DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under step 1, claim 1 belongs to a statutory category of method while claims 11 and 16 are apparatuses.
Under Step 2A prong 1, the claims as a whole are identified as being directed to a judicial exception as claim 1 and similarly 11 and 16 recite(s) “determining a first estimated residual state of charge value (SOCestimated) of the voltage source based on the first voltage value and the second voltage value; determining a factor based on one of the first voltage value and the second voltage value; and calculating a residual state of charge value (SOCresidual) of the voltage source based on the first estimated residual state of charge value (SOCestimated) and based on the factor” which are directed to mathematical concepts and/or mental processes because they are mathematical calculations and/or mental determinations see applicant’s specification Par. 32-36.
Under Step 2A prong 2, evaluating whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application of that exception, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because in claim 1 and similarly recited in claims 11 and 16, “recording a first voltage value of a voltage source; recording a second voltage value of the voltage source;” are considered to be data gathering steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. The elements of “a controller” and “one or more computer readable storage media; program instructions stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by a processing system to direct the processing system to:” in claims 11 and 16 are considered to be generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
Under Step 2B, evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept both individually and in combination, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because in claim 1 and similarly recited in claims 11 and 16, “recording a first voltage value of a voltage source; recording a second voltage value of the voltage source;” are considered to be adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g) and are well-understood, routine, conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d)(see prior art of record). The elements of “a controller” and “one or more computer readable storage media; program instructions stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by a processing system to direct the processing system to:” in claims 11 and 16 are considered to be well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d).
In claims 3-8, 12-14, and 17-20 are directed to the abstract ideas cited above.
In claims 2 and 9, “determining a second estimated residual state of charge value based on the second voltage value and the third voltage value; updating the factor based on one of the second voltage value and the third voltage value; and updating the residual state of charge value (SOCresidual) based on the second estimated residual state of charge value and based on the updated factor” are directed to the abstract ideas cited above. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application or include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because “recording the first voltage value after a state of charge of the voltage source falls to a starting voltage value” and “recording a third voltage value of the voltage source;” are considered to be data gathering steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity and adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g) and are well-understood, routine, conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d)(see prior art of record).
In claims 10 and 15 the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application or include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because “causing a load to drain energy from the voltage source between recording the first and second voltage values” and “wherein the DC voltage source comprises a battery” are considered to be generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use and are considered to be merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself per MPEP 2106.05(h) and are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d) (see prior art of record).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (US 20210255246 A1).
In claim 1, Han discloses a method comprising: recording a first voltage value (Par. 83 “output voltage (or output voltage level) of the battery 310 at designated intervals” examiner considers the first voltage between the intervals to be said first voltage) of a voltage source (Fig. 3, 310); recording a second voltage value of the voltage source (Par. 83 “output voltage (or output voltage level) of the battery 310 at designated intervals” examiner considers the second voltage between the intervals to be said second voltage); determining a first estimated residual state of charge value (SOCestimated) of the voltage source based on the first voltage value and the second voltage value (Par. 66 “SOC”, Par. 70 “indicating a correlation between a variation in voltage (or output voltage (or voltage level)) of a battery and the SOH (or SOC) of the battery”, Par. 87 “obtain (or estimate) the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 based at least partially on the obtained mapping parameter 331 and an obtained variation in output voltage of the battery 310”); determining a factor based on one of the first voltage value and the second voltage value (Par. 70, Par. 87 “mapping parameter”); and calculating a residual state of charge value (SOCresidual) of the voltage source based on the first estimated residual state of charge value (SOCestimated) and based on the factor (Par. 225 “obtaining the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 at regular intervals” Par. 236 “compare the current SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 with the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 obtained in advance, and may identify whether a variation of the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 is greater than or equal to a designated threshold value. For example, the processor 320 may compare the current SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 with the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 obtained in advance”).
In claim 2, Han discloses recording the first voltage value after a state of charge (Fig. 5A, Par. 118 “with respect to the SOCs of the battery”) of the voltage source falls to a starting voltage value (Fig. 5A, 7A, Examiner considers 3.5V to be said starting voltage).
In claim 3, Han discloses obtaining a residual state of charge value (SOClookup) from a lookup table location of a lookup table (Fig. 4A-E, Par. 113-116) based on a current value (Par. 113-116 “the mapping parameters that differ for each a charging current (or a charging C-rate) may be calculated”) and a temperature value (Par. 159-160 “temperature parameter being used for obtaining a mapping parameter”).
In claim 4, Han discloses all of claim 3. Han further discloses wherein calculating the residual state of charge value (SOCresidual) comprises: determining a calculated state of charge value (SOCcalculated) (Par. 131) based on: modifying the residual state of charge value (SOClookup) based on the factor (Par. 116 “in the case in which a mapping parameter indicating a correlation between a variation in the output voltage of the battery and the SOH of the battery is calculated”); and modifying the first estimated residual state of charge value (SOCestimated) based on the factor (Par. 66 “SOC”, Par. 70 “indicating a correlation between a variation in voltage (or output voltage (or voltage level)) of a battery and the SOH (or SOC) of the battery”, Par. 87 “obtain (or estimate) the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 based at least partially on the obtained mapping parameter 331 and an obtained variation in output voltage of the battery 310”).
In claim 6, Han discloses all of claim 4. Han further discloses wherein calculating the residual state of charge value (SOCresidual) comprises: using the residual state of charge value (SOClookup) as the residual state of charge value (SOCresidual) based on the residual state of charge value (SOClookup) being greater than the calculated state of charge value (SOCcalculated) (Par. 236-237, “compare the current SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 with the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 obtained in advance”, “designated threshold value”); and using the calculated state of charge value (SOCcalculated) as the residual state of charge value (SOCresidual) based on the residual state of charge value (SOClookup) being less than the calculated state of charge value (SOCcalculated) (Par. 236-237, “compare the current SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 with the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 obtained in advance”, “designated threshold value”).
In claim 7, Han discloses all of claim 6. Han further discloses updating the lookup table with the calculated state of charge value (SOCcalculated) based on the residual state of charge value (SOClookup) being less than the calculated state of charge value (SOCcalculated) (Par. 185 “mapping parameter 331 stored in the memory 330 is configured as a mapping parameter (e.g., a01 to a0N, a01 to aNk) indicating a correlation between a variation in output voltage of the battery and the SOH (or SOC) of the battery”).
In claim 8, Han further discloses determining a percentage value based on a value of the first estimated residual state of charge value (SOCestimated) (Fig. 4A-B and Par. 108-109) compared with a range between a starting voltage value and an empty voltage value (Fig. 4A-B and Par. 108-109, examiner considers the range between full SOC and empty SOC to be said range).
In claim 9, Han further discloses recording a third voltage value of the voltage source Par. 83 “output voltage (or output voltage level) of the battery 310 at designated intervals” examiner considers the third voltage between the intervals to be said third voltage); determining a second estimated residual state of charge value based on the second voltage value and the third voltage value (Par. 66 “SOC”, Par. 70 “indicating a correlation between a variation in voltage (or output voltage (or voltage level)) of a battery and the SOH (or SOC) of the battery”, Par. 87 “obtain (or estimate) the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 based at least partially on the obtained mapping parameter 331 and an obtained variation in output voltage of the battery 310”); updating the factor based on one of the second voltage value and the third voltage value; and updating the residual state of charge value (SOCresidual) based on the second estimated residual state of charge value and based on the updated factor (Par. 225 “obtaining the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 at regular intervals” Par. 236 “compare the current SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 with the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 obtained in advance).
In claim 10, Han further discloses causing a load to drain energy from the voltage source between recording the first and second voltage values (Par. 214 “while the battery 310 is being charged, if a function that consumes power”).
In claim 11, Han discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising: a controller (Fig. 1 120) configured to: receive a first voltage measurement value (Par. 83 “output voltage (or output voltage level) of the battery 310 at designated intervals” examiner considers the first voltage between the intervals to be said first voltage) of a DC voltage source (Fig. 3, 310) from a voltage sensor (Fig. 3, 327); receive a second voltage measurement value of the DC voltage source from the voltage sensor (Par. 83 “output voltage (or output voltage level) of the battery 310 at designated intervals” examiner considers the second voltage between the intervals to be said second voltage); calculate an estimated residual state of charge value (SOCestimated) based on the first and second voltage measurement values (Par. 66 “SOC”, Par. 70 “indicating a correlation between a variation in voltage (or output voltage (or voltage level)) of a battery and the SOH (or SOC) of the battery”, Par. 87 “obtain (or estimate) the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 based at least partially on the obtained mapping parameter 331 and an obtained variation in output voltage of the battery 310”); calculate a modification factor (Factor) (Par. 70, Par. 87 “mapping parameter”); and calculate a residual state of charge (SOCresidual) of the DC voltage source based on the estimated residual state of charge value (SOCestimated) and on the modification factor (Factor) (Par. 225 “obtaining the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 at regular intervals” Par. 236 “compare the current SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 with the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 obtained in advance, and may identify whether a variation of the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 is greater than or equal to a designated threshold value. For example, the processor 320 may compare the current SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 with the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 obtained in advance”).
In claim 12, Han further discloses calculate the residual state of charge (SOCresidual) of the DC voltage source further based on a residual state of charge value (SOClookup) (Fig. 4A-E, Par. 113-116).
In claim 14, Han discloses all of claim 12. Han further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to acquire the residual state of charge value (SOClookup) from a lookup table (Fig. 4A-E, Par. 113-116) based on a temperature (Par. 159-160 “temperature parameter being used for obtaining a mapping parameter”) and based on an amount of current draw from the DC voltage source (Par. 113-116 “the mapping parameters that differ for each a charging current (or a charging C-rate) may be calculated”).
In claim 15, Han further discloses wherein the DC voltage source comprises a battery (Fig. 3, 310).
In claim 16, Han discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising: one or more computer readable storage media (Fig. 3, 330); program instructions stored on the one or more computer readable storage media (Par. 60), the program instructions executable by a processing system (Fig. 3, 320) to direct the processing system to: receive a voltage measurement (Par. 83 “output voltage (or output voltage level) of the battery 310 at designated intervals” examiner considers the first voltage between the intervals to be said first voltage) and a subsequent voltage measurement (Par. 83 “output voltage (or output voltage level) of the battery 310 at designated intervals” examiner considers the second voltage between the intervals to be said second voltage) of a voltage source (Fig. 3, 310); estimate a residual state of charge value (SOCestimated) based on the voltage measurement and the subsequent voltage measurement (Par. 66 “SOC”, Par. 70 “indicating a correlation between a variation in voltage (or output voltage (or voltage level)) of a battery and the SOH (or SOC) of the battery”, Par. 87 “obtain (or estimate) the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 based at least partially on the obtained mapping parameter 331 and an obtained variation in output voltage of the battery 310”); determine a factor (Par. 70, Par. 87 “mapping parameter”); and determine a residual state of charge (SOCresidual) of the voltage source based on the estimated residual state of charge value and based on the factor (Par. 225 “obtaining the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 at regular intervals” Par. 236 “compare the current SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 with the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 obtained in advance, and may identify whether a variation of the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 is greater than or equal to a designated threshold value. For example, the processor 320 may compare the current SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 with the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 obtained in advance”).
In claim 17, Han further discloses determine a trend line based on the voltage measurement and the subsequent voltage measurement (Fig. 4A); and wherein the program instructions that direct the processing system to estimate the residual state of charge value (SOCestimated) further direct the processing system to: determine an intersection of the trend line and an axis line representing an empty state of charge of the voltage source (See Fig. 4A-C).
In claim 18, Han further discloses determine the factor based on the subsequent voltage measurement (Par. 70, Par. 87 “mapping parameter”).
In claim 19, Han further discloses obtain a stored residual state of charge value (SOClookup) from a lookup table (Fig. 4A-E, Par. 113-116) based on a current draw from the voltage source by a load (Par. 113-116 “the mapping parameters that differ for each a charging current (or a charging C-rate) may be calculated”, Par. 94 “application”) and based on a temperature of the voltage source (Par. 159-160 “temperature parameter being used for obtaining a mapping parameter”).
In claim 20, Han further discloses replace the stored residual state of charge value (SOClookup) with the determined residual state of charge (SOCresidual) based on the determined residual state of charge (SOCresidual) being greater than the stored residual state of charge value (SOClookup) (Par. 116 “in the case in which a mapping parameter indicating a correlation between a variation in the output voltage of the battery and the SOH of the battery is calculated”, Par. 236-237, “compare the current SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 with the SOH (or SOC) of the battery 310 obtained in advance”, “designated threshold value”).
Examiner Note with regards to Prior Art of Record
Claims 5 and 13 are distinguished over the prior art of record based on the reasons below.
In claim 5 and 13, the claim differs from the closest prior arts of record, Han (US 20210255246 A1), Kim (US 20150268309 A1), HAYASHI (US 20130119756 A1), in that it fails to anticipate or render obvious “a formula: SOCcalculated = SOClookup×Factor+SOCestimated×1-Factor” in combination with all the other limitations in the claim as claimed and defined by the applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure US 20130185008 A1 PARAMETER ESTIMATION DEVICE USING FILTER.
/B.J.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857