DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “23” has been used to designate both the electrodes (fig. 1) and the assembly portion (fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-12 all recite the limitation "the device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claims are assumed to recite, “the electrolytic hydrogen-water container”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jea KR 20150087077 in view of Hirakui JP 2012-217868 and Ginter WO 2024/084392.
Claims 1 and 2, Jea teaches an electrolytic hydrogen water container comprising: a container (20) which includes an inner space capable of holding water, a through hole (at 26) arranged at a bottom surface of the container, and an assembly portion (26) disposed around the through hole, an electrolytic hydrogen water module (24) mounted in the through hole of the container and having an inlet through which water can be introduced into the electrolytic hydrogen water module for electrolysis and hydrogen dissolution to get hydrogen rich water and a plurality of electrodes (24a-1, 24b-1) disposed on a bottom of the electrolytic hydrogen water module to conduct electricity for electrolysis and an assembly part (24b) able to be aligned and connected with the assembly portion of the container correspondingly, and a power supply base (10) which is electrically connected with the electrolytic hydrogen water module and provided with a plurality of electrode terminals (12a-1, 12a-2) corresponding to the electrodes of the electrolytic hydrogen water module (fig. 1-4). Jea does not teach an outlet or circular electrodes.
Hirakui teaches an electrolytic hydrogen water container comprising: a container (1) which includes an inner space capable of holding water, a through hole arranged at a bottom surface of the container, and an assembly portion disposed around the through hole, an electrolytic hydrogen water module (5) mounted in the through hole of the container and having an inlet through which water can be introduced into the electrolytic hydrogen water module for electrolysis and hydrogen dissolution to get hydrogen rich water and a plurality of electrodes (20, 23) disposed on a bottom of the electrolytic hydrogen water module to conduct electricity for electrolysis and an assembly part able to be aligned and connected with the assembly portion of the container correspondingly, and a power supply base (2) which is electrically connected with the electrolytic hydrogen water module and provided with a plurality of circular electrodes (21, 24) corresponding to the electrodes of the electrolytic hydrogen water module (fig. 1-3). Providing circular electrodes to electrically connect a pitcher and a base is a well known technique in the art as demonstrated by Hirakui and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the circular electrodes allow for electrical connection between the pitcher and base regardless of the relative orientation of the pitcher and base. The claim would have been obvious because "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Ginter teaches an electrolytic hydrogen water container comprising: a container (10) which includes an inner space capable of holding water, a through hole arranged at a bottom surface of the container, and an assembly portion (at 37) disposed around the through hole, an electrolytic hydrogen water module (5) mounted in the through hole of the container and having an inlet (6) through which water can be introduced into the electrolytic hydrogen water module for electrolysis and hydrogen dissolution to get hydrogen rich water and an outlet (7) through which the hydrogen rich water is output (fig. 1-7). The recited module is known in the art as demonstrated by Ginter and therefore the recited combination of the module with the container and base of the prior art is substitution of one known type of module for another and would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 3 and 8, Ginter further teaches the electrolytic hydrogen water module further includes a casing (18), a water pump (13) an electrolyzer (16), at least two water channels (28, 29) and a circuit board (22), wherein the inlet is disposed on an upper end of the casing while the outlet is arranged at one side of the casing, the water pump is mounted in the casing and corresponding to the inlet for drawing water, each of two ends of the electrolyzer is provided with one of the water channels, one end of the electrolyzer is connected with the water pump and the other end is connected with the outlet, the electrolyzer is capable of electrolysis and hydrogen dissolution, the circuit board is mounted to a bottom of the casing and electrically connected with the water pump, the electrolyzer and an electrical source (fig. 1-7).
Claims 5 and 10, Jea shows what appears to be a threaded connection between the assembly portion and the assembly part but does not specifically state this is the case (fig. 4). Ginter further teaches a threaded connected between an assembly portion (at 37) and an assembly part (at 38) (fig. 1-4). The use of a threaded connection is common in the art and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 6 and 11, as stated above the use of threaded connection between the assembly portion and the assembly part. The recitation of an L-shaped slot and a protruding block is a recitation of a bayonet type connection which is also very common in the art and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 7 and 12, Jea and Ginter further teaches a seal ring (Jea, 30; Ginter, 36) disposed between the assembly part and the assembly portion around the through hole of the container to prevent water from leaking (Jea, fig. 1-4; Ginter, 1-4).
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jea KR 20150087077 in view of Hirakui JP 2012-217868 and Ginter WO 2024/084392 as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of JP 3193833.
Jea in view of Hirakui and Ginter teach the device of claims 1 and 2 as detailed above but do not teach a filter material at the inlet.
JP teaches an electrolytic hydrogen water container comprising: a container (1) including an inner space for water, an electrolytic hydrogen water module (3) mounted in the container and having an inlet where a filter material (2) is arranged at the inlet (fig. 1-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the filter of JP because the filter purifies the raw water in the pot prior to the water being electrolyzed (pg. 3).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779