DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: (i) “ an illumination optical system configured to shape the laser light into a line-shaped parallel beam ” in claim 1; (ii) “the spatial light modulator being configured to modulate the parallel beam into a line-shaped modulated beam using the plurality of modulation components” in claim 1 ; (iii) “a projection optical system configured to guide the modulated beam to the object” in claim 1; (iv) “a scanning unit configured to scan the surface of the object with the modulated beam” in claim 1; Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Paras.[0039]-[0042] of the specification discloses “The illumination optical system 21 of the optical device 12 includes the collimating lens 211, a beam shaper 213, cylindrical lenses 214 and 215. The collimating lens 211, the beam shaper 213, and the cylindrical lenses 214 and 215 are arranged in this order along a direction of travel from the laser light source 11 to the spatial light modulator 22. The collimating lens 211 is a cylindrical lens, for example. Note that one collimating lens 211 is provided in the example shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 , but the number of collimating lenses 211 may be two or more. Further, the collimating lens 211 is only required to generate parallel light, and the lens shape of the collimating lens 211 may be either spherical or aspherical, or may be cylindrical. The beam shaper 213 is a top-hat beam shaper that changes distributions of light intensity in the short-axis direction and the long-axis direction in a cross section of the parallel beam L32 (hereinafter also simply referred to as an “intensity distribution”) from a Gaussian distribution to a top-hat distribution in which the width of an area for the highest intensity is large (in other words, an upper portion is substantially flat). The cylindrical lenses 214 and 215 form a rectangular image generated as a result of passage of a beam through the beam shaper 213, onto the modulation surface of the spatial light modulator 22 described later, at different magnifications for the short-axis and the long-axis, respectively. The cylindrical lens 214 includes a cylindrical lens 214 a and a cylindrical lens 214 b for enlarging a top-hat distribution in the long-axis direction. Further, the cylindrical lens 215 includes a cylindrical lens 215 a and a cylindrical lens 215 b for enlarging a top-hat distribution in the short-axis direction. In the example shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 , the cylindrical lens 214 a, the cylindrical lens 215 a, the cylindrical lens 214 b, and the cylindrical lens 215 b are arranged in this order along a direction of travel of laser light directed to the spatial light modulator 22 from the laser light source 11. Note that the illumination optical system 21 may include optical elements other than described above. Further, it is not essential that the illumination optical system 21 should include the cylindrical lenses 214 and 215. For example, the beam shaper 213 that forms a rectangular image of a desired size on the modulation surface of the spatial light modulator 22 may be used.” Paras.[0026]-[0027] of the specification discloses “The spatial light modulator 22 modulates the parallel beam L32 provided from the illumination optical system 21 into a modulated beam L33 and guides the modulated beam L33 to the projection optical system 23. The spatial light modulator 22 includes a planar light valve (PLV), for example. In the following description, there will be discussed a case in which the spatial light modulator 22 includes a linear planar light valve (LPLV) that is one kind of a PLV. The LPLV, when compared to a Grating Light valve (GLV) (registered trademark) or the like, for example, has substantially equal resistance to power per unit area of an element, and has a wider effective area. That is, the LPLV can deal with higher power than a GLV as its effective area is wider.” Paras.[0046]-[0050] of the specification discloses “ The projection optical system 23 includes a first lens 231, a second lens 232, a third lens 233, a fourth lens 234, a long-axis light blocking unit 235, and a short-axis light blocking unit 236. The first lens 231 and the second lens 232 are, for example, cylindrical convex lenses. The third lens 233 and the fourth lens 234 are, for example, spherical convex lenses. The long-axis light blocking unit 235 is, for example, a flat-plate member in which a rectangular aperture 235 a extending in parallel with the short-axis direction is provided at the center. The short-axis light blocking unit 236 is, for example, a flat-plate member in which a rectangular a perture 236 a extending in parallel with the long-axis direction is provided at the center. The materials of the long-axis light blocking unit 235 and the short-axis light blocking unit 236 are metal such as stainless steel, ceramic, or the like, for example. The second lens 232 and the third lens 233 are positioned in the direction of travel of the modulated beam L33 with respect to the first lens 231 (i.e., on a side toward which the modulated beam L33 directed to the scanning unit 13 from the spatial light modulator 22 travels). In other words, the second lens 232 and the third lens 233 are positioned on a side closer to the scanning unit 13 than the first lens 231 on the optical path of the modulated beam L33. In the example shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 , the third lens 233 is positioned downstream of the second lens 232 along the direction of travel of the modulated beam L33. The third lens 233 may be positioned between the first lens 231 and the second lens 232. The fourth lens 234 is positioned downstream of the first lens 231, the second lens 232, and the third lens 233 along the direction of travel of the modulated beam L33. In the projection optical system 23, it is preferable that a front focal-point position of the first lens 231 on a short-axis side (i.e., a focal-point position closer to the spatial light modulator 22) coincides with the modulation surface of the spatial light modulator 22. To set a distance between the spatial light modulator 22 and the first lens 231 to be equal to or smaller than a front focal length (preferably, to be smaller than the front focal length) of the first lens 231 widens a distance between respective focusing points of zeroth-order diffracted light and first-order diffracted light that are generated as a result of passage of a beam through the first lens 231. Consequently, the zeroth-order diffracted light can be easily separated from non-zeroth-order diffracted light such as first-order diffracted light. Further, a front focal-point position of the third lens 233 coincides with the modulation surface of the spatial light modulator 22. A rear focal-point position of the first lens 231 on the short-axis side (i.e., a focal-point position closer to the scanning unit 13) coincides with a front composite focal-point position of the second lens 232 and the third lens 233 on the short-axis side. A rear focal-point position of the third lens 233 coincides with a front focal-point position of the fourth lens 234. A rear focal-point position of the fourth lens 234 coincides with a projection position (hereinafter also referred to as a “projection surface”) 131 of a modulated image where an entrance of the scanning unit 13 is present. I n the projection optical system 23, because of inclusion of the third lens 233 and the fourth lens 234, the modulation surface of the spatial light modulator 22 and the projection surface 131 of a modulated image in the scanning unit 13 are optically conjugate for the long-axis direction. Further, for the short-axis direction, because of inclusion of the first lens 231, the second lens 232, and the third lens 233, the modulation surface of the spatial light modulator 22 and the front focal-point position of the fourth lens 234 are optically conjugate. The fourth lens 234 focuses the modulated beam L33 onto the projection surface 131 of a modulated image in the scanning unit 13 along the short-axis direction. Because of inclusion of the second lens 232, the third lens 233, and the fourth lens 234, the projection surface 131 of a modulated image in the scanning unit 13 and the rear focal-point position of the first lens 231 are optically conjugate for the short-axis direction. In the example shown in FIGS. 3 and 4 , the first lens 231, the short-axis light blocking unit 236, the second lens 232, the third lens 233, the long-axis light blocking unit 235, and the fourth lens 234 are arranged in this order along a direction of travel from the spatial light modulator 22 to the scanning unit 13. The short-axis light blocking unit 236 is positioned between the first lens 231 and the second lens 232. Note that, in a case in which the third lens 233 is placed between the first lens 231 and the second lens 232, the short-axis light blocking unit 236 is positioned between the first lens 231 and the third lens 233. That is, the short-axis light blocking unit 236 is placed near the focusing point of the modulated beam L33 along the short-axis direction between the first lens 231 and each of the second lens 232 and the third lens 233. The short-axis light blocking unit 236 is placed at the rear focal-point position of the first lens 231 on the short-axis side, for example. Further, the long-axis light blocking unit 235 is placed near the focusing point of the modulated beam L33 along the long-axis direction between the third lens 233 and the fourth lens 234. The long-axis light blocking unit 235 is placed at the rear focal-point position of the third lens 233, for example. ” Paras.[0033]-[0034] of the specification discloses “The scanning unit 13 is a galvano scanning system that includes a collimating lens 133, a galvano mirror 132, a galvano motor (not shown), and a scanning lens (fθ lens) 134, and is caused to project a modulated image of the modulated beam L33 onto the above-mentioned irradiation surface 135 at a specific magnification and scan the irradiation surface 135. In the scanning unit 13, a modulated image of the modulated beam L33 is collimated and is radiated to the galvano mirror 132. The galvano mirror 132 typically includes two pairs each including a mirror and a motor, and thus can perform two-axis scanning. When the galvano mirror 132 is caused to rotate by the galvano motor, a collimated beam is reflected, so that its direction of travel is changed. The beam collimated by the scanning lens 134 is re-imaged at a position proportional to the rotation angle. As a result of this, the modulated image of the modulated beam L33 radiated onto the object 9 is scanned in a scanning direction corresponding to the short-axis direction of the modulated beam L33. After scanning a certain distance, the galvano mirror is caused to rotate and move in the long-axis direction by the dimension of the modulated image along the long-axis direction, and scanning is performed again in the short-axis direction. By repetition of the above-described operations, two-dimensional scanning on the irradiation surface 135 can be achieved. Note that the scanning unit 13 is not limited to a galvano scanner. The scanning unit 13 may be a polygon laser scanner, for example.” If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph , as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1 , the limitation “ the spatial light modulator being configured to modulate the parallel beam into a line-shaped modulated beam using the plurality of modulation components” is indefinite. The illumination optical system already shape the laser beam into a line-shaped parallel beam . It is unclear what the spatial light modulator have done to laser beam, and how the spatial light modulator modulate s the parallel beam into a line-shaped modulated beam . Regarding claim 7 , the limitation “a reduction optical system configured to reduce the modulated beam” is indefinite. It is unclear what parameter of the modulated beam is reduced. The metes and bounds of the limitation is unclear. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted to be the reduction optical system configured to reduce any parameter of the modulated beam. Regarding claims 1-7 , these claims are rejected due to their dependency on an indefinite claim as shown above. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 -7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizuno (JP 2021165769A) . Regarding claim 1, Mizuno teaches a laser marker that radiates laser light to an object including a metal surface, to form a mark, comprising: a laser light source (laser light source 11) configured to emit the laser light (See para.[0018] “laser light L31 emitted from the laser light source 11 “) ; an illumination optical system (illumination optical system 21) configured to shape the laser light into a line-shaped parallel beam (See para.[0022] “The illumination optical system 21 reflects the laser light L31 from the laser light source 11 in one direction (hereinafter referred to as the "long axis direction") into a long, substantially linear parallel beam L32 and guided to the optical modulator 22.”) ; a spatial light modulator (optical modulator 22) including a plurality of modulation components (See para.[0024] “The optical modulator 22 includes a plurality of substantially rectangular pixels 221 arranged adjacent to each other in a matrix (i.e., two-dimensionally arranged) on a substrate (not shown)”) arranged along a long-axis direction, the spatial light modulator being configured to modulate the parallel beam into a line-shaped modulated beam using the plurality of modulation components (See para.[0022] -[0023] “The illumination optical system 21 reflects the laser light L31 from the laser light source 11 in one direction (hereinafter referred to as the "long axis direction") into a long, substantially linear parallel beam L32 and guided to the optical modulator 22 .. The optical modulator 22 modulates the parallel beam L32 from the illumination optical system 21 into a modulated beam L33 and guides it to the projection optical system 23 .” ) ; a projection optical system (projection optical system 23) configured to guide the modulated beam to the object (see fig.1 and para.[0028] “The projection optical system 23 shown in FIG. 1 guides the modulated beam L33 from the optical modulator 22 to the scanning unit 13 while condensing the beam.”) ; and a scanning unit (scanning unit 13) configured to scan the surface of the object with the modulated beam (see fig.1 and para.[0029] “The scanning unit 13 reflects the modulated beam L33 from the projection optical system 23 of the optical device 12 and scans the beam L33 on the modeling material 91 in the modeling space 140 of the material supply mechanism 14.”) . Regarding claim 2 , Mizuno teaches the spatial light modulator includes a planar light valve (PLV) (See para.[0070] “the optical modulator 22 is preferably a PLV”) . Regarding claim 3 , Mizuno teaches each of the plurality of modulation components is capable of exercising multilevel control of a light amount (See para.[0069] “the light modulator 22 preferably comprises a plurality of modulation elements (i.e., pixels 221) arranged two-dimensionally. This allows the parallel beam L32 from the illumination optical system 21 to be irradiated in a planar manner onto the optical modulator 22, thereby increasing the total amount of light input to the optical modulator 22 while reducing the maximum power density of the parallel beam L32 in the irradiation area on the optical modulator 22.”) . Regarding claim 4 , Mizuno teaches when the scanning unit scans a second area adjacent to a first area that is to be scanned earlier, the scanning unit performs scanning while superposing an edge portion of the modulated beam on an edge portion of the first area [Examiner’s note: This limitation is an intended function of the scanning unit, operator can manipulate the scanning unit of Mizuno to scan a second area adjacent to a first area that is to be scanned earlier while superposing an edge portion of the modulated beam on an edge portion of the first area.] Regarding claim 5 , Mizuno teaches a total energy amount of the laser light radiated to the edge portion of the first area in scanning of the first area and scanning of the second area is equal to a total energy amount of light radiated to an area adjacent to the edge portion of the first area [Examiner’s note: This limitation is an intended function of the laser marker. The total energy amount relates to the intensity of the laser beam, time period of irradiation of the laser beam, and the area of the irradiation. Hence, operator can manipulate these parameter of the laser device of Mizuno to achieve the total energy amount of the laser light radiated to the edge portion of the first area in scanning of the first area and scanning of the second area is equal to a total energy amount of light radiated to an area adjacent to the edge portion of the first area . ] Regarding claim 6 , Mizuno teaches the edge portion of the first area has a width corresponding to at least one of the plurality of modulation components [Examiner’s note: This limitation is an intended function of the laser marker. The irradiation area of the laser beam can be m anipulated by operator. The laser device of Mizuno can be manipulated by operator so that the edge portion of the first area has a width corresponding to at least one of the plurality of modulation components.] Regarding claim 7 , Mizuno teaches the projection optical system is a reduction optical system configured to reduce the modulated beam (See para.[0069] “This allows the parallel beam L32 from the illumination optical system 21 to be irradiated in a planar manner onto the optical modulator 22, thereby increasing the total amount of light input to the optical modulator 22 while reducing the maximum power density of the parallel beam L32 in the irradiation area on the optical modulator 22.”) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT CHRIS Q LIU whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8241 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon-Fri 9:00-6:00 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Ibrahime Abraham can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-5569 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRIS Q LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761