This Office action is in response to communications filed on 7/31/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Chauhan (US 20200151345 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chauhan discloses a method comprising:
establishing, by a computing device, a virtual desktop session with an endpoint (¶[0111], "remote session agent 416 (sometimes referred to as HDX engine) can include features of the client agent 304 discussed above in connection with FIG. 2 for instance, to support display a remoting protocol (e.g., HDX or ICA). In some embodiments, the remote session agent 416 can establish a remote desktop session and/or remote application session in accordance to any variety of protocols, such as the Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP), Appliance Link Protocol (ALP), Remote Frame Buffer (RFB) Protocol, and ICA Protocol. For example, the remote session agent 416 can establish a remote application session for a user of the client device to access an enterprise network application");
retrieving, by the computing device, a screen capture protection policy defining one or more sensitive applications for screen capture protection (¶[0167], "policies may be determined by the second entity operating the application server 1104. In some embodiments, the network application 1106 and the policies 1108 may reside on different servers"; ¶[0168], "one or more policies 1108 may include a screenshot mediation policy for mediating one or more screenshots of content displayed via the client application. The one or more policies 1108 may be managed by the policy manager 1107. The screen capture service 1109 may be configured to transmit the one or more policies 1108 to a client application 1110 of the client device 1102"; ¶[0174], "the screen capture mediator 1122 is configured to identify the one or more policies to apply based on at least one of a user of the client device 1102, the client device 1102, the network application 1106, a user's behavior, and/or the like. For example, the network application 1106 may be related to sensitive health information. The screen capture mediator 1122 may be configured to apply a more stringent policy that is provided by or selected by the policy manager 1107 based on the fact that the network application 1106 is related to sensitive health information"; ¶[0185], "Identifying the policy may include obtaining one or more identifiers corresponding to at least one of the user, the client device, or the network application. Identifying the policy may include sending the one or more identifiers to the server and, in response, receiving the one or more policies to be applied. Identifying the policy may include comparing the obtained identifiers to locally stored copies of the one or more policies. Identifying the policy may include matching the one or more identifiers to a portion of the locally stored one or more policies" - i.e., the policies include/define the application identifier as an application to which the policy should apply to); and
responsive to a determination that a sensitive application is visible on a screen, enabling, by the computing device, screen capture protection on the virtual desktop session (¶[0166], "An embedded browser within the client application accesses a network application of one or more servers. The method further includes intercepting, by the client application, a request to capture a screenshot of at least a portion of the network application being displayed, determining, by the client application, one or more mediation actions to perform on the screenshot responsive to the policy"; ¶[0174], "the screen capture mediator 1122 is configured to identify the one or more policies to apply based on at least one of a user of the client device 1102, the client device 1102, the network application 1106, a user's behavior, and/or the like. For example, the network application 1106 may be related to sensitive health information. The screen capture mediator 1122 may be configured to apply a more stringent policy that is provided by or selected by the policy manager 1107 based on the fact that the network application 1106 is related to sensitive health information"; ¶[0186], "client application may determine that there is a request to capture a screenshot. The screenshot may be of at least a portion of the network application being displayed in the embedded browser, such as the embedded browser 1120 [...] In some embodiments, the client application determines that the request is a request to capture a screen shot and the client application intercepts the request. Determining that the request is a request to capture the screenshot may include detecting that a bounding box is being formed on the display. Determining that the request is a request to capture the screenshot may include detecting one or more selections corresponding to a screenshot function"; ¶[0188], "The client application may determine whether there is a mediation action to perform based on identifying the policy"; ¶[0185], "Identifying the policy may include obtaining one or more identifiers corresponding to at least one of the user, the client device, or the network application. Identifying the policy may include sending the one or more identifiers to the server and, in response, receiving the one or more policies to be applied. Identifying the policy may include comparing the obtained identifiers to locally stored copies of the one or more policies. Identifying the policy may include matching the one or more identifiers to a portion of the locally stored one or more policies"),
wherein the determination that the sensitive application is visible is based on the screen capture protection policy (¶[0185], "obtaining one or more identifiers corresponding to at least one of the user, the client device, or the network application [...] comparing the obtained identifiers to locally stored copies of the one or more policies. Identifying the policy may include matching the one or more identifiers to a portion of the locally stored one or more policies").
Regarding claim 8, Chauhan discloses a computing device comprising: a processor; and a non-volatile memory storing computer program code that when executed on the processor causes the processor to execute a process (¶[0056], "the various methods and algorithms described herein may be implemented in a computer readable medium appropriately programmed for general purpose computers and computing devices. Typically a processor, for e.g., one or more microprocessors will receive instructions from a memory or like device, and execute those instructions, thereby performing one or more processes defined by those instructions") including:
The remaining limitations of claim 8 are similar in scope to those of claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 15, Chauhan discloses a method comprising:
establishing, by a computing device, a virtual desktop session with an endpoint (¶[0111], "remote session agent 416 (sometimes referred to as HDX engine) can include features of the client agent 304 discussed above in connection with FIG. 2 for instance, to support display a remoting protocol (e.g., HDX or ICA). In some embodiments, the remote session agent 416 can establish a remote desktop session and/or remote application session in accordance to any variety of protocols, such as the Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP), Appliance Link Protocol (ALP), Remote Frame Buffer (RFB) Protocol, and ICA Protocol. For example, the remote session agent 416 can establish a remote application session for a user of the client device to access an enterprise network application");
retrieving, by the computing device, a screen capture protection policy defining one or more sensitive applications for screen capture protection (¶[0167], "policies may be determined by the second entity operating the application server 1104. In some embodiments, the network application 1106 and the policies 1108 may reside on different servers"; ¶[0168], "one or more policies 1108 may include a screenshot mediation policy for mediating one or more screenshots of content displayed via the client application. The one or more policies 1108 may be managed by the policy manager 1107. The screen capture service 1109 may be configured to transmit the one or more policies 1108 to a client application 1110 of the client device 1102"; ¶[0174], "the screen capture mediator 1122 is configured to identify the one or more policies to apply based on at least one of a user of the client device 1102, the client device 1102, the network application 1106, a user's behavior, and/or the like. For example, the network application 1106 may be related to sensitive health information. The screen capture mediator 1122 may be configured to apply a more stringent policy that is provided by or selected by the policy manager 1107 based on the fact that the network application 1106 is related to sensitive health information"; ¶[0185], "Identifying the policy may include obtaining one or more identifiers corresponding to at least one of the user, the client device, or the network application. Identifying the policy may include sending the one or more identifiers to the server and, in response, receiving the one or more policies to be applied. Identifying the policy may include comparing the obtained identifiers to locally stored copies of the one or more policies. Identifying the policy may include matching the one or more identifiers to a portion of the locally stored one or more policies" - i.e., the policies include/define the application identifier as an application to which the policy should apply to); and
responsive to a determination of a screen capture or screen recording event on the virtual desktop session screen at the endpoint, enabling, by the computing device, screen capture protection on one or more sensitive applications running within the virtual desktop session (Fig. 13, elements 1304-1310; ¶[0186], "client application may determine that there is a request to capture a screenshot. The screenshot may be of at least a portion of the network application being displayed in the embedded browser, such as the embedded browser 1120 [...] In some embodiments, the client application determines that the request is a request to capture a screen shot and the client application intercepts the request. Determining that the request is a request to capture the screenshot may include detecting that a bounding box is being formed on the display. Determining that the request is a request to capture the screenshot may include detecting one or more selections corresponding to a screenshot function"; ¶[0188], "The client application may determine whether there is a mediation action to perform based on identifying the policy"; ¶[0185], "Identifying the policy may include obtaining one or more identifiers corresponding to at least one of the user, the client device, or the network application. Identifying the policy may include sending the one or more identifiers to the server and, in response, receiving the one or more policies to be applied. Identifying the policy may include comparing the obtained identifiers to locally stored copies of the one or more policies. Identifying the policy may include matching the one or more identifiers to a portion of the locally stored one or more policies"),
wherein the one or more sensitive applications are determined based on the screen capture protection policy (¶[0185], "obtaining one or more identifiers corresponding to at least one of the user, the client device, or the network application [...] comparing the obtained identifiers to locally stored copies of the one or more policies. Identifying the policy may include matching the one or more identifiers to a portion of the locally stored one or more policies").
Regarding claim 17, Chauhan discloses the method of claim 15, wherein enabling screen capture protection on one or more sensitive applications running within the virtual desktop session causes the one or more sensitive applications to be not visible on a screen (¶[0189], "The first mediation action may include redacting, masking, or blanking portions of content of the screenshot").
Regarding claim 18, Chauhan discloses the method of claim 15, wherein enabling screen capture protection on one or more sensitive applications running within the virtual desktop session includes invoking a function provided by an underlying operating system (OS) on the one or more sensitive applications (¶[0189], "The first mediation action may include redacting, masking, or blanking portions of content of the screenshot").
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-14, 16, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KR 102925580 B1, which discloses "the user agent (110) can detect a situation corresponding to a security violation policy (e.g., a screen capture event, a keylogging event) that occurs while the user is working from home by accessing the virtual desktop (411), and can block screen capture or keylogging to prevent the detected situation from occurring (S390)" (page 7, paragraph 2).
US 20240028355 A1, which discloses "he client device is monitored (e.g., a data collector on the client device can monitor all network interfaces and adapters) and if a client device is on a network that is deemed unsecure (e.g., as determined by a decision module such as a data analyzer or intelligence module, based on a policy), an instruction can be sent (e.g., by a decision module) to block screen capturing of the virtual desktop GUI (or of the client UI, which contains the desktop GUI). For example, an instruction can be sent to the virtual desktop client to block any attempt on the client device to screen capture or record the virtual desktop client (e.g., to capture/record the virtual desktop client UI)" (¶[0063]).
US 20250028550 A1, which discloses "hiding a primary user's sensitive information in collaborative virtual desktop sessions where multiple secondary users access the primary user's virtual desktop. In particular, embodiments described herein leverage a mechanism for monitoring when designated sensitive applications are opened in the virtual desktop. After the primary user sets up a collaborative session on their virtual desktop, if a sensitive application opens in the virtual desktop during the collaborative session, the sharing of the desktop graphical user interface (GUI) can be stopped and the user can be prompted (e.g., via a warning dialog that pops up) to choose how to proceed. For example, the user can choose to hide the entire desktop, to minimize or close the sensitive application, or to continue sharing the desktop but pop-out the sensitive application from the remote desktop in a separate window that is not shared with the collaborators" (abstract).
US 20100125891 A1, which discloses "security client application queries 104 the policy server for a security policy for the authenticated user" (¶[0025]); "security policy may comprise a predefined list of online resources accessible by the user and a predefined list of actions the user may perform on the information and on the computing device while accessing the information" (¶[0026]); "user is granted 105 controlled access to the information based on the security policy" (¶[0027]); The user may also be permitted to save parts of the information, print parts of the information, take a screenshot of the information, etc., based on the security policy" (¶[0029]); "The policy server 205 provides the security policy for the user 204 to the security client application 203" (¶[0039]); "The screen capture policy may enable monitoring of screen capture. Furthermore, the screen capture policy may allow or disallow different screen capturing functions, for example, print screen. The screen capture policy may further enable or disable scanning display of the computing device 201 for sensitive information while performing the screen capture" (¶[0054]).
/BORIS D GRIJALVA LOBOS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496