DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Amendments to the claims have been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues are fully addressed with the new rejections made to the newly provided amendments in addition to the new art of Lerner currently being applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sujan US 20120197500 in view of Taguchi US 8483949.
Claims 1,9, and 16 are independent with different scopes.
1. An assist system for a vehicle, the assist system comprising:
a GPS processor configured to communicate a geographical location of the vehicle; Fig. 1; 131
a controller communicatively coupled to the sensor and the GPS processor and storing vehicle data and a coastdown procedure including a stop position, a service position, and a service perimeter, Fig. 3; 320 and searching 100 after changes in route speed, step 320, Speed changes may occur as the vehicle approaches locations of exits, gas station locations, changes in road grade, changes in traffic patterns or congestion, and default speed limit changes.
the controller being configured to receive a signal from the sensor corresponding to a trigger event and to execute, in response to the trigger event, the coastdown procedure based on the vehicle data, Fig.3; 320 and 310; after changes in route speed, step 320, Speed changes may occur as the vehicle approaches locations of exits, gas station locations, changes in road grade, changes in traffic patterns or congestion, and default speed limit changes. Also, Taguchi Fig. 1; 11 and 17 for 106a.
wherein the trigger event corresponds to a loss of propulsion identified by the controller as at least one of a mechanical event and an electrical event; and 4; accessing data indicative of at least one predetermined vehicle parameter, powertrain torque loss, and engine friction… generating an electronic recommendation signal corresponding to the transmission gear recommendation [Neutral gear disengages the engine form the wheels corresponding to a loss of propulsion i.e. limp or safety mode] and communicating the transmission gear recommendation to a receiver.
a communication server communicatively coupled to the controller via a network, the controller configured to send a signal to the communication server in response to the trigger event, fig. 3. 360; Data indicating road terrain elements and predetermined vehicle parameters are obtained mainly during start-up of the device, step 300 but may be updated or changed at any time by the user or via a network connection, such as wireless transmission through the air.
the communication server being configured to communicate the coastdown procedure with an occupant of the vehicle. fig. 3. 360; Data indicating road terrain elements and predetermined vehicle parameters are obtained mainly during start-up of the device, step 300 but may be updated or changed at any time by the user or via a network connection, such as wireless transmission through the air.
Sujan teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 but does not teach a sensor coupled to a body of the vehicle and configured to detect objects within an environment proximate to the vehicle; However, Taguchi teaches Col.7 line 7; the lane recognition sensor 17 includes a camera and an image processing device, and is a sensor that detects a pair of white lines (a lane).
Therefore, it was well known at the time the invention was filed and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings with a reasonable expectation of success in order to calculate running pattern while vehicle is traveling on a road, based on the stored road information such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious.
2. The assist system of Claim 1, further including a display device communicatively coupled to the controller, the controller being configured to display the coastdown procedure on the display device. Fig.3; 395; the recommendation signal is sent to the display 107 for a manual action communicated by the user,
3. The assist system of Claim 1, wherein the coastdown procedure includes an available coastdown range of the vehicle.
5. The assist system of Claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to route the vehicle to the stop position and the service position within the service perimeter. Fig. 3; 320; as the vehicle approaches locations of exits, gas station locations,
6. The assist system of Claim 5, wherein the GPS processor stores environmental information including road grade, road curvature, and building locations.Fig.3 320; as the vehicle approaches locations of exits, gas station locations. accessing data indicative of at least one roadside terrain element, the at least one roadside terrain element comprising at least one of: speed limit changes, exit areas, petrol station locations, road grade, air density, and traffic congestion.
7. The assist system of Claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the coastdown procedure in response to the environmental information received from the GPS processor. Under short version first and third sentences. an apparatus is provided for speed reduction coasting management of a vehicle. as the vehicle approaches locations of exits, gas station locations. accessing data indicative of at least one roadside terrain element, the at least one roadside terrain element comprising at least one of: speed limit changes, exit areas, petrol station locations, road grade, air density, and traffic congestion. Function of GPS distance to destination.
8. The assist system of Claim 1, wherein the sensor includes at least one of an imager, a proximity sensor, and a LIDAR sensor. Taguchi US 8483949 Col.7 line 7; the lane recognition sensor 17 includes a camera and an image processing device, and is a sensor that detects a pair of white lines (a lane).
9. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 1.
10. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 1. i.e. GPS.
11. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 6.
12. 1s rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 7.
13. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 1. Based on object within the environment.
14. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 6.
15. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 1.
16. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 1.
17. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 1. Object.
18. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claims 1, or 5, or 6; gas station locations,
19. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 1. detect objects within an environment
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sujan and Taguchi in further view of Lerner US 12,227,103.
4. Sujan and Taguchi teach all of the limitations of claim 1 but do not explicitly teach, wherein the electrical event including a thermal runaway event.
However, O’Neil teaches C25L5; provide an indication that a dangerous thermal runaway event is about to occur.
Therefore, it was well known at the time the invention was filed and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings with a reasonable expectation of success in order initiate a warning of a dangerous situation that may involve a vehicle fire such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious.
20. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 4.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIHAR A KARWAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3664