DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to papers filed 7/31/2023. Claims 1-13 are pending and examined herein.
Examiner’s Note
All paragraph numbers throughout this office action, unless otherwise noted, are from the US PGPub of this application US20230374460A1, Published 11/23/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature without significantly more. The claim(s) recite a composition comprising cardiac differentiated stem cells, wherein the cardiac differentiated stem cells are differentiated from pluripotent stem cells in the presence of one or more glycogen synthase kinase 3 (GSK3) signaling inhibitors and/or one or more WNT signaling inhibitors. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because of the following:
Independent claim 1 is drawn to a composition comprising cardiac differentiated stem cells, wherein the cardiac differentiated stem cells are differentiated from pluripotent stem cells in the presence of one or more glycogen synthase kinase 3 (GSK3) signaling inhibitors and/or one or more WNT signaling inhibitors.
Claim interpretation: The recitation “wherein the cardiac differentiated stem cells are differentiated from pluripotent stem cells in the presence of one or more glycogen synthase kinase 3 (GSK3) signaling inhibitors and/or one or more WNT signaling inhibitors” is being interpreted as a product-by-process limitation. That is, the product - cardiac differentiated stem cells- are produced by the process of differentiating pluripotent stem cells in the presence of one or more glycogen synthase kinase 3 (GSK3) signaling inhibitors and/or one or more WNT signaling inhibitors. A product-by-process claim is not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, but instead is only limited to the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113.
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03. Here, the claim recites a composition of cardiac differentiated stem cells. Because cardiac differentiated stem cells are a composition of matter, the claims falls within a statutory category. (Step 1: YES)
Step 2A, Prong One: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04(II) and the October 2019 Update, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim. Because claim 1 recites a nature-based product limitation (cells), the markedly different characteristics analysis is used to determine if the nature-based product limitation is a product of nature exception. MPEP 2106.04(c)(I). MPEP 2106.04(c)(I)(A). The markedly different characteristics analysis is performed by comparing the nature-based product limitation in the claim to its naturally occurring counterpart to determine if it has markedly different characteristics from the counterpart. MPEP 2106.04(c)(II).
Here, the closest natural counterpart to the cardiac differentiated stem cells of claim 1 are naturally occurring cardiac stem cells. The art, as exemplified in Bearzi et al. (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2007 Aug 28;104(35):14068-73), teaches the human heart contains clusters of human Cardiac Stem Cells (hCSCs) that are intimately connected by gap junctions and adherens junctions to myocytes and fibroblasts (Fig. 1 A–C). Bearzi teaches these human c-kit-positive cardiac cells possess the fundamental properties of stem cells: they are self-renewing, clonogenic, and multipotent. Furthermore, hCSCs differentiate predominantly into cardiomyocytes and, to a lesser extent, into smooth muscle cells and endothelial cells (Abstract). Accordingly, the claim recites a judicial exception, and the analysis must therefore proceed to Step 2A Prong Two.
Step 2A Prong Two: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. 2019 PEG Section III(A)(2), 84 Fed. Reg. at 54-55. And while claim 1 recites a process by which the cardiac differentiated stem cells are produced by, the Courts have consistently held that a product-by-process claim is not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, but instead is only limited to the structure implied by the steps. As such, the claim does not recite any additional elements besides the judicial exception. (Step 2A: YES)
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. MPEP 2106.05. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the claim fails to include anything more than the judicial exception. (Step 2B: NO). The claim is not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Prior Art Rejection 1
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Palecek et al. (PgPub US20130189785A1, Published 7/25/2013, Filed 10/12/2012) as evidenced by Yu et al. (Science. 2007 Dec 21;318(5858):1917-20.).
Palecek et al. disclose methods for generating high-yield, high-purity cardiomyocyte progenitors or cardiomyocytes from pluripotent cells (Abstract). Specifically, Palecek discloses the method for generating a population of cardiomyocyte progenitors from induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells (as in claim 4) (Pg. 7, para. 68), comprises: (i) inhibiting Gsk3 in cultured pluripotent stem cells to obtain a first cell population; (ii) culturing the first cell population for a period following the end of the activating step; and (iii) inhibiting Wnt/β-catenin signaling in the cultured first cell population after the culturing period in step (ii) to obtain a second cell population comprising cardiomyocyte progenitors (as in claim 1) (Pg. 2, para. 11). Palecek discloses the small molecule that inhibits Gsk3 is selected from CHIR99021 and BIO (as in claim 2) (Pg. 2, para. 12). In one embodiment, Palecek discloses the iPS cells is the 19-9-11 human iPSC line (Pg. 11,para. 110). As evidenced by Yu et al., the 19-9-11 human iPSCs are reprogrammed pluripotent stem cells that were derived from healthy foreskin fibroblasts (as in claim 5 and claim 6) (see Pgs. 2-3 of Yu). Palecek discloses CHIR99021 is used at a concentration ranging from about 5 μM to about 20 μM (as in claim 9 and claim 11) or from about 0.2 μM to about 2 μM (as in claim 10) (Pg. 7, para. 70).
Accordingly, Palecek anticipates the claimed invention.
Prior Art Rejection 2
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7 and 9-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (PgPub US 20140134733A1, Published 7/13/2015, Filed 11/13/2013) as evidenced by Burridge et al. (Nat Med. 2016 Apr 18;22(5):547–556.).
Wu et al. disclose methods for producing a cardiomyocyte population from a mammalian pluripotent stem cell population. Wu discloses aspects of the methods include using a Wnt signaling agonist and antagonist, each in minimal media, to modulate Wnt signaling (Abstract). Specifically, and with regards to claim 1, Wu discloses a method of producing a cardiomyocyte population from a human induced pluripotent stem cell (iPSc) population, the method comprising: (a) contacting the mammalian pluripotent stem cell population with an effective amount of an inhibitor of GSK-3β, such as BIO or CHIR-99021 (as in claim 2) (Pg. 1, para. 8), in a minimal media for a period of about 12-60 hours, to produce an agonist-contacted cell population; and (b) contacting the GSK-3β inhibited cell population with an effective amount of a Wnt signaling antagonist in a minimal media for a period of at least 12 hours (Pg. 1, para. 7). Wu discloses using the 59FSDNC3 and 64FSDNC1 hiPSC cell lines (as in claim 4) (Pg. 2, para. 18). As evidenced by Burridge et al. (Nat Med. 2016 Apr 18;22(5):547–556.), the 59FSDNC3 hiPSC cell line was derived from skin fibroblasts (as in claim 6) from a breast cancer patient (as in claim 7) (see Pgs. 8-9 of Burridge). Wu discloses CHIR-99021 can be used at 4-15 μM (as in claim 9, claim 10 and claim 11) and BIO can be used at 2-5 μM (as in claim 12) (Pg. 18, para. 175).
Wu notes that deriving hiPSCs from patients with specific cardiac diseases, differentiating them to cardiomyocytes using the subject methods, and then performing electrophysiological and molecular analyses will provide a powerful tool for deciphering the molecular mechanisms of disease. Continuing, Wu adds that the combination of novel drug discovery and efficacy testing with cardiomyocytes derived from patient-specific hiPSCs is a potentially groundbreaking option for personalized medicine (Pg. 15-16, para. 135).
Accordingly, Wu anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Prior Art Rejection 3
Claim(s) 3, 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (PgPub US 20140134733A1, Published 7/13/2015, Filed 11/13/2013) and Burridge et al. (Nat Med. 2016 Apr 18;22(5):547–556.) as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 6-7 and 9-12 above, and further in view of Yamanka et al. (PgPub US20160122716A1, Filed 5/9/2014).
The teachings of Wu et al. are relied upon as detailed above. And although Wu teaches contacting the GSK-3β inhibited cell population with an effective amount of a Wnt signaling antagonist, Wu fails to teach the Wnt signaling antagonist is IWP-3 (as in claim 3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Yamanaka et al. teach a method for efficiently producing cardiomyocytes from pluripotent stem cells (Abstract). Yamanka teaches the pluripotent stem cells are induced pluripotent stem cells derived from fibroblasts of a healthy patient (as in claim 5) (Pg. 5, para. 55). Yamanaka teaches the method, as a last step (Pg. 1, para. 11-15), contacts the pluripotent stem cells with the Wnt inhibitor, IWP-3, at a concentration of 2 μM (as in claim 3 and claim 13) (Pg. 6, para. 70).
The combination of prior art cited above in all rejections under 35 U.S.C.103 satisfies the factual inquiries as set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1,148 USPQ 459 (1966). Once this has been accomplished the holdings in KSR can be applied (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 389, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007): "Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) "Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention."
In the present situation, rationales A and G are applicable. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of Wu et al., wherein Wu teaches methods for producing a cardiomyocyte population from a human induced pluripotent stem cell population, wherein said method comprises contacting the GSK-3β inhibited pluripotent stem cell population with an effective amount of a Wnt signaling antagonist with the teachings of Yamanaka et al., wherein Yamanaka teaches contacting human pluripotent stem cells with the Wnt signaling antagonist IWP3 as a final step in differentiating pluripotent stem cells into cardiac differentiated stem cells. That is, the skilled artisan would have found it prima facie obvious use the IWP3 of Yamanka as the Wnt signaling antagonist of Wu because Yamanka evidences the suitability of the use of IWP3 as a Wnt signaling antagonist in producing a cardiomyocyte population from a human induced pluripotent stem cell population.
Thus, the teachings of the cited prior art in the obviousness rejection above provide the requisite teachings and motivations with a clear, reasonable expectation. The cited prior art meets the criteria set forth in both Graham and KSR.
Therefore, the claimed invention, as a whole, was clearly prima facie obvious.
Prior Art Rejection 4
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (PgPub US 20140134733A1, Published 7/13/2015, Filed 11/13/2013) as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 6-7 and 9-12 above, and further in view of Yazawa et al. (J Cardiovasc Transl Res. 2013 Jan 9;6(1):1–9).
The teachings of Wu et al. are relied upon as detailed above. And although Wu teaches deriving hiPSCs from patients with specific cardiac diseases, differentiating them to cardiomyocytes using the subject methods, and then performing electrophysiological and molecular analyses will provide a powerful tool for deciphering the molecular mechanisms of disease (Pg. 15, para. 135), Wu fails to teach the iPS cells are derived from Timothy’s Syndrome patients (as in claim 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Yazawa teaches Timothy syndrome (TS) is a multisystem disorder caused by gain-of-function mutations in the L-type calcium channel CACNA1C gene. Yazawa teaches mouse models of TS do not fully recapitulate the human disorder and, in particular, lack the postnatal lethality that occurs in patients with TS. Yazawa teaches this is likely because mouse cardiomyocytes have different electrical properties from their human counterparts. In order to investigate human-specific disease mechanisms of TS, Yazawa and colleagues generated human cardiomyocytes from TS patients using induced pluripotent stem cell (iPSC) technology (as in claim 8), examined cellular phenotypes in contraction, electrical signal and calcium handling, and performed drug tests to find lead compounds for TS (Abstract; paragraph bridging PG. 2 and Pg. 3).
When taken with the teachings of Yazawa et al., wherein Yazawa teaches iPS cells derived from Timothy’s syndrome patients, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious to substitute the patient derived iPS cells of Wu et al. for the iPS cells of Yazawa et al. because Wu contemplated deriving hiPSCs from patients with specific cardiac diseases, differentiating them to cardiomyocytes using the subject methods, and then performing electrophysiological and molecular analyses. That is, the skilled artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to derive iPS cells from Timothy’s syndrome patients using the method of Wu et al. in order to decipher the molecular mechanisms of the disease. A reasonable expectation of success is present as Yazawa achieved success in deriving iPS cells from Timothy’s syndrome patients.
Therefore, the claimed invention, as a whole, was clearly prima facie obvious.
Authorization to Initiate Electronic Communications
The examiner may not initiate communications via electronic mail unless and until applicants authorize such communications in writing within the official record of the patent application. See M.P.E.P. § 502.03, part II. If not already provided, Applicants may wish to consider supplying such written authorization in response to this Office action, as negotiations toward allowability are more easily conducted via e-mail than by facsimile transmission (the PTO's default electronic-communication method). A sample authorization is available at § 502.03, part II.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/TITILAYO MOLOYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632