DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knickerbocker et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0369339 A1.
With regard to claim 1, Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses an apparatus comprising: a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) die (100) comprising one or more waveguides (120); an optical interposer (300/400/500) mated with the PIC die (100), the optical interposer comprising one or more waveguides (300), wherein individual waveguides of the one or more waveguides (300) of the optical interposer are aligned to individual waveguides (120) of the one or more waveguides of the PIC die (100); mechanical adhesive (205) securing the optical interposer to the PIC die; and index-matching material (200) between the one or more waveguides (120) of the PIC die and the one or more waveguides (300) of the optical interposer, wherein the mechanical adhesive is different from the index-matching material [0032-0052].
With regard to claim 2, Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses that the mechanical adhesive (205) comprises monodisperse particles (215 )suspended in the mechanical adhesive (205) [0043-0044].
With regard to claim 3, Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses that a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the mechanical adhesive (205) is less than 10-5 K-1 [0049], wherein a CTE of the index-matching material (200) is more than 2 x 10-5 K-1 [0045].
With regard to claim 4, Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses that the mechanical adhesive (205) is thermally cured [0043], wherein the index-matching material (200) is ultraviolet-light cured [0039].
With regard to claim 13, Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses one or more electronic integrated circuit (EIC) dies (10), wherein the one or more EIC dies are electrically coupled to the PIC die [0038].
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PFnuer, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0205592 A1.
With regard to claim 14, Pfnuer in figs. 1-8, discloses an apparatus comprising: a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) die (300) comprising: one or more waveguides (310); one or more V-grooves (305) defined in a surface of the PIC die (300), the one or more V-grooves of the PIC die comprising one or more peaks and one or more valleys; and an optical interposer (100/200) mated with the PIC die (300), the optical interposer comprising: one or more waveguides (120), wherein individual waveguides of the one or more waveguides (120) of the optical interposer are aligned to individual waveguides of the one or more waveguides (310) of the PIC die; and one or more V-grooves (125) defined in a surface of the optical interposer, the one or more V-grooves (125) of the optical interposer comprising one or more peaks and one or more valleys, wherein individual peaks of the one or more peaks of the one or more V-grooves of the PIC die mate with individual valleys of the one or more valleys of the one or more V-grooves of the optical interposer [0017-0035].
With regard to claim 15, Pfnuer in figs. 1-8, discloses that sidewalls of individual V-grooves of the one or more V-groves of the optical interposer do not apply stress to sidewalls of individual V-grooves of the one or more V-groves of the PIC die [0017-0035].
With regard to claim 16, Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses that a trench is defined in the PIC die between the one or more V-grooves of the PIC die and a wall at a side surface of the PIC die, wherein mechanical adhesive fills at least part of the trench [0019].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knickerbocker in view of Tombling et al., U.S. Patent No. 6728450 B2.
With regard to claim 5, Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses 5. that the optical interposer (400) comprises one or more V-grooves (405) defined in a surface of the optical interposer, wherein the PIC die (100) comprises one or more V-grooves (105) defined in a surface of the PIC die (100), and that the mechanical adhesive (205) is positioned between the one or more V-grooves (105) of the PIC die and the one or more V-grooves of the optical interposer (405) [0032-0052].
Knickerbocker does not expressly disclose if there are V-grooves of the interposer mated with the V-grooves of the PIC die because it does not show V-grooves in portion 500. Tombling, in fig. 3 teaches an optical fiber securing means using two sets of mated V-grooves (25/26) to better secure and align the optical fibers (cols. 5 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to using the mating V-groove design of Tombling, in the Knickerbocker device, by having V-grooves in portion 500 for example, such that the one or more V-grooves of the PIC die are mated with the one or more V-grooves of the optical interposer, to better secure and align the optical fibers.
With regard to claim 6, Knickerbocker disclosers all of the limitations of the parent claim, however it does not expressly disclose the interposer having wings.
Tombling, in fig. 3 discloses that the optical interposer further comprises wings (portions 30 extending laterally) that extend from an area of the optical interposer with the one or more V-grooves to sides of the optical interposer to provide more surface area and alignment structures between the interposer and the PIC die.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the wings of the Tombling interposer such that the Knickerbocker optical interposer further comprises wings that extend from an area of the optical interposer with the one or more V-grooves to sides of the optical interposer, wherein at least part of the mechanical adhesive is positioned between the wings and a surface of the PIC die to provide more surface area and alignment structures between the interposer and the PIC die.
With regard to claim 7, the combined Knickerbocker/Tombling device teaches the optical interposer extends past an edge of the PIC die, wherein a side wall of the optical interposer extends below a plane defined by the surface of the PIC die, wherein at least part of the mechanical adhesive is positioned between the side wall of the optical interposer and a side wall of the PIC die.
With regard to claim 8, Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses that one or more trenches (240 for example, however there are more contours of the Knickerbocker PIC die which may constitute “trenches”) are defined in the PIC die between the one or more waveguides of the PIC die and the one or more V-grooves of the PIC die, wherein the index-matching material (200) at least partially fills the one or more trenches [0032-0052].
With regard to claim 12, Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses a trench (240 for example, however there are more contours of the Knickerbocker PIC die which may constitute “trenches”) is defined in the PIC die between the one or more V-grooves of the PIC die and a wall at a side surface of the PIC die, wherein the mechanical adhesive (205) fills at least part of the trench [0032-0052].
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knickerbocker in view of Tombling and Nelson et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0011522 A1.
With regard to claim 9, Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses grooves (105/405) for securing and aligning the optical fibers and trenches (240 for example) for spaces for adhesive to flow, but it does not expressly disclose a trench separating the V-grooves of the PIC die.
Nelson, in at least figs. 44-48, show V-groove 4110 and trench 4121/4131 arrangements to fully secure optical fibers and allow adhesive/index matching compounds to adhere to the groove walls and trenches to fully secure and align the optical fibers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the Nelson groove/trench arrangements into the Knickerbocker/Tombling device described above, such that the PIC die comprises one or more additional V-grooves defined in the surface of the PIC die, wherein the one or more additional V-grooves of the PIC die are mated with the one or more V-grooves of the optical interposer, wherein a trench is defined in the PIC die between the one or more V-grooves of the PIC die and the one or more additional V-grooves of the PIC die, as taught by Nelson, to fully secure optical fibers and allow adhesive/index matching compounds to adhere to the groove walls and trenches to fully secure and align the optical fibers.
With regard to claim 10, the Knickerbocker/Tombling/Nelson combination teaches that more than half of the trench is filled with the mechanical adhesive.
With regard to claim 11, the Knickerbocker/Tombling/Nelson combination teaches more than half of the trench is filled with the index-matching material.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfnuer in view of Knickerbocker.
With regard to claim 17, Pfnuer discloses all of the limitations of the parent claim, however it does not expressly disclose mechanical adhesive securing the optical interposer to the PIC die; and index-matching material between the one or more waveguides of the PIC die and the one or more waveguides of the optical interposer, wherein the mechanical adhesive is different from the index-matching material.
Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses an PIC/Interposer interface having a mechanical adhesive (205) securing the optical interposer (300/400/500) to the PIC die (100); and index-matching material (200) between the one or more waveguides (120) of the PIC die and the one or more waveguides (300) of the optical interposer, wherein the mechanical adhesive is different from the index-matching material, such that the mechanical adhesive has the desired thermal properties and the index-matching material as the desired optical properties, for overall optimal performance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mechanical adhesive/index-matching material combination taught in Knickerbocker in the Pfnuer device so that the mechanical adhesive has the desired thermal properties and the index-matching material as the desired optical properties, for overall optimal performance
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfnuer in view of Knickerbocker.
With regard to claim 18, Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses a method comprising: positioning an optical interposer (300/400/500) on a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) die (100), wherein the optical interposer comprises one or more waveguides (300), wherein the PIC die comprises one or more waveguides (120), wherein the optical interposer is positioned such that individual waveguides (300) of the one or more waveguides of the optical interposer are aligned to individual waveguides (120) of the one or more waveguides of the PIC die, wherein index-matching material (200) is positioned between the one or more waveguides of the PIC die and the one or more waveguides of the optical interposer, wherein mechanical adhesive (205) is positioned between at least part of the optical interposer and at least part of the PIC die [0032-0052].
Knickerbocker does not expressly disclose the order of the steps of curing each of the index-matching material and mechanical adhesive.
Knickerbocker teaches that both an index-matching material and mechanical adhesive are used to reduce stress and failure while manufacturing the device. Particularly the mechanical adhesive is incorporated to have a similar CTE to the adjacent components such that thermal stress is not imparted on those components during manufacture. Therefore, the skilled artisan would determine the best order of curing for both the index-matching material and mechanical adhesive to avoid stress and failure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to thermally curing the mechanical adhesive without curing the index-matching material; and curing the index-matching material using ultraviolet light after thermally curing the mechanical adhesive, if it were determined that this order of steps would avoid stress and reduce failure.
With regard to claim 19 and 20, Knickerbocker in figs. 3-6, discloses that both the index-matching material and mechanical adhesive are intended to occupy different parts of the structure and are not intended to be mixed. Knickerbocker discloses physical features, such as trench 240 to contain at least one of these components. It does not however, expressly explain how these two components are kept separate when the device is being manufactured, through use of physical structures, such as walls are trenches, or through the use in viscosity differences.
Where two curable adhesives are intended to be kept separate, one skilled in the art would determine the best method for doing so during manufacture, such as the uses of trenches/walls or other physical separation means, and/or the use of viscosity differences, to keep the pre-cured adhesives from flowing into unintended areas.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the Knickerbocker device where the PIC die comprises a wall at a side surface of the PIC die, wherein the wall forms part of a trench defined in the PIC die, wherein the wall prevents at least one of the mechanical adhesive and the index-matching material from leaking down the side surface of the PIC die before being cured or where the mechanical adhesive has a viscosity more than 10,000 centipoise before curing, wherein the index-matching material has a viscosity less than 1,000 centipoise before curing, to keep the two materials separate prior to curing.
Conclusion
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874