of the drawworks causes the drum to release or retract the drill string; a travelling block controller that controls the operation of the drawworks;
a means for sensing an operating condition of the drive system;
an interlock sensor that senses a sensed parameter, wherein the sensed parameter is at least one of a horizontal angle of the drill rig, a locked condition of the derrick that prevents the derrick from retracting, a locked condition of the derrick that prevents the derrick from retracting, or an operating limit for the drawworks set into the travelling block controller within a predetermined time of energizing the travelling block controller;
an interlock signal generated by said means for sensing the operating condition of the drive system, wherein said interlock signal is reflective of the operating condition of the drive system; and
an interlock signal generated by the interlock sensor, wherein the interlock signal is reflective of the sensed parameter; and
a lock operably connected to the drawworks, wherein said lock receives said interlock signal and disables operation of the drawworks if said interlock signal meets a predetermined criterion,
an interlock operably connected to the travelling block controller, wherein the interlock receives the interlock signal and disables operation of at least one of the travelling block controller or the drawworks if the interlock signal meets a predetermined criteria.
wherein said predetermined criterion indicates that the drive system is not operating.
(taught by Netecke below)
2.
2. and Netecke [par. 0042]
4
2.
6
3.
Where Netecke teaches a criterion that indicates that a drive system is not operating ("to receive and to process data from various sensors positioned about the drawworks system 22 (e.g., a temperature sensor coupled to a brake, a speed sensor coupled to the motor 62, a speed sensor coupled to the drum shaft), to receive control signals and/or operator inputs, to provide an indication (e.g., a visual indication via a display and/or an audible indication via a speaker) of a condition of the drawworks system 22 (e.g., failure of the motor 62) to an operator, and/or to control components of the drawworks system 22 (e.g., move the brake between a braked position and a non-braked position, operate the one or more motors 62) based on the data and/or the operator inputs[par. 0033]"). Claims 8, 9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 19, 20 are rejected via an analysis similar to the one performed for claims 1, 2, 4, and 6 above.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 19, 20 are similarly rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,180,964 in view of Netecke.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 19, 20 are similarly rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,448,019 in view of Netecke.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nield et al. [U.S. Pub. 2019/0048688] ("Nield '688") in view of Netecke [U.S. Pub. 2019/0309583] ("Netecke").
With regard to claim 1, Nield '688 teaches an interlock for a drive system of a drawworks ("drill rig that incorporates one or more interlocks [par. 0016]" and "drawworks having a drum operably connected to a drive system and a brake [par. 0007]"), the interlock comprising:
a means for sensing an operating condition of the drive system ("the interlock sensor 70 receives at least one of a drill rig parameter 40, a drawworks parameter 50, or a travelling block controller parameter 62 [par. 0023]");
an interlock signal generated by said means for sensing the operating condition of the drive system, wherein said interlock signal is reflective of the operating condition of the drive system ("The interlock sensor 70 then generates an interlock signal 72 that is reflective of the particular sensed parameter [par. 0023]"); and
a lock operably connected to the drawworks (see [fig. 2] where Interlock (80) is connected to Draw Works (20)), wherein said lock receives said interlock signal and disables operation of the drawworks if said interlock signal meets a predetermined criterion ("The interlock 80 receives the interlock signal 72 and enables or disables operation of the travelling block controller 60 and/or the drawworks 20 if the interlock signal 72 meets a predetermined criteria [par. 0024]"),
wherein said predetermined criterion indicates that the drive system is not operating properly ("if the interlock signal 72 reflects that a fluid pressure for operating the drawworks 50 is outside a required operating limit [par. 0024]").
Although Nield '688 teaches where the predetermined criterion can be a multitude of parameters [pars. 0019-0022], and specifically where the criterion can include drawwork operation parameters ("the drawworks 20 may utilize various electrical, pneumatic, or hydraulic systems for actuating the clutch 32, drive system 34, and/or brake 36. Each of these systems may have operational limits for voltage, current, pressure, or temperature to ensure safe and reliable functioning of the drawworks 20, and various sensors may be included to generate signals reflective of sensed drawworks parameters 50 to ensure safe and reliable operation of the drawworks 20 [par. 0020]),
Nield '688 does not explicitly teach where the criterion indicates that said drive system is not operating.
In an analogous art (drawworks control), Nield '912 teaches wherein a criterion indicates that a drive system is not operating ("to receive and to process data from various sensors positioned about the drawworks system 22 (e.g., a temperature sensor coupled to a brake, a speed sensor coupled to the motor 62, a speed sensor coupled to the drum shaft), to receive control signals and/or operator inputs, to provide an indication (e.g., a visual indication via a display and/or an audible indication via a speaker) of a condition of the drawworks system 22 (e.g., failure of the motor 62) to an operator, and/or to control components of the drawworks system 22 (e.g., move the brake between a braked position and a non-braked position, operate the one or more motors 62) based on the data and/or the operator inputs[par. 0033]").
Netecke further teaches, "upon determination of motor failure, the processor 138 may automatically control one or more valves to adjust (e.g., remove) the air supply that holds the one or more brakes 102 in the non-braked position, thereby causing the one or more brakes 102 to move to the braked position and to block rotation of the drum shaft 80 [par. 0042]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Netecke's teachings of determining when a drive system is not operating, with the teachings of Nield '688 for the benefit of taking appropriate action when it is determined that the drive system if not operating properly.
With regard to claim 2, the combination above teaches the interlock as in claim 1. Netecke in the combination further teaches wherein said means for sensing the operating condition of the drive system comprises a speed sensor that detects a speed at which the drive system is operating ("monitor a speed of a respective motor [par. 0042]").
With regard to claim 4, the combination above teaches the interlock as in claim 1. Nield '688 in the combination further teaches wherein said means for sensing the operating condition of the drive system comprises an oil pressure sensor that detects an oil pressure for the drive system ("if the interlock signal 72 reflects that a fluid pressure for operating the drawworks 50 is outside a required operating limit [par. 0024]").
With regard to claim 6, the combination above teaches the interlock as in claim 1. Nield '688 in the combination further teaches wherein said lock disables operation of the drawworks by at least one of actuating a brake or releasing a clutch of the drawworks ("disable the drawworks 20 by actuating the brake 36 [par. 0028]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 8, Nield '688 teaches an interlock for a drill rig ("drill rig that incorporates one or more interlocks [par. 0016]"), comprising:
a drawworks comprising a drum operably connected to a drive system and a brake ("drawworks having a drum operably connected to a drive system and a brake [par. 0007]");
a cable that extends from said drum of said drawworks to a block and tackle arrangement holding a traveling block ("A drill string extends from the drum of the drawworks, along a derrick, to a block and tackle arrangement holding a travelling block [par. 0007]"), wherein operation of said drawworks causes said drum to release or retract said cable ("so that operation of the drawworks causes the drum to release or retract the drill string [par. 0007]");
a means for sensing an operating condition of said drive system ("the interlock sensor 70 receives at least one of a drill rig parameter 40, a drawworks parameter 50, or a travelling block controller parameter 62 [par. 0023]");
an interlock signal generated by said means for sensing said operating condition of said drive system, wherein said interlock signal is reflective of said operating condition of said drive system ("The interlock sensor 70 then generates an interlock signal 72 that is reflective of the particular sensed parameter [par. 0023]"); and
a lock operably connected to said drawworks (see [fig. 2] where Interlock (80) is connected to Draw Works (20)), wherein said lock receives said interlock signal and disables operation of said drawworks if said interlock signal meets a predetermined criterion ("The interlock 80 receives the interlock signal 72 and enables or disables operation of the travelling block controller 60 and/or the drawworks 20 if the interlock signal 72 meets a predetermined criteria [par. 0024]"),
wherein said predetermined criterion indicates that said drive system is not operating properly ("if the interlock signal 72 reflects that a fluid pressure for operating the drawworks 50 is outside a required operating limit [par. 0024]").
Although Nield '688 teaches where the predetermined criterion can be a multitude of parameters [pars. 0019-0022], and specifically where the criterion can include drawwork operation parameters ("the drawworks 20 may utilize various electrical, pneumatic, or hydraulic systems for actuating the clutch 32, drive system 34, and/or brake 36. Each of these systems may have operational limits for voltage, current, pressure, or temperature to ensure safe and reliable functioning of the drawworks 20, and various sensors may be included to generate signals reflective of sensed drawworks parameters 50 to ensure safe and reliable operation of the drawworks 20 [par. 0020]),
Nield '688 does not explicitly teach where the criterion indicates that said drive system is not operating.
In the same field of endeavor (monitoring a drive system), Nield '912 teaches wherein a criterion indicates that a drive system is not operating ("to receive and to process data from various sensors positioned about the drawworks system 22 (e.g., a temperature sensor coupled to a brake, a speed sensor coupled to the motor 62, a speed sensor coupled to the drum shaft), to receive control signals and/or operator inputs, to provide an indication (e.g., a visual indication via a display and/or an audible indication via a speaker) of a condition of the drawworks system 22 (e.g., failure of the motor 62) to an operator, and/or to control components of the drawworks system 22 (e.g., move the brake between a braked position and a non-braked position, operate the one or more motors 62) based on the data and/or the operator inputs[par. 0033]").
Netecke further teaches, "upon determination of motor failure, the processor 138 may automatically control one or more valves to adjust (e.g., remove) the air supply that holds the one or more brakes 102 in the non-braked position, thereby causing the one or more brakes 102 to move to the braked position and to block rotation of the drum shaft 80 [par. 0042]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Netecke's teachings of determining when a drive system is not operating, with the teachings of Nield '688 for the benefit of taking appropriate action when it is determined that the drive system if not operating properly.
With regard to claim 9, the combination above teaches claim 2. Claim 9 recite limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 2; therefore, claim 9 is rejected along the same grounds as claim 2.
With regard to claim 11, the combination above teaches claim 4. Claim 11 recite limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 4; therefore, claim 11 is rejected along the same grounds as claim 4.
With regard to claim 13, the combination above teaches the interlock as in claim 8. Nield '688 in the combination further teaches wherein said lock disables operation of said drawworks by at least one of disabling said drive system or actuating said brake ("disable the drawworks 20 by actuating the brake 36 [par. 0028]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 15, Nield '688 teaches a method for operating a drill rig ("drill rig that incorporates one or more interlocks [par. 0016]"), comprising:
operating a drive system in a drawworks to raise and lower a drill string ("so that operation of the drawworks causes the drum to release or retract the drill string [par. 0007]");
sensing an operating condition of the drive system ("the interlock sensor 70 receives at least one of a drill rig parameter 40, a drawworks parameter 50, or a travelling block controller parameter 62 [par. 0023]");
generating an interlock signal that reflects the operating condition of the drive system ("The interlock sensor 70 then generates an interlock signal 72 that is reflective of the particular sensed parameter [par. 0023]"); and
disabling the drawworks if said interlock signal meets a predetermined criterion ("The interlock 80 receives the interlock signal 72 and enables or disables operation of the travelling block controller 60 and/or the drawworks 20 if the interlock signal 72 meets a predetermined criteria [par. 0024]"),
wherein said predetermined criterion indicates that the drive system is not operating properly ("if the interlock signal 72 reflects that a fluid pressure for operating the drawworks 50 is outside a required operating limit [par. 0024]").
Although Nield '688 teaches where the predetermined criterion can be a multitude of parameters [pars. 0019-0022], and specifically where the criterion can include drawwork operation parameters ("the drawworks 20 may utilize various electrical, pneumatic, or hydraulic systems for actuating the clutch 32, drive system 34, and/or brake 36. Each of these systems may have operational limits for voltage, current, pressure, or temperature to ensure safe and reliable functioning of the drawworks 20, and various sensors may be included to generate signals reflective of sensed drawworks parameters 50 to ensure safe and reliable operation of the drawworks 20 [par. 0020]),
Nield '688 does not explicitly teach where the criterion indicates that said drive system is not operating.
In the same field of endeavor (monitoring a drive system), Nield '912 teaches wherein a criterion indicates that a drive system is not operating ("to receive and to process data from various sensors positioned about the drawworks system 22 (e.g., a temperature sensor coupled to a brake, a speed sensor coupled to the motor 62, a speed sensor coupled to the drum shaft), to receive control signals and/or operator inputs, to provide an indication (e.g., a visual indication via a display and/or an audible indication via a speaker) of a condition of the drawworks system 22 (e.g., failure of the motor 62) to an operator, and/or to control components of the drawworks system 22 (e.g., move the brake between a braked position and a non-braked position, operate the one or more motors 62) based on the data and/or the operator inputs[par. 0033]").
Netecke further teaches, "upon determination of motor failure, the processor 138 may automatically control one or more valves to adjust (e.g., remove) the air supply that holds the one or more brakes 102 in the non-braked position, thereby causing the one or more brakes 102 to move to the braked position and to block rotation of the drum shaft 80 [par. 0042]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Netecke's teachings of determining when a drive system is not operating, with the teachings of Nield '688 for the benefit of taking appropriate action when it is determined that the drive system if not operating properly.
With regard to claim 16, the combination above teaches claim 2. Claim 16 recite limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 2; therefore, claim 16 is rejected along the same grounds as claim 2.
With regard to claim 19, the combination above teaches the method as in claim 15. Nield '688 in the combination teaches the method further comprising disabling operation of the drawworks by at least one of disabling the drive system or actuating a brake associated with the drawworks ("disable the drawworks 20 by actuating the brake 36 [par. 0028]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 20, the combination above teaches the method as in claim 15. Nield '688 in the combination teaches the method further selectively transmitting said interlock signal to disable the drawworks ("The interlock 80 receives the interlock signal 72 and enables or disables operation of the travelling block controller 60 and/or the drawworks 20 if the interlock signal 72 meets a predetermined criteria [par. 0024]").
Claims 3, 5, 10, 12, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nield '688 in view of Netecke further in view of Nelson et al. [U.S. Pub. 2007/0050096] ("Nelson").
With regard to claim 3, the combination of Nield '688 and Netecke teaches the interlock as in claim 2. Nield '688 in the combination further teaches wherein said means for sensing the operating condition of the drive system further comprises a("the interlock sensor 70 receives at least one of a drill rig parameter 40, a drawworks parameter 50, or a travelling block controller parameter 62 [par. 0023]").
Although Nield '688 teaches a multitude of sensor parameters for sensing operating condition [pars. 0019-0022] and Netecke teaches using sensed operating conditions to sense the operating condition of the drive system [par. 0033], the combination does not explicitly teach a gear sensor that detects a gear in which the drive system is operating.
In the same field of endeavor (obtaining sensor data), Nelson teaches a gear sensor that detects a gear in which a drive system is operating ("The transmission signal 100 may be based on a crankshaft angular position, a transmission output speed, a transmission gear position sensor [par. 0028]").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included a gear sensor as taught by Nelson, with Nield '688 and Netecke's teachings of obtaining operational parameters to determine whether the drive system is operating properly, for the benefit of using a greater number of metrics when determining whether the drive system is operating properly, predictably providing a more informed decision.
With regard to claim 5, the combination of Nield '688 and Netecke teaches the interlock as in claim 1. Nield '688 in the combination further teaches wherein said means for sensing the operating condition of the drive system comprising a("the interlock sensor 70 receives at least one of a drill rig parameter 40, a drawworks parameter 50, or a travelling block controller parameter 62 [par. 0023]").
Although Nield '688 teaches a multitude of sensor parameters for sensing operating condition [pars. 0019-0022] and Netecke teaches using sensed operating conditions to sense the operating condition of the drive system [par. 0033], the combination does not explicitly teach a fuel flow sensor that detects a fuel flow to the drive system.
In the same field of endeavor (obtaining sensor data), Nelson teaches a fuel flow sensor that detects a fuel flow to a drive system ("The fuel system signal 90 may be based on a signal from a fuel pressure sensor, a fuel flow rate sensor [par. 0026]").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included a fuel flow sensor as taught by Nelson, with Nield '688 and Netecke's teachings of obtaining operational parameters to determine whether the drive system is operating properly, for the benefit of using a greater number of metrics when determining whether the drive system is operating properly, predictably providing a more informed decision.
With regard to claims 10 and 17, the combination above teaches claim 3. Claims 10 and 17 recite limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 3; therefore, claims 10 and 17 are rejected along the same grounds as claim 3.
With regard to claims 12 and 18, the combination above teaches claim 5. Claims 12 and 18 recite limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 5; therefore, claims 12 and 18 are rejected along the same grounds as claim 5.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nield '688 in view of Netecke further in view of Nield et al. [U.S. Pub. 2021/0054698] ("Nield '698").
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Nield '688 and Netecke teaches the interlock as in claim 1. Nield '688 in the combination teaches the interlock further comprising asensor operably connected between said means for sensing the operating condition of the drive system and said lock, and wherein saidsensor transmits said interlock signal to said lock ("The interlock sensor 70 then generates an interlock signal 72 that is reflective of the particular sensed parameter [par. 0023]").
Although Nield '688 teaches the interlock being implemented in different configurations [par. 0025], the combination does not explicitly teach where a controller selectively transmits the signals.
In an analogous art (drawworks control), Nield '698 teaches a controller operably connected between a means for sensing an operating condition of a drive system and a lock, and wherein said controller selectively transmits said interlock signal to said lock ("the interlock 50 may optionally include a controller 64 operably connected between the means 52 for sensing the position of the segment hoist 38 and the lock 62 to selectively transmit the interlock signal 60 to the lock 62 [par. 0028]").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Nield '698's controller, with the teachings of Nield '688, since the combination predictable uses prior art elements according to their established functions to yield a predictable result. That is, the controller of Neild '698 would predictably allow the system of Nield '688 to generate and transmit the interlock signal.
With regard to claim 14, the combination above teaches claim 7. Claim 14 recite limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 7; therefore, claim 14 is rejected along the same grounds as claim 7.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Holck [U.S. Pub. 2016/0083228] teaches stopping a drawworks in response to a detected failure.
Conclusion
/VINCENT WEN-LIANG CHANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119